It's one thing to advertise that everyone is approved, it's another thing to mean it. Alex and Collin were very friendly, listened to our needs, and helped us find the perfect van. After filling out the paperwork, I was waiting for them to come back and say "sorry", or "we need more money", or "you need a co-signer"... Instead they came back with "You Are Approved!" Friendly staff + Great vehicles + Fair price = Incredible Experience. I will be sending people your way!
I was very, very satisfied with my salesmen Jose **. He made this a very easy buying experience and would come back, and would recommend any of my friends or family to buy a vehicle with DriveTime. The people at this store made this a relief and comfortable situation.
I just purchased a 2015 Chrysler 200 Limited from DriveTime on Tryon in the Charlotte, NC, metro area and although I have purchased many cars over my lifetime, doing business with DriveTime was the best experience I've ever had in purchasing a vehicle. My sales advisor, Brea **, was absolutely on point with her knowledge and helpfulness in getting me into a nice, dependable and most important affordable vehicle without any hassle. I actually applied online before I went to the dealership and was extremely skeptical I was really 'approved' as advised by the DriveTime website but indeed I was approved just like that! I think all dealerships and finance companies should take some notes from DriveTime because DriveTime definitely has their stuff together when it comes to doing what they say they will do. I will recommend anyone I know to DriveTime!
Everyone took very good care of me. They checked to make sure my car was in good condition. When I first went in they asked me a series of questions to make sure I get the right car and I got the car that I wanted. The car don't have a door device to unlock the door but they ordered one and paid for it. The car is in good condition with low miles. Gerald, Vanessa, and Brittany were very nice and professional and they took care of me. I'm sending all my friends to DriveTime.
The vehicle I'm purchasing was not tuned or washed very well but everything else was great especially the customer service. They make you feel confident that you can get the vehicle you're looking for in a timely manner and a small amount of money in pocket.
How do I know I can trust these reviews about DriveTime?
- 607,960 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
- We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
- We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
- Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.
Our experience at DriveTime in Downey was an unexpected relief. Our sales associate, Carlos, was very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. He made our buying experience worry-free. Once we picked out our car, the process was lengthy but we noticed the whole team was on board and very thorough so we didn't mind. From Carlos to Richard, Jessica, and their manager Alex, precision was a common trait. One final point is that the numbers process is straightforward and easy to understand. They also make it easy to pay off without penalties and give up to 60 day after purchase to add onto your down payment which lowers your payment. For second chance, hard to finance auto loans, I wouldn't consider buying anywhere else. Thanks team!!
My experience at DriveTime was awesome. My wife was able to locate a vehicle that she liked at a price she could afford. The staff was very polite, knowledge and extremely helpful. Special thanks to Maura, Rami and Lydia for all of their help!
My sales Rep Johnathan was very helpful and show me a lot of vehicles in my price range and didn't push me by selling but building a relationship and getting to know each other. The GM Erika ** was there for me and very workable on everything.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sincerely sorry that you are dissatisfied with DriveTime and your vehicle. I want to assure you that we strive to provide only reliable and affordable transportation options for our customers. To help demonstrate this, we provide our customers with an Experian AutoCheck Report at the time of sale. The report is generated by Experian, which is one of the three major credit bureaus and a trusted source; the document details the reported history of the vehicle. This information includes history reported to government agencies and other independent sources. Experian AutoCheck helps protect from any state title brands and also provides a vehicle buy-back program, which is detailed in the vehicle history report. As DriveTime does not sell any vehicles with salvaged titles, we utilize this vehicle history report to ensure that we are able to substantiate our claims. If any pertinent history is not reported, then we would be unable to utilize this information. We would not want to speculate as to what may have happened with the vehicle.
