Our 5 picks for the best short-term personal loans
Our top five picks for the best short-term personal loans are from:
- Our top pick overall: Upgrade
- Our pick for flexible repayment terms: Best Egg
- Our pick for larger loans: Achieve
- Our pick for smaller loans: NetCredit
- Our pick for customer service: Reach Financial
| Company | Our pick for | APR range | Loan amounts | Term length | Minimum credit score | Funding time | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Upgrade | Compare Offers | Best overall | 7.74% APR to 35.99% APR | $1,000 to $50,000 | 2 to 7 years | Not disclosed | 1 business day |
![]() Best Egg | Compare Offers | Flexible repayment terms | 6.99% to 35.99% | $2,000 to $50,000 | 3 to 5 years | 640 | 24 hours |
![]() Achieve Personal Loans | Learn More | Larger loans | 6.25% APR to 35.99% APR | $5,000 to $50,000 | 2 to 5 years | 640 | 24 to 72 hours |
![]() NetCredit | Learn More | Smaller loans | 34.99% to 99.99% | $1,000 to $10,000 | 6 months to 5 years | Not disclosed | Same or next business day |
![]() Reach Financial | Learn More | Customer service | 5.99% to 35.99% | $3,500 to $40,000 | 2 to 5 years | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |

- Loan amounts
- $1,000 to $50,000
- Term lengths
- 2 to 7 years
- Minimum credit score
- Not disclosed
Partner Disclosures
NetCredit disclosures
This offer is representative of what may be available to you; you may see additional options or slightly different terms once you continue the application process on the NetCredit website. You may be asked to provide additional documents regarding your income, identity and bank account. All NetCredit loans and lines of credit are underwritten, approved and funded by either NetCredit or one of its lending partner banks. Visit https://netcredit.com/lending-partners for more information. All loans and lines of credit are serviced by NetCredit. For Lines of Credit, a 10% Cash Advance Fee will be deducted from the amount of each Cash Advance, and each billing period a Statement Balance Fee of $0 - $650 will apply based on your Cash Advance Balance. Each Billing Cycle, your Minimum Payment will include a portion of your Cash Advance Balance plus the Statement Balance Fee. The minimum Cash Advance varies by state. Please see Terms of Use, Rates & Terms and Borrower Agreements for all terms, conditions and requirements. KS residents: NetCredit Loan Services, LLC, License No. SL.0026603.
Best Egg disclosures
Best Egg products are not available if you live in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, or U.S. Territories. Eligibility is not guaranteed. The term, amount and APR of any loan we offer to you will depend on your credit score, income, debt payment obligations, loan amount, credit history and other factors. If offered, your loan agreement will contain specific terms and conditions. Your application is complete when you submit it to Best Egg. Your acceptance of an offer may impact your credit score. The timing of available funds upon loan approval may vary depending upon your bank’s policies. After successful verification, your money can be deposited in your bank account within 1-3 business days. Loan amounts range from $5,000–$50,000. Residents of Massachusetts have a minimum loan amount of $6,500; Ohio, $5,001; and Georgia, $3,001. Only two active Best Egg loans are available at one time and your total existing Best Egg loan balances cannot exceed $100,000. Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) range from 6.99%–35.99%. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99% of your loan amount, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive. The origination fee on a loan term 4 years or longer will be at least 4.99%. Your loan term will impact your APR, which may be higher than our lowest advertised rate. Eligibility for the best available rate subject to creditworthiness. For example: a 5-year $10,000 loan with a 9.99% APR has 60 scheduled monthly payments of $201.81; a 3-year $5,000 loan with 6.99% APR has 36 scheduled monthly payments of $152.83. Best Egg loans can be prepaid at any time without penalty. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Best Egg loans have a minimum term of 36 months and a maximum term of 60 months. To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. Best Egg loans are personal loans made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey Chartered Bank, operating from its Wilmington, Delaware, branch location, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender, or Column N.A., Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. © 2026 Marlette Marketing, LLC. All rights reserved.
Achieve Personal Loans disclosures
Personal loans available through Achieve.com (NMLS #138464) or Achieve Personal Loans (NMLS ID #227977) are made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, or Pathward®, N.A., Equal Housing Lenders. Loan applications are subject to credit review, underwriting criteria and approval. Loans are not available in all states and available loan terms/fees may vary by state. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000. APRs range from 8.99 to 35.99% and include applicable origination fees that vary from 1.99% to 6.99%. The origination fee is deducted from the loan proceeds. Repayment periods range from 24 to 60 months. Example loan: four-year $20,000 loan with an origination fee of 6.99%, a rate of 15.49%, and corresponding APR of 19.54%, would have an estimated monthly payment of $561.60 and a total cost of $26,956.80. To qualify for a 8.99% APR loan, a borrower will need excellent credit, a loan amount less than $12,000.00, and a term of 24 months. Adding a co-borrower with sufficient income; using at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the loan proceeds to pay off qualifying existing debt directly; or showing proof of sufficient retirement savings, could also help you qualify for lower rates. Funding time periods are estimates and can vary for each loan request. Same day decisions assume a completed application with all required supporting documentation submitted early enough on a day that our offices are open. Achieve Personal Loans loan consultants' hours are Monday-Friday 6am-8pm AZ time, and Saturday-Sunday 7am-4pm AZ time.
Upgrade disclosures
Your loan terms are not guaranteed and are subject to our verification and review process. You may be asked to provide additional documents to enable us to verify your income and your identity. To be offered the lowest rates, you may be required to have some of your funds sent directly to pay off existing debt(s). This rate shown includes an Autopay APR reduction of 0.5%. Autopay enrollment is optional and by enrolling, your payments will be automatically deducted from your bank account. The APR includes the yearly interest rate and a loan origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Late payments and other fees may increase the cost of your fixed rate loan. Please refer to Upgrade's Terms of Use and Borrower Agreement for terms, conditions and requirements. Upgrade is a financial technology company, not a bank. Personal loans are issued by Upgrade's bank partners: https://www.upgrade.com/bank-partners/. † After acceptance, your funds will be sent within one (1) business day of clearing necessary verifications. Funds availability is dependent upon your bank’s transaction processing time and may take up to 2 weeks if sent directly to third party creditors.
Reach Financial disclosures
All loans are subject to eligibility criteria and review of creditworthiness and history. Terms and conditions apply. All loans advertised are unsecured personal loans issued by either Pathward National Association or FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered commercial bank, member FDIC, as creditor, on the Reach Financial platform. If you are approved for a loan, the interest rate offered will depend on your credit profile, your application, and the loan term you select. Fixed Annual Percentage Rates (APR) range from 5.99% to 35.99%. You could receive a loan of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.93%, an origination fee of $200, for an APR of 9.80%, which would result in total payment of $12,435 with 60 monthly payments of $207.20. Your actual rate may differ and depends on your credit history, loan amount, and term. Total approved loan amount reflects origination fee, which ranges from 0% to 8%. *Within 24 hours of your loan approval, loan proceeds will be available to pay the creditors named on your Truth-In-Lending Disclosure.

- Loan amounts
- $2,000 to $50,000
- Term lengths
- 3 to 5 years
- Minimum credit score
- 640
Partner Disclosures
NetCredit disclosures
This offer is representative of what may be available to you; you may see additional options or slightly different terms once you continue the application process on the NetCredit website. You may be asked to provide additional documents regarding your income, identity and bank account. All NetCredit loans and lines of credit are underwritten, approved and funded by either NetCredit or one of its lending partner banks. Visit https://netcredit.com/lending-partners for more information. All loans and lines of credit are serviced by NetCredit. For Lines of Credit, a 10% Cash Advance Fee will be deducted from the amount of each Cash Advance, and each billing period a Statement Balance Fee of $0 - $650 will apply based on your Cash Advance Balance. Each Billing Cycle, your Minimum Payment will include a portion of your Cash Advance Balance plus the Statement Balance Fee. The minimum Cash Advance varies by state. Please see Terms of Use, Rates & Terms and Borrower Agreements for all terms, conditions and requirements. KS residents: NetCredit Loan Services, LLC, License No. SL.0026603.
Best Egg disclosures
Best Egg products are not available if you live in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, or U.S. Territories. Eligibility is not guaranteed. The term, amount and APR of any loan we offer to you will depend on your credit score, income, debt payment obligations, loan amount, credit history and other factors. If offered, your loan agreement will contain specific terms and conditions. Your application is complete when you submit it to Best Egg. Your acceptance of an offer may impact your credit score. The timing of available funds upon loan approval may vary depending upon your bank’s policies. After successful verification, your money can be deposited in your bank account within 1-3 business days. Loan amounts range from $5,000–$50,000. Residents of Massachusetts have a minimum loan amount of $6,500; Ohio, $5,001; and Georgia, $3,001. Only two active Best Egg loans are available at one time and your total existing Best Egg loan balances cannot exceed $100,000. Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) range from 6.99%–35.99%. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99% of your loan amount, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive. The origination fee on a loan term 4 years or longer will be at least 4.99%. Your loan term will impact your APR, which may be higher than our lowest advertised rate. Eligibility for the best available rate subject to creditworthiness. For example: a 5-year $10,000 loan with a 9.99% APR has 60 scheduled monthly payments of $201.81; a 3-year $5,000 loan with 6.99% APR has 36 scheduled monthly payments of $152.83. Best Egg loans can be prepaid at any time without penalty. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Best Egg loans have a minimum term of 36 months and a maximum term of 60 months. To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. Best Egg loans are personal loans made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey Chartered Bank, operating from its Wilmington, Delaware, branch location, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender, or Column N.A., Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. © 2026 Marlette Marketing, LLC. All rights reserved.
Achieve Personal Loans disclosures
Personal loans available through Achieve.com (NMLS #138464) or Achieve Personal Loans (NMLS ID #227977) are made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, or Pathward®, N.A., Equal Housing Lenders. Loan applications are subject to credit review, underwriting criteria and approval. Loans are not available in all states and available loan terms/fees may vary by state. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000. APRs range from 8.99 to 35.99% and include applicable origination fees that vary from 1.99% to 6.99%. The origination fee is deducted from the loan proceeds. Repayment periods range from 24 to 60 months. Example loan: four-year $20,000 loan with an origination fee of 6.99%, a rate of 15.49%, and corresponding APR of 19.54%, would have an estimated monthly payment of $561.60 and a total cost of $26,956.80. To qualify for a 8.99% APR loan, a borrower will need excellent credit, a loan amount less than $12,000.00, and a term of 24 months. Adding a co-borrower with sufficient income; using at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the loan proceeds to pay off qualifying existing debt directly; or showing proof of sufficient retirement savings, could also help you qualify for lower rates. Funding time periods are estimates and can vary for each loan request. Same day decisions assume a completed application with all required supporting documentation submitted early enough on a day that our offices are open. Achieve Personal Loans loan consultants' hours are Monday-Friday 6am-8pm AZ time, and Saturday-Sunday 7am-4pm AZ time.
Upgrade disclosures
Your loan terms are not guaranteed and are subject to our verification and review process. You may be asked to provide additional documents to enable us to verify your income and your identity. To be offered the lowest rates, you may be required to have some of your funds sent directly to pay off existing debt(s). This rate shown includes an Autopay APR reduction of 0.5%. Autopay enrollment is optional and by enrolling, your payments will be automatically deducted from your bank account. The APR includes the yearly interest rate and a loan origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Late payments and other fees may increase the cost of your fixed rate loan. Please refer to Upgrade's Terms of Use and Borrower Agreement for terms, conditions and requirements. Upgrade is a financial technology company, not a bank. Personal loans are issued by Upgrade's bank partners: https://www.upgrade.com/bank-partners/. † After acceptance, your funds will be sent within one (1) business day of clearing necessary verifications. Funds availability is dependent upon your bank’s transaction processing time and may take up to 2 weeks if sent directly to third party creditors.
Reach Financial disclosures
All loans are subject to eligibility criteria and review of creditworthiness and history. Terms and conditions apply. All loans advertised are unsecured personal loans issued by either Pathward National Association or FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered commercial bank, member FDIC, as creditor, on the Reach Financial platform. If you are approved for a loan, the interest rate offered will depend on your credit profile, your application, and the loan term you select. Fixed Annual Percentage Rates (APR) range from 5.99% to 35.99%. You could receive a loan of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.93%, an origination fee of $200, for an APR of 9.80%, which would result in total payment of $12,435 with 60 monthly payments of $207.20. Your actual rate may differ and depends on your credit history, loan amount, and term. Total approved loan amount reflects origination fee, which ranges from 0% to 8%. *Within 24 hours of your loan approval, loan proceeds will be available to pay the creditors named on your Truth-In-Lending Disclosure.

- Loan amounts
- $5,000 to $50,000
- Term lengths
- 2 to 5 years
- Minimum credit score
- 640
Partner Disclosures
NetCredit disclosures
This offer is representative of what may be available to you; you may see additional options or slightly different terms once you continue the application process on the NetCredit website. You may be asked to provide additional documents regarding your income, identity and bank account. All NetCredit loans and lines of credit are underwritten, approved and funded by either NetCredit or one of its lending partner banks. Visit https://netcredit.com/lending-partners for more information. All loans and lines of credit are serviced by NetCredit. For Lines of Credit, a 10% Cash Advance Fee will be deducted from the amount of each Cash Advance, and each billing period a Statement Balance Fee of $0 - $650 will apply based on your Cash Advance Balance. Each Billing Cycle, your Minimum Payment will include a portion of your Cash Advance Balance plus the Statement Balance Fee. The minimum Cash Advance varies by state. Please see Terms of Use, Rates & Terms and Borrower Agreements for all terms, conditions and requirements. KS residents: NetCredit Loan Services, LLC, License No. SL.0026603.
Best Egg disclosures
Best Egg products are not available if you live in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, or U.S. Territories. Eligibility is not guaranteed. The term, amount and APR of any loan we offer to you will depend on your credit score, income, debt payment obligations, loan amount, credit history and other factors. If offered, your loan agreement will contain specific terms and conditions. Your application is complete when you submit it to Best Egg. Your acceptance of an offer may impact your credit score. The timing of available funds upon loan approval may vary depending upon your bank’s policies. After successful verification, your money can be deposited in your bank account within 1-3 business days. Loan amounts range from $5,000–$50,000. Residents of Massachusetts have a minimum loan amount of $6,500; Ohio, $5,001; and Georgia, $3,001. Only two active Best Egg loans are available at one time and your total existing Best Egg loan balances cannot exceed $100,000. Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) range from 6.99%–35.99%. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99% of your loan amount, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive. The origination fee on a loan term 4 years or longer will be at least 4.99%. Your loan term will impact your APR, which may be higher than our lowest advertised rate. Eligibility for the best available rate subject to creditworthiness. For example: a 5-year $10,000 loan with a 9.99% APR has 60 scheduled monthly payments of $201.81; a 3-year $5,000 loan with 6.99% APR has 36 scheduled monthly payments of $152.83. Best Egg loans can be prepaid at any time without penalty. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Best Egg loans have a minimum term of 36 months and a maximum term of 60 months. To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. Best Egg loans are personal loans made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey Chartered Bank, operating from its Wilmington, Delaware, branch location, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender, or Column N.A., Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. © 2026 Marlette Marketing, LLC. All rights reserved.
Achieve Personal Loans disclosures
Personal loans available through Achieve.com (NMLS #138464) or Achieve Personal Loans (NMLS ID #227977) are made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, or Pathward®, N.A., Equal Housing Lenders. Loan applications are subject to credit review, underwriting criteria and approval. Loans are not available in all states and available loan terms/fees may vary by state. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000. APRs range from 8.99 to 35.99% and include applicable origination fees that vary from 1.99% to 6.99%. The origination fee is deducted from the loan proceeds. Repayment periods range from 24 to 60 months. Example loan: four-year $20,000 loan with an origination fee of 6.99%, a rate of 15.49%, and corresponding APR of 19.54%, would have an estimated monthly payment of $561.60 and a total cost of $26,956.80. To qualify for a 8.99% APR loan, a borrower will need excellent credit, a loan amount less than $12,000.00, and a term of 24 months. Adding a co-borrower with sufficient income; using at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the loan proceeds to pay off qualifying existing debt directly; or showing proof of sufficient retirement savings, could also help you qualify for lower rates. Funding time periods are estimates and can vary for each loan request. Same day decisions assume a completed application with all required supporting documentation submitted early enough on a day that our offices are open. Achieve Personal Loans loan consultants' hours are Monday-Friday 6am-8pm AZ time, and Saturday-Sunday 7am-4pm AZ time.
Upgrade disclosures
Your loan terms are not guaranteed and are subject to our verification and review process. You may be asked to provide additional documents to enable us to verify your income and your identity. To be offered the lowest rates, you may be required to have some of your funds sent directly to pay off existing debt(s). This rate shown includes an Autopay APR reduction of 0.5%. Autopay enrollment is optional and by enrolling, your payments will be automatically deducted from your bank account. The APR includes the yearly interest rate and a loan origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Late payments and other fees may increase the cost of your fixed rate loan. Please refer to Upgrade's Terms of Use and Borrower Agreement for terms, conditions and requirements. Upgrade is a financial technology company, not a bank. Personal loans are issued by Upgrade's bank partners: https://www.upgrade.com/bank-partners/. † After acceptance, your funds will be sent within one (1) business day of clearing necessary verifications. Funds availability is dependent upon your bank’s transaction processing time and may take up to 2 weeks if sent directly to third party creditors.
Reach Financial disclosures
All loans are subject to eligibility criteria and review of creditworthiness and history. Terms and conditions apply. All loans advertised are unsecured personal loans issued by either Pathward National Association or FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered commercial bank, member FDIC, as creditor, on the Reach Financial platform. If you are approved for a loan, the interest rate offered will depend on your credit profile, your application, and the loan term you select. Fixed Annual Percentage Rates (APR) range from 5.99% to 35.99%. You could receive a loan of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.93%, an origination fee of $200, for an APR of 9.80%, which would result in total payment of $12,435 with 60 monthly payments of $207.20. Your actual rate may differ and depends on your credit history, loan amount, and term. Total approved loan amount reflects origination fee, which ranges from 0% to 8%. *Within 24 hours of your loan approval, loan proceeds will be available to pay the creditors named on your Truth-In-Lending Disclosure.

- Loan amounts
- $1,000 to $10,000
- Term lengths
- 6 months to 5 years
- Minimum credit score
- Not disclosed
Partner Disclosures
NetCredit disclosures
This offer is representative of what may be available to you; you may see additional options or slightly different terms once you continue the application process on the NetCredit website. You may be asked to provide additional documents regarding your income, identity and bank account. All NetCredit loans and lines of credit are underwritten, approved and funded by either NetCredit or one of its lending partner banks. Visit https://netcredit.com/lending-partners for more information. All loans and lines of credit are serviced by NetCredit. For Lines of Credit, a 10% Cash Advance Fee will be deducted from the amount of each Cash Advance, and each billing period a Statement Balance Fee of $0 - $650 will apply based on your Cash Advance Balance. Each Billing Cycle, your Minimum Payment will include a portion of your Cash Advance Balance plus the Statement Balance Fee. The minimum Cash Advance varies by state. Please see Terms of Use, Rates & Terms and Borrower Agreements for all terms, conditions and requirements. KS residents: NetCredit Loan Services, LLC, License No. SL.0026603.
Best Egg disclosures
Best Egg products are not available if you live in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, or U.S. Territories. Eligibility is not guaranteed. The term, amount and APR of any loan we offer to you will depend on your credit score, income, debt payment obligations, loan amount, credit history and other factors. If offered, your loan agreement will contain specific terms and conditions. Your application is complete when you submit it to Best Egg. Your acceptance of an offer may impact your credit score. The timing of available funds upon loan approval may vary depending upon your bank’s policies. After successful verification, your money can be deposited in your bank account within 1-3 business days. Loan amounts range from $5,000–$50,000. Residents of Massachusetts have a minimum loan amount of $6,500; Ohio, $5,001; and Georgia, $3,001. Only two active Best Egg loans are available at one time and your total existing Best Egg loan balances cannot exceed $100,000. Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) range from 6.99%–35.99%. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99% of your loan amount, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive. The origination fee on a loan term 4 years or longer will be at least 4.99%. Your loan term will impact your APR, which may be higher than our lowest advertised rate. Eligibility for the best available rate subject to creditworthiness. For example: a 5-year $10,000 loan with a 9.99% APR has 60 scheduled monthly payments of $201.81; a 3-year $5,000 loan with 6.99% APR has 36 scheduled monthly payments of $152.83. Best Egg loans can be prepaid at any time without penalty. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Best Egg loans have a minimum term of 36 months and a maximum term of 60 months. To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. Best Egg loans are personal loans made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey Chartered Bank, operating from its Wilmington, Delaware, branch location, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender, or Column N.A., Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. © 2026 Marlette Marketing, LLC. All rights reserved.
Achieve Personal Loans disclosures
Personal loans available through Achieve.com (NMLS #138464) or Achieve Personal Loans (NMLS ID #227977) are made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, or Pathward®, N.A., Equal Housing Lenders. Loan applications are subject to credit review, underwriting criteria and approval. Loans are not available in all states and available loan terms/fees may vary by state. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000. APRs range from 8.99 to 35.99% and include applicable origination fees that vary from 1.99% to 6.99%. The origination fee is deducted from the loan proceeds. Repayment periods range from 24 to 60 months. Example loan: four-year $20,000 loan with an origination fee of 6.99%, a rate of 15.49%, and corresponding APR of 19.54%, would have an estimated monthly payment of $561.60 and a total cost of $26,956.80. To qualify for a 8.99% APR loan, a borrower will need excellent credit, a loan amount less than $12,000.00, and a term of 24 months. Adding a co-borrower with sufficient income; using at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the loan proceeds to pay off qualifying existing debt directly; or showing proof of sufficient retirement savings, could also help you qualify for lower rates. Funding time periods are estimates and can vary for each loan request. Same day decisions assume a completed application with all required supporting documentation submitted early enough on a day that our offices are open. Achieve Personal Loans loan consultants' hours are Monday-Friday 6am-8pm AZ time, and Saturday-Sunday 7am-4pm AZ time.
Upgrade disclosures
Your loan terms are not guaranteed and are subject to our verification and review process. You may be asked to provide additional documents to enable us to verify your income and your identity. To be offered the lowest rates, you may be required to have some of your funds sent directly to pay off existing debt(s). This rate shown includes an Autopay APR reduction of 0.5%. Autopay enrollment is optional and by enrolling, your payments will be automatically deducted from your bank account. The APR includes the yearly interest rate and a loan origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Late payments and other fees may increase the cost of your fixed rate loan. Please refer to Upgrade's Terms of Use and Borrower Agreement for terms, conditions and requirements. Upgrade is a financial technology company, not a bank. Personal loans are issued by Upgrade's bank partners: https://www.upgrade.com/bank-partners/. † After acceptance, your funds will be sent within one (1) business day of clearing necessary verifications. Funds availability is dependent upon your bank’s transaction processing time and may take up to 2 weeks if sent directly to third party creditors.
Reach Financial disclosures
All loans are subject to eligibility criteria and review of creditworthiness and history. Terms and conditions apply. All loans advertised are unsecured personal loans issued by either Pathward National Association or FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered commercial bank, member FDIC, as creditor, on the Reach Financial platform. If you are approved for a loan, the interest rate offered will depend on your credit profile, your application, and the loan term you select. Fixed Annual Percentage Rates (APR) range from 5.99% to 35.99%. You could receive a loan of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.93%, an origination fee of $200, for an APR of 9.80%, which would result in total payment of $12,435 with 60 monthly payments of $207.20. Your actual rate may differ and depends on your credit history, loan amount, and term. Total approved loan amount reflects origination fee, which ranges from 0% to 8%. *Within 24 hours of your loan approval, loan proceeds will be available to pay the creditors named on your Truth-In-Lending Disclosure.

- Loan amounts
- $3,500 to $40,000
- Term lengths
- 2 to 5 years
- Minimum credit score
- Not disclosed
Partner Disclosures
NetCredit disclosures
This offer is representative of what may be available to you; you may see additional options or slightly different terms once you continue the application process on the NetCredit website. You may be asked to provide additional documents regarding your income, identity and bank account. All NetCredit loans and lines of credit are underwritten, approved and funded by either NetCredit or one of its lending partner banks. Visit https://netcredit.com/lending-partners for more information. All loans and lines of credit are serviced by NetCredit. For Lines of Credit, a 10% Cash Advance Fee will be deducted from the amount of each Cash Advance, and each billing period a Statement Balance Fee of $0 - $650 will apply based on your Cash Advance Balance. Each Billing Cycle, your Minimum Payment will include a portion of your Cash Advance Balance plus the Statement Balance Fee. The minimum Cash Advance varies by state. Please see Terms of Use, Rates & Terms and Borrower Agreements for all terms, conditions and requirements. KS residents: NetCredit Loan Services, LLC, License No. SL.0026603.
Best Egg disclosures
Best Egg products are not available if you live in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, or U.S. Territories. Eligibility is not guaranteed. The term, amount and APR of any loan we offer to you will depend on your credit score, income, debt payment obligations, loan amount, credit history and other factors. If offered, your loan agreement will contain specific terms and conditions. Your application is complete when you submit it to Best Egg. Your acceptance of an offer may impact your credit score. The timing of available funds upon loan approval may vary depending upon your bank’s policies. After successful verification, your money can be deposited in your bank account within 1-3 business days. Loan amounts range from $5,000–$50,000. Residents of Massachusetts have a minimum loan amount of $6,500; Ohio, $5,001; and Georgia, $3,001. Only two active Best Egg loans are available at one time and your total existing Best Egg loan balances cannot exceed $100,000. Annual Percentage Rates (APRs) range from 6.99%–35.99%. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99% of your loan amount, which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive. The origination fee on a loan term 4 years or longer will be at least 4.99%. Your loan term will impact your APR, which may be higher than our lowest advertised rate. Eligibility for the best available rate subject to creditworthiness. For example: a 5-year $10,000 loan with a 9.99% APR has 60 scheduled monthly payments of $201.81; a 3-year $5,000 loan with 6.99% APR has 36 scheduled monthly payments of $152.83. Best Egg loans can be prepaid at any time without penalty. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Best Egg loans have a minimum term of 36 months and a maximum term of 60 months. To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. Best Egg loans are personal loans made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey Chartered Bank, operating from its Wilmington, Delaware, branch location, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender, or Column N.A., Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. © 2026 Marlette Marketing, LLC. All rights reserved.
Achieve Personal Loans disclosures
Personal loans available through Achieve.com (NMLS #138464) or Achieve Personal Loans (NMLS ID #227977) are made by Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, or Pathward®, N.A., Equal Housing Lenders. Loan applications are subject to credit review, underwriting criteria and approval. Loans are not available in all states and available loan terms/fees may vary by state. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000. APRs range from 8.99 to 35.99% and include applicable origination fees that vary from 1.99% to 6.99%. The origination fee is deducted from the loan proceeds. Repayment periods range from 24 to 60 months. Example loan: four-year $20,000 loan with an origination fee of 6.99%, a rate of 15.49%, and corresponding APR of 19.54%, would have an estimated monthly payment of $561.60 and a total cost of $26,956.80. To qualify for a 8.99% APR loan, a borrower will need excellent credit, a loan amount less than $12,000.00, and a term of 24 months. Adding a co-borrower with sufficient income; using at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the loan proceeds to pay off qualifying existing debt directly; or showing proof of sufficient retirement savings, could also help you qualify for lower rates. Funding time periods are estimates and can vary for each loan request. Same day decisions assume a completed application with all required supporting documentation submitted early enough on a day that our offices are open. Achieve Personal Loans loan consultants' hours are Monday-Friday 6am-8pm AZ time, and Saturday-Sunday 7am-4pm AZ time.
Upgrade disclosures
Your loan terms are not guaranteed and are subject to our verification and review process. You may be asked to provide additional documents to enable us to verify your income and your identity. To be offered the lowest rates, you may be required to have some of your funds sent directly to pay off existing debt(s). This rate shown includes an Autopay APR reduction of 0.5%. Autopay enrollment is optional and by enrolling, your payments will be automatically deducted from your bank account. The APR includes the yearly interest rate and a loan origination fee, which is deducted from the loan proceeds. Late payments and other fees may increase the cost of your fixed rate loan. Please refer to Upgrade's Terms of Use and Borrower Agreement for terms, conditions and requirements. Upgrade is a financial technology company, not a bank. Personal loans are issued by Upgrade's bank partners: https://www.upgrade.com/bank-partners/. † After acceptance, your funds will be sent within one (1) business day of clearing necessary verifications. Funds availability is dependent upon your bank’s transaction processing time and may take up to 2 weeks if sent directly to third party creditors.
Reach Financial disclosures
All loans are subject to eligibility criteria and review of creditworthiness and history. Terms and conditions apply. All loans advertised are unsecured personal loans issued by either Pathward National Association or FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered commercial bank, member FDIC, as creditor, on the Reach Financial platform. If you are approved for a loan, the interest rate offered will depend on your credit profile, your application, and the loan term you select. Fixed Annual Percentage Rates (APR) range from 5.99% to 35.99%. You could receive a loan of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.93%, an origination fee of $200, for an APR of 9.80%, which would result in total payment of $12,435 with 60 monthly payments of $207.20. Your actual rate may differ and depends on your credit history, loan amount, and term. Total approved loan amount reflects origination fee, which ranges from 0% to 8%. *Within 24 hours of your loan approval, loan proceeds will be available to pay the creditors named on your Truth-In-Lending Disclosure.
How a short-term personal loan works
Short-term personal loans work by allowing borrowers to repay loans over a shorter timeframe, typically one to two years. They’re typically best for borrowers who need a relatively small amount of cash and are able to repay it on a faster timeline.
You’ll generally repay short-term personal loans with fixed monthly payments, just as you would repay other types of personal loans. However, monthly payments tend to be higher with short-term loans than with longer-term personal loans since there’s a shorter repayment period.
Why do people get short-term loans?
People tend to get short-term loans to cover emergency financial expenses such as medical bills, car repairs, groceries or utility bills.
Secured vs. unsecured short-term loans
Short-term personal loans can be secured or unsecured.
Secured short-term loans
Secured short-term loans require collateral, such as a car, savings account or other asset, to get a loan. These loans may come with lower interest rates or easier qualification requirements. However, you risk losing your collateral if you’re unable to repay your loan.
Unsecured short-term loans
Most short-term personal loans are unsecured, which means they don’t require collateral. Approval is based primarily on your creditworthiness. These loans may come with higher interest rates since the lender takes on more risk.
How much does a short-term personal loan cost?
How much a short-term personal loan costs generally depends on the loan amount, APR and repayment term that you qualify for. Because short-term loans are repaid on a faster timeline, you’ll pay less interest overall than you would with a longer-term loan.
An APR includes the interest rate plus any additional borrowing fees, such as origination fees.
Loan costs also vary by lender, credit score and fees, such as origination fees. Origination fees cover the cost of processing, underwriting and funding personal loans. These fees are typically 1% to 10% of the total loan amount, but they’re often higher for people with lower credit scores.
Borrowers with good to excellent credit typically qualify for lower APRs, which can reduce both monthly payments and the total interest paid.
Example: short-term personal loan costs
Here’s an example of what a $5,000 short-term personal loan costs:
- Loan amount: $5,000
- APR: 24%
- Term: 2 years
- Monthly payment: $264
- Total interest paid: $1,345
What interest rates can you expect on short-term personal loans?
You can typically expect interest rates on short-term personal loans to range from around 6% to 36%. The APR you’ll qualify for will generally depend on your:
- Credit score
- Debt-to-income (DTI) ratio
- Income and employment information
- Lender
- Loan size
- Repayment term length
Interest rates by credit score
The interest rate you’ll receive will depend on your credit score and the lender. Generally, the higher your credit score, the lower the interest rate you’ll receive. Different lenders have different credit score requirements, and they may not disclose their minimum credit scores for a loan.
Here are some typical interest rate ranges you may see depending on your credit score:
| FICO credit score rating | FICO credit score | Possible interest rate range |
|---|---|---|
| Excellent | 800 to 850 | 6% to 12% |
| Very good | 740 to 799 | 9% to 15% |
| Good | 670 to 739 | 15% to 24% |
| Fair | 580 to 669 | 25% to 30% |
| Poor | 300 to 579 | 29% to 36% |
Pros and cons of short-term personal loans
Compare the pros and cons of short-term personal loans before taking out a loan:
Pros
- Less total interest paid than with longer-term loans
- Usually quick funding
- May offer smaller loan amounts
Cons
- Higher monthly payments
- May be hard to qualify with a lower credit score
How to choose the best short-term personal loan
To choose the best short-term personal loan for you, check your credit, research different lenders, read company reviews and compare offers.
1. Check your credit
Checking your credit score will help you narrow down the different loan companies that you may qualify for if you apply. Most lenders look for a good credit score or better. You can typically check your credit score for free through an online bank account.
2. Research lenders
Research personal loan lenders and make sure they’re licensed in your state. Look for lenders that have shorter repayment timelines and competitive APRs, and make sure they offer the loan amount you need. Also, look for lenders’ fees, such as origination fees or prepayment penalties.
3. Read company reviews
Read company reviews online to see how customers feel about the application process, customer service, fees and other details about the company. Look at both positive and negative reviews.
4. Compare offers
Compare offers by getting prequalified with at least three different lenders. This will allow you to see the terms and APR you may be offered if you apply. Getting prequalified involves a soft credit pull, so it won’t affect your credit.
5. Choose your lender
Once you’ve compared lenders, choose the lender that offers you the best rate and terms.
How to apply for a short-term personal loan
To apply for a short-term personal loan, you’ll need to submit your personal and financial information and provide necessary documentation to your lender. Here are the steps you need to take:
1. Fill out an application
Once you’ve chosen your lender, you’ll need to fill out an application for a loan. You can typically do this online, though you may be able to do it in person at a branch or by mail, depending on the lender you choose.
During this process, you’ll need to submit personal and financial information, such as your full name, home address, contact information, income and employment information.
2. Submit your application
When you submit the application, the lender will perform a hard credit check, which will temporarily lower your credit score.
3. Receive funds
If you’re approved for a loan, you’ll receive funding via wire transfer or direct deposit into your connected bank account. The best online lenders typically deposit funds within one to two business days.
Are short-term personal loans safe?
Short-term personal loans can be safe when you borrow from reputable lenders and if you understand the repayment terms of your loan. However, because these loans are designed for quick funding and shorter repayment periods, it’s important to watch for high rates or unfair lending practices.
Reputable short-term personal loan lenders generally cap APRs at around 36%. Loans above this threshold can quickly become expensive and may signal a high-cost or predatory product. Make sure to review a loan’s APR and total cost before accepting any offer.
Predatory lenders typically have pushy sales tactics and extremely high fees and APRs.
Predatory lenders may charge excessive fees, extremely high interest rates or push borrowers into loans they can’t realistically repay. To protect yourself, compare multiple lenders, read the loan agreement carefully and check customer reviews or regulatory records online. Avoid lenders that guarantee approval without checking your financial information or pressure you to sign an agreement immediately.
Note that short-term loan regulations differ by state. Some states cap interest rates, limit fees or restrict certain types of short-term loans altogether. Before borrowing, check your state’s lending laws so you understand the protections and limits that apply where you live.
Short-term personal loan alternatives
Some short-term personal loan alternatives include 0% intro APR credit cards, home equity lines of credit (HELOCs), cash advance apps, payday loans and payday alternative loans (PALs).
0% intro APR credit cards
Some credit cards offer an introductory 0% APR on purchases and balance transfers for a limited period of time, usually 12 to 21 months. During this time, you can make purchases and pay no interest. However, you’ll need to pay off your balance before the introductory APR offer expires or you’ll be subject to the standard APR.
HELOCs
If you have equity in your home, you may be able to open a HELOC and get access to funding within a week. While the turnaround isn’t as fast as a short-term personal loan, HELOCs typically have lower rates and monthly payments.
Just make sure you have a plan to pay down your HELOC and keep up with payments. Since a HELOC is secured to your home, the lender has the right to seize your house if you default on payments.
Cash advance apps
Cash advance apps typically allow you to borrow up to $500, and many services offer quick funding within a few hours or one day. However, cash advance loans typically charge high fees, and they typically require repayment within two to four weeks. Some loans may charge interest or subscription fees.
Payday loans
Payday loans are a type of short-term loan with high rates (usually more than 400% APR) and high fees (up to 30%). You can typically borrow up to $500 with most payday loans, though you’ll usually need to repay it within two to four weeks. Short-term loans are generally considered a better option than payday loans or cash advance loans because you’ll pay much lower rates and fees, and you’ll have more time to pay the money back.
Payday alternative loans
Some credit unions offer payday alternative loans, which are a safer alternative to traditional payday loans. PALs typically have lower borrowing costs and more flexible terms, and you can typically borrow anywhere from $200 to $2,000.
» MORE: Personal loans vs. payday loans
FAQ
What is the shortest term for a personal loan?
The shortest term for a personal loan is around six months, though it’s possible some lenders may offer shorter terms. If you get a short-term loan that only lasts around one month or less, that loan is usually considered a cash advance loan, not a short-term personal loan, and it typically charges more interest and fees.
How do I qualify for a short-term personal loan?
To qualify for a short-term personal loan, you’ll typically need proof of stable income, a government-issued ID and to be at least 18 years old. You can find out if you qualify without hurting your credit by getting prequalified for a loan online.
What are the risks of taking out a short-term loan?
The risks of taking out a short-term loan typically include shorter repayment periods, meaning they come with higher monthly payments than standard loans. If you can’t handle the payment, you could go into default, which will hurt your credit and your ability to borrow in the future. Also, many short-term loans come with fees and interest rates, which can cost you a lot more than you initially borrowed.
How does a short-term personal loan affect my credit score?
A short-term personal loan can affect your credit score when you apply for a loan since the lender will perform a hard credit inquiry, which will temporarily lower your score by a few points. Making on-time payments can help build a positive payment history and potentially improve your score over time. However, missed or late payments can hurt your credit and remain on your credit report for years.
Can I get a short-term loan with bad credit?
You may be able to get a short-term loan with bad credit, but these loans often come with higher interest rates and fees because the lender is taking on more risk. If you have a lower credit score, you may improve your chances of approval by applying with a co-signer, showing steady income or reducing your existing debt before applying.
What credit score do I need to qualify for a personal loan?
The credit score you’ll need to qualify for a personal loan depends on the lender, though most lenders prefer borrowers with good credit scores or better, or a FICO score of 670 to 850. Borrowers with higher scores typically qualify for lower interest rates and better loan terms. Some lenders may approve borrowers with fair or bad credit scores, but the loan may come with a higher APR or stricter requirements.
Methodology
To determine our top picks, we used a weighted scoring system that took into account both reviews about each company from ConsumerAffairs users and specific company offerings we researched.
We conducted sentence-by-sentence sentiment analysis of thousands of reviews on our site from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2025, to identify the aspects people care about most — and which companies reviewers were happiest with in terms of these aspects. For personal loans, these included:
- Loan process
- Customer service
- Staff
- Punctuality and speed
We then carefully selected the most important offerings consumers should consider before choosing a lender and researched these offerings at each company. For personal loans, these features included:
- Minimum and maximum loan amounts
- Lowest APR
- Funding time
- Credit score requirements
- Maximum term length
We then weighted all these factors to create a unique scoring formula. The companies with the highest scores made our top picks.
Article sources
ConsumerAffairs writers primarily rely on government data, industry experts and original research from other reputable publications to inform their work. Specific sources for this article include:
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, “What Are the Costs and Fees for a Payday Loan?” Accessed July 30, 2026.












