Follow Us

Find a Home Automation Systems partner

Help me decide
Smarthome

Smarthome

 2.9/5 (14 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars
Find a Home Automation Systems partner

Take a home security quiz

Get matched with an authorized partner.

Get started

About Smarthome

This profile has not been claimed by the company. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Take a home security quiz

Get matched with an authorized partner.

Get started

Smarthome Reviews

Sort: Recent
Filter by: Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Smarthome?
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Smarthome?
  • 3,479,868 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Dec. 4, 2019

I placed two orders on Black Friday - one for roughly 200$ and the other for $445. The company waited until December 3rd (past Cyber Monday and all good sales) and cancelled the $445 order. The Company has a history of doing this. See prior complaints on this site, slick deals, other Av forums. Order with caution. I find it hard to believe that a company that specializes in smart home automation cannot figure out a way to keep their stock accurate on their website or honor orders in the event there is a mistake. Lastly, the customer service people you speak to are a front for the business - you can't get anyone in customer service who actually works for smart home. The customer service techs relay the question and report back "sorry we can't help you". Do not rely on this company.

6 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 19, 2018

Person representing himself with Social Security wanting information to sign us up for benefits provided by the county, AAA and AARP. Never mentioned he worked for an alarm company. Implied he worked for the county. If he was here by a list for an appointment he would have had all our information and would not have had to ask all the personal question of our job status and how long we had lived here. SCAM. SCAM.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Home Automation Systems delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Dec. 5, 2018

    Horrible experience with this company! I purchased 4 items on November 22, 2018 - (Black Friday weekend). The order went through and my credit card was charged and approved. On Nov 28, I inquired about the status of the order and received this reply from Robin **, "Thank you for contacting Smarthome Support. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. With regards to your email, sorry to inform but due to holiday season & huge number of orders to be processed there is some delay in the process of shipping the order, I do see that the order is already packed & should be shipped out anytime & once it's shipped out you will receive the tracking details to your email. Request you to kindly extend your patience so that we can get everything back in schedule."

    12-3-2019 - I received a follow-up -this time from Debbie **. - "We thank you for your order and your continued patience. We regret to inform you that we have received notification that inventory has been depleted and we will be unable to fulfill your order. Items have been removed from your order as we are not accepting back orders at this time."

    When I called they once again repeated, "We apologize for the delay and all inconveniences caused." The woman I spoke with hinted that they never had the stock in the first place!!! The biggest problem I have is they told me they were packed and ready to ship! Then all of a sudden they didn't have any? There were other companies I could have purchased the same items for - at Black Friday pricing... But that has come and gone and I am S.O.O.L!!! Lost a customer for good.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Nov. 12, 2018

    Once again a battle with Smarthome and Insteon. I ordered the hub. Had one of my technicians to try to install it at a client's time. Took much time and no results. Tried to install at my office. NADA. Cost me a lot wages. I called for a refund and they said they would refund me. Never got it. I called today to follow up and they show no record of it and won't refund me. Once again Insteon does not fail to disappoint. I am on my 3rd set of Insteon switches for my house. What crap and now dishonesty. 3 sets of switches for an entire house WOW. Even their technician did the 2nd change out of switches. Stay away.

    4 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Nov. 8, 2017

    Purchase of smart products, (i.e. Smart hub with add'l products to go with it kit). Purchase date 10/23/17 with 3-5 day delivery, product never shipped. I was told they would upgrade to second day Nov. 3rd... It would go out that day. I get an email that night they couldn't ship it. Their excuse for this mess was they moved their warehouse. I cancelled the order, 11/4, still in processing. I cancelled the order... Cancelled again 11/7, waiting on email and order still shows processing.

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Sept. 27, 2017

    I placed an order for the iRoomba 880 on 9/22/17. Called today 9/26/17 to inquire where the order is since I haven't received any further information other than the confirmation email. Was told by customer service they had called to inform me the order was cancelled because of fraud concerns, but the number I gave was incorrect because the warehouse person was told that no "Barbara" has that phone number. The phone I gave is my personal cell number and only I have access to it. My voicemail even states that "Barbara" cannot come to the phone right now, please leave a message". They did not call, did not leave a voicemail nor did they email. The first customer service representative tried to get me to reorder since he couldn't "push" the order through again on his end. When I attempted to do this, it came up their company was out of stock.

    He said that my order would go directly to the manufacturer but he didn't know when that company would "drop ship" it to me. He had no control over that. I asked to speak with his supervisor because I felt like I was just being jacked around even more. He put me on hold again and a couple minutes later another man got on the phone and told me there was nothing he could do, that the warehouse cancelled my order, made notes saying they attempted to reach me and wasn't able to. Now that they are out of stock I cannot order one. So there's yet another version of the lies these people tell. I explained to this guy I have the confirmation email of the original order, which is my only contact with them up to now, and now, since they cancelled the order, I can't even reorder the item. Even if I could reorder, it doesn't appear as though I could use my discount coupon that I was able to initially use.

    This whole company needs to shut its doors. They could screw up a one man parade. I have absolutely no intentions of ever ordering from them or buying any of their products online or in a brick and mortar store. I would give them a minus score if I could. I just wish that I would have went through a different company to begin with. This was supposed to be a birthday gift but they screwed that up royally. My advice, RUN, don't walk from this company.

    5 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 26, 2016

    The directions are written so a kid can understand them. It was my favorite thing to use and easy to understand and it is the best thing to use in this modern age. I would recommend this to my friends. It is very easy to install and use. It has a light to let you know it is working properly. This is something I never thought I would have in my home. This is a very good value for your money if you are looking for home security. When I am out knowing that things are okay at my house it has really given me peace of mind. This is the best use of technology that I've tried for home security systems. It is great knowing your home is safe when you are not there.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 22, 2016

    The installation experience was a good one. The installation was easy. I was able to do the installation myself with very little help in doing so. There are many offered services. They range from smart lighting, smart thermostats, smart appliances and smart home theatre. You can find something that pleases everyone. I am happy with the value. The value to my life has been wonderful and it makes my life a little easier and a little less stressful. It would add value to almost anyone's life. I am happy with the user experience. It is very easy to use and it is also very easy to teach others how to use. Even people without much experience with these types of things would be able to use it.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 20, 2016

    It is simple to install. All you have to do is follow the instructions and don't freelance. It took me under ten minutes to set everything to my liking. I strongly recommend it. This is something that I was really excited about. It comes with a bunch of great features and services that will fit your every need. The cost isn't that bad and when you consider what you get in return it is a very good value. You would not have buyer's remorse with this product. It is that good. My personal experience using this has been really good. It is reliable and works as I see fit. The one thing that is really cool is the controls. I have had zero problems with them and getting my settings set.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 19, 2016

    It is a great product, has many functions, which allow it to be useful. It is easy to use and is of great trust. My house is in good hands with this company, is fantastic. Great services. The correct value. Great experience.

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    Smarthome author review by Lisa Montgomery

    Smarthome calls itself the Home Automation Superstore, offering a wide range of home automation products. The company was founded in 1992 in Irvine, CA.

    • Online discounts: Smarthome offers online customers a discount to receive $10 off their first order.

    • Huge range of products: Smarthome offers customers a wide range of home automation devices, from sprinkler controls to self-watering plant systems to automatic thermostats and more.

    • Affordability: Because Smarthome does not install or monitor automation systems, they offer more affordable automating options than many of the other home automation companies.

    • Expert customer support team: The company has a support team that works 6 days a week that are trained in using and installing the company's products, so they can help customers who have questions or need help.

    • Same-day shipping: Smarthome offers free same-day shipping for all of their products, so customers can get their purchases as quickly as possible.

    by Lisa Montgomery Home Automation Systems Contributing Editor

    Lisa Montgomery is a seasoned journalist who has covered and reported on a variety of topics in the home automation industry for more than 15 years. Knowledgeable about the technology behind and the major players of home automation systems, residential security systems, smart thermostats and more, she is able to translate technical terms into language that consumers can understand and will find informative and useful.

    Smarthome Company Information

    Company Name:
    Smarthome
    Address:
    16542 Millikan Avenue
    City:
    Irvine
    State/Province:
    CA
    Postal Code:
    92606
    Country:
    United States
    Website:
    www.smarthome.com