I definitely want to look into your situation further to get to the bottom of your concerns. I also want to see what assistance I may be able to provide. Should you have any further questions, please contact my department, Customer Relations, at 888-290-0148.Thank you for your time and patience on this matter,
Andrew – Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 13, 2016
I had no initial issue with DriveTime, until I took my car to another dealership to trade it in and they said they could not accept my car as a trade due to the fact it shows a my car reported as a total loss. I also still have a copy of my original paperwork where I was never disclosed this information. When I called DriveTime to discuss the problem I was having it was turned into "Well it's your problem now." I was very shocked they were not willing to do anything for me at all and I have paid religiously for 3 years...I continued doing research on my car and have finally got to the bottom of it and it truly is a total loss vehicle a salvage title. Then a title that has been washed. I can not sell trade or do anything with my car and DriveTime does not want to accept responsibility. Now that I know my car is a total loss 100% I guess I'll have to go the route I did not want to go and acquire an attorney to resolve my case.
My experience at DriveTime was more than amazing. Sales rep Lakeisha was very professional and I would recommend anyone to her. Everything she said she would do she did. This was the best experience I've had with any car dealership.
Glen Burnie, MD DriveTime you are amazing. Esther and Carlo you two are simple a joy to work with. I knew of DriveTime when I was in the Atlanta area over 11 years ago and I had a great experience there. I never knew they had one here in Maryland. I am so happy that I decided to go with DriveTime this time around to get another used car. The experience was great. There was no long, drawn-out process (well because I already came prepared for what I wanted). The paperwork process was simple and ready to click at ease. Thank you again for the great car buying experience and I will truly recommend the Glen Burnie, MD location anytime. Thanks.
I would like to first thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing any repair concerns with your vehicle. Please know that it is our goal to provide only reliable and affordable transportation to our customers. To help demonstrate this, all of our vehicles are subjected to inspection; at our inspection centers, certified mechanics ensure that the vehicle meets or exceeds national highway safety standards. In addition to these inspections, all DriveTime vehicles come with a 30 day/1,500 mile limited warranty. Our finance customers are also given the option to purchase extended coverage for further peace of mind.
I completely understand how frustrating it can be when there are any repair concerns with your vehicle. For reasons such as this, my department, Customer Relations, is in place. Customer Relations takes all of the provided information and we review for any possible assistance; we also want to ensure that all possible assistance options are thoroughly explored. I see that you have been working with my department to resolve your concerns. I encourage you to continue to work with us so that we may come to an amicable resolution.
Thank you again for your time and patience on this matter. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.Thank you,
Andrew – Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 12, 2016
Just purchased a 2008 Ford Edge on Sept. 28. Two days driving the vehicle I experienced problems with the truck shuddering. Averex (warranty company) informed me to take it to Pep Boyz (no help) and then they referred me to Meineke (worst mistake). To make a long short Meineke was approved by Averex to make all these repairs (replacing transmission, axle, etc.) Weeks and weeks of taking the truck back and forth to Meineke for make the repairs costed me towing fees and rental car fees. I informed DriveTime (Norcross) of the major issues I was having with the truck within the first week and still having major issues now. The truck is not safe or drivable. I AM NOT HAPPY AT THIS SITUATION AT ALL. And now I'm get calls from the finance company because I'm a week late of paying the truck note because of having to rent a car.
Just bought our car this week. Overall it was a great experience!! Kay ** was our sales rep. She did a fine job and was easy to work with. We are people with poor credit so our choices were limited in what we could buy. Hopefully this loan will help us get back on the right track. Thanks.
I had a great car buying experience last Friday afternoon at DriveTime. I was offered very knowledgeable assistant from the whole staff that was working that day and have already shared that information with some fellow coworkers.
Overall my experience with Danielle ** and Drivetime was a positive one. Danielle and the rest of the staff worked with me every step of the way and even assisted with the few hiccups we encountered. They made the car buying experience as painless as possible and I have no complaints.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While I am glad to hear that the staff at the dealership was friendly and provided great service, I am very sorry to hear of the running light concern you mentioned. Here at DriveTime, it is our goal to ensure that every customer is completely satisfied with their chosen vehicle. Please know that it is my goal to try and turn this around for you.
