Follow Us

Find a Business Services partner

Help me decide
The Neat Company

The Neat Company

 2.5/5 (850 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars
Find a Business Services partner

Need business insurance? We got you.

See quotes from top insurers on Simply Business

Get my quote

About The Neat Company

This profile has not been claimed by the company. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Neat puts bookkeeping all in one place to let users scan receipts and manage transactions. Neat connects to over 10,000 financial institutions and simplifies tax preparation by categorizing expenses and reconciling accounts. Its basic plan starts at $23 a month, billed annually, and it has a 15-day free trial.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Need business insurance? We got you.

See quotes from top insurers on Simply Business

Get my quote

The Neat Company Reviews

Sort: Recent
Filter by: Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about The Neat Company?
How do I know I can trust these reviews about The Neat Company?
  • 3,426,712 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: March 18, 2021

I purchased my first scanner in 2010 and upgraded a couple of years later to the newer, fancier model at the time. It served my purposes for years until the subscription service began. I used the legacy software as long as it was functional and then I was forced to upgrade to the cloud. I got it on a trial and after one year, I realized my needs did not justify the cost, so I got a refund on the renewal and was still able to just scan and store receipts. Fast forward 1 yr later and my credit card was charged $199. I call to cancel and not sure why it was on automatic renewal since I called the year before to cancel that. I was told I would not have access to my data once I canceled so now it feels like they're holding MY DATA hostage unless I continue a subscription.

The only option provided to export images of your receipts (which you could need if the IRS comes a knocking) is to manually download EACH INDIVIDUAL RECEIPT! I have over 500 receipts. Who has time to do that and more importantly who would willingly pay for a service that would force you to do that if you needed it. So Neat as a company, poor product and poor customer service. And be very aware that if you use the service and the IRS does come knocking, they DO NOT provide a option to bulk download your images. The IRS doesn't want to see a spreadsheet. They want to see a receipt or at least a copy of one. I thoroughly annoyed and very disappointed with how this company has changed. Be aware of what you're purchasing.

The Neat Company response
Thank you for submitting a review.
The Legacy software that came as a courtesy alongside the Neat scanner has retired as of 2015 and no updates or enhancements were made to the software since then. We have let our customers aware of the retirement of the Legacy software through multiple avenues. Unfortunately with the information provided on the review, we could not locate a case that you had with our support team where you discussed the cancellation of your account. Can you please provide either the case number or email address that was associated with your Neat subscription so we can assist further? Before cancelling, we advise to gather all of your information out of Neat and save to your desktop. Neat does not hold your data hostage in any way and typically, information is also stored directly to your desktop.

We also apologize that bulk downloading is not a feature within Neat but our developers are continuously working on the software to make it the best possible experience for our customers. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for submitting a review.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 20, 2020

I thought the Neat Scanner was the greatest invention since sliced bread. A one location component that you could download all your documents into for life. Was the unit expensive, yes; but it was worth it to get rid of all paper documents forever..OR SO I THOUGHT. Then SCAMMED! I downloaded major legal documents onto my unit; death certificates, court proceedings & guardianship documentation & adoption papers only to have an Neat drops the ball discontinuing the software and now I am left with a $350+ machine that no longer works or allows me access to retrieve my own documents back! How is this legal??? A useless machine that was advertised as a COMPLETE FUNCTIONAL INDEPENDENT unit no additional subscriptions needed.

Now since millions of people like me swarmed to buy this they are just able to render our machines completely useless by deleting the software program needed to operate and run the entire system? I could see adding additional options for sale and subscription but they stopped ALL ACCESS to a machine I paid over $300 for and left my major legal documents locked permanently in my machine unretrievable! HOW IN THE WORLD IS THIS LEGAL??. DO NOT BUY THIS SCANNER, because in the blink of an eye it may happen to you, I am devastated about this.

The Neat Company response
Thank you for reaching out Toni,

We apologize for any confusion but your scanner can be used without the Legacy software that came along with the scanner as a courtesy. Please take a look here for further information - https://support.neat.com/retired/retired-desktop-software-options . All of your documents should be stored locally on your desktop. If you need assistance locating your documents please take a look here - https://support.neat.com/smartorganizationsystem/access-local-pdfs-of-all-neat-cloud-images-offline . Once again we do apologize for any misunderstanding. We have exited the scanner market back in 2016 and the Legacy software has been inoperable for quite some time now. Thank you again for submitting a review.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Business to Business Services delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 22, 2020

    In 2016 I was using a Neat company scanner and it no longer worked. So I talked to the company and bought a new one from them that they sold me a cloud based storage system to go with it. I paid for it and uploaded all of my business cards and had it sync it with my email on my work computer. I continued to pay for this cloud based storage until I needed it today to restore because both my iPhone and computer failed. That is when I found out that the service that I paid for was not valid and had not been valid since 2016 when they told me to buy a scanner from them that they were obsoleting the software for in that same year.

    When I called in they asked, "Why didn't you call us back in 2016 to get your data migrated." I asked them since I was paying you a subscription, "Why didn't you automatically migrate my data," "we do not do that until you request it" was how it finally played out although they kept on trying to point the finger at me. So they asked me to load the old software which had 445 business contacts in it and one of them had an image, they had wiped the other 444 images. The phone support was happy, "Oh we can migrate the one," I told them that is insult to injury, "Well you can start over again with our new service." You were not trustworthy with my old data. Why should I continue to pay you for no service?

    This is the second time they have done this and I am never using their devices or software again. Apparently if you pay them an annual fee to backup, that doesn't include storage or migration of your data whenever they decide to obsolete the system you were sold. When you complain and ask for a refund for non-service they act like they are offended, they will also accuse you of not doing it correctly that is in spite of the fact that the VCard information was still there, but they cannot load that into your Outlook or iPhone. I am still waiting for my email confirmation that they have cancelled and will not charge me again. Do not buy from them unless you are backing it up yourself on something other than their software.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for submitting a review Shawn,

    We apologize for any confusion caused but our cloud based software continues to be supported by Neat. The legacy software was retired in 2015 and Neat had left the scanner market in 2016. If you were using a cloud based software, your data should be recoverable. Since the legacy software was retired in 2015, no updates or enhancements have been made since that time and most importantly factors outside of Neat's control such as OS updates from Microsoft/Apple, could potentially render the solution completely inoperable which can put your data at risk. Please provide your email address or a case number so we can take a deeper look into your case and see how we can be of assistance. Again, thank you for submitting a review.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 28, 2020

    I have used NEAT since it was Neat Receipts. The idea is to scan documents and receipts, or photograph them, so you can be paperless. It worked fine, and I have thousands of receipts stored. Except....now comes “Extortion” from the company. After Covid and retirement, I no longer need their services. So, I wanted to end my monthly subscription. However, unless I continue paying, I don’t have access to the receipts and documents I have scanned. So, if I get an IRS audit, or need other documentation that has been scanned, I can’t access them unless I continue to subscribe to their service. So even if I don’t need their services anymore, I have to pay for them. They offered me the option of downloading each receipt one at a time. Thousands of receipts. Not reasonable. And they cannot be downloaded in a batch.

    I’ve been a client of theirs for many years, possibly over a decade or more, I purchased 3 scanners from them (no longer usable due to updates, which happens as technology progresses), but now I’m being extorted out of money for perhaps 7 years (based upon IRS rules for keeping receipts). It is an outrage, and might I suggest that while you might feel your data is safely stored, you can’t have it once you don’t need their services anymore. I contacted an attorney to find out if they are required by law to give me access to my data. Thanks for listening to my warning.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for submitting a review.

    Neat does not force any customer to subscribe to our Neat services. As stated, you are more than welcome to download your receipts from Neat and have them stored directly to your desktop. We cannot provide a free service for an extended amount of time but if you were effected by Covid-19, please reach out to our support team and we can work with you and your current situation. When cancelling your service with Neat, you are made aware that you will no longer have access to the software. Thank you for contacting Neat and we apologize for any confusion.

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Aug. 21, 2020

    They are scammish, ripping me off for 50.00 a month for 2 months, when I asked for a refund they said no, when I asked to stop my subscription, they said no...I want my 100 dollars back. This is the worse company ever existed and they are rip offs, buyer beware!!!!

    The Neat Company response
    Hello Astrid,

    We can take a look into your issue and work towards a resolution. Please provide your email address associated with your Neat account.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: July 9, 2020

    I purchased Neat Receipts to manage all my receipts, business cards and documents, as advertised. I used it until I had to upgrade to Windows 10, then I tried recovering my files and could not. I made the horrible mistake of installing the Neat software again and now it will not even open unless I subscribe! I used it for personal purposes and don't need a Cloud. When purchased the product did not require a monthly subscription to work. The new "updated" version is not the same. What a rip-off! I purchased a product that the company has made unusable. Do not buy this item unless you are prepared to pay a monthly subscription.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for submitting a review.

    The legacy software has retired as of 2015. You can continue using your Neat scanner alongside our free scanning utility which can be found here - https://support.neat.com/scanutility/install-neat-scan-utility and you will be able to scan directly to your desktop. If you need assistance finding your files on your desktop, you can follow the steps here - https://support.neat.com/smartorganizationsystem/access-local-pdfs-of-all-neat-cloud-images-offline . In order to sort your files and utilize our Neat software, you will have to purchase a cloud subscription. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you again for submitting a review.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 22, 2020

    Like all the other reviewers, things started fine in 2013, but things immediately started sliding downhill and only got worse until June 2020. When I finally had enough, I had nearly 500 document images stored. The only way to get them out in bulk was as CSV files, with the only option being to download EVERY SINGLE IMAGE, one by painful one, on a slow website. If I wanted to keep my PDF images, it would have easily consumed four hours of my time, if not more.

    NEVER use this company for anything. Customer service is a joke; they ignore you completely until they notice you and then they simply won't leave you alone. I've blocked their emails and all of their phone numbers. I've never had such a disappointing experience with a product that seemed so brilliant at first. I've lost nearly seven years of important documents. This company should break itself into pieces and flush itself down the toilet.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for submitting a review,

    We greatly apologize that bulk downloading is currently unavailable. We greatly value our customers and are here to assist with any issues that may arise. Could you please provide an email address or case number of your last interaction with our support team so we can further investigate?

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 20, 2020

    Beware - Do you trust the Cloud with your financial and personal information. I don’t. Neat makes a great scanner, but force you to store your data on their cloud. Their customer satisfaction is so bad, they have turned their comments section in their social media.

    The Neat Company response
    Hello Frederick,

    You may continue to use any older Neat products (at your own risk), please note, development and support for these versions have ceased since 2015. More importantly, factors outside of Neat's control such as OS updates from Microsoft/Apple, could potentially render the solution completely inoperable - putting your data at great risk!

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 22, 2020

    I was one of the first to use the portable Neat scanner and the neat desktop software. Everything was going good in the beginning until the software updates began. The software started to become unstable and now won't accept a new scan without crashing. I've tried to do research on what can be wrong and their competitors have mentioned that the way the files are stored is the main issue, namely one big database of receipts rather than individual files.

    I have over 7,000 receipts and a few documents now and the software is at a point that it runs but I'm exporting everything right now so that I can import the files into my replacement receipt manger called Filecenter. To all Neat desktop users, the larger your database file gets, the more unstable it will become. Just a big setup to get you to move to a paid service as far as I'm concerned. Also I went through 2 of neat's scanners and have given up on them and now use a Doxie Go SE scanner.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for submitting a review.

    We sincerely appreciate your feedback and understand your desire for a Neat desktop-only solution. Additionally, we realize the changes we have made may seem disappointing, although as with all innovative software companies, we must remain up to speed and current in our technology offerings.

    Though you may continue to use any older Neat products (at your own risk), please note, development and support for these versions have ceased since 2015. More importantly, factors outside of Neat's control such as OS updates from Microsoft/Apple, could potentially render the solution completely inoperable.

    We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 15, 2020

    Updated on 05/18/2020: I had written Consumer Affairs to try to resolve an issue with the "FREE" 15 day trial offered by Neat since they no longer support their scanners. 1st Neat Company claims they made us aware they were discontinuing the product line. I have had various registered Neat products for many years and received NO SUCH communication. I recently tried to use the original provided software disk to re-add my scanner to my computer. Unlike what Neat says you can do, it now comes up with an error message that sends you to Neat. Interesting they embedded something in the original software pointing you to their new venture.

    The 15 day Free trial which requires a credit card goes like this. You download the software and it doesn't work. You call the customer support number and you get an agent whom says they don't support the trial version, you must pay for the yearly subscription to get help. I don't understand how a company offers a free 15 day trial period (credit card required) to evaluate their product, but won't help the customer get it working on their computer to evaluate it?

    I did exactly as the instructions said to install the software, and it doesn't work. How in the world can you evaluate something that doesn't work. Something appears to be fraudulent, wondering now if the real goal was to get my credit card information? Perhaps they know the trial software doesn't work and are forcing people to buy the full subscription via your credit card to get it to work?

    I attemped to go to their designated website to cancel my free trial and it doesn't seem to work either. It just keeps trying to load!! Tried my smartphone using the same website and it says "we detected you are using a mobile device, please go to the website from your computer." Something is not right, and possibly it is something I am doing, but with no help, what can you do? The initial response from Neat company about the problem was "we are sorry for the inconveinence, please go to our website," which doesn't work. A once Great company seems to have lost it customer focus.

    Original Review: Neat dropped support for their products. The alternative is a pay service if you want to use the products. Signed up for a free trial (credit card required) and the software downloaded did not work. Called to get help and was told “NO” help for getting the trial download working without buying a full subscription. Went onlinE to cancel and the website does not respond. Once a great company, but beware of the new scam. Interesting I heard roosters crowing in the background loudly while trying to talk/understand the customer salesperson.

    The Neat Company response
    Thank you for providing your email address.

    Your free trial has now been cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused.

    2 people found this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    The Neat Company author review by Shelley Elmblad

    The Neat Company makes scanners and software for individuals and businesses that can help with organization and management. Their products are available at national retailers, including Staples, BestBuy and OfficeMax.

    • Affiliate program: Earn a small commission when you refer sales to neat.com when you put their link on your website. Find out more by visiting Neat’s website.

    • Free trial: Individuals and businesses can enjoy a free trial of Neat’s premium software in two ways. They can either try the software free for 30 days or receive a full year of Premium software for free when they buy a Neat scanner. Neat scanners come with a 30-day money back guarantee.

    • Neat scanner bundles: Neat offers several scanner bundling options that all include one year of Neat Premium Software. Choose from NeatReceipts , NeatDesk and NeatConnect.

    • Industry focus: Neat scanners and software are helpful for many industries, but they have specific solutions for accounting, construction, legal, real estate, insurance and small businesses.

    • Everywhere access: Neat’s software is available on all of your devices, thanks to their mobile and tablet app. You can also log into cloud.neat.com for full access and sharing capabilities of your files.

    by Shelley Elmblad Financial Software Contributing Editor

    Shelley Elmblad is a freelance writer with years of experience covering small business, personal finance and tax software and mobile apps. Shelley’s goal is to help others choose the best software to run a small business, track personal finances and save money.

    The Neat Company Company Information

    Company Name:
    The Neat Company
    Formerly Named:
    NeatReceipts
    Address:
    1601 Market St., Suite 3500
    City:
    Philadelphia
    State/Province:
    PA
    Postal Code:
    19103
    Country:
    United States
    Website:
    www.neat.com