Green Home Systems

Green Home Systems Reviews

Green Home Systems Reviews
Author pictureAuthor picture
Author picture
Written by
Author picture
Edited by

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

Overall Rating3.8 out of 5
See all 48 reviews

About Green Home Systems Reviews

Green Home Systems offers solar panel installation that generates solar energy and converts it into AC energy to power your home or business. It works with brands like Panasonic, Longi and QCells as an authorized dealer. Other products include backup battery storage systems, inverters, optimizers and generators. Green Home Systems is based in Los Angeles but contracts for projects nationwide. All solar panels include a 25-year warranty.

Pros & Cons


  • Lower monthly electrical cost
  • 25-year guarantee
  • Financing available
  • Energy storage options


  • Physical locations only in select states

Bottom Line

Green Home Systems is a solar panel installation company. It partners with several companies, including Panasonic, as an authorized solar panel dealer. Its products include solar panels, backup battery storage, inverters and racking systems. Projects are backed by a 25-year warranty and are available nationwide.

What is Green Home Systems?

Green Home Systems is a solar panel installation company specializing in renewable energy. It installs residential and commercial solar panels. Additional products include backup batteries, generators and inverters. Mounting options include rooftop, ground and carport/shade structures. Green Home Systems offers solar panels from brands including Panasonic, QCells, Longi and URE. Installations come with a 25-year production and workmanship warranty.

How does Green Home Systems work?

Green Home System solar panel projects start with a free quote online or by phone. Once you request a quote, a consultation takes place. This includes looking at your property, analyzing your electrical bill and taking measurements. After the consultation, Green Home Systems will design your system and all component needs, like inverters and backup batteries.

After a design is complete and a quote accepted, Green Home Systems takes care of any permit needs. Then an installation date is scheduled. Install times vary based on the project scope. All Green Home Systems installations are backed by a 25-year performance and product warranty.

After installation, solar panels are ready to generate alternative energy. When the sunlight hits the panels, an electric field is created. The electricity flows through a conductive wire that carries the current to the inverter, which converts the electrical energy to AC (alternating current) power. The AC power travels to the breaker box, which delivers the electricity throughout your home or business. Any unused electricity goes to the electric meter and back to the grid.

Green Home Systems is a fully licensed and insured solar company. It also carries certificates from SolarEdge and Enphase and has a partnership with Panasonic as an EverVolt Elite Installer.

Green Home Systems products

Green Home Systems offers a variety of solar panel products and components.

  • Solar panels: Green Home Systems partners with Panasonic as an authorized dealer. Other brands offered include Longi, URE and QCells. Representatives design your solar panel project and help determine what size and capabilities your home or business needs.
  • Inverters: Inverter brands include Enphase, SolarEdge and Sol-Ark. Inverters are a critical part of solar panel operation; they take the generated electricity from the panels and convert it into AC power.
  • Batteries: Backup batteries store solar panel energy to be used when the sun isn’t out. Green Home Systems offers Enphase, LG and HomeGrid battery options.
  • Other: Green Home Systems offers add-on products for your solar panel-run home or business. These include optimizers, backup generators, a solar racking system and smart electrical panels.

Green Home Systems prices

Solar panel project cost varies, but you can expect to pay between $9,000 and $13,000 for a full-system installation. For larger projects, pricing can go up to around $15,000. Solar panels are eligible for tax credits, which can help offset the initial cost. Other factors affecting overall price include solar panel brand, installation complexity, labor and financing. Cost should be laid out clearly in the Green Home Systems quote and contract to prevent surprise expenses.

Green Home Systems FAQ

Does Green Home Systems have a warranty?

Yes, all solar panels come with a 25-year product and workmanship warranty.

Does Green Home Systems offer financing?

Financing is available, with $0 down payment options.

Does Green Home Systems provide energy storage?

Yes, energy storage options are available through backup batteries, which store energy for use during periods of little or no sunlight.

Where is Green Home Systems available?

Green Home Systems contracts for solar panel installations nationwide. It's based in Los Angeles.

Is Green Home Systems legit?

Green Home Systems is a legitimate, fully licensed and insured solar panel company. Using converted energy from the sun can help reduce your monthly electricity bill. However, the upfront cost can be pricey. If you have the budget and/or financing options and want access to renewable energy, Green Home Systems may be beneficial. It’s available for projects nationwide, and panels come with a 25-year product and workmanship guarantee.

Green Home Systems Reviews

Top reviews
  • Top reviews
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Green Home Systems?
  • 4,313,342 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 1 Reviews 0 - 5
Verified purchase
Customer ServiceInstallation & SetupTechPrice

Reviewed June 22, 2023

The salesman hooked us up on the loans then supposedly sent the programs where they're $0 out of pocket. We got it but because of covid, it took a longer process than necessary to get the product. Once we got the product, another guy (Abner) who was the project manager took over. I kept in contact with him. But all of a sudden, I was not getting any text messages back from Abner after the panels were installed. Nobody from Green Home Systems told me that they either fired him or he quit, just like my salesman. I was left out in no man's land, trying to figure out who to talk to. They had two people that I dealt with that both quit. That was not a good sign.

We ordered in April of 2022. It got put in two weeks into October. We didn't get to turn it on till October 28th of 2023. I didn't get to bank any summer energy for the winter, so I ended up still having electric bills in the winter time. The biggest thing that sold me was zero out of pocket. But when this lady, Amy, called me from Carbon Solutions to get the incentive program for the State of Illinois for the solar panels, she told me I have to come up with 500 and some dollars. I told her that was not gonna happen. I gave them a choice. I said, “You either come get the ** off my garage, take it all down, get all your wiring out of my ground and take it all away, or you pay the 500 and some dollars.” Green Home Systems could be upfront and let their salesman be honest. They have to tell the customer that there's a $500 that they have to pay upfront. Amy said, "You're not the first one to tell me that they didn't tell you about the 500 some dollars.”

The product is awesome. The installer was awesome as well. But Green Home Systems could work on the communication gap. The installer was supposed to be here one day according to Abner. The installer was understanding that the material was coming in the next day. If he would have been in contact with me as the homeowner, I could have told him when the material showed up. Abner was very pleasant to talk to but he was just shooting an arrow into the air and wondering where it was landing. If they could give the installer the homeowner's number, that would be good. Also, I have tried to call Amy the last two days. I also left Doug, the project overhead manager of Green Homes, a text about the incentive from the State of Illinois. But nobody has called me back.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Green Home Systems
Response from Green Home Systems
Hello Richard,

I wanted to take a moment to extend my apologies for the unpleasant experience you recently had with GHS. We take pride in our services and it's always disheartening to hear when a customer is not satisfied.

I would like to invite you to share any specific details about your experience with GHS and any areas where you feel we could improve. Our goal is to make sure that every customer receives top-notch service and support from our team.

Please know that your feedback is valuable to us, and we are committed to doing everything we can to earn your 5-star satisfaction.

Thank you for considering my request, and please let me know how we can further assist you.

Best regards,

GHS team

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Solar Energy Companies delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thanks for subscribing.

    You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Verified purchase

    Reviewed June 13, 2023

    Green Home Systems was willing to help us with the roof. With them, it was easy. The hardest part was they were working with Excel and Excel was the one that dragged their feet. Towards the latter part of it, they didn't communicate the lag in time. They stated it at the very beginning that they didn't communicate it as it was going on. They were gonna wait the full 60 days before they make their decision. Towards the end of that, I was calling them and they told me they were gonna wait till the very last day. That would have been something nice to know before going in that it was gonna be Excel and where I thought it was them not getting back to me. It was a long process because we had to get the clearance to do it through Excel. But after we got that clear, it was quick.

    We met with two people. They took pictures of what they proposed. They sent someone out to give us a quote on what they could do for us and how many panels they could put up. They explained everything well. The team who did the installation showed up in the morning and were done within one day. They were good with my husband and explained all the wires that came down from the house into the electrical box, what the electrical box was and how to use it. They cleaned up afterwards.

    It was a good experience overall. It's worth it. The bill that comes from Excel is 20 bucks compared to $200 or $300. The app shows us throughout the day what our overall kilowatt hours is and if we're using everything we're producing. The thing that I was upset about was when we first started in the proposal, they had told us that they were gonna give us a battery so that it charged with the solar panel and if we had an outage it would supply that as electricity. They didn't realize that that type of battery didn't work at our elevation. They told us if we wanted a type of battery that goes off the propane, they could work with us. That was their only choice of a battery instead of having multiple options. Also, I don't think I've received anything for the credit. They said we're gonna get this money back but the process of getting it and applying it was never there.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Kristin,

    I wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your experience with us. At our company, we strive to provide our customers with a seamless solar installation experience, so it means the world to us to hear that we hit the mark with you.
    Our team works tirelessly to ensure that everything, from the initial consultation to the final installation, is handled with utmost professionalism and care. We truly appreciate your business and are committed to providing you and all our customers with the best possible service.

    Thank you again for choosing us for your solar needs. We look forward to continuing to work with you and earn your loyalty in the future!

    Verified purchase
    Customer ServiceInstallation & SetupSales & MarketingPriceOnline & AppFinancingBattery

    Reviewed June 1, 2023

    I liked the price and availability of Green Home Systems. They drew up a proposal and handed it to me. I had to answer several questions for them about my house and but it wasn't really that much. Their reps were very knowledgeable and professional. I like that. They offered one thing, and then I changed my mind on some stuff, and then I got offered something different that would work with what I was doing. They worked with me. As far as the federal income tax, they tell you you get the tax break, and I already knew that the way my taxes were, I wasn't going to really realize as much as what they wrote the documentation up for and what was built into my financing plan.

    The installation left a little bit to be desired. There was room for improvement as far as when they were coming out, when they were gonna get done doing the work that they did, and the people doing the work. They had some delays in some things that had me a little bit concerned about getting everything done in a timely manner. The timeline I was given was very short. It was really done in a very small amount of time and it dragged out over several weeks. There were delays getting me hooked up. There were some delays in getting some parts. They didn't have something that they needed and there was some general confusion on some things.

    Also, there's a little room to be desired, too, with their customer service team. I was never given any kind of an operating manual. I tried to get some information when the power goes out. How do I know if the power comes back on or if I'm still on the battery if my internet is down? One time, the power went out, but there was so much snow that my internet dish was covered, so I lost all internet. So, I had no way of knowing if I was back on the grid or if I was running on the battery, or if I had to be conservative. I have never gotten that question answered.

    The app is pretty cool except when the internet goes down and I have no information whatsoever. I do have the battery. The reason I got the grid is because I have a battery backup system. So, when the grid does go down, I'm running off my battery. What I want to know is how do I tell, if the internet is down, if I'm on my battery, or if I'm on the grid because my usage of things differs drastically. Overall, Green Home Systems did a good job. There are a few things lacking, but they were decent. If I had somebody to refer to, I would refer them.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Cheryl,

    I wanted to personally thank you for your detailed review. At our company, we value customers like you exceptionally, and we are committed to doing everything in our power to ensure your satisfaction.

    Best Regards,

    GHS team

    Verified purchase
    Customer ServiceInstallation & SetupContract & TermsTechSales & MarketingBattery

    Reviewed May 22, 2023

    I called Green Home Systems and asked questions. I talked to somebody then waited a while. I called back and the guy talked to me some more. He was very polite. A couple of times, he called me in following up things. I told him that I was busy. He was in his office and I was out for the evening because there was a four-hour time difference. We would make arrangements for him to call back. Santiago was the seller then it transferred to another guy who was the project manager. He was very much in communication with us and was right on. There was good coordination. We signed in November and people started showing up, taking pictures, and plotting and planning. They had designed it to go using Google satellite image of my property. When the builder came, I told him where I preferred the panels put in. He's from this area and was also in contact with me letting me know when he was coming and how many people he was bringing with him.

    In the first month, I had a technical problem. In one sense, I still do, but it's not an operational problem. That technical problem was an operational one. We went live in February of last year with only one inverter. The two inverters have to feed into one line but they wouldn't talk to each other. The one inverter didn't want to feed. That was the maker's issue. The builder finally convinced them and they made a phone call and fixed it. Once that happened in March, we were into full production. I've been making power.

    My system works well. I'm happy I got solar. I haven't paid an electric bill in over a year. Penelec owed me money. They made me put up a deposit because my bill was so high. When I went and started generating this, they had to pay me back. Green Home Systems also said I would get a tax refund but they did not explain it that well. My tax man did. This January, February, I got a tax credit. I was very happy with the subcontractor Green Home Systems used to put the system in. But I was not happy that Green Home Systems did not reward the family that recommended them. They promised $1,000, but I don't think it was ever remitted. The last I talked to that family, it had not been.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Ted,

    It was a delight to read about your positive experience with Green Home Systems! Your detailed story was a testament to our commitment to serving and surpassing our clients' expectations.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide exceptional service to all of our clients, and your satisfaction means the world to us.

    Best regards,

    GHS team

    Verified purchase
    Customer ServiceInstallation & SetupContract & TermsSales & MarketingMaintenanceBattery

    Reviewed May 17, 2023

    The people from California were great but the people that they hired in North Carolina to install the solar panels were not. We live way out in the mountainous area of North Carolina and we're not close to any of the big companies that install. Green Home Systems hired a company that would come out here and install. They wouldn't get here till 11:00 in the morning and leave at 3:00. It took them over seven months. Other people we've talked to said it took four at maximum.

    We discussed all of this with Green Home Systems the whole time it was going on and they would prod them along every now and then and get a little more done. They understood that it was ridiculous. The contractor was not competent and didn't always have the equipment they needed. They were even going to install the panels wrong. We got 21 panels. They were going to install them three across and seven high. That makes a big sail for the wind to come up, pick that up and carry it off. We wanted it seven across, three high. My husband had to help them do the calculations to figure out how to align it. It took them an entire day to figure out how to do that. It ended up that Green Home Systems paid this extra money because it took them so long. They reimbursed us $1,000. We bought batteries for the solar panels and that went better. There was one guy that came out to do it and it took him a long time, but he got it done correctly.

    We would never recommend that particular contracted company to anybody. I recommended that Green Home Systems drop them from their list of people to call. Maybe they'd do better if they're closer to Charlotte. If it was raining in Charlotte but was not raining here, they didn't come. It's a different climate here than it is in Charlotte. They're drier and hotter and we're colder and wetter. They didn't check to see if it was raining here. They just didn't show up or they didn't tell us if they were coming or not and we would wait for them to come. We were supposed to get a free television that was part of the promotion at the time. They sent it but it was broken. I called and told them but nothing was ever done about that. But we love having the panels and the batteries and my husband enjoys having the feedback that's provided on the computer over the internet. He's all about charts and graphs. He makes the chart or graph every day about our solar use. We're very happy with the product.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Cindy,

    At GHS, we strive to provide a seamless solar installation experience. We are sorry to hear that our crew did not meet your expectations. We want you to know that we are committed to ensuring your satisfaction, and we are here to assist you in every way possible.

    Using solar energy reduces your carbon footprint and saves on utility costs! We hope that your solar system will provide you with ample benefits and be a source of joy to you.


    The GHS Team

    Sales & Marketing

    Reviewed Sept. 7, 2023

    This was a great experience overall. From the first call to turning on the new Solar Panels. I would highly recommend this company if you are interested in going solar. I specifically thought the salespeople were the best. They knew what they were talking about.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Thank you Duane for your great review! We pride ourselves on having an easy and professional experience going solar. Enjoy the savings!

