FOLLOW US

HotelPlanner.com
HotelPlanner.com
It's that easy Get a Free Quote
Overall Satisfaction Rating
4.44/5
  • 5 stars
    90
  • 4 stars
    19
  • 3 stars
    6
  • 2 stars
    0
  • 1 stars
    7
Based on 122 ratings submitted in the last yearSHOW RATING DISTRIBUTION

HotelPlanner.com

West Palm Beach, FL

ConsumerAffairs Accredited Brand

HotelPlanner.com is the world's largest provider of online group hotel bookings and event management services. Listed among the top 50 travel sites in the world and ranked number one in group travel, HotelPlanner.com now receives over 5 million unique visitors each month.

Our company offers the best deals in the group, individual and corporate travel and has partnerships with some of the most renowned franchises in sports including the Los Angeles Clippers, San Diego Chargers, Washington Redskins, St Louis Rams and the Florida Panthers.

If you need to book a hotel, book like the pros! Book with HotelPlanner.com.

A+BBB Rating
View More View More
Be in the know

Get trending consumer news and recalls

Thanks

Keep an eye on your inbox, the lastest consumer news is on it's way!

539 HotelPlanner.com Consumer Reviews and Complaints

Sort: Recent
Filter by: Any
1 featured review
View 1 featured review
Page 1 Reviews 1 - 30
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 16, 2018

I booked the hotel with a good price in the website. The customer service is excellent. The lady is pretty nice and work efficiently. She replied me within a day, and help me resolve my issues! I will definitely recommend the website to my friends.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Not sure how to choose?

Get expert buying tips about Travel Agencies delivered to your inbox.

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter!Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.
We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 14, 2018

I had added additional funds to my free hotel voucher, but ended up booking a hotel for much less than the amount I had. I thought I would end up losing $62, and wrote in a customer complaint. April ** promptly replied and assisted me with the issue. She initiated a refund to my debit card (which is still pending). But the service was quick and easy, and she was friendly. Thanks.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 13, 2018

I booked 2 nights at the Holiday Inn North Padre Island and on my confirmation it gave the hotel name and address that matched the hotel I was booking. (Confirmation # **). When I arrived the hotel was boarded up from a hurricane a year ago. I went across the street to a Holiday Inn Express and they had my reservation at that hotel. I paid over $800 for 2 nights in a small suite in a box motel instead of the beachfront hotel still advertised on your site as being open. Between HotelPlanner and Holiday Inn (North Padre Island) I got screwed with the old "Bait and Switch." Now I find that a lot of people have been ripped off the same way. The hotel was not on the beach, did not have a restaurant, pool bar, etc. as promised. Anybody going through this site should be wary of how HotelPlanner and Holiday Inn operates and call any hotel they book to verify what hotel you will actually end up with. RIPOFF.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 13, 2018

Hi. I made a reservation and quickly changes my mind but couldn't figure out how to cancel it and also get a credit back. Reginette ** was right there every step of the way with me and helped me cancel and get a full refund. She kept me appraised in every step. For this reason I will use this website in the future. Great employee and kind and courteous.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 6, 2018

When I asked for a receipt for my stay the desk clerk said she could not give me one because it was billed through a third party. Now that I looked at the credit card statement it looks like it will be the most expensive stay of my trip! And I feel certain it's because I was baited into a deal through HotelPlanner.com. I will avoid HotelPlanner.com in the future. So how do I get a receipt?

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review provided and we apologize to you for any inconvenience caused to you. We are able to verify that you booked your reservation online on 08/02/18 @ 09:37 AM for the Hampton Inn Longmont Hotel for Check In:August 3, 2018 (Fri) & Check Out:August 5, 2018 (Sun) and agreed to the rates and conditions at the time of booking - there was NO bait and switch.

