3.6/5 (367 reviews)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

About Sunrun

Sunrun sells and leases customized residential solar energy systems and its Brightbox battery storage service in 20 states. Customers can own or lease a system with $0 down. Sunrun offers free energy consultations and quotes. Over 250,000 homes across the U.S. have gone solar with Sunrun, according to the company.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars


  • Flexible payment options
  • Daily system monitoring
  • Warranty with complete coverage


  • Limited price transparency
  • Not available in all states

Bottom Line

Sunrun offers personalized home solar energy system design, with the option to lease or purchase with monthly payments. Customers are generally satisfied with their solar systems, but some say the initial cost was high.

Sunrun Reviews

Top reviews
  • Top reviews
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any
  • Rated with 5 stars
  • Rated with 4 stars
  • Rated with 3 stars
  • Rated with 2 stars
  • Rated with 1 star

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

3 featured reviews
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Sunrun?
  • 4,210,830 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on please visit our FAQ.

Page 86 Reviews 2525 - 2555
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Jan. 15, 2016

Sad to see them with a booth in Costco. I am tempted to stand there and warn anybody who shows any interest that SUNRUN is a terrible company who does not care about their customers. I know I will get a courtesy response to send them my name and address, but the bottom line is they will not do right by you. I have a system that had the inverter break twice. Both times, I found this out by checking my production and notifying Sunrun. One of the times it was out for 2 months!!! They will hide behind the agreement that says they will meet yearly production or refund you, but far be it from them to compensate you for months of NO PRODUCTION!!!

I have already warned several friends about SUNRUN who have subsequently bought systems with other companies. ODD that in multiple phone conversations with Customer Service, the response is, "We can tell you are frustrated and hope to provide better service in the future." No, provide it now. Look at the months of no production and write me a check for the missed production. Look that up in your records and do something other than a lame reply on Facebook and a follow up call that accomplishes little but reminding me I wasted thousands of dollars investing in a terrible company. Until then, COSTCO, I hope you wake up to who you have let in the door. Your name should not be associated with SUNRUN. Disgraceful!!

105 people found this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 28, 2015

It is high quality. I've never had problems. Certainly recommend it. Served me very helpful. I had tried many brands until a friend recommended it. Already had a positive impact.

29 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 21, 2015

I am happy with the product and quality. I will continue to use more solar power products in my home and look forward it. I added a 4kw system to my house a year ago. This dropped my bill by around 88 dollars on average. I am planning to purchase an additional 3kw before the tax credits expire.

27 people found this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 18, 2015

One thing I love in Sunrun is they are the largest dedicated residential solar company in the US. They help homeowners get solar energy that is perfect for their home and lifestyle. Their installers are very well experienced too. They are very expertise in designing and installing a solar system. And the most important factor I consider for choosing Sunrun is that I pay a very low, locked in rate for the power and saved 20% on my electric bill.

26 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 14, 2015

It's helpful to maintain your daily life easy. It's absolutely time-consuming. This company provides you complete help unless you are completely new there. By using their products, make life easier and save energy.

20 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 10, 2015

Sunrun was such a great investment for our family, and their installation was very professional. We can't believe how much we save each month in energy costs! We have never had any problems with our system. The experience has been better than we could've hoped for.

28 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 6, 2015

With this solar energy, it has been such a great blessing to my family and life! Knowing that I am making a difference by using the services and products this company provides really makes me overjoyed. Everyone should rush to sign up and take the first step. Thanks for being so wonderful!

17 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Nov. 25, 2015

11/13 - due to a error on Sunrun's website - I was given to believe that my AutoPay option was not working and I was 1 month overdue. I paid in full the amount of 393.24 on 11/13. This company then charged me a further withdrawal of 196.62 X 2 on 11/16. And now the current bill does not show the overpayment, instead it is showing an amount of 196.62 due for 12/15. Sent customer service 2 emails one on 11/16 and one on 11/20 - response from the company is "We are working on it." I called Customer service today and they said the matter was referred to their corporate office. I would not recommend this company to anyone any longer. This practice of not responding to requests for refund of overpayment, incorrect billing practices are fraudulent and I will be reporting.

80 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Nov. 9, 2015

I had the no money down lease solar installed (40 panels) on my barn in Jan. 2015. The system has stopped working 3 different times in the term of 10 months. I pay a fixed rate of $153.00 per month to Sunrun, however when the system is not working they expect me to pay the monthly rate regardless. I am actually paying more in electric having solar than when I just used PSEG. Now I get a bill from Sunrun for 153.00 and also an electric bill from PSEG ranging from 150.00 to the one I just got for 376.00 in one single month. This company fails to tell you that during the night hours you go back on your electric company's grid. I am so upset that it keeps breaking down and I am not saving anything. Calling them is nothing but a runaround and put on hold. Really wish I never went solar!!!

97 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Original review: Nov. 2, 2015

I signed the 20 year lease contract with SunRun to install the REC solar panel (about 20 panels). Went through whole process, estimate, design, price. Deposited the $500 (non refundable). After that they simply stopped calling. I called couple of time to my sales rep (TJ ), no call return. Then I was able to contact one of other local design engineer (Sacramento). First she told me that, "We can't proceed with the contract, as the date roofer gave us won't work, we won't be able to get the permit out that quick."

I told her, "I am the owner, you should have notified me at least, let me know that you have a road block." After taking care of this, then I was told that, "The new roof you are having (we were getting a new metal roof) is not covered by our insurance, we can't install." I told him, "We already discuss that in the beginning. Already told the sales rep, that I am replacing my roof, with metal shakes." The site contractor told me, "We are sorry, he didn't know. And we will refund the money, we can't install." I told him, "I will sign off, for any roof coverage, you (your insurance) don't have to worry about it." First the contractor/consultant told me, "Then we can install." After couple of days he told me, "We can't."

58 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 29, 2015

I was referred to this company by my neighbor - and since had the solar service installed in my home in CA. During the process I was assured by the salesperson a Lance ** that I would also receive a check same as my neighbor for buying this system. I waited for a few months and then called in to ask why I had not received a check. I was put on hold for a long time and then told that the "check is in the mail" and should get to me in 4 to 6 weeks. (Hmmm.) Now I called again and am told that there was no such offer made. Very dishonest and deceitful company this Sunrun.

62 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 1, 2015

Sunrun has failed to repair the system installed on my house in compliance with their contract. Multiple contacts with customer service with no results. Very poor company to deal with and their service after the sale is extremely poor. I would not deal with them again.

85 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Sept. 16, 2015

I bought a ground-mounted solar array from REC Solar in late 2008 that was up & running in January, '09. I was part of a generous rebate & tax credit program that made me think I'd made a great long term profitable clean energy investment. The array was placed on my lot and angled skyward to due south designed for maximum performance at my request. All permitting rules were followed and the system has generated electricity reliably now for over 6.5 years.

In Summer, '09 my southerly neighbor confronted me angrily about a "glare" he was experiencing. He said I never should have been allowed to have this installation without his approval. Then soon afterward a public controversy developed about a ground-mounted solar array proposal for our neighborhood elementary school. Here the vast majority of my neighbors took a similar stance with the school board: no accommodations, compromises; we don't want it, we'll sabotage it if it's built, etc. Incredulous, I decided I'd chosen a backwater reactionary neighborhood that was unable to give up on it's fond carbon-based memories. In other words, I decided they were all crazy and ignored them.

Over the subsequent years my southerly neighbor demonstrated his dissatisfaction with ever-increasing encroachment plant growth and illegal height modifications to our jointly-owned lot line fence. When I pointed this out to the county zoning/building department they took no action. But my attempt to slow him down led the neighbor have an attorney write a demand letter threatening a nuisance-based lawsuit unless I removed the panels. This has gone back & forth for almost a year now with lot of money spent but no agreement.

What does this have to do with REC Solar (now Sunrun)? Well, in the process of seeing what this supposed "glare" issue was all about, I did regular observations in 2014 and saw that for a limited time on cloud-free afternoons there is a strong reflection into my neighbor's property from late April to mid-August that is distinct from the sunset. The panels are spec'd as having "non-reflective tempered solar glass" and REC's designer gave no indication that there would be a reflection issue.

After the lawsuit was threatened I contacted Sunrun and was told there was nothing they could do with the array that could alleviate the reflection that wouldn't cost me upwards of $10K. They encouraged me to explore fencing, landscaping, screening, window covering options. Which has been done at a cost of over $3K. But the obvious truth is the galvanized piping rack that supports the solar panels could be modified by lengthening the south side legs to cant the whole array more skyward.

With a competent crew of 3 or 4 and a well-executed redesign of those legs, this could be accomplished on-site in less than an afternoon without having to take down or re-install the panels. In fact the panels could be adjusted twice each year to improve my performance while appeasing my neighbor! It would involve more rigamarole with the utility company and permitting, but it surely could be done. Sunrun is silent on the issue. They include me in their mass mailing and asked me to "tell my solar story" which I did pretty much as I tell it here. No response.

Now as far as I'm concerned my neighbor is the biggest difficulty in all this. He seems to prefer an ongoing controversy where he's in the right and I'm in the wrong and to be defeated. A reasonable guy would have demonstrated the problem to me in 2009 and cooperated to find a reasonable mitigation. And one thing we might have done, if he wasn't such a hot head, is to work together to force Sunrun through legal action to fix the problem its poor design created here. These solar companies have received lots of corporate welfare in the process and are able to cloak themselves in the mantle of helping to save the environment. But Sunrun is not willing to make the job right. They're looking at their bottom line just like on oil or coal company would. Buyer beware.

70 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Original review: Aug. 26, 2015

Have had solar panels on our home roof for several months. Phone calls to Sunrun and NV Power, no return calls. We need to have solar meter installed. Not sure what else we can do.

61 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 23, 2015

We installed solar using Sunrun for our lease. They guaranteed repairs for the life of the unit. Our first repair was due to water entering our combiner box on the roof. They tried to simply drill a hole to let the water run out, had to involve state agency to get proper repair work done. Our present repair comes from fuses having blown 3 times in a year. The repairman was told by Sunrun tech. to replace fuse with larger size fuse (we refused that option). They then authorized the repairman to wire around our fuses to keep them from blowing and shutting down our unit. We let the guy do his job, then turned off the breakers and informed Sunrun we would need a complete report of work done to allow a independent contractor to check the safety of wiring around the fuses. That was 3 weeks ago, still no report of any kind. I refuse to turn the unit back on till we have the report and verification of the unit being safe.

115 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Original review: March 18, 2015

Snow accumulated on the solar panels. 4 feet had collected. In February all 4 feet from the whole roof slide off the solar panels and did $18000 worth of damage to my deck. I called Sunrun and they told me any damage from snow falling is my problem. I have $1000 deductible on my homeowners policy so there goes my savings for the year while Sunrun will continue to reap profits of the power generated from their system on my roof. They have no type of heater available to avoid this and why would they? It’s not their problem it’s mine. Make sure you check out who pays for avalanche damage before you sign any contract. They claim they told me about the risk during the lopsided sales pitch. If they had, I would not have become a customer and taken on that risk. BUYER BEWARE. They are only out to use you...

167 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 2, 2014

I'm glad that I did the switch to solar and Sunrun team made it easy and possible in such a professional manner. Thank you Sunrun team and keep up with the good work!

64 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 31, 2013

In June 2013 I was approached to sign up for a "no money down" solar system. After roof diagnostics who is the sub for Sunrun qualified my house for a 6000 watt system the trouble began almost immediately. My electric bill was too low for the original system so I needed a smaller system and $500 down payment. They measured my roof about a week later and told me the installation would be in October. About two months later I received a call from roof diagnostics who informed me that the rebates from LIPA (power company) ran out. The rebates partially funded the installation so I would probably wind up laying out another $2000. Someone would call me. Well someone did call at the beginning of October and now I was told that I did not qualify for the system I signed up for because there were trees on a neighboring property that blocked my roof for three months out of the year. They could put in a still smaller system but not the original system.

I find it very hard to believe that trees on a neighbors property were not an issue when they qualified my house in June but are an issue now. I guess I am I to believe that Sunrun works backwards and sells a system first and then does the feasibility study after the contract is signed and money received. I have asked for my deposit back but they want me to sign a cancellation form that guarantees that if I cancel after three days from the date on the contract I will not receive a refund. I am going to have to fight them for the money I gave them to install a system that they won't install. Stay away from Sunrun and shame on Home Depot for allowing such scoundrels to solicit customers in their store.

195 people found this review helpful
Loading more reviews...

Sunrun Company Information

Social media:
Company Name:
595 Market Street, 29th floor
San Francisco
Postal Code:
United States