Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.
A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.
- 4,350,951 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
- We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
- We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
- Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Reviewed Nov. 25, 2023
Paid for cruise on Azamara. VTG employee Yarit offered an upgrade to larger room for $2700. We called him four times within two hours plus emailed two times. When we reached him, he said that it was a busy day and the increase would now cost almost $5,000 additional. Valerie at Azamara refused to help and couldn’t locate the person who gave the quote although she did find the amount in their record. She said that it was no longer available and wanted the exorbitant amount that we would never pay. She said that if it was a mistake, Azamara would not stand by their word. Beware! There is no integrity here just breach of fiduciary responsibility.
Reviewed Nov. 12, 2023
So it was my guy's 60th birthday and I thought of buying an excursion in the Dominican Republic that would take us to the cigar factory, chocolate factory, rum factory and the museum. I had paid $69 each for the two of us. When we got off the cruise, we had to walk a long 25 minutes to reach the taxi service and that's when we found that we were late and the bus had left us. We were told that the tour started 30 mins after the ship got to the port. Nothing was mentioned in the email or the ticket about a specific time or a specific place that we were supposed to be at. Their instructions were very vague. We asked several locals about our meeting point and we ended up getting another taxi service to take us to the tour which was an expense that wasn't planned.
I definitely DO NOT RECOMMEND buying excursions from Vacations To Go ever!!! Other cruisers experienced the same disappointment as us. I'm never getting tickets from them. This was my first time and will surely be my last. We're frequent cruisers and we strongly suggest that you'd be better off getting tickets directly from the cruise line or get it from the locals at the ports. So again, don't waste your money on Vacations To Go!!!!
Thanks for writing, Isha. We apologize that you had trouble finding the meeting spot for your excursion and had to purchase your own taxi. We understand how frustrating that must have been. Your excursion voucher came with detailed instructions on where to meet, how to get there, the estimated walk time and a map. We have forwarded your feedback to our third-party excursion provider so they are aware of the issues you faced. We're sorry again & hope you still had a wonderful time on your cruise.
Thanks for subscribing.
You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.
Reviewed Nov. 3, 2023
I called them to get a quote for group rate. Told me the rooms were going very fast and there was no group rate for under 8 rooms. I said, "Ok, just quote me specific rooms and I'll let people call and book their own rooms." He gave me a quick quote. I emailed him and left message for him of what we're needing. He called me the next day. I reiterate what we needed and he says, "I'll call you back in ten minutes." It's been a day and a half and no call from Curtis S. He also said there was only double occupancy rooms left and I have to get extra rooms. I called Royal Caribbean directly and booked our cruise. They helped us get into exactly what we needed that he said wasn't available. Still waiting on that call back Curtis.
Thank you for writing, Michael. We truly apologize for any lapses in communication from Curtis. We expect all of our travel counselors to provide prompt and helpful service, and we regret you did not receive the callback or follow-up you were anticipating. This is certainly not the experience we aim to deliver. We understand you’ve booked your cruise direct with the cruise line, and we hope you will give us further opportunities to assist with your travel plans in the future.
Reviewed Oct. 19, 2023
Booked cruise through Vacations To Go over 6 months ago, 2 days before leaving we get an email ship has issues and staying at port from Saturday to Monday till fixed, they removed 2 main island stops from travel, both were reasons we booked this particular cruise! We made multiple calls and nobody would do squat! We received a slap in the face offer of $250 credit that can only be used on cruise. Our Anniversary cruise is a total waste of $2300 and will never recommend this place!
Brian, we're very sorry your ship required maintenance, causing your itinerary alteration. We understand how disappointing it must have been to have your favorite ports removed & departure delayed, especially for your anniversary. Unfortunately, Vacations To Go doesn't have any influence over the situation, & only the cruise line makes the decisions about delays, cancellations & what compensation, if any, is offered in times like these. We hope you're still able to travel & celebrate each other.
Reviewed Oct. 12, 2023
We have never used the excursion department through Vacations To Go before, and if you do decide to book through them, I would strongly advise against it. First of all our cruise (which we have booked and taken many) was horrific, worst cruise we have ever taken! (MSC, don't do it) First hour on the ship we were notified that we would be arriving into each port late. Since we had early excursions we immediately called Vacations To Go to cancel them rather than be late or only get a partial trip. We were told a cancelation would have to be reviewed by the excursions team, only then to be told, "Sorry you have to cancel 14 days in advance." (I'm sorry, we weren't notified until the first day of our cruise we would be late getting into all of our ports.)
We provided Vacations To Go with the letter we were given by the cruise line apologizing for the port delays. Didn't matter, we were told, "Again sorry, some people made it to the excursions and you are not getting any part of a refund." We contacted a manager at Vacations To Go. We explained our situation again, provided that same letter, told him what an awful experience we had on the cruise, (one engine failed causing delays, 4 hours late getting home. Sewage issues, toilet not flushing, terrible food, it was a nightmare!) He once again went to the dreaded excursions department which we waited days to hear back from, only to be told again, "Sorry, you're out $318 and nothing we can do."
So because I was absolutely disgusted and expressed that, the manager said, let me see what we, "Vacations To Go" can do for you. Supposedly he spoke to his manager and a few hours later called me back to say, "We can give you 5% off your next cruise." I assure you, we will not be booking any vacations with Vacations To Go again. I would encourage you to book directly through the cruise line. Very disappointing.