Furthermore, there was no prior contact through the support number or email that can be found on your reservation receipt requesting a copy of the folio for your reservation - per your inquiry an emailed copy of the reservation receipt/folio has been sent to you via email to the email address that you provided on file.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
How do I know I can trust these reviews about HotelPlanner.com?
  • 1,192,702 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Rated with 5 stars
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 2, 2018

I was connected with Reginette to assist with an issue related to a reservation booked for incorrect dates via a non-refundable agreement. Though I understood that these terms were quite strict, she was able to refund almost all of my costs, save for a minor fee associated with the nature of the reservation’s non-refundable status. Given that some companies are extremely strict about such policies, the waiver HotelPlanner.com was able to provide me under such circumstances was very generous and I appreciated their prompt attention to my issue.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 31, 2018

Booked a hotel using this website because it said that the rate was including resort fee but when we arrived at the resort, we were told that we were being charged a resort fee because third party sites don't collect the resort fee. The Daytona Beach Resort we stayed at was disgusting and the "ocean view" that we paid for was a partial view and a full view of the condominiums next door; the sheets had stains and seemed to not have been washed/replaced since the previous customers were in there; the tile had mold in the grout, the carpet had vomit/bloodstains; the refrigerator would rattle in the middle of the night and I had to get up multiple times to stop the loud vibration and the room was musty and the A/C never cooled down the room. I tried contacting HotelPlanner.com and spoke with an Adriana and she just forwarded me to a voicemail of Regina who has not reached out to me for a week.

HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this disappointing experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 starResolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 28, 2018

Don't ever use this company. I booked a room at the Hampton Inn through Hotels4Teams, which uses HotelPlanner.com for the bookings. The room was booked, I received confirmation, and the charge showed up on my bank account immediately for $279.17. When I called the hotel directly to confirm my booking, they stated that they were full and there's no way I could have booked a room with them. They said our name was not in their system, and neither was our confirmation number. When I called Hotel Planner (the number given to me on their own website), she told me that she could not locate my confirmation number and that I called the wrong number. She then proceeded to give me the "correct" number to call, which was the exact same number I had dialed. She then told me that she couldn't do anything and to call the hotel for the refund.

I demanded to speak with someone who could help me immediately, so she transferred me to a "voicemail". I called the hotel and they stated again, that I wasn't in the system and it wasn't them that charged me. They didn't even have my information and stated that the confirmation was an "odd" confirmation number. I called my bank to ask what to do. They suggested that I report them to investigation for fraud. I told my bank that I was going to attempt to call Hotel Planner again and try to resolve it before I go to such lengths.

I called Hotels4Teams who was very nice and understanding. She seemed confused that Hotel Planner would charge me immediately, as she stated that they only do that for non-refundable rooms, but mine was refundable up to midnight the day of arrival. She called Hotel Planner, explained everything to them and gave me a name and number of the person she spoke with and told me to call. I called the direct person and number she gave me, and it was more frustrating than the prior call to them. The first thing she asked me was "yeah, did you talk to the hotel?" I explained that the hotel insists that I'm not even in the system. That the hotel did not charge me. It was Hotel Planner that charged me. She kept putting me on hold.

I told her that all I want is a full refund because they booked me into a non-existent room. She stated she could "escalate" it for approval to receive a refund but I wouldn't get it for about another week. So this is where I stand. Waiting for a refund. I'll post an update to share my experience with the refund. Do yourself a favor, save yourself a headache. Do NOT book anything through these people. Their customer service is poor, their employees are poorly trained and rude, and they turned what was an exciting time, into a frustrating nightmare. Meanwhile, we are out almost $300.00.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this disappointing experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 26, 2018

I recently made reservations through reservations@hotelplanner.com for an upcoming wedding. First of all the site stated that there would only be a hold placed on my credit card and that the Hotel would bill me at the time of check-in. Second, the second person occupant in the room was not recorded. Third, my credit card was debited for the entire amount of the stay. Fourth, when I tried to speak with someone regarding my existing reservation the system told me to contact the hotel that I'd chosen and hung up. Fifth, I had to speak with customer service like it was a brand new reservation to be helped.

Sixth, the agent that I most recently spoke with tried to charge me to add a second person to the room already booked for two. Seventh, your system kicked me out when I was adding a 2nd occupant and made me start over again at which point I got a notice that said they'd just heard from the hotel and the rate had increased. What kind of a racket are you people running? I will never use this site ever again. It was the first and last time for me.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Andre,

Thank you for reaching out to us and I would like to apologize to you for any inconvenience caused to you and we would also like to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously.

