Masterbuilt Smokehouses

Masterbuilt Smokehouses

 1.6/5 (477 reviews)

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

Overall Rating1.6 out of 5
See all 477 reviews

About Masterbuilt Smokehouses

Masterbuilt Smokehouses Reviews

  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Masterbuilt?
  • 4,243,660 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: May 17, 2023

My wife bought me a Masterbuilt Electric Smoker for Christmas. When I pulled it out of the box, it was damaged on the door and on the bottom of the unit, large dents. I contacted Customer Service via their website. They have no phone numbers available to talk to someone. The only number I found referred me to the website. I registered the product and filed a claim.

After a couple of days, they responded and asked me to decommission the unit by cutting the power cord and sending a picture before they could honor the warranty. They said don't throw any components away, they would only replace the damaged parts. They sent me a replacement Body, with no Door. So I never took it out of the box. Several days later, I received a door. But it was damaged too. I finally got a good door on the fourth Door.

So, when I went to assemble it, (with no instructions) I saw that the replacement Body was also damaged, on the side. Bad enough that I had to force the shelf to slide in. The dent was along the opening of the door, pushed in about a half inch. This also made it so the door would not completely seal. I reported this over a month ago, and they still have not responded. They have apparently closed this claim. Now, I have an original unit with a cut cord, and a replacement unit with worse damage so that the shelves don't fit properly, and smoke would leak if I tried to use it.

And now I have zero Customer Support. This is the most frustrating part of all. Absolutely worse Customer Service I have ever received on anything. I would not recommend Masterbuilt Smokers, especially buying one from their website. Had I got one from a retailer where I could inspect it when I picked it up, it may be a different story.

Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear this has happened. Please look for our private message so we are able to assist.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Resolution In Progress
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: May 15, 2023

My smoker is throwing an error code. I contacted support and told them the smoker is no longer under warranty but I wanted to know if they had information regarding the code. Got a generic email that had absolutely nothing to do with the error code and they closed the case. Customer service? Time for a Traeger I guess.

Masterbuilt Smokehouses response

Hey Thomas,

Thank you for letting us know. We do apologize for the trouble this has caused. We are sending you a private message so we are able to look into this for you.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Miscellaneous delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 4, 2023

    The smoker for the price is easy to use and works quite well. However, the website when something goes out doesn't list all the models making parts hard to identify. Apparently, you are going to need this as few don't have a failure within the first couple of years.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response

    Hey Stuart,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Feel free to send us a message on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter if you are having trouble finding your replacements. We would be happy to help.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: April 27, 2023

    We purchased a Masterbuilt Gravity 1050 digital charcoal grill. While putting it together we noticed that they didn't run the wiring harness and the plug for the fan was smashed. So I contacted them to let them know it did not have the wiring harness and the plug was smashed. They requested several pictures in which I sent and a copy of my receipt. I sent all of this and then they wanted more pictures. I told them no I am not sending anymore pictures and I will just file a complaint with the Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau. This has been going on now for a week and no resolution. Terrible customer service.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response

    Hey Lana!

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience. We are sending you a private message to gather more information to assist.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Resolution In Progress
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: April 2, 2023

    I will be absolutely frank, I do like Masterbuilt, however there is one major deal breaker! That is if you have a problem, good luck getting in contact with Masterbuilt. You have to send an e-mail with photos and wait five business days to get a return phone call and you'll be lucky if that happens. I do not like companies that sell a product with minimal customer support! You worked your tail off you want to come home and smoke a brisket or pork butt enjoy life! You spend a lot of money on this stuff only to find out if you have a problem your number 10 or 11 or 15 or 20 for that matter, point being you're last. They're not worried about you. They already have your money. Very disappointed, very disappointed.

    I like Masterbuilt but I can no longer deal with them due to that fact! My smoker started falling apart within less than a year, it no longer would hold the temperature after a year! That's when I had it broke off to me that I'm last that I don't matter! I have a good friend that's gone through 5 units and finally gave up and went to pitboss after my experience with customer service I decided to do the same! To be honest with you, I'm terribly vexed! I just wish Masterbuilt would do the right thing. It's not going to happen. I'm convinced. I'm tired of wasting my time, insanity you know the cliche!

    I had the old 30 inch model that lasted me seven years without a problem! I was excited to get the 40 inch stainless steel, sadly it did not make it a year! Once customer service finally got to me two weeks later then a month later I get a heating element which did not resolve the issue. Plus while changing out the heating element, I noticed the horrible poor craftsmanship!

    After that no contact, in a fury I just went and bought a Pit Boss pellet smoker: Pit Boss Competition Series Gen 2 Vertical 5 Pellet Smoker. Truth be told I have not even used it yet! Reason being I was sharing my story with a friend. He totally forgot he had an unused 30 inch Masterbuilt on his porch. He let me take it and I have been using that! The one thing I like is that you don't have to keep the chip tray full all the time and the heating element will maintain a constant temperature, whereas with the pellet grills the hopper has stay full all the time! I like electric smokers! I like Masterbilt however the customer service is a deal breaker. End of statement!!!

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


    Thank you for providing your feedback and bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience. We are sending over a private message to gather more information, as we would love to provide a solution.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: March 13, 2023

    I followed their troubleshooting in the manual and determined that the controller is faulty. Once I created an online warranty support issue, I was contacted by email and asked to do some additional troubleshooting. Based on my response, it was still pointing to a faulty controller. However, the support person or bot decided to send me a new switch for the lid, which will not fix the controller issue. Next they asked me to disconnect the fan from the controller and then determined it was the wiring harness. Nonsense. When I brought this to their attention, they then stated that they asked me to directly connect the fan to the controller. It is clear in their email thread that they never asked me to do this. They then stated that they will contact management and get back to me. Even if you buy the parts out of warranty, I takes several weeks for them to process your order. Worst customer service. I would recommend buying another product.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response

    Hey Mark,

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience with our support team. We are sending over a private message to gather more information, as we would love to provide a resolution.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Jan. 8, 2023

    I had a problem with a new Gravity Series 800 Smoker/Grill and customer service emailed me to ask what time to call and then did. They sent me replacement parts and did so happily. Very Happy with the service and the Grill quality.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


    Thank you for your smoking review! We are very happy to hear you are satisfied. :)

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Jan. 5, 2023

    I hope you never, ever need service on this product. I had a Masterbuilt 20070311, and it was a generally good experience. Over 10 years of use a couple times a year, some parts deteriorated from age and use. It finally failed in September 2022, I decided to replace it with a similar model and bought the MB20070421. I can't begin to express my frustration with this product and the service around it. It was purchased Sep 22, 2022. First used a few weeks later with no problem. Again for a Thanksgiving turkey. On December 9 it was loaded with 6 large fillets of salmon and steelhead for a company Christmas party (close to $100 of fish). All started as usual, checking the chip level every 30-45 minutes. At about the 2 hour mark I went to check the chips and find the unit cold. It was 40F that day and the smoker was at 45F and falling.

    This 3-month old unit had instructions all through the manual to call (telephone) the company, so I did. The recording that answered basically said: "Use our website", then hung up. Website gives a "robo-chatbot" (not artificial intelligence, but just artificial). It asked a few questions and I did finally "text chat" to a person briefly, who told me they'd send me a new heating element. I have no idea why they decided it was the heating element.

    In my mind it could have also been a thermostat or control module. No discussion, no human contact, no "sorry this happened with your new smoker." And no expectation of delivery time. I emailed back to ask about delivery and they said it could be up to 6 weeks. The only good news in this story is that it actually arrived about 8 days later. But needless to say I lost the fish (almost half the cost of the smoker) and disappointed a lot of people.

    The new part arrived. It had an instruction sheet that did not match my smoker, which was annoying. But the parts looked identical, and I was able to change it with only minor frustration. I plugged it in, ran it a few minutes and it heated! Today I have another load of fish in the smoker. Guess what - same problem as I had Dec 9 - it heated and smoked for about 45 minutes, and when I went out at about an hour to check the chips... it was cold. I'm starting the so-called-warranty process again. I have no idea what will happen as I'm promised that someone will get back to me in 3-5 business days. At this point I have lost as much cost in food (let alone disappointment to family and friends), that I could have bought 2nd new smoker.

    By the way, I registered my smoker on their website when purchased. I uploaded my purchase receipt at that time as well. When I contacted them Dec 9, they required me to upload a photo of the unit, the serial number, and the purchase receipt. I asked why they could not get this from my registration, but got no answer. I expect that I'll have to dig our that receipt again in 3-5 days to get this second warranty request processed.

    I really expected better after my first Masterbuilt experience. I understand that problems do occur, but the post-sales support is less than junior league. It's Keystone Kops. 5 minutes on the phone and a more caring person on their keyboard might have solved the real problem and saved me a 2nd failure on this brand new unit. Their website even makes it hard to find and initiate a service issue. Normally I'd contact the company and give them a chance to respond and work with me privately. But there is no way I can see to do that. I can only submit issues if I upload a photograph of the problem. This is not the company I talked to 10 years ago.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the troubles and frustration this has caused. We will be sending over a private message shortly to gather a bit more information, as we do want to turn this into a positive experience.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Nov. 2, 2022

    I purchased the gravity series 800 series mid September through the Masterbuilt website and received it Oct. 10. The main body and lid had some pretty obvious dents in them where there was no way I could accept that for the amount of money I paid. After a few back and forth emails of needing to verify all this information that I did indeed buy the product, I was told a replacement body/lid would be arriving in the upcoming weeks. 2 weeks later I sent an email to verify it was on its way and then I was told the order is still being processed. Really? It hasn’t even been sent out yet?

    Here I am November 2 with no tracking number for anything being sent out to me yet. Is it really going to take 2 total months from buying a grill to actually grilling? Oh, and if you ask for some sort of a discount for the inconvenience of this whole process which includes time, and having to store all the extra parts for the grill, and disposal of the heavy, bulky, damaged product that came in you are going to get told that that’s not in the contract. I did receive a couple “I’m truly sorries” though. It shames me to think I supported a business that doesn’t have an urgency to correct its wrong.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


    We are very sorry to hear you have experienced a shipping delay and would be happy to look into this for you. We will be sending over a private message to gather more information.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Oct. 16, 2022

    Purchased this unit in May/22. Lasted less than 5 months and the electronics crapped out. Tried to call for customer support and there are NO humans for support. Customers have to deal with bots that inform us we Must be electrical engineers with extensive testing equipment to track down the faulty components on our own.

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses response


    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear you are not satisfied, and would love to look into this. Please look for our private message so we are able to assist.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    Masterbuilt Smokehouses Company Information

    Company Name:
    Postal Code: