Boscov's Reviews

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

Overall Rating
2.2 out of 5
See all 123 reviews & ratings

About Boscov's

This profile has not been claimed by the company. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Boscov's Reviews

ConsumerAffairs has collected 123 reviews and 252 ratings.

  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Boscov's?
  • 4,351,782 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 2 Reviews 10 - 40
Verified purchase
Customer ServiceStaff

Reviewed Jan. 27, 2022

I ordered 7 fragile items online. It took WEEKS for the items to get to me. When they did, the outside shipping box was damaged. I noticed that the company cut down the sides of the box, which weakens the integrity. 2 of the items were damaged. I called in to the 800#. My first hold, approximately 5 min, was met with a customer service agent, who asked me all about me, the order, the problem, etc. Only to transfer me, which took 20 min for them to answer. When they did answer, I had to go through EVERYTHING again, as nothing transfers from the first agent.

I told them the problem and they informed me that their policy is that I will have to wait for THEM to receive reimbursement of the damaged items before they will ship me a replacement order. Unless I want to PAY for a new order PLUS shipping?!?! The box will not be claim settled by Fedex, as they cut down the sides of the box. The Supervisor of the agent came on and basically called me a liar, saying they would never do that and they need proof! I emailed the pictures, but at this point am not only out the Valentine's gift, but am out the money! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS COMPANY! YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase
Customer ServicePunctuality & Speed

Reviewed Dec. 27, 2021

Ordered two tops, tried them on immediately, didn’t fit. Packing slip list an address to return to. No return label. Nothing provided to facilitate a return. Sent an email. No response. Called, 15 minutes later still no answer. Spent a lot of time over three days trying to contact this company. No way to contact them on the weekends. Took my package to UPS. To mail it back, $15.00. That’s about 35% of what I paid for the items. One of the worst experiences I’ve had with a company in a long, long time. Never again. I will do everything I can to tell anyone I know about this company and advising them to never buy from this company.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Customer Service

Reviewed Dec. 21, 2021

Worst customer service I have ever encountered. Discovered that when you call customer service about credit card payments, you are actually talking to Comenity Bank, the credit card company. Is there a rating less than 1 star? Can I give a negative rating? I WILL NEVER GIVE BOSCOV'S ANOTHER DIME OF MY MONEY.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Customer ServiceSales & MarketingPunctuality & SpeedStaff

Reviewed Aug. 25, 2021

Here is my story: In Sept 2020 I stopped by at Boscov's Optical in Media PA to purchase reading glasses. I admit, I was enticed by their advertisements of buy two pairs for $99.99. It was a big mistake… There is no such thing of 2 pairs for $99.99. It is a total scam. I figured that I would give it a try, I ordered two reading pairs and two sunglass pairs. I paid for expedited shipping so I can get them early. Again a big mistake. One of the pairs took over 5 weeks to get in. I was not refunded the money as COVID was the blame. So in October 2020 one pair came in and it had the wrong frame. They sent it back and few more weeks pass by and I am getting the pair just to realize the glasses I received weren't mine.

They reprocessed the order and few more weeks later and by now it's January 2021 the glasses arrive however they do not have my prescription strength. Once again they returned them back and this time it came with a different frame. At this point one of the pairs worked fine so I gave up trying to address the issue of the other three pairs.

Sometimes early spring, I noticed they changed managers so I tried once again to address the other three pairs that are not mine (or at least they have wrong prescription strengths). All these three pairs are blurry and I cannot use. So the new manager reluctantly took them in and has processed them again. Same results. I cannot use them, blurry again. So I gave up until today Aug 2021, almost a year later and since I have warranty I figured I will try once again.

This time, the same manager told me categorically that nothing can be done. He cannot help me. Furthermore the manager said that all these times, Boscov's was trying to accommodate me and perhaps I am the one to be blamed here. He even eluded that perhaps I am the one that changed the prescription. Ironically I think they have a copy of my original one dated August 2020 which is still valid. All be aware. Boscov's at Granite Mall has one of the worst customer service and they don’t deserve our business. Please try your business elsewhere. I know, I will.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 26, 2021

I purchased a very beautiful wall clock, for a much lower price than I see in other department stores, or hardware stores. When I unboxed the clock, I understood the low price; the clock is damaged, but working perfectly, the damage is difficult to see. Do I return this for a replacement? Not worth the time or cost. The clock matches my home's decor perfectly; so, why exchange it?