Per the review that you provided below I would like to clarify with you in regards to the information you provided –

- Clarification:
- I recently made reservations through reservations@hotelplanner.com for an upcoming wedding. First of all the site stated that there would only be a hold placed on my credit card and that the Hotel would bill me at the time of check-in.
o Clarification: The type of reservation that you booked online was a “Pay Now – Prepaid Reservation” meaning that at the time of booking the funds would be debited from the account information you provided at the time of booking.

 To secure your reservation, your credit card will be charged immediately for the total amount of your reservation. This secures the low price and ensures you have a room when you arrive.

- Second, the second person occupant in the room was not recorded.

o Clarification: At the time that you clicked on the type of room that you would like to book you are taken to the summary page to provide your payment information and the right hand side of the screen there is a summary confirming the information that you are booking and you do have the option to edit that section as well prior to booking. We are able to confirm that you rreservation was booked for only 1 Adult.

- Third, my credit card was debited for the entire amount of the stay.
o Clarification: Disclosure was provided on the type of room that you were booking indicating “Pay Now” and at the time of booking right below the total indicated that the reservation would be charged in full.

 To secure your reservation, your credit card will be charged immediately for the total amount of your reservation. This secures the low price and ensures you have a room when you arrive.

- Fourth, when I tried to speak with someone regarding my existing reservation the system told me to contact the hotel that I'd chosen and hung up.

o Clarification: Please note that changes cannot be made to your reservation online as you would have had to contact the support number that could be found on your reservation receipt.

- Fifth, I had to speak with customer service like it was a brand new reservation to be helped.

o Clarification: When you contact the department you have to follow the prompt so that you are transferred to the correct personnel that can assist you.

- Sixth, the agent that I most recently spoke with tried to charge me to add a second person to the room already booked for two.

o Clarification: Your reservation was booked for (1 Adult) and as rates due fluctuate the rate will increase if you are looking to add an additional occupant to your reservation as hotel also charges per occupant.

- Seventh, your system kicked me out when I was adding a 2nd occupant and made me start over again at which point I got a notice that said they'd just heard from the hotel and the rate had increased. What kind of a racket are you people running? I will never use this site ever again. It was the first and last time for me.

o Clarification: When the rate increases you will receive a prompt indicating that the rate has increased and if you wish to proceed you may go ahead. Rates are not fixed as they do fluctuate on a daily basis.

On your behalf, I was able to follow up with the hotel directly to have the (2nd Adult) added internally with the hotel at no additional cost and below you will find the hotels response.

- Hotels Response:

- Hello XXX, Thank you for letting us know about the number of guests in the room. The reservation now reflects two adults. Please let me know if there is anything else that I can help with. Thank you. KP-DOS

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 26, 2018

On June 27, 2018, I was on this company’s website searching for a hotel. During my search, I had to key in my credit card number before I could see the final cost. Unfortunately, the power went out at my work for a few minutes. When I was able to log back in, I saw that my credit card was charged. I immediately called them and explained that I did not authorize this transaction. They said no problem and allowed me to cancel the reservation. I got a cancellation number and email to confirm this.

I called them a few days later to follow up because I did not see a credit on my account and they told me give it another 5-7 business days. Patiently, I waited. I called them back the following week and they rudely told me that they will not refund me. Now I have to call my credit card company to dispute the charges. This company is bad! They are fraudulent! I even called the hotel directly and they told me that my reservation had been cancelled. This company is holding me hostage! They are fraudulently charging me $188.68. Charges that were never authorized!

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this disappointing experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.

((Update)):
Department Response:

Dear XXX, I have educated the guest and also issued a credit in full.

