Protection 1

Protection 1

 3.5/5 (922 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Find Home Alarm and Security Systems partners near you

About Protection 1

Protection 1 was founded in 1988 and provides security services to residential and commercial customers nationwide. The company offers customizable security systems to fit your specific home or business needs, and its systems connect to 24/7 professional monitoring centers. Protection 1 guarantees that when you call for help, you’ll speak with a live receptionist.

Find Home Alarm and Security Systems partners near you

    Overall Satisfaction Rating

    • 5 stars
    • 4 stars
    • 3 stars
    • 2 stars
    • 1 stars

    Pros

    • Smart home technologies
    • Highly customizable

    Cons

    • No refund policy
    • Installation charges

    Bottom Line

    Protection 1 works with ADT to offer security services for homes and businesses. The warranty is short and the company charges a $99 installation fee, but systems are customizable and smart home compatible.

    Protection 1 Reviews

    Recent
    • Recent
    • Oldest
    • Most helpful
    Any
    • Any
    • Rated with 5 stars
    • Rated with 4 stars
    • Rated with 3 stars
    • Rated with 2 stars
    • Rated with 1 star

    A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Protection 1?
    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Protection 1?
    • 3,933,332 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

    For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

    Page 2 Reviews 10 - 40
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Nov. 11, 2019

    I do not recommend to sign a contract with these people. After I received an device for "FREE" they make me a tricky contract for 3 years. I never used it for my apartment and paid for almost 2 years of 3 years contract. Cancelation makes difficult and need to pay $500 + month +..=$600.

    8 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 21, 2019

    Upgraded my system last month with this company and it hasn’t worked properly in weeks. Goes offline constantly, causing a very loud alert at all hours of the night until you acknowledge that you have read that your system is unable to work due to being offline. Think you can get someone out there quickly to resolve this problem? Is four days an acceptable window? Not to me it isn’t. Nearly everyone I have spoken with On various levels of their customer service is BEYOND rude. Really unhappy with my decision to keep this company. So you purchase this system to arm your home, pay a lot of money, and your home is unarmed 24 hours a day. What am I missing here? Don’t get me started on being promised camera install...didn’t happen. Trying to get ahold of someone to return to my home to finish the job is an actual joke.

    10 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 19, 2019

    I'm up at 1:56am in the morning tired. My 80 year old father is up too, because we just upgraded a week ago but for some reason everytime I walk down my stairs my alarm go off and says my front door or garage door is opening. I call yesterday and they tell me a person will be out next Wednesday. I set my alarm last night. It goes off at 1:54am like someone breaking in. We all up running checking the house. No doors open. The alarm just went off on its own. I get a call and let the representative know what's going on. They tell me for someone to come see as a emergency call it will be $184. Hell no. We been with them for over 13 years faithful.

    Then when they upgraded we find out my living room and dining room dont have sensors so anybody can break in those two ways and we always thought we had full protection in those areas and they want to charge me $280 to get sensors for those two rooms. Come on now protection 1. I'm gonna get rid of yall and go with vinvint security system because you all do not look after your loyal customers of many years and you treat like trash and think it's ok. I will be reaching out to the CEO of the company and let them know the treatment I have received and how I have to deal with this till they get a opening next week and how be up and cant sleep because I cant set my alarm because it just go off and your customer service and supervisors dont care per their response back to me.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 15, 2019

    I was a customer of theirs for many years but after buying an older home with an existing Protection 1 service I asked for upgrades and was told no... The service tech that came out to check out the service left the very old battery unreplaced and the back sliding door sensor didn't work... More visits didn't fix the issue so I changed companies and was then presented with a $750 dollar cancellation bill. Horrible customer service.

    9 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 3, 2019

    My equipment delivered on Aug 2, 2019 and I was told my 20+ reps my commitment was complete. 2 months later I received a bill for $718.06!!! After being an ADT customer for about 25 years with excellent service, when I moved to OR I was forced by being a hostage into a Protection 1 contract. The service in OR began on April 20, 2019 and NEVER worked and kept giving me scary alerts that someone was in my house during the night and that my house was being burglarized when I was out of town. My friend said the keypad locked up and froze and she could not get it to shut off or take the code either....but that is another story. After a very scary false alarm episode when I was traveling the weekend of July 27-28 2019, I knew it was time to cancel service. This is the short version of the nightmare I experienced, lots more details I can not include in this few words.

