FOLLOW US

HotelPlanner.com
HotelPlanner.com
It's that easy Get a Free Quote
Overall Satisfaction Rating
4.09/5
  • 5 stars
    87
  • 4 stars
    12
  • 3 stars
    6
  • 2 stars
    1
  • 1 stars
    17
Based on 123 ratings submitted in the last year
SHOW RATING DISTRIBUTION

HotelPlanner.com

West Palm Beach, FL

ConsumerAffairs Accredited Brand

HotelPlanner.com is the world's largest provider of online group hotel bookings and event management services. Listed among the top 50 travel sites in the world and ranked number one in group travel, HotelPlanner.com now receives over 5 million unique visitors each month.

Our company offers the best deals in the group, individual and corporate travel and has partnerships with some of the most renowned franchises in sports including the Los Angeles Clippers, San Diego Chargers, Washington Redskins, St Louis Rams and the Florida Panthers.

If you need to book a hotel, book like the pros! Book with HotelPlanner.com.

A+BBB Rating
View More View More
Be in the know

Get trending consumer news and recalls

Thanks

Keep an eye on your inbox, the lastest consumer news is on it's way!

583 HotelPlanner.com Consumer Reviews and Complaints

Sort: Recent
Filter by: Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

1 featured review
View 1 featured review
Page 1 Reviews 1 - 30
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 19, 2018

I made a group booking through Hotels.com - I didn't realize it was through this 3rd party supplier HotelPlanner.com until it was too late. The company almost acts as a scam as everything from email receipts to contact info to customer support emails says Hotels.com, but really they are not Hotels.com and most of their customer support personnel are not aware of the supplier arrangement. If you have an issue and try calling Hotels.com they will just hang up on you as they can't find any info about your reservations or this company.

Anyway, I made a group booking and called the reservation support number to find out how other people in my group could pay for their rooms. They gave me very specific instructions to call the hotel, give the hotel the confirmation number and the guest name paying for that room, along with their credit card info. This process didn't work well at all mostly because the hotel did not have our confirmation numbers. After much confusion and many calls to the hotel and Hotels.com (HotelPlanner.com) customer support we finally got it straightened out... until I got home and realized HotelPlanner.com double billed us - billing me for all of the rooms with the hotel billing the guests too!

Due to the confusion over Hotels.com vs. HotelPlanner.com I had a terrible time getting through to customer service. They wouldn't refund me or even look into the complaint until I called the hotel and got copies of all of the receipts. Only after I provided all of this info did they agree to look into it... But then they called the hotel and cancelled all of the guest’s payments, leaving me on the hook for every hotel room and out $2000. Additionally we discovered that in the confusion caused by HotelPlanner.com's false confirmation numbers, the hotel actually added extra rooms to the reservation and deemed the original rooms as "no shows" leaving me on the hook for those rooms too.

HotelPlanner.com's customer service agents were so smug about it and did absolutely nothing to help me, basically leaving it up to me to now track down people in the group reservation and try to get them to pay me... even though they already paid at the hotel. They then tried to say that all of the rooms were pre-pay and sent doctored receipts to me as evidence? My original receipts sent from "Hotels.com" do not say pre-pay anywhere and even if they were pre-pay they easily could have advised me of that the many times I called them trying to transfer the rooms into the other guest’s names. I have opened a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and hope to get some resolve soon.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for reaching out to us. Below you will find further information in regards to our mutual client’s review:

The mutual client booked 4 individual bookings (online). Three of these bookings were prepaid to us and one of them was paid directly to the hotel.

When a client books reservations on our site, the rates indicate if the booking is a prepaid (to us) or pay at hotel (paid to the property) rate and room type that is being booked. Once the client proceeds to book the reservation the reservation summary will also show one of the disclaimers (PAY NOW OR PAY AT HOTEL) depending on the reservation type.

We show that our client contacted us advising that the property was unable to locate their reservation and that each guest was charged directly for the reservations that had already been prepaid. Our partner agent then contacted the property on our client’s behalf to advocate for a full refund for the duplicate charges on the reservations that had been prepaid. The property advised our partner agent that the clients told them that the leader of their group had advised them to contact the property directly to change the names on the reservation and provide their direct billing information. The property explained that this was the reason for the incorrect billing.

The property apologized for the mix-up and advised our partner agent that they would be refunding each guest that had been charged directly for the prepaid reservations.

Hotels Response: Good morning, This has been completed. The HotelPlanner credit card has been charged and your clients refunded. Once again, I am very sorry for all this mix-up. Thank you and have a great day, Front Desk Manager

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Not sure how to choose?

Get expert buying tips about Travel Agencies delivered to your inbox.

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter!Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.
We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 17, 2018

Reginette, at HotelPlanner, was very helpful and was able to assist me with getting a refund on a cancelled hotel reservation. Her recommendations and guidance as well as communication directly with the hotel enabled me to get a refund the next day.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Factual basis uncertain
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 17, 2018

I booked a room August 8 2018. Website said no charge on credit card till I show up at hotel on November 15. Checked my bank account next day only to find out my card was charged. I immediately canceled the reservation only to find out in October that it was never canceled. I called Hotel Planner to cancel reservation. They refuse to cancel my reservation. I have since disputed the charge with my bank. I encourage you to not use this website for booking a room. They are thieves who only want your money.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for reaching out to us in regards to your inquiry regarding your reservation. I was able to locate your reservation in our system and I am able to verify that you booked your reservation on August 4th, 2018 @ 03:55 PM and the type of reservation that you booked was a “Pay Now – Prepaid Reservation) meaning that the funds would be debited from the account information you provided at the time of booking immediately.

Below you will find the policy disclaimer that was also provided to you right below the summary of your reservation at the time that you were booking your reservation –

- Paid Now :: To secure your reservation, your credit card will be charged immediately for the total amount of your reservation. This secures the low price and ensures you have a room when you arrive. If this is not what you intend, then please go back and select a 'Pay at Hotel' rate instead.

In addition, the rate type that your booked for reservation indicated that the cancellation policy was nonrefundable meaning that there is no possibility to cancel and or refund the booking due to its non-cancellable/non-refundable conditions agreed to at the time of booking.

On your behalf we were able to contact the hotel to cancel your reservation as a one-time courtesy and the reservation has been cancelled less ($20.00 USD) cancellation penalty imposed by the department being that it was a non-refundable reservation that was booked.

As you have initiated a credit card dispute we are unable to process a refund to you unless the dispute is withdrawn with your bank so that we can process the refund on our end. If the dispute is not withdrawn then you will have to follow up with your bank/financial institution in regards to their procedures handling the dispute.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 11, 2018

We have had the need for HotelPlanner.com customer service to step in and assist us with challenges at individual properties. Each time Reginette has responded promptly to our emails and jumped right in to get miscommunications resolved. I would highly recommend HotelPlanner.com.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 10, 2018

Great experience with this customer service representative... She was so helpful and had a sunny disposition. I had accidentally picked a hotel that was too far from the youth soccer field and had to switch to a different hotel. It was a pleasure dealing with her and would recommend this site to people I know! Thank you.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
How do I know I can trust these reviews about HotelPlanner.com?
  • 1,255,610 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 10, 2018

I needed assistance modifying my hotel date. I contacted you all online. A person by the name of Reginette ** contacted me and within 24 hours my issue was resolved! This was the best customer service I have ever received! Thanks.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 10, 2018

I was attending a convention on the weekend. Where I had booked and prepaid online for a hotel suite on October 6th for the night. I had already had a rough day which I was looking forward to finally getting to my room at the Sunbridge hotel and conference centre. I arrived at the hotel in the evening which they required a $50 deposit. I went and added an additional $50 to my bank Visa credit. Where the funds are directly deposited from my bank account on the Visa card. I presented the card to the concierge. She swiped the card which she finally told me that they don't accept prepaid credit cards. I explained to her that it was a perfectly good Visa card as it already had the funds on it. I had also used it with my other trips and booking other hotels. Unfortunately, she didn't accept my card. Where I got very frustrated that I didn't have a room for the night.

I called up HotelPlanner.com's customer service line. I was put on hold for a long time then I repeatedly called back later throughout the night. Where I kept getting the voicemail service. It was late and rainy. Where there were no other available hotels in the area and the local buses had stopped running as there was no late night service. I had to spend the night in a Tim Horton's restaurant.

The next day, I called the "customer service" number. Where I was told that there was no one available due to it was Sunday. The following day was Thanksgiving so, there would be no one in the office. I called back on October 9th to find out when I would be receiving my refund. I felt that I was getting the round around by the agent on the phone so, I demanded to speak to the supervisor, April.

Where, I still haven't heard anything back from the company. I am now looking at my other options on retrieving my refund. I would highly suggest to anyone spending their money elsewhere and not to go to HotelPlanner.com. They are not helpful in giving assistance to the customers after they have taken their money. I will never use their service again and warm anyone against using them for their travel plans.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review provided in regards to your reservation. We were able to locate your reservation in our system and per the information that you provided below we were able to follow up with the hotel and verify that the hotel is not charging you for your reservation as you were not able to provide a valid credit card on file for the incidental deposit –department/hotels response below –

Hotels Response: Dear Partner, With reference to your booking ID XXXXXXXXX, The hotel has emailed us and informed us that the guest was not able to utilize their reservation as they did not have a valid Credit Card for the deposit at the hotel. The hotel cancellation of the reservation and agreed to not charge for this reservation. Regards, Customer Experience Group

As such per the confirmation from the hotel that no charge has been allocated to your reservation we have issued a refund for your reservation and you can expect the funds to be allocated back to your account in the next 3 – 7 business days.

We regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you and hope the information we provided above has adequately addressed your questions or concerns.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 9, 2018

I needed to add an extra day at the hotel I reserved. I was frustrated and didn't want to book elsewhere. So I email Reginette and she helped me out. I thank her from the bottom of my heart. I'm also Deaf and this saved me just in case I was stranded.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 9, 2018

Great service and really friendly. I was worried about my reservation but everything was handled promptly and professionally. They were able to complete my request very fast and got exactly what I needed. I will definitely continue being a customer.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 8, 2018

Reginette ** help me with a refund of one night hotel payment I made by mistake when I proceeded with the reservation. The rate was not refundable but I explained her that it was a mistake and that I only wanted one night at the hotel and not 2. She told me that in 10 days I will have the money refund.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 8, 2018

I emailed the company re a change in my hotel reservation at the end of this month. Regina answered quickly and took care of the change. She also emailed me the confirmation of the change. Excellent response time and service. I appreciated Regina’s effort and would likely use the service again. Thank you!

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 8, 2018

The person that helped me was Reginette and she was great! I was so worried when I booked a hotel and then realized I was too young to even check in. She helped me out so much by getting me a refund and I couldn't be more grateful.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 7, 2018

A hotel reservation was inadvertently made on 9/17. Once I became aware of this (2 hours after the reservation) I tried contacting Hotel Planner, an answering machine requesting I leave a name/number for call back, which I did. I attempted a second time hours later with the same results - never have I gotten a callback. My third attempt, about 8 hrs after the first call, I talked a rep who informed me that she could not cancel but that she would forward my request to the dispute department. Two days later, with no reply, I contact Hotel Planner again and they ensured me that my dispute has been forwarded and I should get a reply within a couple days.

I finally got an email reply on 10/3 from a reservation specialist stating they cannot refund nor will the hotel. I was told I would get a reply from complaint department - which I did not. They also stated 'On your behalf the hotel was also contacted and they declined the request to cancel your reservation,' which is false because transactions are through Hotel Planner. Inadvertent reservation was made on 9/17, card charged on 9/20 for $616.53, initial contact to cancel (within hours of reservation) was made on 9/17 before any charges were even assessed. Representative gave misleading and false statements, an example of poor and misguiding communication from and with Hotel Planner.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review provided in regards to your reservation. I was able to follow up with my reservations team in regards to your reservation and the particular type of reservation that you booked was a nonrefundable/non-cancellable reservation per the terms of agreement that you agreed at the time of booking –

((Cancellation Policy For the room type and rate that you've selected, you are not allowed to change or cancel your reservation. If you cancel your room, you will still be charged for the full reservation amount.))

Per the notations that we do have on file the reservations specialist that was handling your reservation reached out to the department and the hotel initially and the hotel denied to cancel your reservation and the information was communicated to you advising that the hotel denied to cancel your reservation and as such the billing department was not able to issue a refund for your reservation without the hotels approval.

On the second attempt per the review that you provided advising the hotel agreed to cancel your reservation the specialist contacted the hotel and the department again and the department reached out to the hotel for the second time and the hotel denied to waive the policy on your reservation. We are able to also confirm that the specialist also sent a personal email to the hotel requesting a cancellation waiver for your reservation and in writing the hotel declined to cancel your reservation -

((Hotels Response: Hello Ms. XXX Due to our hotel policy we do not approve the below request for Ms. XXX Jones. We apologize for any inconveniences this may cause for yourself and Ms. XXX Jones for the situation at hand. Thank you and be well, SM Front Desk Manager))

As such the specialist also inquired for any names or documentation that you had per the information that was provided to you. On the third attempt per the rebuttal provided to the hotel by our specialist the hotel finally approved to cancel your reservation and per the approval of the hotel the billing department was able to cancel and refund your reservation and the specialist did update you via email confirming the refund was processed and when you could expect it back in your account.

As you will see all information communicated from HotelPlanner was factual as with your particular type of reservation the decision for cancellation and refund was not at the discretion of the agency as it was at the discretion of the hotel to provide the agency the approval to cancel and refund your reservation.

The hotel was in possession of the funds and in order for the agency to issue you a refund they had to retrieve the funds from the hotel to refund you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 7, 2018

Booked a room thru HotelPlanner for a wedding near Seattle. Booked well in advance for 4 nights at a Hilton Garden Inn. A month before the wedding we decided to fly in a day earlier and leave a day earlier. I contacted HotelPlanner and was told that I could not modify the reservation in ANY way, and if I did I would have to pay the FULL price of the reservation then rebook the reservation and pay the FULL PRICE AGAIN. Said simply, I would have to pay the 4 full days of reservations TWICE!! I was shocked to say the least and I asked the same question multiple times in multiple ways. I tried contacting the Hilton Garden Inn where I had the reservation but they apologized and said there was nothing they could do since the reservation was made through a 3rd party provider. I wound up booking an extra night directly with Hilton. If you have ANY CHANCE that your plans MIGHT CHANGE ‘ dont book with Hotel Planner.com.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review have been escalated our department for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 4, 2018

I would give zero stars if I could!! Booked overnight for 10/5/18. Canceled 10/1/18, due to death in the family. They say Best Western of Hartland MI owes us the money prepaid for this room. HotelPlanner FL charged our Visa $103.76 on July 31st! THEY owe us the money. After many phone calls (mostly us calling them) they still keep telling us we have to deal with the hotel!

This has been going on for 4 days now and now they won't even return our calls or emails! These were rooms that were kept for people attending the wedding that we were going to. I didn't even realize that I was booking through a 3rd party (hotelplanner.com) until we needed to get our money back! We've never written a bad review about any company before and we are SO disappointed that we can't even get our own money back! FYI... IF YOU NOTICE WHEN BOOKING ANYTHING THAT IT'S BEING BOOKED THROUGH HOTELPLANNER.COM... GOOD LUCK if you ever need to change your plans and want your own money back, which you are entitled to!!

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review provided. On the behalf of HotelPlanner we do want to first and foremost send our condolences to you and your family for your loss. I was able to locate your reservation in our system and per the cancellation policy that was agreed to at the time of booking and outlined on your reservation receipt you did have up until October 5th, 2018 by 4 PM local hotel time to cancel your reservation for a full refund.

You also have the option to cancel your reservation online through the “View/Cancel” tab that can be found on the reservation receipt that was sent to you via email at the time that you booked your reservation.

Link: https://www.hotelplanner.com/Res/

On your behalf we have cancelled the reservation for you in our system and per the policy you will be issued a refund in full that will be allocated back to your account. Please note that it is imperative that you cancel your reservation through the original method that you utilized to book your reservation through to avoid any issues with being issued a refund for your reservation.

When you contact the hotel directly and cancel your reservation we as the travel agency the reservation was originally booked through are NOT informed by the hotel that your reservation was cancelled and we have no way of knowing this information if it is not brought to our attention.

Nonetheless your reservation is now cancelled and a copy of the cancellation receipt was sent to you via email and you can expect the refund back in your account in the next 3 – 7 business days.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 4, 2018

Reginette went above and beyond with helping me. I had a billion questions and she answered each one thoroughly and with patience. She was the best customer service experience I've had in a very long time. She had to look up at least 8 reservations for me, make changes and then resend me all the confirmations. I was confused when I first got to her but she straightened everything out and I left feeling very confident.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 4, 2018

I did not receive a receipt for my reservation, and soon after I emailed the customer service section, I received the receipt in an email. Reginette ** sent the receipt and a confirmation email. Outstanding Service. I would recommend your company to others.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 4, 2018

I received an invoice for R9000+ for a group which apparently stayed at my establishment in 28 rooms. First of all this guest certainly did not stay here. And secondly I have 2 cottages which sleep maximum 4 guests each. I certainly do not have a hotel with 28 rooms. Stephanie ** is the person who keeps sending me group requests. My profile clearly shows that I can only accommodate maximum 8 guests. Where on earth did she get the information that this certain guest stayed at my establishment? This is very incompetent indeed!

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review have been escalated our department for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 4, 2018

Getting married 10-7. Received a phone call at 9pm to let me know my hotel reservation was cancelled. When I reached out to Hotelplanner all the agents that I spoke to had no information about my reservation. My other guest weren’t not contacted either. I informed them of my situation and when they started calling they were told their reservation was also canceled and now we have to wait for our refund that can take days because we didn’t booked through the hotel plus find a new hotel which now it will cost us double the prices as it is the holiday weekend. Do not use Hotelplanner for your wedding and especially if you are having guest coming from different parts of US. Their representatives were useless and didn’t help me at all.

HotelPlanner.com response

Please find information that was communicated to the mutual client below on Thursday, October 04, 2018 5:14 PM –

Hi XXX,

I am reaching out to you in regards to your review that was provided through Consumer Affairs - First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that this matter may have caused you. I was able to locate your reservation in our system and I was also able to contact the hotel and speak with the General Manager (XXX) to verify why they would cancel your reservation.

Upon speaking with the GM – he advised to us that they were housing displaced hurricane victims that needed an additional week to stay at the hotel as their homes were destroyed and they were not yet provided the okay to return home and that is the reason they cancelled your reservation; so that the hurricane victims could stay an additional week. I did advise that your reservation was booked back in August and etc but he did advise that this was something that they do not like doing but they had to do it.

Nonetheless, I can understand your frustration especially being that it is your wedding weekend this week and on behalf of HotelPlanner we are going to provide to you (XXX |Compensation for Inconvenience Caused). I have sent your information over to my booking specialist who are willing to assist you in rebooking at another property with your XXX information.

Once again I sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience caused. Should you have any further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me via email.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Factual basis uncertain
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 2, 2018

Worst experience ever. I booked a motel and it was the worst, I got a refund the next hour due to change in plans. I have been waiting for someone to answer my call. I have not got my refund yet. Worst EVER.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for reaching out us. We are able to verify that you booked your reservation on ((10/02/18 @ 03:26 AM)) and the type of reservation that you booked was a prepaid reservation meaning that at the time of booking your card would be charged in full for the prepayment of the reservation. Below you will find the information that you agreed to at the time of booking –

- Paid Now :: To secure your reservation, your credit card will be charged immediately for the total amount of your reservation. This secures the low price and ensures you have a room when you arrive. If this is not what you intend, then please go back and select a 'Pay at Hotel' rate instead.

I was able to contact the department handling your reservation and they did verify and confirm that you cancelled your reservation on (10/02/18) and a full refund was allocated back to your account.

You are more than welcome to follow up with your bank to verify when the funds will be available to you as it was processed on our end.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 2 starsResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 30, 2018

They tried to claim that I’d booked nearly 100 rooms with a hotel I never even spoke to. I wound up booking with a hotel. I didn’t connect to on their system and they claimed that too. Tried to claim credit for work they never did.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and a specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 27, 2018

First called, then went through the online booking (as instructed). Price remained same until I realized that my husband was not included in the room (confirmed room for 1 person only). When I called to correct this (just in case) I was told there was an additional fee for the "other" person. Funny thing is that the room rate was the same for 2 when I called and then jumped up a bit ($$) when I called to correct. Very strange for a Hilton run hotel.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We were able to locate a cancelled reservation in our system for you and I am able to verify that you were issued a refund in full for your cancelled reservation.

Per the information provided in your review, please note that rates do fluctuate on a daily basis as reason being if you were looking to amend the occupancy information in you reservation the rate did increase as they are not fixed; there are various factors that affect the rate of a reservation.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 26, 2018

On August 16, 2018 I made a reservation with your service for 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Georgetown Texas. The dates were 8-24-18 through 8-27-18. My wife's brother passed away suddenly on August 15, 2018. Just 5 minutes later I realized that I booked the wrong dates. When I called back your representative said that I will probably have to pay for 1 nights stay by changing the dates. Your representative said they change the dates to 8-17-18 through 8-20-18. Also, he said he would check with the hotel to verify their cancellation policy. When my wife and I arrived in Georgetown, Texas on 8-17-18 we first went to my brother in law's home to console his wife. While there a neighbor offered a place to stay for as long as needed.

I went to the Holiday Inn Express in Georgetown, around 10:30 PM on 8-17-18 to cancel our reservation. The night clerk on duty said that there would be no problem to cancel and no cancellation fee based on our situation. Now is where the frustration begins. I assumed that there would be no charge by your company. Evidently that was my mistake! A couple of days later I checked my credit card balance and saw the charge for $520.12 for all 4 nights. I then called your company and told them that the hotel was not charging me for anything. Your representative asked me who I talked to at the hotel the night of 8-17-18. I did not get his name, which is totally irrelevant because all your rep had to do is call the hotel and they could verify that I did cancel and there was no charge.

After numerous calls to you to rectify my dilemma, not to mention the stress level my wife and I were under and your company's lack of compassion, I called my credit card company to dispute your company's charge of $520.12. After a few weeks, our credit card company declined our dispute based on your non-refundable policy. Based on the fact that I am retired and on a fixed income, $520.12 is a lot of money. Please reconsider your non-refundable stance and refund this charge. Also, please understand that it was my responsibility to understand your cancellation policy, but based on our situation and stress on having to react so quickly to my brother in-law's death, I hope your company understands my position. Please respond to my request ASAP!

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Sept. 26, 2018

It was so easy to use this website to help with planning for our soccer team. I loved I could easily see the distance to the fields for each hotel. Even after I booked the room, I had a question and a response was emailed back to me within hours by one of their staff members, Reginette. Very fast and efficient service!

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 25, 2018

I made a reservation for the RIU in Guadalajara Mexico 5 months in advance for 4 people, once I received confirmation I called the reservation center at the RIU. They informed me that the reservation was for 2 people only. I called the reservation center and I have been waiting 3 months and no response or resolution from this company. To me the message is clear they don’t want my business and they have poor customer service. I screenshot the reservation that clearly states 4 people but yet no callback to resolve this. I have been told 4 times, "The manager will call you back." Until this day I have no callback and now I am stuck starting all over again. Do not use this company. Unprofessional and no Customer service. This was my first attempt to use them and definitely my last.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Sept. 25, 2018

While making reservations at the Days Inn in Myrtle Beach SC for my son, I emailed Reginette ** several times over the course of a day. She was very friendly, accommodating, helpful and answered all of my questions promptly. I am thankful for her and will not hesitate in the future to book a room at The Days Inn, knowing that if I have questions they will get answered.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 21, 2018

On August 19th I made a reservation at the La Quinta Hotel in Sunrise Florida. When I went to book the reservation I did not realize that I was being directed to these scammers website (that is what they are) I mistakenly booked the reservation for 8 nights instead of 5 nights and once I realized the error, I immediately called these crooks the same day and request that my reservation be changed to 5 nights. They dragged the issue out for an additional 2 days when they knew the cancellation could not be processed and ever since I have called them and emailed them numerous times for them to refund me the cost of the 3 nights which I never stayed at the hotel.

The hotel told me that they would verify to HotelPlanner.com that I only stayed 5 nights and they would not call the hotel to verify this. Bottom line is, HotelPlanner.com has the cost of 3 nights (approximately $250) which they refused to refund me and that to me is criminal. Buyers beware. Book your hotel reservations directly with the hotel you are going to stay and not through criminals like HotelPlanner.com

Updated on 10/10/2018: I wrote to you 3 weeks ago and you sent out your standard response that someone will get in touch with me. To date, no one has contacted me regarding my 3 nights refund which you are holding for me. I have gone as far as I can and I know what bad publicity means for your business. I will start by contacting the Better Business Bureau and then use all the social media I can to show the general public who you guys are really are. This is very simple. Refund me my money. Call La Quinta Hotel in Sawgrass and they will verify that I stayed 5 nights and not the 8 nights you have charged me for.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 20, 2018

$1600 stolen from us: My whole family planned a trip to the beach. Got 3 rooms through HotelPlanner. A few days later, we got a call from BookIt telling us there weren't 3 rooms available at the place we booked at. We spent over $4400. She moved us somewhere that was a little more than half the cost of the original place. They told us our $4k payment would be transferred to the new place and that the difference would be refunded. Now the woman who moved us no longer works there, conveniently. And we are getting the runaround to get our money back for the first charge. We keep getting passed to people who know nothing about our case. They said they had to talk to Expedia (they weren't even involved here), they needed to talk to HotelPlanner, and now are asking who even told us we would get a refund. We get one because the 2nd hotel doesn't cost as much as the first!

One rude "manager" said that they would give us our original rooms back and tell other guests they couldn't stay there. We want the cheaper place since it is available. Apparently their practice is to kick people out of rooms they've already paid for. We are now contacting lawyers about our stolen money. My opinion is this is a scam. Do yourself a favor and go through a legitimate channel for booking somewhere to stay. This place wants your money and nothing else.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Callie,

We're very sorry to hear about the issues you addressed in your review. We'd like to look into this,but we are having difficulty locating your booking. Can you please message us your BookIt.com booking id, and phone number used to book. Thank you.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Sept. 19, 2018

Reginette ** was easy to communicate with and kept me updated on the status of my issue. She resolved my issue in a timely manner and I received a refund since there was a mistake. Customer service was able to help when there was a mistake in the site. Pleased with my experience when I could have had my money taken for a mistake, but received timely refund.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 17, 2018

I have received multiple emails regarding invoices that are past due, but before I can pay them, a few corrections need to be made. I have tried calling the main number and leaving a voicemail, calling specific people from the emails I've received and leaving voicemails, and emailing these people back. It's been over a week and I still have not heard back from anyone. Our account has been frozen due to lack of payment. I am very dissatisfied with your company.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern. Your review has been received and a specialist will be in contact with you.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Loading more reviews...

HotelPlanner.com expert review by ConsumerAffairs

HotelPlanner uses online technology to connect customers with hotel group sales managers. Founded in 2003, HotelPlanner offers group travel services in more than twenty languages and partners with more than 50,000 hotels worldwide.

  • Guaranteed lowest group rates: For consumers booking 10 or more rooms per night, HotelPlanner matches or beats the prices offered elsewhere.

  • Free room for the planner: The group's coordinator, the person who set up the hotel block, is provided with a free room when booking more than the minimum number of required rooms for the block.

  • Local experts: A local expert is assigned to each group to provide advice about navigating the city and enjoying activities.

  • Easy bid requests: The electronic room-booking process for groups is quick and easy to navigate. Travelers fill in the form and wait for hotels to bid on their travel, cutting out hours spent on the phone and putting negotiating power in the hands of the traveler.

  • Hotels bid on clients: HotelPlanner provides clients with the option to have hotels bid for the client's business, ensuring the best rates and packages.

  • Best for: HotelPlanner is best for group travelers, such as business groups, wedding parties and reunion attendees.

Profile picture of ConsumerAffairs
ConsumerAffairs Research Team

The ConsumerAffairs Research Team believes everyone deserves to make smart decisions. We aim to provide readers with the most up-to-date information available about today's consumer products and services.

HotelPlanner.com Company Information

Company Name:
HotelPlanner.com
Company Type:
Private
Year Founded:
2002
Address:
777 S Flagler Dr.
City:
West Palm Beach
State/Province:
FL
Postal Code:
33401
Country:
United States
Phone:
(866) 927-9389
Website:
www.HotelPlanner.com
Make the best choice, every time

Join our community to stay up-to-date with the latest reviews, recall notices, and brand recommendations. Our community members are happier with their purchases than consumers who didn’t research before buying. To see why, sign up below!

THANK YOU

Keep an eye on your inbox, the latest consumer news is on its way!