We're sorry you had such a poor experience, Jennifer. Vacations To Go uses a third-party company called Shore Excursions Group (SEG) to offer excursions. All decisions regarding compensation for cancelled excursions are made by SEG, not Vacations To Go. We've made many attempts to advocate on your behalf, and I'm sorry we've been unsuccessful in securing a refund for you. I've asked one of our senior managers to contact you as soon as possible to discuss this further. We apologize again.
Reviewed July 29, 2023
Prices advertised on their website are not what is quoted when you reach an agent. Price quoted to me was astronomically higher than the website. When I asked about it, the agent had to get back to me. After talking with the cruise line I was then quoted a price still several hundred dollars higher than the website, but significantly lower than his original verbal “quote”. He told me our website is not live pricing. HUH???
Thanks for writing, Sarah. Unfortunately our site doesn't reflect live inventory meaning as soon as a price sells out, it doesn't automatically update. Depending on the cruise line, we receive pricing directly from them 1-3 times a day so all pricing must be verified before a booking is made. In most cases the displayed price is available, but there will be times when it has sold out due to popularity or demand. We're sorry you felt deceived, and hope you'll give us another chance in the future!
Reviewed July 28, 2023
Duped. The features they promised on their website were not there after they took my money (almost $5000). After I booked and paid, I noticed the booking with Norwegian Cruise line did not match what I paid for. I wrote back to Vacations to Go for them to explain or fix. Their response was, “There is one restriction to adding the Free at Sea package and that's if we book a Sailaway guarantee." We did book a Sailaway guarantee, Norwegian won't allow us to add the Free at Sea package to those bookings. Gobbledegook like that does not cut it. It was not discussed or explained,
Thanks for writing, Robert. We're disappointed to hear you feel misled or lied to. We can assure you that our goal is always to be transparent and honest about our prices and promotions. I'm happy to ask a manager to research the details of your reservation, but I can't locate your booking with your first name alone. If you can provide me with your booking number or the name of your travel counselor, I'll be happy to ask a manager to contact you as soon as possible. Thanks again!
Reviewed July 25, 2023
VTG May be able to do one thing OK - book a cruise. However, when booking a cruise there are often other needs…. Transportation, connections, coordination, hotels, etc., the things travel agents do. VTG does not offer these services and once you use them to book the cruise, travel agents aren’t anxious to provide you the other associated services. VTG’s price for the cruise was the same price the cruise company was advertising. VTG did promise a shipboard credit that amounts to about 3% of the cruise fare. While nice if that happens, I don’t believe that value equates to the services a travel agent could provide. Understand what VTG is: a booking agency. If you need other associated travel requirements, best to use a good travel agent.
Hi Mike, we're sorry to hear that you feel that way! As a full-service travel agency, we offer pre- and post-travel hotels, transfers to and from the pier, airfare, shore excursions, often secure additional discounts and onboard credits exclusive to Vacations To Go customers, and participate in the cruise line's upgrade programs. In addition to cruises we offer resort stays, river cruises, guided tours and more. If you need additional assistance with your reservation, please let us know! Thanks!
Reviewed July 14, 2023
We booked and paid two tours of which neither took place. In Helsinki (Finland) we waited at the gate (as requested) but no one with a sign and our name showed up. We could have gotten a sightseeing tour while we were waiting - but after waiting for the tour, all the other tours already left. We were not amused. The Stockholm (Sweden) tour did not take place as well. We waited at the requested location but nobody showed up. In both locations we tried to contact the recommended local representative and the Customer Service Center both to no avails. We had additional taxi-cost to get to the location. We regret that we booked tours with this company because not only that we missed out - it’s very costly to get back to these locations in Europe. We’ll never book a cruise tour with this company again.
Hello, Fred. Thank you for making us aware of your situation. We're so sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. We're happy to contact Shore Excursions Group (SEG), the third-party company we use for shore excursions, to see if anything can be done about your missed tours. Can you please provide me with your booking number or your ship and sail date? Once we locate your booking, I'll ask a manager to contact SEG on your behalf. We're sorry again, and look forward to speaking with you.
Reviewed July 12, 2023
I was told I had to book and pay in full right away, that the Windstar cruise would fill up and that I needed to pay a double rate even though I was attending as a single. I begged for some allowance and was told the cruise is a competitive one and would never decrease in price. They would not refund my 3000 deposit so I paid 11000 for the cruise. As soon as I paid in full the website is now advertising 6000 for a single. That’s 5000 less! I wrote and asked them if they would honour this rate and was told it’s too late as I’ve paid in full already. If I had booked direct with Windstar they told me they would have been glad to honour my singles rate. Shame on Vacations To Go and my agent Athena for taking advantage and lying to me. Her commission is more important than honour and reputation. I feel sick and sad that I was deceived by this company.
Thanks for writing, Karen. We apologize for the negative impression you received. We never intend to pressure our customers to book, and we don't know when prices will drop, increase, or what promotions may appear later. All pricing (and policies surrounding it) are set by the cruise line & we are obliged to follow them. I see that one of our managers is working with Windstar to see if an exception can be made for you, and we are waiting to hear from them. Thank you for your continued patience.
Vacations To Go Company Information
- Company Name:
- Vacations To Go
You’re signed up
We’ll start sending you the news you need delivered straight to you. We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.