    Verified purchase

    Reviewed July 28, 2023

    Green Home's sales rep screwed me around. He got me the 200 and some dollars a month on the first loan thing we got and it took them forever to start on the panels and to get the roof done. He had to get me a reloan because it took so long to do it. So, now it cost me 300 and some dollars plus my electric bill and I'm paying just as much as I was before I had the panels. It'll be a year in October since I got the panels up and I'm not really happy. They're a little expensive, too. But the installers were great and I talked to them quite a bit out there about it.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Daniel, we sincerely apologize for the delay you experienced in starting the solar installation process. Our sales department is well-versed in financing options, ensuring that customers are presented with all available choices before making any commitments. With your locked-in loan payment and anticipated rise in utility rates, you can expect to see significant savings in the near future.

    Verified purchase
    Customer ServiceInstallation & Setup

    Reviewed July 23, 2023

    Everything at my property was good. The communication was all there, but it wasn't saying the next steps or what I should expect. It never was the way they said, so that was a little disheartening. I was put off a little bit here and there. The rep was cool and good as far as trying to talk with me. But when there were three scenarios, I was only told there was one. With the timeline, I was not told that it might take longer or it was gonna be a couple of weeks. But it was two months later. I had to keep following up to see what was going on and make sure it was okay, and I'd have questions.

    When I had a question for the local guy, it was like he fell off the face of the map. I never heard back from him. When they brought my solar panels out and dropped them off, we had extreme weather, and I thought these were sitting out here for four weeks. What if someone stole them? What if something happens to them? Am I liable for this? But there were no answers to a lot of that. That kind of pissed me off. I wasn't sure where to put them. I didn't know how big it was. Then I found out that it was just one pallet that was stacked about 5 feet high. I was also worried about where they were gonna bring the truck in. But the installation went pretty good.

    Green Home told me that I was up and running. So I pressed on the internet thing that they sent me, and then the next day, it said, “Sorry. You’re no longer hooked up to the grid, but that's ok. You're still producing energy.” I did not have a clue that I wasn't hooked up with Excel yet. I just thought I was offline and everything was screwed up. So I contacted the sales guy because he was the one that set it up on the internet. But he never got back to me. I didn't know that they turned it on and then off the next day until Excel gave it the okay.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Ann,

    Ensuring a seamless installation process is our utmost priority. While some steps, such as obtaining permits, are beyond our control and depend on utility companies, they may contribute to a longer duration for the solar process. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during the waiting period.

    Verified purchase
    Installation & Setup

    Reviewed July 22, 2023

    Green Home Systems was supposed to have the installation done in December, but we didn't get it done until the end of January. The installation people were not reliable and dependable on when they were coming. They would have somebody come in one day, do a few hours’ worth of work. That guy would disappear. They would have a guy come over again, do a couple of hours' worth of work, disappear, and we wouldn't see them for three or four days. I couldn't stay here. I prefer to be here when somebody's working on my home. I had a lot going on at that point in time, and we couldn't be here.

    They reconfigured the solar panels because we had trees taken down out of the front of our house. And they would put some on the left. Our house is an L shape. And we would put a couple of panels on the left side of the house, but instead, they put them all on the front of the house because we took the trees out and we would get more sunlight that way. There were some extra rails, and my husband told them to leave them just in case something came up. Because it's always 10 years later, something would happen, and they couldn't get the parts. So, we would have had some. But they took it all. They weren't supposed to take it. I paid for the product.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems

    Dear Mrs. Shappee, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We genuinely value your feedback and would like to understand how we can exceed your expectations. Is there anything we can do to earn a 5-star rating from you? Your satisfaction is our utmost priority.

    Verified purchase

    Reviewed July 22, 2023

    My last energy bill showed a $50 credit in my favor. The process was simple with Green Home Systems. They helped in working out the placement and number of units. However, the installer wasn't told that I had a metal roof. That was something he didn't wanna pierce. That's something they might wanna look into in the future.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Green Home Systems
    Response from Green Home Systems


    Thank you for your outstanding review! We deeply appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts and the exceptional rating you gave us. It means the world to us!

    Loading more reviews...

    Green Home Systems Company Information

    Social media:
    Company Name:
    Green Home Systems