FOLLOW US

Bay Alarm Medical
Bay Alarm Medical
Overall Satisfaction Rating
4.55/5
  • 5 stars
    442
  • 4 stars
    49
  • 3 stars
    25
  • 2 stars
    18
  • 1 stars
    16
Based on 550 ratings submitted in the last yearSHOW RATING DISTRIBUTION

Bay Alarm Medical

ConsumerAffairs Accredited Brand

For over 60 years, Bay Alarm Medical's singular mission has been to protect the most important things in life: family, health and independence. We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of safety, honesty and customer service. All of our clients are fully protected with industry-leading medical alert systems and backed by one of the nation's most reliable 24 hour medical alert emergency call centers.

Bay Alarm Medical Gallery (1)
A+BBB Rating
Read More Read More
Last updated: April 25, 2018

3123 Bay Alarm Medical Consumer Reviews and Complaints

Filter by: Any
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 25, 2018

On 3/16/18 I forgot to take off the call button when leaving. Unknowingly the car seat belt pressed the call button. With the garage door opening, car starting & me inside the car, I did not hear the alarm. You made every attempt to reach someone, but due to various circumstances, could not reach anyone. You even sent a squad, but I was at clinic getting blood work & had my phone off. Now we know the alarm works very well! Thank you!

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Not sure how to choose?

Get expert buying tips about Medical Alert Systems delivered to your inbox.

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter!Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.
We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 24, 2018

The automatic fall detection works well, and the company was very quick and polite in their response to the alarm. Thank you! On a side note, thank you for sending handsome hunks to check me out when the automatic fall detection was triggered by my countertop (I put it down too hard).

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 24, 2018

I find that the necklace rope you use is very itchy and am allergic to it. You should use non allergic materials! This means that I cannot wear it and have to keep the necklace next to me. I’m thinking of changing companies.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 23, 2018

Haven't had any issues, apparently pushed button by mistake and was contacted immediately, which was a great comfort. Haven't filled out paperwork yet as I'm still trying to decide about where to hide a key. Given the cost and your immediate response would definitely recommend. Thank you.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Amy - Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear everything is working well. Yes, please be sure to return the Emergency Contact Form so we can keep your preferred emergency protocol and key location in our records. Without it, we won't be able to communicate with your local EMS. We do have a Lock Box available that you can place your key in and keep it protected with a code. Please give us a call if this is something you might be interested in. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 23, 2018

Because the equipment is now a fixture in my kitchen, I have come to check-in about once a month, just to make sure it is working properly. I have a new habit - when my husband leaves the house either to drive a distance away or just to work in the garden, I put on the "necklace" and wear it until he comes back into the house. I feel comfortable wearing it and know that if I need it, I have it on. Thank you Bay Alarm.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Marguerite - We are glad to know you are testing your system at least once a month as we do advise customers to do so. Of course we would like for you to wear your button at all times as you can never plan for an emergency, but we understand everyone's comfort is different and when your husband is home, he can assist you if anything were to occur. Keep your habit up and don't forget to put your button on! Again, we really appreciate your review and we were happy to hear from you. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Bay Alarm Medical?
  • 1,085,381 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 22, 2018

Bay Alarm is hands down the best in the life alarm industry. Ingrid would be asset to any company. The ultimate professional in my humble opinion. Yes I would unequivocally recommend Bay Alarm to friends and family. Continue leading your industry. Thank you much.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Gordie! Thank you for your awesome review. Ingrid was so happy to hear from you and your kind words really made our day. We truly appreciate your recommendation. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 22, 2018

All reps answered quickly and were professional and helpful. I felt that they were very concerned with my mother’s safety and made me feel confident in her protection. I would Recommend Bay Alarm based on my initial contact with them.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Elizabeth - Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to know that our representatives were able to assist you with all your questions and concerns. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if you need anything else - we are happy to help! Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 21, 2018

