DriveTime

Consumer Reviews and Complaints

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Tuy & Terri were absolutely fabulous! I love buying a car from Drivetime. I am going to buy every car I ever need from them. My husband also loves them and bought a truck from Drivetime too. The staff was wonderful and so interested in making the deal. Great gap insurance as well.

4 people found this review helpful

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Went in not knowing what I was gonna do for a ride and when I tell you guys that I was able to drive away in a new car I'm not joking. Then the next day I decided that I wanted a different car and was able to get what I wanted and it actually fits who I am I tell you, these ladies and gents helped a ton. Made my day and in the end got me in a two year old car that'll last me many years to come.

7 people found this review helpful

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Simply the best car buying experience I've ever had. Eric ** wouldn't let me drive my new car away until he was confident that I was completely satisfied. He even took the car to the gas station and filled it up. All the crew there was great. I'll recommend DriveTime to everyone!

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating
Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

DriveTime

Hello Dante,

Thank you for leaving your review. We always appreciate customer feedback, as it aids us in finding ways to improve our overall customer experience. I am deeply sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent visit to our dealership.

Here at DriveTime, we believe in providing our customers with the utmost transparency, and it is truly unfortunately that you left feeling otherwise.

I want to apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred during your pre-approval. Please know that we try our best to provide our customers with an accurate estimate for their down payment amount during the online pre-approval process. However, it is important to keep in mind that approval options are subject to change based on documents provided to the dealership, as well as the specifications of the selected vehicle.

I would like to apologize again for any frustration you experienced during your recent visit to our dealership. Should your situation change, we would appreciate the opportunity to have you as a customer in the future.

Thank you,

Jacob - Customer Relations

Original review: April 21, 2017

BAIT AND SWITCH!!! This dealership will say all the right things to get you in the door and then they change the quoted terms on you when you show up; thinking you're desperate and will just accept whatever they spew and take the car anyways. The guy I had my appointment with never introduced himself. They raised all of the terms of the financing on me; despite what I was told, so my wife and I walked out and left. What is the point of even filling out your information with them online when they change everything when you get to the dealership? This company is no better than a payday loan company and deserves to be shut down. I guess I wasn't low income enough for them and couldn't be taken advantage of.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating
Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

DriveTime

Hello Stephanie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your DriveTime experience. I apologize about any frustration you may have experienced during this situation. I want to assure you that all DriveTime vehicles are inspected prior to sale; we also include a 30 day/1,500 mile limited warranty with finance customers having the option to add-on additional coverage for further peace of mind.

For situations where further review is necessary, my Customer Relations Department is in place to see if any further assistance may be provided. I do see that you have been working with my department, and I encourage you to continue to do so in order to reach an amicable resolution.

Thank you,

Andrew – Customer Relations

Original review: April 21, 2017

I wish I could give 0 stars. Don't go there, please. They sell cars that are very unreliable. I read nothing but bad reviews when I googled it in place of going on their website. I bought a 2007 Dodge Nitro. The very next day my car wouldn't start. I put it in the shop 7 times before it was found unfixable. Then they put me in a 2007 Jeep Compass and again in the shop two days later with a list of repairs so they agreed to refund me my deposit on the 4th of May. Here it is the 21st of May and I still have not received my money so now I have no car and no money... I'm in the process of starting a civil suit against them. Please comment if you have any complaints against them. I feel they treated so many people so badly. We should take a stand against them. I want them closed down.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I'm very happy with the purchase... Leah has make everything very easy and fast. Thank you. I will buy again. We are enjoying the truck very much. Thank again. I'm happy with came to DriveTime first. You guys make it easy on us to purchase our new SUV. Thank you.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I absolutely loved my experience at my local DriveTime. I went in with little in my pocket and they were very professional. They helped me find the perfect truck for me. A 2011 Chevrolet single cab long wheel base color. Color (BLACK). It is the perfect truck for the job I have. I would highly recommend everyone I know or ever come to know to go to DriveTime. Have a blessed day.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about DriveTime?

  • 743,097 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

My salesman Jeff was incredible. He greeted me at the door; introduce me to his manager, and ensured me that everything would be fine. I gave my information from the website, I show him the car I wanted from the website. And without any runaround or procrastination I left in about a two hour frame with my new car (2011 Nissan Juke). Happy and completely satisfied.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I absolutely loved my experience at DriveTime! I drove my car (2015 Hyundai Accent) off the lot within just a few hours. I worked with Evan and he was an absolute pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend DriveTime to anyone that is in the market for a new car!

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating
Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

DriveTime

Hello Billy,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write your review. I am deeply sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with DriveTiime due to the pricing and payment concerns you mentioned.

