Follow us:
  1. Home
  2. Homeowners
  3. Hot Tubs

Hot Spring Spas

Hot Spring Spas
Overall Satisfaction Rating 2.50/5
  • 5 stars
    23
  • 4 stars
    13
  • 3 stars
    10
  • 2 stars
    15
  • 1 stars
    50
Based on 111 ratings

This company is not yet accredited. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Hot Spring spas and hot tubs have been manufactured in Vista, California, by Watkins Wellness since 1977. Hot Spring’s portable saltwater hot tubs include soothing massage features and a variety of jet options. The company also offers saltwater systems and energy-efficient models. Find accessories, including replacement covers, cover lifters and furniture, on its website.

BOTTOM LINE

Customers enjoy Hot Spring Spas’ patented technology features, such as Tri-X filters, and its three different water care systems that ensure freshness. All models are customizable.

PROS

  • Customizable features
  • Energy-efficient models
  • Range of price tiers

CONS

  • Limited warranty
  • Sold only through local dealers

Top Hot Spring Spas Reviews We Found

Why Trust ConsumerAffairs
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Hot Spring Spas?
  • 2,738,254 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer

After spending months and months reading about hot tubs and going to dealers, we finally decided to buy the HotSpot Relay. So far (a month in) we are very happy with it. Its jets are very powerful when you want them to be, but quiet and soothing when turned down.

Read full review
Rated with 2 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer

The first year was fantastic. When operational, this is a fabulous hot tub. However, after a year or so the hot tub began having problems but was covered under warranty. The control panel has already been replaced 2 times ….

Read full review

Get trending consumer news and recalls

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Are you this business?

    About Hot Spring Spas

    Hot Spring Spas’ hot tubs use a variety of massage and hydrotherapy features, including rotating and directional jets, to provide owners with a therapeutic and relaxing experience. Those looking to lower their utility costs gravitate to Hot Spring Spas because the company’s SmartJet system is specifically designed to conserve energy. All of the company’s tubs are certified by the California Energy Commission and SpaSearch.

    Hot Spring Spas prices

    Entry-level Hot Spot Spas from Hot Spring start at $6,999 for a two- or three-person hot tub. The Limelight Collection and Highlife Collection cost $8,999 and up for premium and luxury tubs.

    Prices vary based on added features, hot tub size, installation costs and taxes. Hot Spring Spas suggests reaching out to a local authorized dealer for the most accurate pricing.

    Hot Spring Spa hot tubs

    Hot Spring Spa offers three collections of hot tubs: Hot Spot Spas, the Limelight Collection and the Highlife Collection. Available features for the spas include wireless remote controls, large power indicator lights and patented pump shrouds as well as Hot Springs’ dual Freshwater Salt and Ozone systems.

    • Highlife Collection: All Highlife Collection models — Grandee, Vanguard, Sovereign, Envoy, Aria, Prodigy, Triumph, Jetsetter and Jetsetter LX — come with multiple jet configurations, Tri-X filters, customizable lighting and multilayered foam insulation. Hot Springs manufactures the Highlife Collection with polymer and ABS-backed acrylic shells to create a strong and durable product. Select models also include sculpted seating, such as the captain’s chair included with the Highlife Collection’s Envoy model.
    • Limelight Collection: The Limelight Collection features five models: Prism, Pulse, Flash, Flair, and Beam. All models include a variety of jet styles and fit from four to seven people. With a full-color LCD screen, a power indicator light that shows when the hot tub is ready, exterior lighting and optional wireless entertainment, the Limelight Collection offers all of Hot Spring’s best features without the hefty price tag.
    • Hot Spot Spas: The most popular Hot Spot models — Tempo, Relay and Rhythm — come with a variety of seating, lighting and massage jet options. The Relay includes lounge seating, cushioned headrests and LED lights that can be dimmed for a relaxing nighttime soak. Select Hot Spot models can fit up to seven people, and every model includes multiple jet configurations, an insulated cover and the option to add wireless entertainment.

    Hot Spring Spa maintenance

    Hot Spring Spas’ Ozone system with MPS and silver ions makes water care easy — tubs with this system only require weekly maintenance. The saltwater systems found in Hot Spring Spas’ Limelight and Highlife Collection require even less attention and offer up to a full year of sanitation. With the FreshWater Salt System, small amounts of salt are converted into chlorine to flush out any bacteria or germs within the water.

