DriveTimeConsumerAffairs Accredited Brand
This is the first auto business I have encountered that does not promise everything to get you in the door and then hit you with a bunch of double talk. Customer service to this point has been great. Philip and Justin were a great help and got me into the vehicle I needed. I would definitely buy from DriveTime again.
We traveled from North Dakota to South Carolina to buy the perfect car and we could not be happier. The staff was amazing and the whole process was seamless. Thanks for a wonderful experience. We will be back for our next car purchase. Thanks Meechelle and everyone else that assisted us.
I was sold a 2016 Jeep Patriot and love it. The sales person Jessica was very knowledgeable and friendly. Enjoyed working with her. I would recommend your company to anyone that needs to buy a new vehicle. Love my Jeep Patriot.
I had great customer service experience! Being as I was from so far away I was helped over the phone through email and was communicated with greatly. Until I was able to make it down and then I helped out so much in finding what would fit for me! I loved my very long experience. DriveTime in Gladstone was awesome. Only drawback was that cars sold so fast we would, talk about one and have it in mind and then it would be gone or on hold already.
My experience was great. Leshay was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She made my day. I told her my needs and she helped narrow down my options. She did everything in a timely manner. I thought I was going to be there all day but she was very quick and thorough at the same time. I honestly didn’t think I would get to leave the lot with a nice car because of my credit. I was very impressed. So a special thank you to Leshay for her superb customer service.
I love my new car (Kia Optima SXL). My salesman was respectful and honest with me, I got the car I wanted from Dayton and had it transferred I got my payments where I wanted them quick and easy! Thank you DriveTime!
Taylor ** is great and she made my purchase of my GMC Terrain easy. I have to say with total honesty that it is the best car buying experience in my life. I highly recommend her and will tell everyone I know that may be looking for a vehicle to deal with your dealership.
- 1,048,294 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
- We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
- We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
- Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.
Little money, low credit, barely any job stability, first time ever purchasing a car and I could not be happier! My car salesman Josh made it his mission to have me leave there in a new car, not only a new car but their car I wanted! This place is Amazing with the BEST staffing!!
When I first went to DriveTime to pick a car everything was great. Everyone was nice and welcoming. Everything was smooth. I got my 2014 Taurus and was on the road then about 3 months later the fuel pump went. Ok. Well I don’t have to pay for nothing. Cool. Just fix it. They did so and about two weeks later it went again while I was at work. That was great so I called about it and not only did I get hung up on twice I requested that it went to someone more qualified like a Ford dealership but no. They wanted to take it back to the Meineke.
They supposedly did it last time and they're saying they don’t wanna touch it so without telling me they move my car to the dealership like I said but I had to call for them to tell me this and when I call the dealership they said they didn’t even know it was coming. So for my inconvenience they told me they will pre-pay for my rental that I scheduled for 3 days but next thing I know the same day the car was good and ready to go as they said picked it up.
Everything was good for about a month then for the third time it didn’t start again so what they told me the guys at Ford said it looks like they didn’t replace it the first time. Wow and those are the people you guys sent your clients to. Wow but whatever. So since all this is happening and I have work every day of the week you would think they would approve another rental but no. They're telling me they can’t when it’s against policy but the last rep told me otherwise. Well whatever. I already wasted so much money on that car. Why not do it some more and get my own rental? It will only be a couple days. Until this morning they called and told me that the lines were so backed up that they burst and I had to call the warranty company because the dealership called and told me so I’m all the way out on this car at this point and I wanna know my options on a different car. Well I don’t have that option. I have to stay with it and all the problems it may have.
They don’t care I already put thousands into it with maintenance let alone money for tows and parts that they said they will cover but didn’t. Like all they showed me is that they care about nothing but your money and here I am stuck with a 2014 car that already had many problems but nobody cares that I was stuck at work with a 2014 that wouldn’t start, I got hung up on or that me and my girlfriend were stuck at a grocery store with my nieces who are 9 and 10 for hours because it didn’t start or that fact that if I was driving and it went out. I could have been seriously injured. They do not care. I recommend no one buy a car from here unless you want to deal with the problems. There’s no telling if my car will ever function right or if it will go on me again. Either way I want a different car and they're telling me, "We cannot help you there." Save yourself the hassle with these people. Go anywhere else but DriveTime.
I am happy with my experience and the employees worked as a team to get me into my car when some difficulties beyond our control came about. The only thing that disappointed me was that I was told that windshield wiper fluid would be put into my car prior to me driving off because there was none at all and it was not done. The car was also not clean on the outside before I left. I think that's a great way to show appreciation to a customer by at least making sure their new vehicle is clean to drive off the lot in. Leah was very knowledgeable and made sure I understood what I was getting and the benefits of the vehicle that I selected.
Bragging of how many cars she sold, put me in finance situation I could not afford, almost had my car repossessed by Bridgecrest, a loan company I've never heard of. I paid the car off and I have to wait four (4) weeks to get my title. She Kabo don't even know what she sold me, never heard from this sales lady again or even from Drive Time...I highly recommend anyone never buy a vehicle from this company and TELL YOUR FRIENDS ALSO who may be looking for a vehicle.