My siblings and I purchased the button for our mom and she's had it for approximately 3-4 months. We've not had anything happen, so I can't really speak to this except to say I know it gives her peace of mind and myself. So far everything has been great.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Judi - Thank you for your review. We are very happy that your mom has not needed it for an emergency and we hope she never does! We are glad that everything is working well. Please remember to test her system at least once a month by pushing her button, and once the dispatcher comes over the base unit speaker, she can kindly let them know she is just testing. Please give us a call if she needs assistance with testing - we're happy to help! Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 21, 2018

I secured Bay Alarm for my 97 yr old mom who still lives in her own apartment. I've had numerous occasions to speak to them during setup and since. My mom accidentally bumped her button on her wrist unit. She didn't have her hearing aids in when Bay Alarm called to check on her condition, so they called the paramedics, then the three siblings on the list. They have been fantastic every time I've called to check on something. This is the reason that, after researching companies, I chose Bay Alarm. They are Fantastic! I would highly recommend them to anyone. I'm very satisfied.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Duane - Thank you for taking the time to review us. It really means a lot to hear from you. We are happy to hear it was just a false alarm and she did not need emergency assistance. Great to know our dispatchers are prompt and following protocol to assist your mom. Thank you for trusting in our team and again, we thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 21, 2018

Very good feeling as to be cared or helped on my position at this time. Have been helped every time I have need info or help. Thanks so much for being there for your customers. Have recommended several people to your Company. Hoping for continued good service. It’s nice to feel safe. Hope I don’t have to avail of your service, but good to know you are there.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Carole - Thank you so much for your review and your kind recommendations. We are glad to know that everything has been working well and you are feel safe. We also hope you never have to use our service for an emergency. Please remind everyone you refer to mention your name when they purchase so both you and your friend can take advantage of our Refer-A-Friend program benefit (1 month free for every friend you refer - No cap!) Give us a call if you have any questions. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 21, 2018

My mother gets around OK. But she sometimes accidentally sets off the alarm, and they are very good with her. And I think there has only been one time she actually fell. SO she is very confident of the service and so am I.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Julie - Thank you for your review. We hope that your mom is doing well and are glad to hear that our services are keeping her safe. We thank you for trusting in us and appreciate your feedback. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if you need anything else or have any questions - we are happy to help! Sincerely, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 21, 2018

My dad hasn't needed to use it but I feel more comfortable with him having it. One challenge is that the watch keeps falling off his wrist while he is sleeping. It's not a quality band. What can we do about that?

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Mary - Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad to know your dad has not needed our services for an emergency. We are sorry to hear that the wrist band is too big for your dad - it does have an adjustable strap, but it seems like that is not working for him. If you'd like we can exchange the wrist band for a lanyard button, which he will wear around his neck. We also have Wireless wall button options that might be helpful to have next to the bed if he does not want to wear something while sleeping. We can have a representative to give you a call and discuss your options. Talk to you soon - Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

I am very pleased with the experiences I have had with Bay Alarm Medical. Whenever I have had to check my system the people I spoke to were very helpful and polite. Since I live alone I am very happy that my family suggested I get your system because now I feel safe.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Trudy - Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear that your experiences have been positive. It means a lot that our users feel safe with our product and trust in our team - so thank you for letting us know how we are doing. If there is anything else we can do for you, please don't hesitate to give us a call. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

System was very easy to hook up. It's easy to use. All staff has been very helpful. I have done a monthly check and have also set it off accidentally. Everyone has been very understanding. My family is glad that I have finally decided to get a system.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Marie - Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that everything is working and you and your family have comfort and trust in our product and services. It means a lot to us! We'd love to be a 5-Star company in your eyes, so please feel free to provide any further feedback that we can work on that would encourage you to give us 5-Stars. Feel free to give us a call if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 20, 2018