    I did have a 5 month window to cancel the service per contract which I did, since I did not feel safe in my own home using Protection 1 service. I diligently paid the last monthly service bill of $49.99. I got a return label from Protection 1 to send back my equipment which I also diligently did, and I have photos of all the equipment that I returned in case you need that I can provide. I spoke to about 25 different customer service reps throughout this whole process, mind you, who all said my responsibility had ended when I returned the equipment. The equipment was delivered on Aug 2 which I noted on my calendar and I called yet another rep on Aug 2 to confirm receipt. I was told it takes 30 days to fully process the complete cancellation of the account. I assumed all was ok since the tracking said delivered on THEIR tracking number that they sent me to use.

    So since the equipment had been delivered ON Aug 2, I did not think I had to keep the tracking # as I assumed Protection 1 kept records of tracking numbers since they issued the return label themselves. No, I was mistaken and at that time I did not know I was dealing with a fraudulent company! So fast forward to 2 months after I KNOW the equipment was returned, I have now received a bill dated 9/25/19 for $718.06 for equipment not returned! So due to their incompetence of not keeping track of THEIR inventory and incoming shipments for TWO MONTHS, they seem to think I am required to pay for equipment that delivered back on Aug 2, 2019 since they are incapable of managing their inventory? I will not pay this as I DO NOT OWE IT!

    8 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Oct. 2, 2019

    Issue 1: I first called to discontinue service and was informed I was done. I continued to receive bills so I called a second time and was informed I needed to submit the request in writing. Continued to receive bills so I called a third time, the information I submitted was insufficient. Continued to receive bills. Called a 4th time and they let me know they have monthly billing cycles so I was tied down for an extra month and they need 30 day notice so looped me in for an additional month. All told 6 MONTH PROCESS TO CANCEL.

    Issue 2: I moved during the period of my contract, to this day, 3 years later, they have the wrong address for my service. Numerous calls to update address, they bill at the correct address but provide service for the wrong one. HORRIBLE attention to detail.

    7 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 25, 2019

    This company is on my list to never do business with again. Watch out for long term contracts that they try to get you to agree to. When you do fulfill your contract and then cancel, be sure to document your request and ask for email confirmation. Otherwise you may find yourself with a your word against mine situation. I'm tired of doing business with companies that just try to squeeze every penney they can out of me. I am switching my business to smaller, local companies that have actual people that I can talk to face to face if I have any questions or issues.

    7 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 25, 2019

    We have only had security system for a few months now and have had nothing but issues with it. The front door sensor, battery kept dying and saying it wasn't connecting, then you guys sent us a new front door sensor(and charged me for it). Wtf. It worked for couple weeks. Now it's not working again, for way more than a month. We are not happy. We would like to cancel service without penalty. My wife wants to call the attorney general and Better Business Bureau and give you guys a bad Google review. I told her no, so let's see what you guys can do to make us happy.

    7 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 16, 2019

    Went for a self install system. BIG mistake! Went for a 3 year contract. $750.00 mistake! System was defective. No local technicians. Said the system could be moved. Not without technicians! Run from this company.

    7 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 9, 2019

    Called very recently to get lower rate. A lot of the phone call was dead air. They insisted I agreed to an extended contract of several years & that this was recorded. When it was stated that a recording could not be edited, I had to laugh. This is 2019. Of course it can. Just paid a ridiculous amount to cancel, but I'm done.

    4 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 29, 2019

    I fulfilled my 5 year contract with Protection One / ADT in June of 2019. I went from a contract to a month-to-month payment option while I shopped around for a more affordable security system. On 8/21/19 I contacted Protection One - ADT to cancel the service so that I would not be charged for a month where there was NO SERVICE. I would have cancelled sooner but I was locked into a 5 year contract with a $750 cancellation fee if cancelled before the contract was up.