A full refund has been issued back to you and you can expect it back in your account in the next 3 - 7 business days.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 26, 2018

Booking reservation online was very easy. A change in plans resulted in our canceling the reservation but the cancellation was just as easy and handled very quickly and with absolute courtesy. Given the opportunity I’m sure we will stay here in the future.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 25, 2018

I was issued a hotel voucher for 250.00 because I have used hotels.com for many reservations for student travel. I made a reservation last weekend for a hotel in NJ, however my mom took sick in AZ and I had to cancel the reservation. The problem was that I had to add $124.00 of my own money to the voucher amt. to be able to make the reservation. When I cancelled the reservation I asked the man who helped me if they could put the 124. back on my card and he told me that it would go to a card number (he gave me the last 4 numbers) of a card that I don't have. I became concerned that the money wouldn't go back to me.

I emailed Regina (**) who contacted me immediately and told me that she would look into it. Each time I emailed her she got back to me within that day. She worked very hard to try to find a solution and today she wrote me to tell me that the refund would be going back to the card it was initially charged to. It is really nice to know that there are people who actually read your emails and make every effort to try to find solutions for your problem. Thank you very much, Regina.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 20, 2018

I booked a room at the Omni Shoreham, DC through HotelPlanner for a work conference as I was told that the block of reserved rooms for the event were filled. Hotel Planner actually gave me a better price on a great room. The hotel said they could not give me a receipt at check out because I had not booked through them. I sent an email asking for help and was pleased to get an immediate response from Reginette ** with the receipt I needed to submit for reimbursement. Thank you for your incredible service and staff!

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 19, 2018

I made a reservation knowing I might have to cancel it. I was told at the end of the conversation, after I asked, That yes, I can cancel it, however there is a fee (taxes plus either $30 or $50, I don’t remember the amount) to what I agree. It turned out, I did have to cancel the reservation, and after many phone calls, waiting on line, calls being dropped or just hang up on me, I've been informed because of “very strict cancellation policy” I cannot cancel and cannot get a refund. This is so disrespectful, dishonest and misleading. I was just told I have to wait up to 10 days for a review to see “if” they decide to give me the refund I was told I could have after I requested to review my initial call in which I made the reservation, and where I was lied and misled.

HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Ricardo,

Thank you for your patinece as the department handling your reservation was reviewing the information you provided. We are please to advise you that you have been issued a refund in full for your reservaiton.

Department Response:
Good morning XXX,

One of our agents reached out to mutual client yesterday, reservation is cancelled and client refunded in full. Client was advised of refund details and time frame to post.

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 17, 2018

I noticed my itinerary did not include +1 child as I had requested so I emailed to make sure she was included and it would not change the reservation. The request was answered quickly and efficiently. I was notified when it would be resolved and I received an email as soon as that happened.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 16, 2018

Made an error and they were able to help me get a full refund. Very thankful! I was fully satisfied with Reginette’s help. I was very worried that I wouldn’t get my money back and she was able to get it back.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
No response received
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 15, 2018

Do NOT use this company to make reservations. I made a reservation and upon arrival at 8:30 pm, the hotel overbooked and we didn’t have a room. Hotel Planner said all hotels do this. They have no control. We secured the room with a credit card. Can’t trust you will have a room when you get to your destination. After driving for 13 hours we were tired and just want a good night's sleep since we were driving 10 hours the next day.

HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this disappointing experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 12, 2018

HotelPlanner Customer Services Rep: Reginette ** was wonderful when I had questions about my reservation at the time I placed my order and received my confirmation. Then life took an unexpected change and I had to call upon her to assist and consider my needs for cancellation. She was understanding, efficient and appropriate with her time & response to my circumstance. I will look to Hotel Planner again & again for future needs. I appreciate the service and will definitely recommend Hotel Planner to everyone. Thank you again for making this difficult time a little 'easier'.

HotelPlanner.com response

Greetings,

Thank you for your reply. Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Managment Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 12, 2018

Reginette was with very helpful in locating and ensuring my reservation for stay in India. She took my request seriously and did whatever she could to help me and ensure my reservation is secured. Thank you again for your help.

HotelPlanner.com response

Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 11, 2018

Reginette ** was extremely helpful with my cancellation of a hotel. She helped me immediately and got a much better than expected result. She was able to negotiate a great deal with the hotel which I likely would not have been able to do.