The customer service that I received from Sarah was wonderful. She helped me figure out what would work out best for my Mom. Her kindness and smile was felt over the phone. The Call center is so respectful. Mom has set off her GPS by accident more than a couple of times. The call center makes contact with mom and makes sure that my mom is alright. The call center is so respectful and kind to my mom. And for that I will recommend Bay Alarm to my friends. Kindness and Respect to an elder, warms my heart.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Sonya - Thank you for your review. Sarah was very excited to hear how pleased you were with her assistance. We are very glad that you and your mom feel comfortable with her Mobile GPS device. Should you have any questions, please don't hesitate to give us a call. We're here to help! Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

I purchased my Bay Alarm Medical System last October. Since then I haven't had any emergencies. However, when I set off the alarm button in error (about 6 times) I am very impressed with the speed and consistency with which Bay Alarm Medical responds by audio. The staff who respond are quick, courteous and make sure I am safe and well. This is priceless. Thanks so much.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Sue - We are very glad to know you have no needed our services for an emergency. We do advise that you test the system at least once a month, though the false alarms are a great indicator things are working properly! Feel free to give us a call if you need assistance with testing or have any further questions. We are proud to know our team is prompt when assisting you. Thank you again! Sincerely, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

Exceptionally satisfied with Bay Medical. Although not used for a true emergency, any occasional accidental triggers as well the monthly tests always produced a pleasant, professional and caring voice on the other end. I am extremely pleased with my decision to go with Bay Medical! Highly recommended!

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi D - Thank you so much for your review! It is so great to hear how pleased you are with our product and services and that everything is working for you. We appreciate your recommendation and thank you for trusting in us. Give us a call if there is anything else we can do for you. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

I signed up for Bay Medical after my husband passed away in January 2018. Living alone with some medical conditions prompted me to obtain an emergency alert system. After careful review of many systems I chose Bay and have been completely satisfied with Bay's response when I set off the alert by accident which happens more often than I would like. I am confident that in a true emergency, Bay will be there for me.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Andreatte - We are sorry to hear about your loss. We truly appreciate your review and are happy to hear that our product and services have offered you comfort and peace of mind. It means a lot hearing from you. Thank you for trusting in our team to be there for you. Please give us a call if you need anything else or have any questions. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

Excellent company to work with! Equipment is easy to install and reliable. My cat and I accidentally set off the alarm three times. The operators were right there to answer. Their patience and understanding were very much appreciated. Their pricing is the most reasonable I found while doing my research. I highly recommend Bay Medical to you!

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Charles - Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that installation went well and that our dispatchers were prompt during your false alarm. If you have any questions or need anything else, please feel free to give us a call - we are happy to help! Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 20, 2018

We ordered this unit, and because of a variety of issues, didn't end up installing it for a few months. That is on us. However, the first night, mom rolled over on the button, and the call box began making an alarm sound (LOUD). Since I was there, I went to the box, and in the meanwhile, mom stumbled her way out. She almost fell as she hurried to the phone box in the living room. When we called, we learned that if we had the GPS model, we could get the same communication through the button that is available from other companies at a far less cost. Installation was rather easy, and communication through the box was ok. But if she could get to the phone, there wouldn't be a need for the button. I did a lot of research, and it was not at all clear that communication through the button was not an option unless you got the very expensive plan.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Ruth - Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that installation and testing went well. The audio on our base unit is loud to ensure users, who are mostly hard of hearing- can hear it, whether it is a false alarm or an emergency. We do not have a button with a speaker, but we do have the Mobile GPS which is a device best used when away from the home. Our standard buttons do not have a speaker because they are all waterproof, a feature we find important as many falls occur in the shower. If you have questions and concerns about your system and need further clarification, please give our Customer Service team a call and we would be more than happy to help 1-877-522-9633. Thank you again for your review. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 20, 2018

I ordered the Bay Alarm system for my mom because a month after my dad passed away she fell down her stairs in the quad-level she was living in. She did not call any of her children to let us know. Turns out she suffered a bad cut to her head and a compression fracture to her spine. Having the system gave the family peace of mind that if it happened again she could press the alert button and receive help within minutes. My mom has now moved into an Assisted Living Facility. Since a contract is not required it was easy to cancel the service when she moved. All the employees were friendly from the moment I first called for information until the end when service was no longer needed. The monthly fee was reasonable & there were no hidden charges. I will definitely recommend this company!