Prior to sale, every DriveTime vehicle must undergo and pass a multi-point inspection to ensure that it meets our stringent standards. If our mechanics find any failed components, these issues are properly addressed. However, as with any pre-owned vehicle, we have no way to foresee if or when future issues may arise. For this reason, every vehicle comes with a complimentary 1,500 mile/30-day limited warranty, as well as the option to purchase an extended warranty for further coverage.
As the warranties offered are limited in nature, not every repair component will be covered. My department, Customer Relations, is put in place to review situations where there are non-covered components to see what assistance we can provide. To best address your concerns, I will be reaching out to you in the next 24-48 business hours. If you are in need of immediate assistance, please feel free to contact Customer Relations at 888-290-0148 and a member of our team would be happy to assist.
Thank you and I look forward to bringing resolution to your concerns.
Tyler – Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 10, 2016
Service was great. Everyone was friendly. Process was quick and easy. Would have given a 5 star if the dealership would have changed out my daytime running light. Purchased the car 10/7. 10/8 we noticed the light would not turn on. Dealership says I signed off that everything was working and they will not cover it. Sent me to their warranty dept who also said they do not cover lighting. The daytime running light is not something that is noticeable midday in full sun with no cloud cover. The cost of the light starts at $80. Very frustrating that the dealership will not take care of the replacement.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and explain the overall experience you have encountered with DriveTime. I am deeply sorry for your situation as you have described it but I am confident that we can find a resolution for the matter at hand.
I see you have recently been in contact with my department, Customer Relations, regarding your concerns and we are currently looking into options available to best assist. Please know it is the purpose of my department to provide exceptional support when unique, extenuating circumstances arise. Should you have any questions or be in need of an update on our review, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 888-290-0148. I can assure you that, with my department, you are in good hands, and we will see to it that this matter is resolved amicably.
Thank you for your time and patience, we appreciate the opportunity to work with you.Sincerely,
Natalie - Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 10, 2016
I went to the Parma, Ohio DriveTime and was told by Eric, the salesman, that I could only lease to own and only this 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. They took my 1100 dollar down payment on May 7, 2016 and I drove off. Come to find out this was my tenant's car, which had been repossessed. It was dirty with her kids' gum, hair beads and school work in it. I was given only a valet key as the tenant did not surrender the key. The alarm would go off every time I tried to get in the car. I did not drive the car very much.
On September 5, I had only put 400 local miles on it shopping. I drove the car some hours away on September 5th and noticed it was "floating" across the road when I hit different pavement. When I drove it to the next state (only 601 miles later), the car violently forced me into the next lane over and I almost had a serious wreck. I called Aeverex, the warranty company, and they told me to take it to Pep Boys. As soon as I could work it into my schedule to perhaps be without a car, I did just that.
The mileage on October 4th was only 823 miles. Pep Boys told me that my rear tires were worn down to the core on the inside, that they had previously been on the front of the vehicle and that the front tie rod was broken. This explains the violent lane switch in which I almost lost my life. Pep Boys said that the tires had never been rotated, but merely switched front to back and turned the other way around. DriveTime touts its multi-point inspection of cars prior to selling them or leasing them, but in this case, they repossessed a car and IMMEDIATELY released it to me with NO inspection as well as no working key or a detailing. The car almost killed me. I cannot drive to my job safely now.
I took the car into another DriveTime closer to where I am now. I was told by the general manager that he would help me through this process. He called Pep Boys and told them to put in a request for a repair. They did that. He said that after the warranty company, Aeverex, denies the claim, he would try to "massage" the situation. He told me to call him on the 6th, whether I had heard from DriveTime or not. They told him it would be 24 to 48 hours for them to contact me (on the 4th of October). I called Jaison **, the GM as he requested and left 2 messages. I was assured that he would call me back by the end of the business day. He did not. He was off on Friday and Saturday and the dealership was closed on Sunday.
Today is Columbus Day, the 10th of October. I called and spoke with Jaison. He called Bridgecrest, the leasing company and they told him it would be 24-48 hours before I heard from them, which is what we were told almost a week ago. Jaison suggested that I call them myself. I did. They said that they were waiting for a call from Jaison. I was incredulous, asking how could they be waiting for a call from Jaison, when Jaison had told me he had spoken to them, basically gotten nowhere and suggested that I call them?
Bridgecrest said that they didn't know if Jaison had told me this or not, but he was supposed to send them an email and ask Pep Boys to request a repair. I told Bridgecrest that that had been done. Bridgecrest admitted that it had been done. They said that the claim was being looked at and it would take 24-48 hours for them to get back in touch with me. I told them that that was what they said almost a week ago. I called Jaison back and was told something very different from what he told me when I originally went in on October 4th. He backtracked on his promise to help me with this situation and denied ever saying that he would either help or get me into a new lease.
I am leasing to own a broken down DANGEROUS (not only to me but to others on the road) vehicle that was repossessed and thrown back on a customer without so much as an auto detailing or a working key, not to mention an inspection that would have revealed that it was and still is mechanically unsound. This vehicle was forced on me by Eric, the salesman at Parma DriveTime. The tires, worn to the core, were purposely switched front to back and turned around to HIDE the broken tie rod. I almost lost my life.
Take any car DriveTime wants to sell or lease to you to your own mechanic prior to your signing of a purchase or lease agreement. This is inexcusable. I am out an 1100 dollar down payment and biweekly payments (which are higher than it would cost me to rent a NEW car) since the end of May. I am caught up on my payments, the car is fully insured. BTW, Jaison told me that they are doing away with their leasing program at DriveTime. I imagine because it is because they have been leasing mechanically unsound vehicles to the unsuspecting public and the program has been a failure. I cannot drive to and from work without worrying about a blowout on the tires worn to the core or the tie rod failing completely and killing me.
As I advised both DriveTime and Bridgecrest, my next payment is not due for a week. The 24-48 hour window falls well within this time frame. We will see how well they do before I go to arbitration as per my contract. This has been the most disgusting experience I have ever had concerning the purchase, rental or leasing of a vehicle in my life. Be forewarned. Take the cars to your own mechanic. It may mean your life or the lives who drive around a DriveTime car.
For the most part it was great... Most everyone was very nice and courteous. The agent we had when we picked up the car was borderline ride. Rarely excused himself when he left the desk and rarely spoke to us. But I will come back at some point.
Everyone at the Dixie Hwy DriveTime was very friendly. Marco was very nice and answered all my questions. DriveTime was very neat, clean. They gave us bottled water while we was looking at SUV's. I found the perfect one at a very good price. If you are looking for a great used vehicle, this is the place to go. Thank you to all the employees at DriveTime at the Dixie Hwy in Louisville, Ky.
I had an awesome experience buying the car that I did. The car itself is immaculate. No dings, dents and the interior is flawless. The personnel were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and made sure the car was in perfect running condition before I left!!! I will definitely buy from them again.
Went in looking for a lease, saw a car I always wanted. Test drove it. Loved it. Was told that a leases might not help my credit score, so I bought it. The whole staff was helpful and easy to talk to.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. . I apologize about any frustration or dissatisfaction you have experienced during this time. I want to assure you that it is our goal to provide reliable and affordable transportation options for all customers. To demonstrate this, we subject all vehicle to multi-point inspections. At our inspection centers, our certified mechanics ensure that the vehicle meets or exceeds national highway safety standards. In addition to these inspections, all DriveTime vehicles come with a 30 day/1,500 mile limited warranty, with finance customers having the option to purchase extended coverage for further peace of mind.
I definitely understand that it can be quite frustrating when any repair concerns arise on your vehicle, especially if they are not covered under the umbrella of the warranty. My department, Customer Relations, is in place for situations such as this one. We review all provided information to see if there is any possible further assistance. We also want to ensure that all possible assistance options have been thoroughly explored. I see that you have been working with my department recently, and I encourage you to continue to work with us so that we may reach an amicable resolution.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us, we are here to help.Thank you for your time,
Andrew – Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 8, 2016
I purchased a vehicle on September 10, 2016. I had to take my 2008 Nissan Rogue to a dealership the next weekend. $1,200 of repairs were done. And I still had problems. Two weeks later took it back for repairs over $2,500. I'm still having problems with my vehicle. Customer relations and Averex are giving me problems. I wouldn't recommend anyone to go to them. Very very bad customer service. The vehicles are not thoroughly inspected before they leave the lot.
Resolution response: Oct. 16, 2016
Today is a different day. After speaking to the right people who sincerely cared about the customer I am exceedingly satisfied. Not only was my problem resolved, I got the best car on the lot. With all the works. DriveTime Upper Management took care of all my needs concerning the vehicle that had the check engine light on. I got a newer car, fewer miles and all the accessories and more that were in the previous vehicle. Wow, it's definitely a little taste of Heaven.
Thank you for reaching out to us. While I am happy to hear that you received excellent customer service while at the DriveTime dealership, I am very sorry to hear of the mechanical concerns with your vehicle. I would like to also apologize for the way in which the license plate issue was handled by the dealership. Here at DriveTime, it is our goal to provide our customers with the highest level of service possible with every interaction. I will be reviewing this matter further to ensure that we continue to uphold the high customer service standards we strive for.
Regarding the mechanical concerns with your vehicle, I can assure you that before we offer a vehicle for sale, it undergoes a thorough multi-point inspection at one of our DriveTime Inspection Centers. If our certified mechanics find any failed components, these concerns are properly addressed. However, as with any new or pre-owned vehicle, we have no way to foresee if or when future issues may arise. For this reason, every DriveTime vehicle comes with a complimentary 1,500 mile/30 day limited warranty, as well as the option to purchase an extended warranty for further coverage.
From time to time, we understand that situations may arise that require further closer review. My department, Customer Relations, exists to review situations such as these and provide options of assistance. I see that you have been in contact with my department regarding this matter, and it is my understanding that we are working towards an amicable resolution to your concerns. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact Customer Relations at 888-290-0148; we are here to help in any way we can.
Thank you for your time and I hope you have a great day.Respectfully,
Tyler – Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 7, 2016
My experience at the DriveTime location was phenomenal. Excellent customer service at the location. The problem occurred after purchasing the vehicle. After having it less than 24 hours the check engine light came on so you could imagine my concern. It actually happened driving the car back to San Diego. The next morning I contacted DriveTime to express my concern and that's when it became a frustrating experience. Because unknown to me, one of the sales people had left a license plate in the car that belong to another vehicle. Instead of having concern for me their only concern was to get that license plate back to their office. And here I am stuck with a car I just purchased which I had less than 24 hours with a check engine light on.
They did refer me to another program because it was under the 30-day warranty but no one wanted to talk to me about the check engine light or if this car was going to break down after the 30 days and it becoming my problem. The major concern with this license plate that they wanted back in their office. After taking the car to get checked at the Pep Boys they referred me to the cost was $590 which of course they paid because of the warranty.
Now I'm thinking what's going to happen after the 30 days. They didn't tell me to bring the car back and let's look at another car, they didn't tell me that they would extend the warranty past 30 days, all they said was "well after the 30 days we have no responsibility." Bad business and I'm looking for some resolve. I am contacting higher-ups to see if I can get some resolved at that level 50.
Good afternoon Justin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and let us know about your experience thus far. Please know that experiencing vehicle concerns so shortly after purchase is not typical for our vehicles, and it is something we want to be made aware of in order to provide the proper assistance. We take many precautions pre-sale, such as a multi-point inspection and numerous test-drives, to guarantee the quality of our vehicles. Even so, we will never be able to account for the possibility of future concerns arising, nor will we be able to predict when they may occur. For that reason, every vehicle is supplied with a limited warranty, and our purchase customers have the option to purchase extended coverage at the time of sale.
I am sincerely sorry to hear that after encountering vehicle concerns you did not feel you were provided with the adequate support, especially so soon after purchase. We never want our customers to feel that we are unavailable to provide assistance after sale, as we strive for the contrary. My department, Customer Relations, exists to review customer concerns on a case-by-case basis to best assist our customers whenever the need arises.
I would like to reach out to you within the next 24-48 business hours, to make sure that any questions or concerns that may remain are properly addressed. If you are in need of immediate assistance, please feel free to contact us at 888-290-0148 and we would be happy to assist.
I sincerely appreciate your time and feedback, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.Thank you,
Natalie - Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 6, 2016
Bought vehicle on Thursday. Broke down, wouldn't start on Saturday and Monday, called warranty company, called DriveTime. Everyone acted like I was putting them out. Would probably never recommend and never purchase there again. Worse experience ever.
Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience at our dealership. I'm sincerely sorry to hear of the treatment you received and how you felt following your visit with us. Please know this is not in our standard of service, and we never want our customers to walk away feeling the way you do now. I will be sure to reach out to the dealership and notify the appropriate parties to ensure instances such as these do not occur in the future.
Regarding what you stated about misleading information provided to you prior to sale, this is something we take very seriously, and will be looking into further. To ensure we maintain full transparency, and keep our customers aware of what they will be investing, we list all of our haggle free prices online and on every vehicle for sale at our dealerships. In addition, on the first page of every contract we include a detailed breakdown of the price and the finance terms of their loan. Prior to sale, we will review this breakdown, called the Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure, to ensure our customer is fully comfortable with the terms prior to completing the sale. If at anytime, the cost or terms are not satisfactory for our customer, we encourage them to discontinue the sale.
In addition, as we understand that purchasing a vehicle is a major decision, we provide a Vehicle Return Program with every finance vehicle. This program allows our customers to return the vehicle for any reason, and cancel their contract, within 5 calendar days, or 300 miles, from the point of purchase.
I am greatly sorry for the upset your visit with us caused. We know that there are many other choices for purchasing a vehicle, and we are happy you came to DriveTime. We know that our customers are the most important part of DriveTime and want them to feel valued in every interaction with us. I hope that moving forward we can provide you with nothing less than the five-star experience you deserve. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact my department, Customer Relations, at 888-290-0148 and we would be happy to assist.
Thank you again for your time, I hope you have a wonderful day!Respectfully,
Natalie - Customer Relations
Original review: Oct. 6, 2016
I will not sugarcoat the rudeness of the staff at this DriveTime location. First of all, the sales woman lied to us both about the costs for the extra services. Second of all, the woman told us to get up from the desk that we were sitting at and move to another area so that she would take care of other customers that were more important than us. This is really RUDE and NASTY. I will never recommend DriveTime to anybody ever because I am very sorry that I went there myself. I purchased an Acura TL for my husband that he really wants to drive. I only bought the vehicle because of my husband's strong desire for it--otherwise, I would have walked out of the dealership with no vehicle whatsoever.
Thank you DriveTime for working with me to get me into a vehicle that I really needed. The salesman Michael ** and the finance team went to bat for me and my family, they did a wonderful job!!!
I was really thankful for the service I got on the internet and at the DriveTime dealership. Shannon is the person who helped me with everything when I was in search for a car and I was really grateful for the service she helped me with and I will recommend DriveTime dealership to anybody I know that DriveTime is the place to go when you need a car. The person to talk to that I recommend is Shannon. She is so nice and she helps you with all you need and explains everything when you need or don't understand something. She will help you with all you need help with and I hope everybody should go to DriveTime for a car and I'm thankful for everything they helped me with.
I went in with the hopes of getting a decent vehicle and I got a car that exceeded my expectations. Thank you Mr. ** and DriveTime for getting me into the wheels that I desperately needed.
DriveTime Company Profile
- Company Name:
- Company Type:
- Year Founded:
- 1720 West Rio Salado
- Postal Code:
- United States