    When I called to cancel I was put on hold several times. When I finally talked to a customer service agent she said it would take 30 days to cancel….thus allowing them to charge me for one more month of high fees even though the service is no longer connected. She argued with me saying it is part of my contract. I asked her to send me a copy of my contract, which she did a few days later. Nowhere in this contract do I see this 30-day cancellation policy for month-to-month service. She also said I had to send in a written request to cancel stating my name, address of service, and what company I was changing to. I was shocked….why do they need to know who I am changing to. When I got the form by email it actually requested my name, address of service, and why I am discontinuing. I filled it out and emailed it back as instructed.

    I disconnected this overpriced service on 8/22/19 and installed a more reasonable service with no contracts. Now, every day I get email or calls telling me my Protection One system is not responding even after I talked to their agents to tell them I cancelled the service. Evidently the company does not pass that information down to the operators, thus I am being spammed with notices. Getting away from this service is not only a nightmare, it is costly as they are charging for a service I no longer have. I don’t know how they get away with this platen overcharging. Beware…don’t sign a contract with this company. Read the fine print. Get a system that is affordable with no contract or unreasonably hefty fees.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 28, 2019

    After switching from ADT to Protection One, I have tried since JANUARY 2019 to get billing issues resolved. They have failed to resolve anything. 12/2018 I moved to a rental residence and switched from ADT to Protection One (PO). PO stated signing up for services with them would void out previous contract with ADT. In March 2019 I received a late payment notice from PO. After calling, they determined the monthly payment that was being drafted from my bank account was going to ADT instead of PO due to a "glitch in the computer system". I was told ADT would refund the monies paid to them (would take 4-6 weeks) and, when I received it, I would send it to PO to maintain payments. This was never done. In, I believe, June 2019 I began getting collection phone calls. I, again, explained everything and was directed to Account Management.

    AGAIN, I was told the request did not go through due to a "glitch in the computer system". AGAIN, I was ensured they would take care of it. I was told ADT would reimburse monies paid to them; furthermore, I was told for my continued inconvenience that PO would waive the months that service was being paid to ADT instead of PO due to a fault of their own. I also have e-mails regarding communication with a Marlena ** in Account Management. Marlena initiated e-mail communication with me and when I followed up, after my initial response, I never received reply communication. I have spoke with many representatives all year and I feel I am being told a solution but no one at this company follows through with it. This has proven to be an absolutely unprofessional, untrustworthy company. I suggest you all take your business elsewhere because they have had me on a roller coaster of frustration all year.

    4 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Aug. 13, 2019

    I was customer of Protection 1 for 14 years and my last contract ended in 2017. When I called to cancel my service before new billing cycle, customer service agent tried to entice me my reduced charges as well as price lock option for 5 years. They reduced my monthly bill to 22.95$ but never sent me any confirmation. When I called them again that I am not interested in any of their offers they told me to give 30 days written notice to cancel. I was told earlier that I am not in any contract but need to mail my cancellation request to their KY address.

    When I told them I called to cancel my service, account manager became rude. I feel like this is a trap to keep your customers with them and part of shady practices. They slapped me bill for another 30 days even if I didn't want to continue security monitoring. If you treat your long time customers (14 years of paid monitoring) do you think customers will recommend your service to anyone? I am very disappointed with your account managers handling my cancellation request.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: July 29, 2019

    I have been in a contract with Protection 1 for 3 years and went to renew my contract and was given a rate $10.00 less and now a 2 year contract. I had told the customer service representative my issues with my recordings limiting me to 1000 recordings a month. I am a salon that is open 7 days a week and I need continuous security. I called them back and said this is the same system and they said, "Let us see what we can do"... I call back to get this GREAT DEAL. LOL. NOT SO MUCH.. So instead of a 2 year contract they want me to sign a 5 year and pay $800.00 for install. I said I was not going to do that so they told me, "Well you signed a new 2 year so you have an agreement." So to get out of my contract he let me know I had to pay the full 2 years now which is absolutely insane OR take their new offer. Do not sign a contract with this company. Go elsewhere!!!!

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for taking my call today, I appreciate you sharing your experience with me. I will keep a look out for your email and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    4 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 2 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: July 23, 2019

    My husband and I bought our first house and got Protection 1 home security services in Sept. 2015. Initially, we were happy with the service and I knew we were in a 3-year contract. In Oct. 2017, I received a promotional email regarding a reduced monthly rate for Protection 1. After calling customer service, we got our rate lowered but I was never told that by changing the price it would start a new 3-year contract. Fast-forward to 7/22/19, we decided to go with SimpliSafe because over the course of 3 years it was much cheaper to purchase the equipment and pay $15/mo, rather than $41/mo with Protection 1. I thought we were out of the initial 3-year contract and paying month to month, so we went ahead and purchased the SimpliSafe monitoring equipment and set up monitoring service.