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Sharon - Thank you for your review regarding your mother's time using our services. We really appreciate your feedback and it was nice to hear how we offered protection for her. We are glad that our flexible pricing options and our hassle-free cancellation were helpful for your family. Thank you for choosing our team to be there for your mom - please send her our best wishes. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 20, 2018

There have been many mix-ups with our order and the first package took weeks to reach my father. Luckily, he hasn't needed to use his equipment yet. One of the gentlemen that I spoke to twice on the phone was extremely rude.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Elin - We are very sorry to hear about the frustration you experienced with your order and customer service experience. We have taken your feedback to our team and ensure that we have taken proper action and improved our training. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if there is anything else you need. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

Bay Medical has been wonderful to my mother, Roberta **. Even when she accidentally sets off her button, a member of your team is always prompt and courteous when contacting her. While I hope she never has to use it, I can rest assured that she can contact help if she ever needs it. Thank you for being there for her!

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Cindy - Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that your mom has had a positive experience with our services so far and we most definitely hope she never has to use it for an emergency. We don't mind the false alarms and monthly testing. If you have any questions or need assistance with her account, feel free to give us a call. Again, thank you for your kind review. It was great to hear from you! Sincerely, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

I have had my medical alert button for 2 or 3 month. I haven't had to use it thankfully but makes me feel safer. Twice I have done something that set it off and a person come on and has been very polite and understanding. My family feels better with me having the medical alert necklace.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Shirley - We are so thankful you have not had to use your device for an emergency! It's great to see things seem to be working fine. You can and should test your system at least once a month by pushing the button and once our dispatcher comes over the base unit speaker, let them know you are okay and just testing. We are glad to hear you and your family feel better and have peace of mind that you are safe. Best regards, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

I was very disappointed with the set-up instructions provided with the system when it arrived. We ended up having EMS response at our home without our knowledge of even having done so. I heard a voice message 2 nights ago when I was sound asleep that a system check was needed. It scared me. I would have appreciated a warning that this notification would occur at this time when I received the system.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Stacey - We thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had trouble installing our system. Please give our Tech Support team a call at your earliest convenience to test the system with you. At this time, the emergency call list is on our default protocol. You are more than welcome to give us a call and have our dispatchers contact a family member before contacting your local EMS. If this sounds like something you might want to do or have further questions about, please give our Customer Service team a call. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

My Mom passed away recently, leaving Dad home alone. He has some balance problems and I was concerned he might fall. I ordered the alarm system and easily set it up. Dad wears the lanyard around his neck at all time. He has his information on the fridge and the little console is in the dining room. Dad told me the cat stepped on the help button once, and the operator was very kind and understanding. We are both happy with Bay Alarm Medical thus far.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Lisa - First and foremost, we are sorry for your loss. We know it can be a difficult transition in caring for the other parent and we truly appreciate you and your family trusting in our services to assist your father. We advise our customers to test the system at least once a month - you guys are more than welcome to give us a call if you need help with testing or have any other questions. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

I have had great service. Thank goodness I've only had to use them once and once was a false alarm due to changing the remote to a new remote and it activated the alarm. But everybody was very nice and very helpful.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Heather - Thank you for your review. We are glad that it was only a false alarm that you experience and that our customer service team was prompt and kind when assisting you. Please give us a call if you have any questions - we are happy to help! Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 19, 2018

For the most part, the system is good. The only part that I am unsure of is the "fall detection" feature. I am not sure this is working. If I press the button, they respond OK, but not with fall detection. How do I know it is working?

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Judy - Thank you for your review. We understand it is hard to test a fall for the that fall detection button, but you did the right thing by testing the button. We always recommend a user with fall detection to push their button once if they are able to. Even though a user has fall detection, if conscious, then pushing the button will connect to our dispatchers. If the fall detection user is unable to push the button but is still conscious, we advise they do not move too much so that the button can detect it as a fall and not normal movement. If you have concerns, please give us a call so we can make sure you are comfortable knowing it is working properly. Thank you again. Best, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 19, 2018

I reviewed several medical alert systems before purchasing the Bay Alarm medical system and have been very pleased with the system. It's an especially versatile system because you have different options to choose from. My alert system can be used at home, about town or traveling throughout New England. This gives me and my family great peace of mind.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Donna - Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you did your research and appreciate your trust in our team. It's great that you are now covered in and away from home. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to give us a call. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 19, 2018

I purchased this system for my parents. We exchanged a wrist alert for a neck pennant. It took 6 emails to get the billing correct and to have them cease and desist sending me a document through DocuSign to sign, which I had already signed. As I said, very nice people there, just a bit frustrating.

Bay Alarm Medical response

Hi Lee - Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize for your frustration and can assure you that this does not reflect our expectations in taking care of our customers. We are very sorry and will look into what occurred to ensure we take the proper action. We appreciate your time and please invite you to give us a call if you have any further concerns. Thank you, Bay Alarm Medical

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Bay Alarm Medical expert review by Shelley Webb

Sixty years in the business of protecting families has given Bay Alarm Medical critical insight into the needs of their customers. As a result, the company has won multiple awards for best provider in the medical alert system category.

  • They offer a free trial period: Customers can try the service for 14 days before making a decision. As long as everything is returned within the trial period, customers will get a full refund.

  • Their free spouse coverage may be a bonus: Essentially, Bay Alarm Medical offers a buy one, get one free special. Customers who sign up can include their spouses free.

  • Pricing: Bay Alarm Medical offers deep discounts when service is paid in a single annual installment.

  • There are equipment costs: Many companies offer medical alert system equipment free with the installation, but this provider has a one-time device fee, depending on the level of service chosen.

  • Best for: Seniors living alone, persons with newly diagnosed or severe epilepsy, persons with uncontrolled diabetes and caregivers.

Profile picture of Shelley Webb
Shelley Webb

Senior Products Contributing Editor

View Profile

Shelley Webb is a registered nurse, geriatric care manager and freelance writer who concentrates on the subjects of eldercare and health.

Bay Alarm Medical Company Information

Social media:
Company Name:
Bay Alarm Medical
Company Type:
Private
Year Founded:
1946
Formerly Named:
Bay Alarm Medical
Address:
2600 Stanwell Drive
City:
Pacheco
State/Province:
CA
Postal Code:
94520
Country:
United States
Phone:
(888) 829-2024
Website:
www.bayalarmmedical.com

ConsumerAffairs Solutions for Business

Let's talk

Follow us

ConsumerAffairs ranks 562 on Inc. 5000 for 2017

At ConsumerAffairs we love to hear from both consumers and brands; please never hesitate to Contact Us.

At ConsumerAffairs we take privacy seriously, please refer to our Privacy Policy to learn more about how we keep you protected.

You’re responsible for yourself and please remember that your use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use.

Advertisements on this site are placed and controlled by outside advertising networks. ConsumerAffairs.com does not evaluate or endorse the products and services advertised. See the FAQ for more information.

The information on our website is general in nature and is not intended as a substitute for competent legal advice. ConsumerAffairs.com makes no representation as to the accuracy of the information herein provided and assumes no liability for any damages or loss arising from the use thereof.

Copyright © 2018 Consumers Unified LLC. All Rights Reserved. The contents of this site may not be republished, reprinted, rewritten or recirculated without written permission.