HotelPlanner.com response

Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 4, 2018

I was very pleased with customer service recently when I requested a modification for a reservation due to an unavoidable schedule change. The customer service representative on both the phone and via email was extremely helpful and very professional. I would definitely recommend hotelplanner.com to others.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Factual basis uncertain
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 3, 2018

I tried booking a room 6 days before my targeted reservation for ONE night to attend my cousin's wedding using the pre-discounted deals that were booked through Hotelplanner.com, but when I finished my transaction the total had changed and had booked the room for TWO nights instead of the originally specified single night. I quickly (less than a minute) cancelled the reservation and booked a room for the same hotel at a lower nightly fee for ONE night through the actual hotel's website, with NO issues or false charges. I was charged the full amount for TWO nights and they are stating that there is no way to refund for the cancelled reservation. This is a complete ripoff and I am now disputing the charge with my credit card company and HotelPlanner.com because of their system error.

HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Maria,

Update: Information has been communicated to you via Email
---------------------------------------------------
Hotels Response:Thu 7/5/2018 1:30 PM

Good morning XXX,

Thank you for bringing this review to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority.

We have not had any contact with Mr. XXX nor has he reached out to the hotel regarding this booking error, had this been done right after noticing the mistake we would have been able to handle the situation at that time. Since the guest has mentioned that they have disputed the charge with their credit card company we will go ahead and wait for the dispute and address it at that time.

If Mr. XXX has any further questions or concerns, he is more then welcome to contact me at the hotel.

Please let me know if there is anything else that I may assist with.

Sincerely,

Sales Manager
--------------------------------------------------

Regards,

Hotel Planner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Insufficient response received
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 1, 2018

There is no excuse to deal with people on any level the way that this company does. I am a former hotel owner who had nothing but trouble with this company. We had guests call us and tell us they tried to book a room for a wedding with Hotel Planner and were told we were sold out. We tried to work them to resolve the issues but they were 100% impossible and dishonest 100% of the time. I would never deal with this company again and I would suggest all steer clear of such an awful company. Note: We recorded several dishonest conversation where we had people call Hotel Planner and ask about booking a room with our property and they lied to the guest and told them we were sold out. We considered filing a lawsuit against them but in the end as a small company we would have had to hire a corporate attorney to fight that battle and frankly Hotel Planner has far bigger resources than us. It was a lose/lose situation.

HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Rachel,

Thank you for your reply and information provided. With any business we do anticipate that there will be times where we do not exceed our customers’ expectations and with customer service the way for us to improve in the services provided is to review what occurred so that we can take proactive measures to ensure that they do not occur in the near future.

I am sorry I am unable to further assist you as I do not have enough information retrieved from you to get in contact with the department or the individuals that you were in contact with to rectify this matter.

Please do let me know if you have any further questions.

Regards,

Hotel Planner

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Factual basis uncertain
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 28, 2018

I used HotelPlanner.com to make a reservation for 8 days at an Extended Stay America in Beaverton Oregon. I got a confirmation email from Hotelplanner.com. A week or so later, I called the hotel to ask a question to be sure that the room reserved was handicapped accessible. They had a reservation for someone else under the confirmation number I had been given. They had no reservation under my name for the specified dates. I tried to contact HotelPlanner by phone using the number given in the confirmation email. I was not able to reach a live person by choosing the option for an existing reservation.

I was finally able to talk to someone choosing the option for a new reservation and this person could not find my reservation using the confirmation number or other identifying info. If I had not called about the reservation, I would have arrived with my 94 year old mother to find we did not have a room. I still am worried that there is some reservation out there for some other date or hotel that I cannot cancel, but my credit card will be charged when I don't show up. This is completely incompetent and unacceptable. I will never use this company again.

View more
HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Kathy,

Thank you for your patience as we reached out to the hotel on your behalf. Upon contacting the hotel they were able to locate the reservation that you booked using our services as well as additional reservations that you booked through another agency as well for their property. An email was sent to you with the information obtained by the hotel.

Hotels Response: Good morning XXX I do see two reservations in my system for XXX. I have attached both confirmation letters for you. I hope this helps answer any questions you may have had. XXX General Manager

Please reply back to the agent that is assisting you through email if you have any further questions or concerns.