    It’s important to rinse out hot tub filters once a month to avoid any clogging. The company recommends you perform a deep clean every three to four months. The patented Tri-X filters featured in the Highlife Collection are dishwasher safe, which makes them easier to clean. Depending on the amount of use, the company recommends that you drain and refill your hot tub three to four times per year. Once drained, you can clean the spa shell.

    Hot Spring Spas warranty

    Hot Spot Spas come with a five-year warranty on their no-leak shell and a two-year warranty on components, including the MotoMassage jet and no-fault heater. The LED light assemblies in the Tempo, Relay and Rhythm models also come with a two-year warranty.

    The Limelight Collection and Highlife Collection come with a seven-year warranty on the no-leak shell and a five-year warranty on components and Everwood cabinet material. The wireless remote control battery included in the Highlife Collection comes with a one-year warranty. Local authorized dealers can explain additional warranties.

    Hot Spring Spas’ hot tubs must be serviced by an authorized technician or you run the risk of voiding the warranty.

    Hot Spring Spas FAQ

    How much do Hot Spring Spas cost?
    Most hot tubs from Hot Spring Spas start at $6,999. A premium hot tub for four adults with a FreshWater Salt System, multicolor lighting, an LCD control panel and FiberCor insulation costs between $9,000 and $10,000. Hot Spring Spas’ prices vary based on features, size and local taxes.
    How long do Hot Springs hot tubs last?
    At a minimum, most Hot Spring Spas hot tubs last five years. A well-maintained hot tub can last 20 years or more.
    How do I connect my Bluetooth to my Hot Spring hot tub?
    Connecting a Bluetooth to your Hot Spring hot tub is easy — simply select “Blue” or "Bluetooth" as the source on your hot tub’s audio setup menu and pair your device by choosing “My spa” on the device menu. Hot Springs’ Bluetooth speaker system has a range of up to 30 feet.
    How often does Hot Spring Spas have sales?
    Hot Spring Spas offers sales throughout the year. Most authorized dealers clear out their inventory during the fall, which is a good time to shop for deals and promotions.
    What is the ACE Salt Water System?
    The ACE Salt Water System is available in Hot Spring Spas’ Highlife Collection, Highlife Collection NXT and Limelight Collection hot tubs. This system uses small amounts of salt in the water and converts it to chlorine so that the hot tub’s water stays fresh and sanitized without the use of bottled chlorine.

    Are Hot Spring Spa hot tubs worth it?

    Hot Spot Spas offer a value-priced and budget-friendly option with all of the Hot Spring’s best features — energy-efficiency, FiberCor insulation, the Freshwater Ozone System and FROG @ease in-line cartridges. For hot tub owners looking to upgrade their hot tub, the Limelight Collection provides a premium hot tub with dual FreshWater Salt and Ozone systems, colored lighting and FiberCor insulation. The Highlife Collection combines all the best features of these collections into a line of sleek and luxurious hot tubs.

    Hot Spring Spas Reviews

    Sort: Top reviews
    Filter by: Any

    A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Hot Spring Spas?
    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Hot Spring Spas?
    • 2,738,254 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

    For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

    Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Dec. 26, 2020

    No spa beats the Highlife series styling and ease of maintenance. The sophisticated spa design is soothing in of itself and is a focal point in our yard. The newly redesigned Freshwater Salt System in our 2019 Envoy had some minor longevity issues in the beginning but now works flawlessly. The first set of cartridges lasted no more than 2 months each and were not generating enough chlorine. Our dealer said it was likely a bad batch of cartridges and gave us a new box for free. So far we are getting over 4 months of use out of each of the new cartridges with the perfect amount of chlorine generation. The only thing we did was that we flushed the spa with Ahhsome spa cleaner when we changed the water after 7 months (Hot Springs said you can go up to one year but our service tech said it's better to change the water every 6-8 months).

    The only adjustment made to our maintenance routine was that we now keep the salt level a bit lower that the recommended 1750ppm (The directions say to add 9 1/4 cups of salt...we put 8 1/2 cups to 8 3/4 cups). we also add non chlorine shock once in awhile and keep the PH at the recommended level. The water is silky smooth, and has soft pleasant scent. The jets are powerful and well placed. They can be adjusted individually to suit each person's needs. Everything in the motor compartment is neat and appears to be well put together. Although the spa itself is made in California, some of the components are made in China and Mexico but appear to be of high quality.