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Oct. 17, 2020

Boscov's typically has a good selection of footwear for men & women. Love that I am able to easily return any that do not fit or I do not care for directly without hassle to the store!

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase

Reviewed Oct. 2, 2020

I purchased items online from Boscov’s. I wanted to exchange a pair of shoes because of size. I called Boscov’s to get a prepaid return label which their policy said return shipping would be waived if you called them. When I called I was told to return shoes to a Boscov’s store or return at my expense & reorder proper size. That would mean I would have to reorder & pay the shipping fee unless I ordered more items totaling $59 to get free shipping. What a racket!! I love Boscov’s but will think twice before ordering online again!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed July 22, 2020

I went shopping with a friend of mine last night. We were in the shoe department making our final purchases. The lady would not accept my friend's signed, credit card without an ID. I do believe this is because we are **. In my many years of shopping, this has never been a problem. She acted like we were common thieves. Will not be shopping at Boscov's again. The items my friend purchased, prior to this incident will be returned today!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 20, 2020

Always have the shoes that I like. Always have the wallet that I need. Also in a convenient location from my home. Always have sales person available when checking out. Sales are terrific. Much lower than any other store around....

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Jan. 25, 2020

Many of us seniors LOVE OUR BOSCOV'S stores! Boscov's offers varied and quality merchandise at very affordable prices, far below that of other department stores. Everything we need for our personal clothing needs, housewares and home furnishings, decor items and culinary items can be found. Their sales and special purchases are unbeatable. Friendly and courteous service associates, with no hassle returns is a huge plus!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Dec. 23, 2019

I placed an order for 6 pair of the same style socks. Confirmation order was received & my credit card was charged for 6 pair of socks. Bag received with one pair of socks. No notice included indicating partial shipment. Email notice for Boscov...ORDER completed. Four over 45 minute calls to customer service only to be disconnect after 45 minutes. Sent email citing shortage of 5 pairs of socks. With computer generated response that I would be contacted in 24 hrs which never happened. Second shipment with 3 pair of socks again no enclosed notice as to when the remaining 2 pairs would be received. Order Completed. Another email from Boscov ORDER COMPLETED. Unbelievable!!! I sent an email asking for a refund for the 2 pair of socks. Again computer generated response that I would be contacted in 24 hrs. Again it has not happened. This company should be investigated.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Dec. 17, 2019

These ** should be kicked out of business right away. Bought two slippers with them. The size chart says M for US 8.5-9.5. When it comes it is only less than US7. Super small and unable to wear. Also it takes three weeks to arrive. First item to order in Thanksgiving but last item to receive.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 19, 2019

Ordered work shoes online from Boscov's last Friday. Paid $9.95 to ship them as we didn't hit the minimum order for free shipping. Got an email with a tracking number. Tried tracking Sat, then Sun, then Mon. Said status pending. Called to find out what was going on. Was told that Fedex doesn't pick up until Monday. I asked what Fedex shipping method they used. Was told Standard. There is no Fedex Standard. I asked if it that meant 2 day; they didn't know. They told me to track it again on Tuesday. I did. It said delivery Friday. 8 DAYS after I placed the order. They didn't have his size in the local store. I would have been better off just driving an hour away to get them at another store. Not shopping online with Boscov's again ever.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 18, 2019

I will admit that I had a good experience purchasing my son's homecoming suit in the Camp Hill store. The sales associate was helpful and patient. She asked if I wanted to save money by opening a Boscov's charge. I did with every intention of paying it off before interest accrued. I received a bill and set my auto billpay to pay it from my back. My bank sent it six days in advance of the due date. I pay all my bills this way and and I never have a problem.

I get a bill this month showing a charge of 31.87 cents. They claim they received it late and charged me a late fee along with interest. I called in and was told that it takes 7-10 business days for anything to process through them. Whoa. So, I paid the bill and closed my account. It's a shame because I was hoping this would be my new go-to store, but the rep would not even consider removing the charge. So, if you get a credit card, pay it IMMEDIATELY and not anywhere close to the due date. They got my %off from opening the charge and then some. Smart!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 11, 2019