    When I called Protection 1 to cancel services, the representative told me it would be over $500 to cancel!!! I was floored. The rep told me our plan got renewed in Aug. 2017, therefore we have to pay for services through Aug. 2020! I told the rep not to do anything at this point, I will call back. I scoured my e-mail inbox to find the contract they sent and the wording is deceptive and vague. Now, not only will I be required to pay over $500 to cancel, if I change the contract to get a lower price then they are going to "renew" my contract and I'm stuck.

    On top of all of this, the equipment we have from Protection 1 keeps failing. Our backdoor sensor can't seem to hold battery life, and we have had a new sensor sent to use twice, and the glass break sensor in our living room started malfunctioning making the alarm trigger. Tried new batteries, still malfunctioning. When we called to get new sensors sent, they wanted to charge us. No, thanks - so the glass break sensor has been taken off the wall and batteries removed because I'm not paying for more replacement equipment that is just going to break in a month. This has not been a good experience and I don't recommend this company at all. All I want to do is cancel.

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    I am sorry to learn of your difficulties with the verbal contract. I have left you a voicemail with my direct number to work towards a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Thank you,

    Rhonda

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: July 17, 2019

    I have been a customer of TNT that was taken over by Protection 1 for the last 8 years. I just updated my phone provider and now have discovered that my alarm system will not work with the digital phone service. I have been trying to find out what needs to be done to get my system working again. Protection 1 wants me to sign a new 3 year contract before they come out to see what needs done. During the fix of my phone system it was discovered that the monitoring of my motion detector, glass breakage, window sensors and front door are not even connected to the alarm system! I have been paying for services that I was not getting provided. Protection 1 is telling me it is my fault. I have finally gotten an email response that a cell communicator will need installed but I can not find out if any of my alarm equipment will be hooked up to work if they come out to add that part. I have asked by email 3 different time and still no answer!!

    The other big kicker on all this is they have not been getting a response from my system since February and they were calling the phone line that has not been working all that time. They had my cell number on file but no one ever bothered to call me about that! I also had auto pay set on my account and when I changed account numbers they did not pull my payments, that is not my fault!! Well they have now taken partial payment and lo and behold I get a call every evening from Protection 1 wanting the balance of the account. I am still waiting for $59.80 as a credit to show up on my account which will bring the account to current status! Protection 1 sure wants your service so they can get your money but they sure don't provide service in return! I'M STILL WAITING FOR ANSWERS IN OKLAHOMA!

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    I am sorry to learn of your dilemma with the phone communication. I would love the opportunity to speak with you. I have left you a voicemail message with my contact information. I hope to hear from you soon.

    Thank you,

    Rhonda

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 12, 2019

    I am very disappointed in this company. I moved into a rent house in Oklahoma in August 2017. My rental agreement was for 21 months. The house already had the system in it and I was told I could take over the contract for the duration of my lease then landlord could resume so I signed the paperwork. Fast forward to May 2019, I call to cancel and I was told that I had signed a 3 year contract. I had no idea this is the paperwork I was presented or I never would have signed it! I called I and was told that they would allow the landlord to take over the contract but when he called to arrange it, they said he would have to sign a new 3 year contract! So shady! If they had let him take over the contract, he probably would have continued it for as long as he owns the house and I would have considered using them when I get my own place in Texas. Now they’ve lost 2 customers and I will warn everyone I know not to use them!

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    I apologize for your experience. I have left you a voicemail with my direct number to work towards a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 12, 2019

    Well protection one has been a terrible mistake. I've wasted money on for the last eight years of my life. First 5 years were okay but then we moved.... Let's start with installation, the tech told me he could not place the equipment box in my basement because he didn't have access. So he puts in into my dining room closet and then puts keypad on the other side. I hear noises like drilling into metal but I assume he knows what he's doing and it was our new house so I wasn't familiar with duct work.