    The optional speaker system and subwoofer has a premium sound. The remote for the spa is simple to use but unfortunately looks like it belongs on a child's Fisher Price toy instead of a premium spa -It has been glitchy and had to be replaced twice under warranty. The moto massage DX gives a very unique therapeutic massage that no other spa can replicate. The Envoy is well insulated and holds its set temperature within 2 degrees no matter how cold it gets outside. We've had our Envoy for over one year and so far are very happy with our purchase. It is well designed, well built, is easy to maintain and provides a luxurious experience as advertised. We just hope the reliability holds up and if it doesn't, we hope Hot Springs continues to back up their product.

    Hot Spring Spas response

    Hello J

    Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. I am happy to hear you are enjoying your spa. You have a beautiful setup.
    It sounds like your dealer is a fantastic resource for all of your spa needs.

    I appreciate you sharing your water care details. Finding the perfect routing for you and the water you have will set you up for many years of happy hot tubbing.

    Vanessa - Customer Service

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 1, 2020

    The seating is very comfortable. The jets go the entire length of your back. One set of jets massages your back. The light can change colors. The controls are easy to use. I got the easy cover that is on a frame and lifts to one end.

    Hot Spring Spas response

    Hello Gayle,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your spa experience. The exclusive Hot Spring Spa Moto-Massage is like no other, and the lights add to the relaxing ambiance. I am glad to know you are enjoying your spa.

    Happy Hot Tubbing!

    Vanessa - Customer Service

    3 people found this review helpful

    Not sure how to choose?

    Get buying tips about Hot Tubs delivered to your inbox.

      By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

      Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

      Rated with 4 stars
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Aug. 11, 2020

      Let me start by saying we did enjoy our Hot Springs Prodigy hot tub for the first 10 years of ownership starting in 2006. Sitting outside under the stars on a clear night while in the hot tub was just wonderful. We started to use the hot tub more often including in the early evenings after we got home from work or on weekends during the day.

      Just a few months into owning the hot tub, we started seeing pieces of what looked like chewed up styrofoam on the ground near the hot tub component access panel. We removed the panel and found mouse droppings, a huge mouse nest with a pile of stored acorns, and a snake skin. We had not removed the component covering previously so clearly it was done haphazardly from installation. Additionally, there were unused holes cut into a metal mesh piece that should have been closed up upon installation. Easy mouse and snake access. Initially, we had problems with the hot tub's control panels. The main control panel was repaired once under warranty but the second one just completely stopped working.

      Then the pump and pipe assembly started to leak and of course the hot tub was completely out of warranty by then. This hot tub is NOT easily repaired and the tech had to cut through a permanent plastic covering to get to the broken component and leak area. He did a terrible job "gluing" the plastic covering pieces back together. A week later, we found that the same area was still leaking. It took an exceedingly long amount of time for the followup repair as our "parts" came in but the revisit was never scheduled. I had to call and follow up several times to get that resolved. It was over $500 for the botched visit and then another couple hundred dollars for the followup visit when other parts were needed and should have been diagnosed initially.

      The hot tub also began to turn itself on periodically. The cover was on the hot tub so we would not have noticed easily that it had turned on by itself. That electrical component problem was resolved for another several hundred dollars as the hot tub was out of warranty. Then, in 2018, a nearby lightning strike rendered the hot tub's motherboard inoperable. The heater hadn't been working properly and the hot tub's insulated innards had become a popular haven for mice and snakes. We have now discovered that mouse tunnels run through the insulation all around the hot tub. It is pretty disgusting to be honest.

      After a long discussion and looking at options including checking out SpaGuts' site for replacement components, we decided to remove the defunct hot tub and not get a replacement or get it fixed. We paid hundreds of dollars for repairs past the warranty date with difficulty getting the repairs scheduled. Initial installation was almost $10K for the hot tub, power source installation, and concrete pad construction. It is also physically falling apart. I'm surprised the whole hot tub had not collapsed on itself by now.

      Based on the exterior construction (now being disassembled for removal) of this Hot Springs Spa hot tub, I am really not sure that any of these devices should be outdoors. I would love to be able to attach photos. The base of the hot tub is WOODEN and not a metal frame as I'd expect. I was completely shocked to find this out. The thin wood trim underneath the hot tub overhang started to rot and provided other entrances for mice and snakes. Hot Springs doesn't need to respond to this review as there's nothing to resolve at this point. We did enjoy the spa, just wish it lasted longer, was better constructed for outdoor use, and a botched repair didn't allow Mouse and Snake City to take place.

