IRS issues tax relief for victims of California storms, extends filing deadlines

Photo (c) Constitine Johnny - Getty Images

The agency is also working to educate taxpayers on the different kinds of deductions

With tax season ramping up, the Internal Revenue Service is working to ensure taxpayers are prepared for the coming months. 

Recently, the agency announced that victims of the California storms are eligible for tax relief, including extended filing deadlines. In addition, the agency is working to spread the word to taxpayers about the difference between standard and itemized deductions. 

What Californians should know

Taxpayers in California affected by the ongoing storms are getting some relief from the IRS. The agency has identified several key areas across the state where residents and businesses are eligible for the relief, all of which can be found on the Tax Relief in Disaster Situations page. 

Ultimately, residents and businesses in affected areas now have until May 15, 2023, to make any payments or file returns. 

This extension is valid for: 

  • Business returns normally due on March 15 and April 18

  • Personal returns due on April 18

  • Quarterly estimated tax payments

  • Quarterly payroll and excise tax that are normally due on January 31 and April 18

The IRS explained that anyone living or operating a business in these affected areas will automatically qualify for this tax relief, and taxpayers shouldn’t worry about reaching out to the IRS. 

Standard vs. itemized deductions

Taxpayers typically have the choice between using the standard deduction or itemizing their deductions, and whichever choice gives them the lowest tax is typically the best option. 

The IRS explained that several factors can affect which route taxpayers go: changes to the current tax laws, changes to the taxpayer's current filing situation, or changes to the standard deduction. After that, several factors come into play for both itemized and standard deductions. 

Itemized deductions can include: 

  • Real estate and personal property taxes

  • Charitable donations

  • Home mortgage interest

  • Unreimbursed medical and dental expenses that go beyond 7.5% of total income

  • Personal casualty and theft losses from a federally declared disaster 

  • State and local income or sales tax 

When it comes to standard deductions, certain factors can prohibit taxpayers from taking this option, including: 

  • An individual who was a non-resident alien or dual-status alien during the year

  • A married individual filing as married but filing separately whose spouse items deductions (both spouses must itemize even on separate returns)

  • A tax return filed for a period of fewer than 12 months 

The IRS explained that the standard deduction amount is also subject to change based on: whether the taxpayer is 65 years or older and blind, the taxpayer’s filing status, and whether the taxpayer is claimed as a dependent. 

More information for taxpayers is available here

Take a Financial Relief Quiz. Get matched with an Authorized Partner.