Once again we do apologize to you for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: June 27, 2018

Reginette helped me to cancel my reservation! I received quick replies and she did it quite easy for me! I had no problems doing that. I hope I get back my money quick as well. :D Overall I was so satisfied with her assistance.

HotelPlanner.com response

Our team takes great pride in providing our customers with outstanding and attentive customer service, and we thank you for your compliments on their effort.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Customer increased Rating by 2 stars!
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 26, 2018

HotelPlanner is very dishonest with their cancellation policy. You can't differentiate the refundable from non-refundable when you book. You only know it's a non-refundable deal when you get the receipt. I mistakenly used HOTELPLANNER and I can comfortably say they are HORRIBLE. I called to cancel within 3 minutes of booking a room I wanted to stay in a week's time and it was already over. I never checked into the room and I never got a refund even after one month of disputing the claim in all politeness. What pisses me off is that I can't even remember seeing non-refundable in the terms and conditions. It only appeared on my receipt.

HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for any inconvinence caused. Your review have been escalated to management team for a full review. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 23, 2018

I contacted the hotel directly to cancel my reservation more than 48 hours before the arrival date. Hotel Planner had already charged my credit card. The hotel couldn’t refund me because Hotel Planner got the money. Hotel Planner will not respond to my inquiries about refunding my money. Very frustrated and disappointed in their customer service. Will never use them again and will tell others not to use them.

HotelPlanner.com response

Hi Cheryle,

Thank you for your patience as we were looking further into this matter. We were able to follow up with the specialist that was assisting you with your reservation and they have advised us that the matter regarding your reservation was still under investigation as they were awaiting the hotels confirmation that no charge was allocated for your reservation as you cancelled the reservation with the hotel directly and not with us the travel agency which is why there was a delay in the refund for your reservation.

For future reference it is imperative that you utilized the means that you booked your reservation through for any assistance with your reservation whether it may be modification or cancellation as too often times if you cancel your reservation with the property directly and the reservation was not booked with the property, the agency does not receive any notifications that your reservation has been cancelled by the hotel which will cause a delay in receiving a refund for your reservation.

I can confirm that you have been issued a refund in full for your reservation and you can expect the funds to be allocated back to your account in the next 3 – 5 business days. Once again we do apologize to you for the delay as the specialist that was assisting you was awaiting the hotels confirmation; the specialist has also replied back to you through the email of which you were communicating with.

Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolved outside ConsumerAffairs
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 15, 2018

After combing the Internet for a rather urgent hotel reservation for my husband's medical procedure in Vancouver, B.C., I called what I thought was a direct reservation number (which I've used before). I was offered a 15% discount for a middle-of-the-road hotel in a noisy area of Vancouver, but it was close to the hospital and acceptable under the circumstances. I was never told a.) There was a "reservation charge" of over $200 (US) and b.) All charges were in US dollars and c.) I had to go online, through a "procedure" to find my official receipt because the hotel was not able to provide one directly. Our necessary medical trip has now cost hundreds of extra dollars. Never again. (We live in B.C. Canada.)

HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings Susan,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for this disappointing experience. Your review have been escalated to the department handling your reservation for a full review and per any updates received the department or our specialist will be in contact with you. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
No response received
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 15, 2018

My elderly mother tried to book a hotel room at the Quality Inn in Petaluma for this weekend. On the HotelPlanner site she found a very affordable senior discount rate. She double-checked the price for all three nights of her stay, clicked "book," and great! Except... not. She was later emailed a price quote that listed two of the nights as significantly more expensive than the third night. Luckily we took screenshots of the original deal, emailed their customer service, and were given a phone number. Tried the phone number, it was an automated message that hung up on me - twice. Tried the customer service representative - Ynasthia - and she said, "the rates change automatically and we have no control over it." Went back and forth and finally... mom was offered a $100 discount coupon. Great, problem solved. Except... not. Again. We were then told she couldn't use this coupon for her stay but had to use it later!

Um, the problem was with THIS visit, and the error was yours! Finally ended up calling the actual hotel and talked to a fabulous manager who honored the original price quote, cancelled our bait-and-switch reservation with HotelScammer, er, HotelPlanner, and will NEVER. Book. Through. Them. Again. Don't do it, they do not care about you!

View more
HotelPlanner.com response
Greetings,
We appreciate the opportunity to review you concern and apologize for any inconvinence caused. Your review have been escalated to management team for a full review. Again, we apologize for this experience.
Regards,

HotelPlanner Management Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: June 14, 2018

Had to cancel a hotel. I had the opportunity to work with Reginette on my issue. Extremely quick and helpful. My problem was solved within a day! With a full refund and zero a headache, I would recommend this platform to any of my friends. Thanks. :)

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Loading more reviews...

HotelPlanner.com expert review by ConsumerAffairs

HotelPlanner uses online technology to connect customers with hotel group sales managers. Founded in 2003, HotelPlanner offers group travel services in more than twenty languages and partners with more than 50,000 hotels worldwide.

  • Guaranteed lowest group rates: For consumers booking 10 or more rooms per night, HotelPlanner matches or beats the prices offered elsewhere.

  • Free room for the planner: The group's coordinator, the person who set up the hotel block, is provided with a free room when booking more than the minimum number of required rooms for the block.

  • Local experts: A local expert is assigned to each group to provide advice about navigating the city and enjoying activities.

  • Easy bid requests: The electronic room-booking process for groups is quick and easy to navigate. Travelers fill in the form and wait for hotels to bid on their travel, cutting out hours spent on the phone and putting negotiating power in the hands of the traveler.

  • Hotels bid on clients: HotelPlanner provides clients with the option to have hotels bid for the client's business, ensuring the best rates and packages.

  • Best for: HotelPlanner is best for group travelers, such as business groups, wedding parties and reunion attendees.

Profile picture of ConsumerAffairs
ConsumerAffairs

Research Team

View Profile

The ConsumerAffairs Research Team believes everyone deserves to make smart decisions. We aim to provide readers with the most up-to-date information available about today's consumer products and services.

HotelPlanner.com Company Information

Company Name:
HotelPlanner.com
Company Type:
Private
Year Founded:
2002
Address:
777 S Flagler Dr.
City:
West Palm Beach
State/Province:
FL
Postal Code:
33401
Country:
United States
Phone:
(866) 927-9389
Website:
www.HotelPlanner.com
Make the best choice, every time

Join our community to stay up-to-date with the latest reviews, recall notices, and brand recommendations. Our community members are happier with their purchases than consumers who didn’t research before buying. To see why, sign up below!

THANK YOU

Keep an eye on your inbox, the latest consumer news is on its way!

Want to know more?
You look like a savvy shopperWant to know more?

Join our community to stay up-to-date with the latest reviews, recall notices, and brand recommendations. Our community members are happier with their purchases than consumers who didn't research before buying. To see why, sign up below!

THANK YOU

Keep an eye on your inbox, the latest consumer news is on its way!

Make purchase decisions like an expert.

Our newsletters are full of tips and tricks to help you choose the best companies to fit your needs. Sign up below to get started!

THANK YOU

Keep an eye on your inbox, the latest consumer news is on its way!

ConsumerAffairs Solutions for Business

Let's talk

Follow us

ConsumerAffairs ranks 562 on Inc. 5000 for 2017

At ConsumerAffairs we love to hear from both consumers and brands; please never hesitate to Contact Us.

At ConsumerAffairs we take privacy seriously, please refer to our Privacy Policy to learn more about how we keep you protected.

You’re responsible for yourself and please remember that your use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use.

Advertisements on this site are placed and controlled by outside advertising networks. ConsumerAffairs.com does not evaluate or endorse the products and services advertised. See the FAQ for more information.

The information on our website is general in nature and is not intended as a substitute for competent legal advice. ConsumerAffairs.com makes no representation as to the accuracy of the information herein provided and assumes no liability for any damages or loss arising from the use thereof.

Copyright © 2018 Consumers Unified LLC. All Rights Reserved. The contents of this site may not be republished, reprinted, rewritten or recirculated without written permission.