      Hot Spring Spas response
      I am sorry the last 2 yrs ended the way it did.
      Hot Spring has evolved & made advancements since you purchased your spa. You bring up a good point about pest control. No matter how much one guard against pests, there are still some proactive steps required to keep them out. They can be persistent; some will use an exterminator for their spa and home.
      I'm sorry, this channel limits my reply& I'm not able to address all of your concerns. Cust Serv. is here to help, 800-999-4688 x8432

      Vanessa

      9 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: May 25, 2020

      Best hot tub I’ve ever owned! It’s easy to maintain and has a great warranty. I got mine in Denver and the dealer is very easy to work with. I sit in my hot tub every night and haven’t had any problems at all. You’ll love the soft water!!!

      Hot Spring Spas response
      Hello Johnny,
      Welcome to the Hot Spring Spa family.
      Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your new spa. The picture looks fantastic and inviting.
      Happy Hot Tubbing!

      Vanessa - Customer Sevice

      7 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: April 16, 2020

      Bought new in 1987. Is still used 2-3 times weekly. Maybe ours is a freak, except for a part which is no longer made that we replaced this week, the unit continues to work flawlessly. I do want to know how to get a replacement heater in case ours goes out as it's no longer made.

      Hot Spring Spas response

      Hello Dave

      Thank you for your feedback. I love hearing from our customers who are still enjoying their spas from the 80s. That is fantastic! We take pride in what we do and feel privileged to provide a way to relax and rejuvenate at home. I will DM you the information that you are looking for.
      Happy Hot Tubbing

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      9 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 3 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Dec. 7, 2020

      I have had two Hot Spring Spas. The 1st one lasted 10 years plus - as I left it my previous home. I purchased the largest spa with a recliner built available in 2009 - Vista for 7 people and 500 Gallons. It has worked incredible well - use it daily. I have had to replace 1 pump at about 7 years - reasonable. I then had a severe leak that required taking it to the dealership and have it totally dug out, the plumbing replaced, and refoamed 3 years ago. It took 3 months and $3500.00 to repair ($1,000 was to pick up and return from dealership).

      Now it is severely leaking again (Like 1/4 of tub in a day). Had service come to look at it and it is not near the front (pump section) to easily repair. So now I can take it out and spend another 3500.00 and hope it works for a while, or buy a new one. Problem is that my dealership will not have one my size - a Grandee, the color I want for 9 months, the cost has increased 70 %, and it has the removable remote that seems to be having a lot of problems from the reviews I have read. So the warranty will be over and the cost to replace is at least 1 grand at a time. I am almost tempted to redo the plumbing again to fix the leak to avoid the new electronics. But the repair shop at the dealership recommends I buy a new one.

      Hot Spring Spas response
      Oh wow! Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry this has been your experience. Thank you for being a loyal Hot Spring spa owner. I will reach out to you and see how I may help.
      Thank you for your time, and I look forward to working with you soon.

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Dec. 3, 2020

      Purchased Envoy NXT in 2015 with Salt Cell Option. Spa has been maintained meticulously according to instructions and is used 1.5 hours per week. Jet sand mechanicals work well, but have had constant trouble with spa covers and salt cell (approx) every single year. My local long time Spa Dealer was knowledgeable/helpful until he was "dropped by Hot Springs" during yet another warranty event (which occurred before and during these COVID shutdowns).

      I cannot get long time Spa Dealer to respond. I cannot get Hot Springs to help me either. They both point at each other, they both are responsible to provide me a cover and salt cell under warranty. Every Hot Tub Cover(s) provided under the warranty and purchased do not arrive in good condition, obvious manufacturing problems and then quickly (2 months) deteriorate seams stretch and vinyl literally melts/stretches over the side of spa top, which allows rain water leakage into the spa. This causes continuous/frequent water balancing problems every time it rains and then the salt cell overworks and this creates a shortened life span as described in manual.

      I now have a $1500 problem EACH YEAR just in cover and spa salt cell expense because of lemon products + $ filters and chemical maintenance on my hands each year. I can't use chlorine for medical reasons... The spa accessories are ruining my hot tub experience and performance. Disappointed that Hot Springs did not contact me when they decided to no longer do business with the local dealer that I purchased from. We are long time spa owners/users. Never had trouble with covers like this. I previously had a cover that was 10 years old and still going strong when we gave it away!