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write your review. I am very sorry to hear that you left feeling unhappy with both DriveTime and Bridgecrest after paying off your loan.
While we understand the frustrating nature of the concerns you had mentioned, it is important to keep in mind that all loan servicing matters are handled by Bridgecrest as of early 2016.
That being said, I want to apologize again for any frustration this situation has caused. If you are in need of further assistance with obtaining your title, please contact Bridgecrest directly at (800) 967-8526.Thank you,
Jacob – Customer Relations
I have never had an experience as pleasant as the one I had with Drive Time. I have been telling people that I know are looking for cars that they must come there. Our salesperson was polite and friendly, I did not feel pressured at all. The sales associate was, efficient and well versed. The overall experience was wonderful.
I’ve heard many things about DriveTime both good and bad but I decided to take it upon myself to make that decision on if I wanted to make such a big commitment and purchase a newer car. Before I could even get out of the car, Charles was welcoming and offered to help me out of the car. He went over options that would suit my every need as far as if it was affordable for me and if it would be comfortable to drive and travel with my family. He was very knowledgeable and patient during the entire process. Never once did he just push me to purchase just any car that he felt I should have. I WILL be recommending the Torrance location (Charles) to everyone that I know who are looking to feel a part of their car buying experience and have an amazing car buying experience. THANK YOU SO MUCH Charles **!
I was real pleased with the service that I got when I was at Kia on Saturday the 10th of March. Colby was the guy that helped me out. He went over everything with me and was very nice. I will definitely recommend people to go there to purchase their vehicle.
Yes the people at DriveTime are wonderful, very helpful and I would recommend everybody I know to DriveTime. I would like to thank the staff for all the help they gave me. If you looking for a nice affordable vehicle DriveTime is the place to go.
They got me in the car I wanted in no time. Super helpful. Did absolutely everything they could to make me happy by the time I left. They, in my opinion, have some of the nicest used cars I have ever found on a lot.
Mr. **, Matt, and Knapp were very awesome. Explained in detail the whole process and got me the car that wanted. I'm glad to know that DriveTime is customer service driven and do whatever they can to make the deal happen. I finally have something that shows the hard work and determination that I have done. Thanks guys. Will be sending you more people.
Through Nicolle's patience and heightened level of patience, I was able to leave with a vehicle that I'm quite happy to own. I'm certain that the few things that need attention will be handled when I discuss with them on Monday. All in all, I am VERY satisfied. Thank you!
The process was rather fast and pleasant. I was reassured that all cars go through a thorough inspection and are sound, good working order. I completed my paperwork in a timely manner and gave my downpayment and was handed the keys. As I turned my new car on to drive off the engine light turned on. I hadn’t left the lot. I was told it was my problem and to call the 800 number for help. I’m disappointed... not even off the lot.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback .I am pleased that your sales experience was pleasant, however, I truly apologize for the mechanical concerns that occurred while leaving our dealership.
Please know that all of our vehicles are inspected prior to sale to prevent these concerns. The vehicles sold from DriveTime are pre-owned and as a result there are times where mechanical concerns may arise post-sale. For this reason every vehicle sold from DriveTime comes with a 30-day/1,500-mile Limited Warranty, along with the optional Vehicle Service Contract, to assist in these situations.
In addition, every vehicle sold from DriveTime comes with a 5-Day Vehicle Return Program which gives our customer the ability to return the vehicle to a DriveTime dealership and terminate the Simple Interest Retail Installment Contract, for any reason, within the first five calendar days after purchase. As long as the vehicle has not been driven over 300 miles within these five days, you will not be assessed any fees and will receive a full refund of your down payment.
Please contact our Customer Relations department at your earliest convenience (888) 290-0148. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.
My experience at DriveTime was very warm and inviting, I felt very comfortable and not pressured. One of the best car buying experiences I've had. From the time that I arrived to take cars that I was interested in for a test drive. They really care about their customers and want them to have the best experience.
Very professional kind both have awesome personalities not pushy at all they let us make our own choices and decisions very pleasant. I recommend them highly! The DriveTime team is excellent!! We did not feel rushed at any point in our visit. Excellent!
Total bait and switch. The dealership has 2 kinds of cars, normal stock and DriveTime select. The DriveTime select vehicles are the cars that you see on the website, usually newer models priced extremely reasonably. These cars are harder to purchase than the normal stock, they require a higher credit score and a much larger down payment (~12% on normal stock and ~30-35% on DriveTime select). They are the bait. Here is my story: I showed up after receiving approval online and asked to look at the GMC Terrain I had seen online. Immediately they redid the credit check and told me I could not purchase the vehicle I had seen online because my credit was not good enough. They instead wanted to sell me a car GMC Terrain that was two model years older and had ~20,000 more miles on it for same price as the original vehicle.
What really upset me was that the initial vehicle I saw online was priced just under the low side of the Kelly Blue book value while the vehicle they wanted to sell my was priced 10-15% higher than its Kelly Blue book value. Classic bait and switch technique, show the people an amazing deal to get them in the door and then get them to buy something of lesser value for the same price to cheat them into thinking they got a great deal. How this is legal I have no idea.
Any time I have dealt with used car financing I have found that a bank is more likely to loan you money for a newer/lower mileage vehicle. Why does DriveTime want you to purchase a older/higher mileage? I believe it is so they can keep the vehicles that bring people in on the lot to use as advertising. I believe their goal is to sell garbage vehicles, like any other "Finance Here" used car lot, but they want you to think they are different. They show you the Kelly Blue book values of vehicles they know they won't sell you so when you come in you buy whatever piece of garbage they put in front of you.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience and I apologize for any frustration that this has caused. At DriveTime, we understand that many consumers are weary about how dealerships price their vehicles, which is why we disclose our prices online and on every vehicle at our dealerships. Pricing and required down payment are populated automatically based off market value and other factors, including but not limited to, mileage and trim. Should you have any further questions regarding our vehicle pricing, I encourage you to reach out to your local DriveTime dealership.
I appreciate you reaching out to us and I apologize that we were unable to assist you at this time. Should you offer us the chance in the future, we would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business.Thank You,
I had a nice salesman and already knew what I wanted. Test drove the car. I was given ample time to examine it. It had a maintenance light on and they took care of it right away. Overall great experience.
I honestly, didn't know what to expect when I was coming into your location to look at cars. Although, I was approved online, I figured my credit or something would still stand in the way, even if I had the money and the income. I really want to highlight how Renee ** and Jim ** took all of that pressure and doubt away and made this an easy and memorable experience. I have done nothing but talk up the service I received and how welcoming they made the environment. While waiting for things to happen there was fun conversation and I will be sure to come back when looking for another car down the road or helping friends find a car for themselves.
Our car rep was amazing. She helped guide us to the perfect vehicle for my family and I. While waiting she even gave my child some snacks to hold her over til we could leave. Chemeka waited patiently for us to be seen to the finish even when it was close to being closed for the day. The price was decent and I would definitely go back and deal with her for our next car.
Despite submitting to the credit application and getting approved and specifics in writing as soon as I went in for a test drive the attitude toward me changed dramatically. Suddenly they had to rerun everything and hit my credit again because they say they have to make sure I am who I say then increased the cost of doing business with them by a lot. I was insulted and the general manager was a used car guy of old, told me they don’t have to honor anything they don’t want to and that’s “just how it is”. A complete bait and switch.
Thank you for providing feedback about your experience. I want to sincerely apologize if clear expectations were not set prior to your visit to our dealership. If a credit inquiry was performed during the pre-approval process, please know that the information pulled with be utilized during dealership visit. At DriveTime we value all feedback, both positive and negative, since we use it to improve our overall customer service experience. Should you have any further questions or feedback, please feel free to contact my Customer Relations team at (888)290-0148.
I just wanted to give a shout out to Nick, Chuck, and Scott. Helped me out SO much when I was getting my new car! The whole team at the Grand Rapids location are all amazing! :) I'm in love with my new Chevy Sonic! :) :)
Jon ** provided a great buying experience and I’m glad to have gotten him as a sales rep as he was knowledgeable, informative, and consultative in his sales approach. He did a great job and I would buy from him again.
Daniel was a really great salesman. The process seemed a little too long. Got the van I wanted and happy with the payments. would recommend to a friend. The down payment was the best part and customer service was extremely professional.
Daniel was absolutely amazing. He had great people skills and was very patient with my kids and friendly. The finance department guy was rude. He took forever to do anything. The total process was about six hours out of my day to get this car. And after we left thinking everything was finished, we were called back because they forgot to have us sign the contract. That was very annoying and inconvenient and I did not want to go back because at this point it was already 9:30 PM and all three of my children were very cranky and ready for bed.
When we came back to sign the contract I told the finance guy that I felt like it was late and my kids had a bedtime. He was very sarcastic and told me how he was jealous that my kids get to sleep because he had been there all day. I told him I felt like I had been here all day too. Then he said that he had been there since 7:30 am and complaining like he didn’t want to be at work. That ruined my experience with DriveTime. I wish I remembered his name but he was the guy with glasses behind the big desk, who helped with credit.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. While I am delighted to hear that Daniel was very helpful, I am saddened to hear that your experience with finance left much to be desired. Please know that we strive to provide a great experience to all of our customers from pre-sale through purchase and into ownership. We appreciate you providing this feedback since it will allow us to review accordingly. Should you have any further feedback or questions, please feel free to reach out to my Customer Relations team at (888)290-0148.
Kaitlyn - Customer Relations
Josh at the Independence location was Great. I will be sending family and friends to ask for him at this location. Josh thank you for all your help in getting me into the car for me and for walking me thru everything and helping me get the payment that was right for my needs.
The place is great. Friendly comfortable environment. Terry and Tim were awesome. I dealt with Terry my first visit but couldn't make a decision on a vehicle. So I wanted to purchase with him when I came back, only then he had a customer so he made sure I was taken care of by one of his Co workers. And still checked on me during the visit. Would totally recommend. DriveTime even served me popcorn lol.