    At the end of his appointment he tells me they could always come back and move the equipment.... Hello? Why not put it in basement from the start. I go to remodel the house and realize he drilled into my duct work. I wrote a email to company but no response. numerous times the alarm has gone off and I never received a phone call. Anyway 3 years into my contract after I moved I call in February to cancel customer service tells me that I will pay for the following months anyway and that I might as well use the service and to call back in May to cancel. I do so and customer service tells me to send the email, which I did right away and once I do that they will send my final bill for $36.

    Weeks pass I get an email that I owe $463 for the whole year up until 2020. I call customer service. The woman says that she'll transfer me to account management. She sees I cancelled and can't understand why I'm getting this bill. Account Manager blatantly lies to me on the phone telling me they have a signed FOUR YEAR contract. I couldn't find my contract but I did later and guess what it's a 3 YEAR contract. I explained to her over and over about how when I called in February to cancel. The woman said I could do so for around $100. Now it's $463 and that when I did cancel I was told $36. Why would I cancel just if I had such a big balance? That's just stupid.. I would of just waited. They are a bunch of crooks and liars. I've never experience such bad customer service. Lying about a four year contract. They had me for eight years and now are trying to squeeze another year out of me?

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. I have left you a message with my direct number to work towards a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 2 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 12, 2019

    I have been a customer with Protection 1 for over 3 years now. About 2 months ago I have been having issues with my account. I already set up my account for automatic deductions to be taken out every month. However, I have been getting late notices that shouldn't be on my account. I received statements on 6/3/19 and 5/22/19 for past due accounts. I have checked my accounts and 45.48 has been taken out for the months of May and June. I know Protection 1 possibly has switched to a third party vendor to manage accounts. However, late notices shouldn't be applied to account when autodraft is already set up. This doesn't make any sense. You're simply charging customers late fees and then send a bill out after the due date. If the account has been set to autodraft, and then the customer shouldn't be charged late fees. Thank you, A paying customer Brian **

    Protection 1 response

    Hi,

    I am sorry to hear of your experience. I was unable to contact you with the phone number provided. I have sent you an email with my direct phone number. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    4 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 11, 2019

    We called ADT to get a security system prior to my fiance leaving for military training. The process was easy and smooth up until it arrived. To my dismay and without any forewarning, we received a Protection One package. Very confused we looked it up and saw that ADT was acquired. The equipment looked nothing like what was on the ADT website, it looks offbrand and the monitoring screen doesn't even look similar. We called ADT and asked to return it and get the equipment we thought we'd be receiving. They said they couldn't and would have to charge a restocking fee that was more than what we paid originally for the equipment.

    I'm not understanding how this company thinks it's okay to promote and show products on the site, let people think that's what they are receiving then charging more money to send it back. If I wanted this specific equipment or Protection One for that matter, I wouldn't have gone to the ADT site. It would be one thing if I was told the equipment would be different and/or that a different brand would be shipped. (I get that they are one now but then why don't they show the equipment you actually receive on their website?) I would have preferred to just go buy Ring equipment or SimpliSafe as opposed to the old looking/trying to get rid of inventory equipment I received. Also stuck in a three year contract for something I didn't want unless I pay the restocking fee. Just money down the drain. Go somewhere else!

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    Thank you for sharing your experience and apologize for not meeting your expectations. I have left you a voicemail with my direct number to work towards a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 31, 2019

    Protection 1 is the only service provider that has told me I must pay for the next 6 months service even though I’m moving. Three year contract is hard to imagine and really don’t recall that being highlighted when setting up system. You pay for all the equipment, upgrades, service calls and monitoring... It’s ridiculous to pay even after you move out. I will be sure to let the people in my 1000+ homes new neighborhood know on the community Facebook page to use any other service! ADT should reconsider having this be part of their product line. I used ADT for years prior to this and never had a negative comment to make. Protection 1 should be Protection None.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to speak with me today. It was a pleasure resolving your concerns. Thank you and have a great day.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 31, 2019

    Bought this system to monitor home temp in a newly purchased home in the UP of Michigan. I was assured it was a total plug and play system. This is not that, was assured 3 months ago a tech would install, as of today they say I’m 3 months in arrears and 895.00 to cancel service. Total rip off since 2017.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    Thank you so much for taking time to speak with me today. I apologize for your experience with the DIY account. I look forward to working on your resolution. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns. Thank you and have a great day.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 17, 2019

    I have an older home not able to hook up door or window alarms. Called many times to cancel. They always tell me to try this or that. Paid monthly fee for over year and then stop paying. Now they are sending me to collections.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Morning,

    I am sorry to hear of your experience. I have left you a voice mail message with my direct contact and look forwarding to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your time.