      Hot Spring Spas response
      Karin,
      I am sorry to hear this has been your spa experience.
      Water care should not be frustrating. I am sure we can devise a plan to get your salt online.
      Watkins backs your spa warranty. If the local dealer is no longer available, we step in and find you a service dealer.
      I will DM you to learn more and see how I can help.
      Thank you for taking the time to reach out, and I look forward to working with you soon.

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      2 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Nov. 22, 2020

      We purchased our Envoy at cost of £14,000 and had delivered in Sept 2020. It has sadly been one big disappointment. We were sold the idea of the freshwater salt system as good for your skin and easy to maintain. What a joke that has been, we have spent more time trying to sort out and monitor the water quality and cleaning filters than using the tub! The salt system simply does not work, it does not generate the chlorine required to maintain levels, so every few days when the reading drops to 1 -2 we have to add chlorine granules. I specifically chose a spa where we wouldn't have to do this as it irritates my skin and this has now set off my eczema requiring steroid cream from the doctor.

      We are experienced hot tub owners having run 2 hots tubs previously for 12-14 years without any issues whatsoever. All along we have been blamed for 'contaminating the water' and causing the water balance issues even when it was green! I am sick of being told 'some people just don't get on with it' implying that we have chosen not to like it or make the effort in maintenance. We have spent more time on this than any other hot tub which has detracted significantly from it being a pleasure to own, we seem to have bought a lemon!

      The set up was not done properly and we did not receive the required instructions. Eventually they have replaced the salt controller but it has made absolutely no difference whatsoever, the chlorine levels drop every 2-3 days consistently even though it doesn't have heavy use and we regularly clean the filters. Now we are being told it may be a phosphate problem. 2 months in it is clearly not as described and the salt system does not work. Customer service leaves a lot to be desired. Appalling product for a high cost.

      Hot Spring Spas response

      Hello Caroline,

      Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am sorry to hear it has been disappointing. I want to help. Can you tell me who your dealer is and your full name?

      I know this has been frustrating, and as a veteran spa owner, water care should not be this difficult.

      I am sure this can be worked out, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      8 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Nov. 20, 2020

      My husband and I are both disabled Veterans and this hot tub is great therapy for us. We bought this almost 5 years ago. We have had nothing but problems since we bought it. All of our repairs have been under warranty thus far: 2 door replacements, 2 remote replacements, heater replacement, ozone thing replacement, light seal replacement. I called in for service in September and was told the guy would be out in two weeks. Three weeks later I called back in and they said it was going to be another 4 weeks. There is only one authorized dealer within 100 miles of us and they SUCK. They only came out fast because I called Hot Springs directly and complained. They replaced a part and had to order parts so they can replace the docking station and the remote AGAIN.

      Since they came out, we are now leaking and now we have a jet leaking which they say they have to completely remove the tub, haul it to their shop (at our expense mind you) so they can work on it. They said we "might" get it back by January. This is completely ridiculous. I can't believe that we purchased this for the price of a car and have this many problems.

      Hot Spring Spas response
      I am sorry to hear that your spa is again in need of service. I see that our team has reached out to you to learn more about your spa and see how we can help. Your spa operation and enjoyment are important to us.
      I will email you as well. I look forward to working with you soon.
      Thank you for your post.

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      3 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Oct. 20, 2020

      I purchased a hot tub 4 years ago. This year at the beginning of Spring we noticed it was leaking. The same part keeps getting replaced and keeps leaking after months of waiting for someone to come to look at it in between. The last time someone came I was told they were going to replace all the parts in it and we waited for two months for the parts. He came today and replaced the same fitting he has been replacing. He was supposed to replace the hot tub cover that I paid for too but said he brought the wrong one. What do I have to to do to get this fixed. This is totally ridiculous!

      Hot Spring Spas response

      Hello Janis,

      Thank you for reaching out and letting us know about your spa experience. I want to help. I will DM you to see how I can assist. Owning a hot tub should be enjoyable and relaxing. I will do my best to make that happen.
      I look forward to working with you.

      Vanessa - Customer Service

      5 people found this review helpful
      Loading more reviews...

      Hot Spring Spas Company Information

      Company Name:
      Hot Spring Spas
      Year Founded:
      1977
      Website:
      www.hotspring.com