Here at DriveTime, we understand that many consumers are weary about how a dealership prices their vehicles, which is why we disclose our prices online and post them on every vehicle for sale at our dealerships. Additionally, we invest an average of approximately $1,200 in parts and labor in every vehicle we sell to ensure it meets our standards, an amount representing 10% or more of the NADA value of the vehicles. We utilize NADA Retail Suggested Value when evaluating our pricing, which are within the “fair market range” displayed on the “Buy from a Dealer” page on Kelly Blue Book (KBB).

On the subject of payment issues throughout your loan, please keep in mind that all loan servicing related issues should be addressed with Bridgecrest, and they can be reached at (800) 967-8526.

I apologize again for any frustration this issue has caused. If you would like to discuss this matter in further detail, please do not hesitate to reach out to my Customer Relations team at (888) 290-0148.

Respectfully,

Jacob – Customer Relation

Original review: April 18, 2017

Where do I begin? Let's go back almost a year ago to when I purchased my Honda. Great car, has been reliable, no complaints there mostly because it's a Honda right. So when closing the deal for financing they slap me with a 24% interest rate, so when all is said and done I'd pay close to $28,000 for a used 106,000 mile vehicle. To add insult to injury I've recently realized they charged me 2X the book value of the car in the beginning, so look up the value of whatever vehicle you're looking to purchase.

I recently injured myself at home and was immediately restricted from work. Had to have immediate surgery so I had no time to save up funds to be out of work. Now I understand it's not their (Bridgecrest) place or concern about my personal affairs. But when I've called each of my creditors to arrange payments and they're the only ones not working with me, there's a problem. I've had my payments set up on biweekly auto draft for 11 months without a hitch. No late payments, no missed payments. Sprint, DirecTV, Capital One, Wells Fargo, all of my creditors have made arrangements but these people. So even when I told them I had paperwork from my surgeon all they could talk about was when my payments were due and what I'd be behind.

Very disrespectful company that could care less about you or any issues that may have come about, they want that check period. I Will NEVER do business with these people again and I strongly suggest if your credit isn't worthy of a large Company then find you a buy here pay here lot, they'll be more understanding than these clowns.

6 people found this review helpful

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating
Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

DriveTime

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with DriveTime and Bridgecrest. I am saddened to hear that you are frustrated with the service you have received. DriveTime is the nation's largest dealer helping people with credit issues find great vehicles and we strive to work with all of our customers to find the right vehicle, financing options, and assist in building credit.

I would like the opportunity to look into this further, however, from the information I have been provided I cannot locate an account. At your earliest convenience, please contact my Customer Relations team at (888)290-0148.

Thank You,

Kaitlyn - Customer Relations

Original review: April 18, 2017

No late payment in 7 years, I made payments on time religiously. One time missed one "Dated" payment because of my boss but then I made a double payment the following due date. Three months later I was told I owed a payment. I asked for a "Financial statement" to prove it and they refused to send the info, so I said, "Until I receive that I can't help you because my bank statements say I am up to date." So that didn't stop them from ruining my credit, after I worked my ass off for 7 years to bring it back!!! Now I owe 1000 dollars more than what I am supposed to pay just to get my title because they can't supply a simple statement proving their claim. Bridgecrest/DriveTime = scammers.

3 people found this review helpful

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Sale associate was prepared to answer all questions. Very kind and explained all forms. He was exceptionally nice. I would recommend my friends and coworkers. This car is my 6th new car although the interest rate on this car is high because of my credit rating and down payment but I need better transportation. I want to say thanks.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

This past weekend I visit DriveTime in Torrance. I was very pleased with the service I was given. My agent was Charles **. He was very friendly and very helpful. I was able to leave the lot with a car. Thank you so much for all your help! :-)

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I was originally worried that once I arrived at the Judson dealership in San Antonio that they wouldn't be able to help me get into a nice, dependable vehicle. How wrong I was!! First off Fred ** actually came to my house to pick me up for my appt instead of having to depend on a friend or take a cab. Never once was I pressured into making a decision on a vehicle I didn't want.

Fred asked what type of vehicle I wanted and after telling him I would love to have a car that's sporty but classy he then found several choice that I narrowed down to actually 2 -- a Nissan Altima 2 door coupe and a Cadillac CTS. I decided on the Cadillac and couldn't be happier but also a major factor is the peace of mind in knowing that I have 5 years, 50,000 mile warranty as well. The entire staff was very friendly including Luis the sales manager who also went above and beyond to earn my business. Great team and I would highly recommend to anyone. Thanks again guys!!

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I just purchased a 2013 Chevy Impala from DriveTime in Madison TN. I could not be happier with the way the people there treated me through the whole process. I would go back and recommend everyone I know looking for a car or truck to visit there before going anywhere else.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Welcoming environment and professional staff. They made my car buying experience Hassle Free. I knew within seconds that I was approved and the selections of vehicles was astonishing. I will definitely recommend family and friends to DriveTime... thanks Frankie, Crystal, and Tammy.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Bernard and James made this the easiest and fastest car buying experience ever. Give those guys a big raise. They were both friendly and professional and very knowledgeable about selling vehicles. I plan to purchase another vehicle from them in the future.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Had a wonderful experience from the phone call to the drive off. Everyone was extremely professional but also caring. The details about the vehicle and financing were awesome. It was a great experience all around. I would definitely recommend others.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I had a great experience at DriveTime!! They help me get a great car with no problems even after being turned down by other dealers because of my credit history. Everybody was very friendly, down to earth and professional. Much love to the entire staff at Mechanicsville DriveTime, for making my experience so easy and painless.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Thank you to salesperson Kyle ** for being so professional and giving me the DriveTime treatment. In shopping for my dream car he listened to my needs and delivered. Now I'm the proud owner of a red 2013 Dodge Avenger. I couldn't be more happier and I recommend Kyle ** to all my friends and family who are looking for a new car.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Thanks again to Lee ** for all she did to make us your news fans. We are very pleased with our new CR -V... was over all impressed with our experience. Lee ** went way beyond helping us purchasing the vehicle that we wanted. She helped us with papers we didn't have. Overall a pleasure to do business with DriveTime. Will recommend y'all to anyone I know to come and do business with y'all... Thanks.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I am extremely satisfied with my 2012 Ford Fusion and was very satisfied with the respect and help that I received at DriveTime by Paul and also by Bo. Thanks a bunch Paul for your help in selling me the car and answering all my questions that I had. You're a awesome sales representative.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

Would buy again. I am referring people I know who need a car. I enjoyed Paul Dayton location. The staff was nice. Easy process. Like I said would buy again. I am a referring Prince if service is awesome. Thank you again.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I came into DriveTime to trade in my '01 Mustang and purchase a new vehicle. My sales associate Mallory was very helpful and helping me find the car that I wanted. I will tell anyone about my experience with DriveTime. I'm 100% satisfied.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I had a wonderful and rewarding experience at DriveTime. This was all due to my exemplary salesman Kenny (Hickory Hills dealership). He worked with me and he worked hard for me to make sure that I got a vehicle. I'm so thankful for people like Kenny who still actually put the customer first. Kenny is the greatest!!!

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

After months of going dealership to dealership -- I finally found something that would work for my situation at Drive Time. Noah helped me on 2 separate visits and the last being the final time we were able to get the deal done. He was very patient with me and answered all my questions -- and I had one million!!! I'm glad there is a second chance place to restore your credit and have a good car.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I must say I was starting to impatient with my wait but after all it was well worth all my time and wait. You all made my day and answer my prayers I love my new ???? and you all are greatly appreciated???? I was always been told if GOD wants you to have you will receive it.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

It all started with a fear to be turned down for approval when Mariana convinced me to come by after answering all my concerns. When I finally arrived Maurice ** provided excellent customer service from the start until I drove away in my new beautiful car with a full tank of gas. Thanks to the sales manager on duty!! Mariana, Maurice and Bakersfield Ca team thanks for all you do!! It's highly appreciated.

2 people found this review helpful

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

The salespeople are polite. This was the easiest car buying experience I have had over the years. I would definitely recommend them to all the people I know. I will be a repeat customer when it is time to buy another vehicle. Hope DriveTime thrives for years to come.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

This was a wonderful experience of great customer service. The salesman was very nice and made sure he got me what I wanted. I admire the great teamwork to guarantee that the customer is happy with whatever they choose. I have been to many dealerships where they would turn me around, but not here at DriveTime. Thank you.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

He was very helpful and friendly. He helped me pick the car that fits me. He showed me reasonable prices along with a variety of cars. He gave me different options. He also told me information about all the cars. He explained the different warranties that they provide.

profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Satisfaction Rating

I had the best experience. Kurt was amazing and so helpful throughout the process. I would recommend friends and family to visit DriveTime. I promise the process is quick and easy and you will get approved for the car you want with a reasonable down payment.

DriveTime Company Profile

Company Name:
DriveTime
Company Type:
Private
Year Founded:
2002
Address:
1720 West Rio Salado
City:
Tempe
State/Province:
AZ
Postal Code:
85281
Country:
United States
Website:
https://www.drivetime.com/