    Respectfully,

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: May 11, 2019

    Protection 1 is by far one of the worst companies out there for customer service. I started their service at my home in Oklahoma and then moved to an apartment in Virginia that did not have an alarm system. I could not cancel without paying close to $1K, so I had to spend a few hundred on a wireless system that rarely works. I finally moved in to another house that was not pre-wired, but had to keep the useless wireless system. I have called technical support many times to change the label of sensors, to remove sensors from my system, and to remove weather alerts that keep waking my sleeping baby (I already get weather alerts on my phone).

    Not once have any of these calls actually worked. Nothing is ever fixed. I even called to change my last name after a marriage and they refused to change my name because “it doesn't matter.” Not to mention when the alarm actually goes off on accident, the wireless system is so slow that I can casually walk up to the panel to turn it off, and the alarm company is never notified and I never get a call from them about the alarm going off. In a real emergency the alarm would be useless. So I have an alarm system that I never use because it’s just a hassle, but I still pay $42 a month.

    When I called last month to cancel, prepared to just pay the rest of it off to get rid of it (contract was supposed to end in October), my contract suddenly went from 3 years to 3.5 years! This is just shady business practices all around. Three year contracts are ridiculous as it is, but to suddenly add 6 months to someone’s contract is unbelievable. I have never experienced this type of unprofessionalism before!

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. I have had the opportunity to review the call when the DIY account was set up and review your account. I would love the opportunity to speak with you and have left you a voicemail with my contact information. Thank you so much for your time.

    Rhonda

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 8, 2019

    Protection 1 bought my former security company. I never agreed to switch to a new service and when my first bill arrived I immediately called to cancel my service. They kept me on the phone for at least 30 minutes trying to sell me their service before I eventually left the call stating I do not want the service. For three months I have continued to receive bills and calls stating I have an outstanding balance. They pester me daily. There is no one that can understand. I never wanted their service and never agreed to it. Incredibly poor customer service and it is still not resolved.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    I am disappointed to hear of your negative experience. I have had the opportunity to listen to the call in January to find out why your account wasn't canceled at that time. I have left you a voice mail with my direct line and look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Thank you,

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 1, 2019

    I moved into an apartment in March 2018. There was already an ADT panel setup in the apartment that just needed to be activated. I called ADT and was immediately transferred to Protection 1. They told me I would need brand new equipment and would have to sign a 3 year contract. Professional installation was not available, so I got a box in the mail and set up the sensors on my own. The sensors would not align properly because the door frame is raised a couple inches from the door. Even when the doors were closed, the alarm would go off randomly.

    After 2 months of trying to fix and realign the sensors, I gave up and unplugged the system. It has now been over a year, and I still have to pay the $45/month charge for service I don't use. I called customer service to get options for cancelling. I spoke with the rudest lady who notified me in order to cancel my service I would have to pay an early termination fee over $700! It is easier to break a lease, terminate a phone contract, and get out of cable/internet service. I will never use Protection 1 again, and I am counting down the days until my contract is up.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Afternoon,

    I wanted to reach out and make sure we have the opportunity to speak. I just left a message for you with my direct number. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

    Thank you,

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 1, 2019

    When trying to end my service with Protection 1 last year I was told I had until April of 2019 until my contract was up and if I cancelled before that I would have to pay the cancellation fee of a little over $700. I decided to wait it out. I called today 4/30/2019 to cancel my service only to be told that my service did not end until April 2020 and I would need to pay the same amount as my cancellation fee.

    Protection 1 response

    Hi,

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience, I apologize for any confusion or inconvenience you may have experienced. I have had the opportunity to listen to your call and would love the opportunity to speak with you. I left you a message with my direct line and hope to speak with you soon. Thank you.

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: April 30, 2019

    After using Protection 1 for many years, at some point they changed to ADT without telling us, and our home alarm system stopped working. Our alarm system would still go off, but they called and told us that the monitoring wasn't working, so they sent a technician out to "fix" it. They didn't tell us we would have to pay for this service, but then charged us $170. On top of that, the entire system stopped working after the technician came out. The alarm no longer goes off, there's no monitoring--the thing is dead, and they didn't refund the repair fee.

    Now they are charging us a cancellation fee to cancel something that has not worked in months, and are threatening to turn us over to collections if we don't pay for a service that has not been provided! When I've called to try to figure out what is going on, I've been amazed at how rude and incompetent their staff is, blaming me for all of this when they are the ones who merged companies without letting us know, which caused our system to break, then they charged me for a repair that made things worse. I am also reporting them to the Better Business Bureau. I advise everyone to stay far away from this dishonest, predatory company.

    Protection 1 response

    Good Morning,

    I am so sorry you did not receive the information we sent regarding the Protection 1/ADT merger. I would love the opportunity to speak with you to resolve your concerns. I have left you a voicemail with my contact information and hope to speak soon. Thank you.

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Customer increased Rating by 4 stars!
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: April 29, 2019

    Just like the review below me, LIES, LIES, AND MORE LIES!!! This company is so dishonest and does not understand how to treat a paying customer. I’ve been with Protection 1 for 7 months and they sold me by ensuring the motion sensor would be compatible with my under 40lb dog. This turned out to not be true and eventually I tried to switch it upside down as they recommended and still would trigger the alarm falsely. I then came to the conclusion that I would only be able to rely upon the window sensors to secure my home while using “armed stay” which deactivated the motion sensor.

    Last week I was broken into and due to my windows being slide up with two separate panes, the window sensors did not detect this break in which the motion sensor could’ve, but cannot be activated with my dog around. After calling ADT they recommended several solutions which also are not compatible with a dog present in the home. The only other option I have is to cancel service with this company and of course they give you the typical “oh you’ll have to pay 750$”.

    In the end they false advertise their equipment to get you to sign up and from then on you’re just a monthly deposit which they know the average individual will lay over and pay. Hell of a way to run a business ADT/Protection 1!! Also, in the contract they outline no cancellation fee shall be charged if: “Your System generates excessive false alarms due to circumstances beyond our control.”. This system is generating excessive alarms based on the equipment not being compatible as it was promised with dogs under 40lbs. My solutions are the following two: 1) Continue to use the motion sensor and trigger false alarms rather than running the risk of my home being broken into again. 2) Cancel my card info and let them take me to collections where I know they will a) not waste their money or b) understand they did not live up to their expectations which were promised to the customer.

    I would’ve never bought this service if I understood initially the motion sensor was not compatible with a dog. There is never a supervisor present with their company and the agents are free to treat customers as they please with no discipline (now understand that from looking at previous employee reviews on Glassdoor). DO NOT SUBJECT YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY TO THIS COMPANY'S LIES AND MANIPULATION, TRUST ME!!!

    Protection 1 response

    Hi Max,

    I have called you but the for some reason the call disconnects. I will send you an email with my contact information so we can work on a resolution. I hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.

    Rhonda

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: April 29, 2019

    Buyer beware! Protection One utilizes sleazy practices to circumvent their obligations to their customers. Their fine print includes the following: "if you subscribe to Monitoring ... services, we shall program the equipment to communicate to our monitoring facility" and also says "notify us immediately if a problem with equipment occurs".

    How is the customer supposed to know first if there is a problem with the equipment? Isn't that the job of the monitoring services? If the customer is paying for the monitoring services, should that burden fall on Protection One? Instead, they require the customer to notify them and they hold themselves not liable when they are collecting money but not actually providing monitoring services? Beware of this shady practice and note your contract completely before jumping in bed with this company. They will take your money but not actually provide you with any services!!

    Protection 1 response

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience, I apologize to hear of your contract concerns. I have left a message with my contact information and look forward to speaking with you. Thank you and have a great day.

    Rhonda

    2 people found this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    Protection 1 Company Information

    Company Name:
    Protection 1
    Address:
    7255 Corporate Center Dr., Building 2, Bay F
    City:
    Miami
    State/Province:
    FL
    Postal Code:
    33126
    Country:
    United States
    Website:
    www.protection1.com