Boscov's is a greedy company that cares nothing about anyone except for spending their money. The Christianna store in De has a bunch of ** kiss ** who will step and say what they because they know corporate will back them up as long as they meet their sales quota. BOB hung the phone up on me after I made the complain and then wished me well as if my concern wasn’t an issue. # the worse treatment ever in my boscov's days. Management IN DE is terrible. It looks as if all management is ex addicts, welfare recipients and trash!!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Oct. 20, 2019

Boscovs has really missed the boat on customer service, you practically have to beg an employee to help you, it's like this every time I go in there. Online orders are worse. The wait is endless. Wish the managers would help their untrained staff. They are never around.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Oct. 19, 2019

Their items are extensively included their very low prices. The only interference would include very terrible & improper items being included, that unfortunately causes minor interference with their customers.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed July 5, 2019

My mother bought a mattress from them. They said free delivery and free removal of old mattress so we said great. All I was interested in was the removal of the old mattress that way I don't have to deal with it. It is now a week later and they showed up, dropped off the new one and said they can't take the old one. My mother put a sealed up bag over the old one as a courtesy. It's not a bad mattress. She was just being nice because she figured nobody wants to go moving someone's old mattress.

If I would have known that they have "the right to refuse pick-up" I would have just put her new bed in my truck a week ago and set it up for her. Their delivery driver chose to be lazy and when I called to complain they told me it must have stains and that's why he didn't take it. When I replied that there was a sealed bag and asked how they would have known there was stains she couldn't answer but still believed that must be the answer. Being lazy is no excuse for not doing the job someone paid you to do. Boscov's is a joke when it comes to customer service.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed April 30, 2019

Avoid Boscov's for mattress purchases. They do not allow returns, only exchanges. There are retailers like Raymore and Flanigan or Mattress Firm that have similar (and better selection), offer the same experience with free delivery, free disposal, but also allow returns. Boscov's credit is inferior too. They offer 36-month financing, but base your payments on 5% of your outstanding balance, not your balanced paid equally over 36 months. Poor or no response from management compounds the bad experience.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed April 27, 2019

Boscov's says no purchase required to obtain a stamp. GET 2 stamps per week, get that item advertised $2.99 as all items are under $5. However, you can't get the item no matter how many times you you visit the retailer as it is a hoax like bait and switch. I will NEVER shop in there again and will share this with as many people online and in-store as many people are angry as we makes unnecessary trips and waste gas only to be turned away each week.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed April 18, 2019

My daughter shelled out $1200 for a mattress. They have a 1 time comfort exchange policy which she took advantage of - second mattress is just as uncomfortable - Told she is stuck with the mattress that she can't sleep on. The whole idea of sleep is to be comfortable. No one in my family will buy another item from Boscov's - EVER. Way to satisfy your customers Boscov's! More bad reviews to follow on every social media platform!!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 14, 2019

The pair of Sketchers I purchased online were clearly worn! Dirt in the soles & pet hair on the insoles were 2 obvious clues. Because I needed the shoes for a trip in 3 days (and I have thick socks) I kept them, even though I overpaid. I will never order from Boscov's again!

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase

Reviewed Jan. 30, 2019

Boscov's may earn points when they deliver a product that matches the expectations of prospective consumers but if anything goes wrong with a product purchased, a consumer needs to be prepared with as much knowledge of their consumer rights in order to deal with their customer service because they do not know the first thing about treating customer properly.

As brief as possible: They delivered a mattress and the delivery people did not wait for me to get home to inspect it. They called to let me know they would be there in 42 minutes. I was 25 minutes from home. They arrived before me and my parent answered the door and figured it would be OK to allow them to bring the mattress in. They checked the boxes pertaining to the mattress being inspected and didn't even mention that when telling my parent it was fine for her to sign. Well she was in the middle of an in home medical exam at the time and those delivery people left and the mattress ended up being 3 inches too short and very defective. I was infuriated at how this all went down but maintaining composure I made a call to Boscov's to report this defective product. They agreed to exchange it. A date was scheduled.

Next, they said they had no inventory of this mattress so I was delayed even further. Finally they called stating they had it. They delivered it 2 weeks later and it was the wrong mattress. Not even close. I refused the delivery and received a call from their CS again and they wanted another chance to bring the product and I refused.

At this point I have lost time from work and they sent the wrong product, left work early previously and they left without getting my approval for someone else to sign for my product and still tried telling me mattresses are not returnable. Well, I beg to differ. This is a product that is not capable of being used for it's intended purpose. It has also created a safety concern due to it not being secured by safety hooks on an adjustable platform because it is not long enough to fit the queen size base. It has slipped and repositioned itself randomly and I've woke with my arm wedged between the mattress and the wall a couple times and noticed it sometimes overhangs the platform in some areas which would not be good if I rolled over to that area of the mattress while sleeping.

Bottom line is Boscov's has never delivered a mattress that even matches the description of the one I agreed to buy. It isn't a true Queen size mattress and furthermore it cannot be used for it's intended purpose because it isn't able to remain secure on an adjustable base, which it is said to work with. A mattress return policy does isn't something that pertains to defective products that are reported immediately.

If I was there to inspect the delivery, I would have rejected it and that is my right as a consumer. Defective merchandise is not something that has failed after use so it isn't like this should be a warranty claim. It is still under the time frame where a store must deal with it and they should be fair. Boscov's is not. And if anyone considers a mattress purchase from them, know that they will force feed you their policy in the event you have such problems. They think that the policy they recite me applies to this situation when it is actually the comfort guaranty they are reciting rules from. And I am not returning it for any reason under that policy. I am returning a defective mattress that is not usable for it's intended purpose and it does not match the description in their store plus they had a chance to remedy things and they arrived with the wrong product which is the same as failure.

Their customer service has avoided giving me any answers leaving me with a huge paperweight and I have already been forced to secure a mattress from a company that was actually capable of not only delivering it promptly, but they brought the one I chose and it was not defective and, their delivery team did a careful inspection of the product with me and we all agreed it was fully in tact and, they STILL said I could return it for a full refund even if I did not like it. But, I do and I won't. I appreciate being respected and do not want to subject myself to the negligence of a company that uses shady delivery services who are more interested in getting in and out in a hurry without even taking the time to check the product or give the person the chance to.

I also do not appreciate the way CS had left me without any idea where they stand. The girl said they would be willing to compensate me for all of the inconvenience but no specific offer was ever presented. Had they attempted, I would have listened. They claimed they just received the mattress I ordered and could now delivery but the time it would have taken exceeds the 30 day time period from when I should have received a mattress that could be used for it's intended purpose. I keep stating this about the mattress because federal statute gives consumers the right to return any product for a refund if the product received cannot be used for it's intended purpose.

Bottom line I feel retailers like Boscov's try to trample on consumer rights as if we have to accept all of their faults and negligence as if our time and our lives are in debt to them no matter how poor the demonstrate their business practices. I felt like I was trapped as if I did something wrong when they refused to let me out of this deal and kept insisting on dragging things out. This left me without a functional mattress for about a month and I could not wait anymore. I needed it sooner but I gave them more than enough time to get this right and they failed. Due to the nature of my specific circumstance they should have been courteous enough to end this by accepting the return so I could move on with my life. A month of my life committed to waiting for them to possibly screw up again is not fair. Not fair at all.

I still have the charge for this mattress in dispute with the Boscov's store card and I hope they will just be fair and let me go. I have since displaced the mattress and it is covered in the spare room for now. But I want them to pick it up or arrange for it to be donated. It is defective so I would rather see them destroy it. It may be unsafe for anyone using a queen size frame because it isn't long enough.

I cannot give 0 stars so I will give 1. If I have to pay a lawyer for anything related to this ordeal, I would not hesitate. I have the money to pay for the mattress. I have the money to pay for a lawyer too. This is not about money. This is about consumer rights and our protection from corporate giants who think they can trample on us.

I was treated very unfairly by Boscov's with this ordeal. I plan to file a complaint with consumer affairs and the BBB and will post this review on as many sites as I can to let everyone know just how these people at Boscov's treat you when they send you a defective item that is potentially unsafe. I won't let up until they agree to pickup this defective product or agree to have it donated. Boscov's has never upheld their end of the deal according to the so called contract they keep throwing in my face so it means the policy is null and void. Again, they never delivered a product that can used for it's intended purpose. Their policy refers to buyer's remorse and their comfort guarantee. Neither of which apply to defective merchandise. I'll never shop their store ever again. Their loss.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 19, 2018

Bought a bed this past year, bed ended up sagging so I went through the whole warranty process. The bed was deemed no good so they said they would honor the warranty and that I just needed to visit the store to pick new bed and pay the difference if I decided to go with something other than the original mattress. We decided to go with the Pro Adapt Firm. We are paying an extra 2100. We received the new bed and 2 days in after waking up with pain literally all over we called to see about exchanging.

The Pro Adapt Firm is apparently only for back and stomach sleepers. Had I known this we would have gone with something different since we are side sleepers but we wanted something that would hold up and not sag like the original mattress. Terrible mistake, I assumed since the bed was new that all the perks like the comfort exchange would be available. They will not exchange or help us at all even though we are paying an extra $2100. I’ve spent around $6000 in the last year at this store and they won’t even exchange a brand new bed after dealing with a manufacturer issue on the first one that was paid in full.

Now we are on the hook for the extra 2100 for a bed that is absolutely terrible. Hip, back, neck and shoulder pain! Thanks Boscov's, way to show appreciation for your customers! We are on the market for new living room furniture, I will be taking my business elsewhere and will never purchase anything from this store in the future! Could not be more dissatisfied!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 9, 2018

In today's retail market, returns should be as easy as having a return label in the package when it arrives and then you call to have it picked up. Unfortunately, the 3 pajama sets I ordered, though listed as petite, were not really. They were regular sized and huge on me, a petite person. It cost me almost $12 to send them back. If they fit but I didn't like them, I wouldn't have minded, but they were obviously regular.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase

Reviewed Nov. 8, 2018

I placed an order today around 4 p.m. 450 window blinds. It was over a $200 order. The order included a $15 shipping fee which I have no problem pain. Order was placed. Everything was good. I got a confirmation email that the order went through. 4 hours later I received a phone call from someone in Pennsylvania with a 610 area code and he said he was calling from Boscov's and that my order is a large quantity and they categorize it as bulk shipping and they have to add $75 shipping cost if I want to receive it. I told them this is dishonest and that I was recording the call. He said that was no problem and he has no choice but to cancel my order because I am not willing to pay the extra 75 which I deem as a pure scam! Stay away from this pure dishonesty!!!

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase

Reviewed Nov. 2, 2018

I have no idea how good store service is. I do most if not all my shopping online, except for personal items like shoes and clothing which I have to see and fit. Ordered online which was a breeze, had my order filled and shipped the next day which was just great and expected. But what I am so appreciative of is the care of the packaging and correctness of my order, all arrived in 2 days which was really fast! And in perfect just brand new and they took special care in the packaging, I surely be back to reorder and shop other items. Very satisfied with my online purchases from this store.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Sept. 3, 2018

They had Labor Day Doorbusters of KitchenAid Mixer with Cover on sales for $199,99. The sales rep said they only had a couple and they went right after the Palmer Park Mall store opened. I then went online and only the $379 KitchenAid mixer was listed. No option to order the sale model online is a big disappointment. How can you put a big sale in the newspaper and then only have a couple available. It's just not right and I will never trust a Doorbusters sale again.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed July 28, 2018

I went to look for a adjustable bed for my 15 yr old son. I was with him my 21 yr old daughter. I sat on the bed that we were looking at when she came over, she asked "can I help you?" I said, "We were just looking." She told me that she had paying customers coming through so we needed to leave. I put the ages of my kids so you knew they weren't jumping or acting up. Never be back there at Boscov's Deptford NJ again!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed June 19, 2018

I ordered Natural Soul Shoes... believe it or not they put them in another brand of shoes box and wrote on the box "Naturalizer, shoes size 6.5"... and shoes I got has scuff marks and on the side of sole shoes heavy scuff marks that peeled black color out and I can see clean color underneath. Like it was worn, cleaned and returned and also totally not accurate description, I also ordered gold toe slipper that normally sizes as M 9-10, L 11-12 but for this one that particularly made for Boscov's the choices to choose was just s, m, l. So guess what I ordered normal M and it arrived M 8-9. What the heck? So I called rep. asking for possibility to provide me with free exchange label as I needed a bigger size. He just ignorance, the tone was rude and just state "you need to pay return shipping. There is no exchange, you returned, we ship a new one out. That is how it work."

So after you ordered from them you are done, they can send you as worse condition as they want to as long as it correct size and brand they don't care. You can't argue and if you want to exchange/return you have to pay to ship it back out of your pocket. So if you come across Boscov's and you don't have their physical store in your area. Order them at your own risk. Worse experience and unprofessional for me. Talked to 2 men reps. and both also rude. Wondered how they trained them to be so in line.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Loading more reviews...

Boscov's Company Information

Company Name: