PODS, or Portable On Demand Storage, helps customers with local, long-distance, residential, business, military and government moves. The company offers moving and storage services across 44 states, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. Since it started in 1998, PODS has completed over 5 million deliveries. There are over 220,000 PODS containers in service, according to the company.
Find Moving Companies near you
Overall Satisfaction Rating
- 5 stars
- 4 stars
- 3 stars
- 2 stars
- 1 stars
- Flexible storage rentals
- Affordable options
- No driving required
- No packing or loading services
- Unavailable in some states
PODS is a good option if you're budget-conscious and don't want to transport your things yourself. Some long-distance moves can get pricey, but reviews consistently praise the company's convenience.
A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.
- 4,214,258 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
- We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
- We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
- Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.
I ordered my POD during the black Friday promo. I explained to guy how big my house was and he recommended we get the 16 foot pod. I had a 8 foot pod on standby because I didn't think that the 16 would be big enough even though he told me it would. Guess what the 16 wasn't big enough and the 8 wasn't either. When I asked them to bring me another 16 and trade out the 8 they tried to charge me a ridiculous amount. Meanwhile we are in this situation because the rep assured me I only need 1 16 foo pod. The lies!!!!
We get to California and I order the 16 foot pod. The guy tells me it will 2 weeks for my pod to be delivered. It does not take 2 weeks to get from Alabama to California. Anyway, they called the other day and was like my account was past due. I asked for what? They say they are trying to charge me the storage fee on the 16 foot pod that is on its way over her.
Mind you they want me to pay for a whole 30 days of storage for something that will only be in the POD for 5 days. I told him that I ordered this POD 2 weeks ago. You guys are the reason why it is still in storage. I said he would escalate my claim and someone would call me back. Guess what no one has called me back. And they still haven't scheduled my delivery either. I will never use this company again. To me I feel like the whole thing is a scam. They 2 weeks to deliver it so they can charge another months of rent. Cause it only took me 3 days to drive over here I know it doesn't take them 2 weeks.
Hi, Nicole! We'd like to connect with you to learn more and address your concerns right away. Can you please email email@example.com with your customer ID?
We scheduled 2 - large pods for at home storage for a one month construction period. We discussed with the person on phone that we had a parking pad at home that would accommodate two 16' pods. We made arrangements to have a moving company to come. The day before the PODS driver shows up drives the 18 wheel truck down our driveway and says he cannot put them on the parking pad. We point out that all trucks that deliver materials for construction park at the street and use the 4 wheel fork loader machine loaded on the back end of truck to place them where they go. He said we did not have room and said that he was leaving without trying. We had to call and rent a storage facility, moving company to take from house to storage since construction crews were scheduled for the next day. These people that work there are awful. His decision to leave us up in air he said was supported by his boss. This company is a NIGHTMARE!!!
Hi, Robert! We recommend our containers be placed on paved surfaces. In order to maneuver your container into place, PODZILLA and our truck will need a total clearance area of 12 feet wide, 15 feet high, and 40 feet long. However, it’s always at the driver’s discretion. We certainly don’t like to see this. If you’d like to chat, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details.
I had to rent a POD under emergency circumstances due to flooding. The POD arrived (driver was very nice and did a great job). 4 days later we hadn't used the POD because we were able to maneuver the furniture into other rooms that would have called for less work. I called to have POD picked up. Spoke to 2 reps. One told me I would be refunded $188.75 for sure and the balance would be under "investigation". I couldn't understand her so I called back after my 30 min call initially. The next rep told me there is no grace period for the first month and I would be charged the $313.17 for the month and another $126.44 to pick up. They couldn't even waiver the pick up charge?
I have used them 3 other times and was planning to use them when I moved to Fla. Where is the courtesy and doing what's right anymore? The POD was never used. But if I went over a few days into the second month, they would waive that monthly charge!? Just another place that doesn't care about their customers. It's all about the old mighty dollar! I will never use them again, Their loss is the competitor's win! $439.61 for 5 days if you counted today the day I call for the pick up. All I got was a "computer response being read". No real customer service. Go elsewhere.
Hi, Karen! We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us a direct message with your customer ID so we can review your account.
PODS rescheduled our pick up without notifying us prior due to “ice,” even though I drove on surface streets and highways and they were completely passable. They emailed us after our pick up window to tell us they were rescheduling. The earliest they could reschedule us gets us our PODS two weeks after their original delivery date. Customer service was awful and said (originally) that they rescheduled the pod pickup because my husband sent them an email request. When I said that wasn’t true, the agent admitted that it was PODS’ decision to cancel the pickup. She was dishonest again and said she could reschedule the pick up for the next day. When I spoke with her supervisor, the supervisor admitted that the first available pick up day was 4 days after the original pick up day—and we would still get our things more than two weeks after our original drop off date.
I asked for a refund and they said the customer service team would reach back out in 7-10 business days (after we would have to be out money for a hotel for the delayed pod arrival). They also said they would upload documentation of the conversation on my online account which they never did. This company is super shady and still comparably priced with other movers. If you can go with another company, I highly recommend it. It will save you many, many headaches and thousands of dollars.
Hi, Susannah! We have been in contact with you regarding these concerns. As we shared, our team is looking into your concerns further and will reach out to discuss. Thank you for your continued patience.
It is going for 3 months now. I have spoken to at least 10 agents or personnel telling my story over and over but I just kept promised my issue will be looked at. Last person I talk to is a customer advocacy specialist that our conversation started Dec. 6 for my pod order of Oct 28, 2022. I was overcharged from what my invoice is. I provided all the documentation I have including all information of charges from my credit card for them to compare. Last I heard from them was Dec. 29, 2022 saying it is being looked at. I keep on asking for status via email and leaving several voicemail but got no response as of this writing (01/19/2023).
We appreciate you reaching out, Prince, and we're disappointed to read you've had this type of experience. We want to be able to have this looked into further so we can clear up any confusion and best assist moving forward. Please email email@example.com with your customer ID.
I was finally able to get through after forcing a customer service agent to put her manager on the line. That manager was helpful and finally was able to get the case owner to update the case and it is now resolved. I updated to 2 stars because this was resolved but the enormous amount of red tape to getting resolution is not good customer service.
Pods should be empowering their employees with a level of fiduciary responsibility. The issue appeared to be that a 1 month fee was too much for them to approve a refund on. Well I would say the level of permission to refund needs to increase if the intent to charge that amount is present. Either lower costs or Raise the permitted level for your employees.
I had 3 pods delivered for a move. After loading them they were stored at a facility and I called pods multiple times to confirm all the proper steps to getting them picked up as to only be charged for 1 month of storage. After $1500 of spend I was very irritated to find that I was charged another $560 for an entire second month of storage. I followed all their steps. They provided me with an incident and I was told over an entire month and multiple calls that they were going to resolve.
I had a case manager and everything and he stopped responding. Each time I called the service number they said they would leave him a message. I would still not get a response and then if I pushed for a manager they would always tell me (3 times) that he would get back within 24 hours and that was the best they could do. He finally returned my email and said he needed 3-5 business days for a resolution. We are on day 8 and still nothing. I called and am right back at the beginning. This is an erroneous charge and is now over 45 days past due for resolution. I am extremely dissatisfied with their service, their hard to navigate departments and their ability to resolve problems within. I would have been better off renting a Uhaul and keeping the truck for 30 days. This supposed low cost solution is a nightmare and I would recommend everyone stay away!
We appreciate you reaching out, Matthew, and we're disappointed to read you've had this type of experience. We want to be able to have this looked into further so we can clear up any confusion and best assist moving forward. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID.
I was quoted $3500 for a move from Cali to Colorado. They just moved my container from a facility to another facility and not to the address I was quoted for. Now they are charging hundreds of dollars more to deliver it to my address. Budget van lines would have done it all to my address for $2000.
Hi, Jelani! We strive to be transparent with our pricing by outlining all charges in your order confirmation. To view that document, please visit MyPODS.com and log in to your account. If you'd like us to help walk you through your order confirmation, please give us a call at (888) 314-5136.
It's been 16 days and still our POD has NOT been delivered, yet, payment in full was received BEFORE scheduling our delivery. Every day we call and are given a different story of why or where our POD is. We are in TX. We were told it was in San Antonio and this is where the original delivery would originate from (2.5 hours from our new home). When that delivery day came and went with no delivery of our POD, we called were told they were "trying to locate our POD." A few days later, we were informed it was located - in Pittsburgh, PA! Finally, we were told it would be delivered last night. This morning, NOTHING.
We called, again and were told they could not "find our street." There was no phone call from the driver. We were then asked by PODS customer service to send us a "Pin Drop" in an email to them. A simple Google search of our address would have given both their driver and customer service the exact location. We then sent the email, called PODS Customer Service and told "it takes about an hour for emails to come through" so they STILL could not confirm if there would be a delivery. We were also told we would get a credit, but that has also been MIA... Maybe it's with our POD.
Hi, Peggy. We have been in contact with you regarding these concerns. As we shared, our team is looking into your concerns further and will reach out to discuss. Thank you for your continued patience.
I have moved across the country multiple times and PODS is by far the worst provider. Unprofessional, unreliable, and terrible customer service. They tried to cancel on us the day of our cross country move with no apology (the hour before they were scheduled to arrive and we'd already paid). They made multiple scheduling errors. Their customer service representative used the word "retarded" in a joking manner to describe the demeanor of how he was talking. We received expensive citations from the city when we were assured that they would handle all permits. Their drivers are rude, rough, and treat you awful. Our driver had a delayed drop off and told us we had 30 days (from that day) to schedule a pickup. 2 weeks later we were charged an additional month of container rental and customer service said the driver was wrong and offered no solution and left me (the customer) with the short end of the stick. So awful!
Don't even bother trying to file a complaint or claim, they make you jump through hoops to file the report and then auto-respond with a generic script via email that doesn't address any of your unique complaints and states they're not responsible. Harry ** is particularly terrible, he completely ignored my concerns and would not address the use of their team's offensive language (even after sharing that my brother has down syndrome). RUN! DO NOT USE PODS!
We can understand how you're feeling and would like to research this further, Ashley. Can you please email email@example.com with your customer ID?
From the beginning it was a complete mess. I called and spoke to a representative, described my items how much I had, he booked too small of a pod. The day before my move, the pod got delivered, and I knew there was no way my items would fit, I called to get a bigger pod delivered right away, the one I thought was booked, not the one the representative booked wrong. They came and switched out the pods, brought the correct size. I called twice and spoke to the person who brought the new one to confirm everything was updated in their system, was told by 3 different people yes, not to worry. I was then charged for the small pod, including all shipping costs and fees as well as the large one, all shipping costs and fees. I was charged close to $6000 for something that should have been a fraction of that. I called and created a complaint, and never heard anything. I’ve called dozens of times, nothing.
The original delivery date I got was Oct 11th, the day before I received a call saying my pod was still sitting in California, due to a technical error, it never left California. So it would be another 2 weeks before it got to my new home. I was 7.5 months pregnant at the time. They told me to keep my receipts, due to all the costs incurred by their errors, and I would hear from someone. I told them I couldn’t sleep on the floor at almost 8 months pregnant, and I needed to prepare the baby’s room, and I’m a single mom, so was doing all of this alone. They created another file. I got an initial email from a James **, I have emailed and called him countless times with no response. Then they had the audacity of charging me a $169 rescheduled delivery fee for the delivery that THEY rescheduled due to their “technical error”.
I called and spoke to a representative. They promised that that would be refunded due to it being their system that caused the reschedule, it was not requested from my end. Again, that never happened. I received another invoice from one of their representatives saying I should have been refunded $359, she had it recorded on her end, my credit card company never received it. Honestly they are shady crooks that have open access to your credit cards and will just keep charging you. Please stay away. It caused me so much stress, that I so so regret ever using them. I wish I just hired a truck and some movers. Never again, and this is a fair warning to whoever reads this.
We appreciate you reaching out, Sarah, and we're disappointed to read you've had this type of experience. We want to be able to have this looked into further so we can clear up any confusion and best assist moving forward. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID.
I have been trying to reach the Service Solution Specialist assigned to my dispute by phone and email for the last ten days. To date, no response. Below is a brief synopsis of my dispute. The below events can be in cooperation with the PODS phone system call log, recorded phone calls, and notes made on my account. On October 26, 2022, I called to make a reservation and was quoted $1079 to move forward with an 8-foot small container from zip codes 20853 to 77471. Upon hearing the quoted amount, I proceeded with the quote and made plans with the representative on dates of when I would like to receive the container and when the container should be picked up, and she told me when it would arrive at 77471, etc. The following is the breakdown I received:
$230 drop-off charge
$696 move charge
$153 pick-up charge (includes the additional lock purchase)
The representative said I would receive a follow-up email about pricing, confirmation, and our agreement. I trusted her; she is the PODS representative, after all. I thought I had a successful call, but from what I know now, it was not. When the drop-off (container) date was approaching, I noticed that I had not received anything from PODS, so I called to confirm the information. They confirmed. Following my first follow-up, I called several times to inquire about the agreement because I had not received anything from PODS. I began to worry as anyone would. Then after the four representatives and the fourth time confirming the information, she asked me to verify my email address, which turned out to be incorrect. I provided her with the correct spelling of it. However, this was AFTER the container was picked up.
So, at this point, I still needed to sign a written agreement and receive a confirmation on pricing. I saw a charge on my debit card on November 24, 2022, for $514.84. Following that charge, I received an email from svcPowerFlowDec stating that my debit card was declined for $2595.32 on several occasions from 12/09/22 - 12/15/22. I understand that I owe $564.16, NOT $2595.32. Why is PODS trying to charge $2595.32? I'm disappointed with how everything has been going with PODS. I reached out to PODS for an easy-moving solution; instead, it has been a nightmare. I want to pay the balance due ($564.16), but I can't until my dispute is resolved.
Hi, Brenda! Thank you for reaching back out to us! We've sent our team a message asking for an update and asked that they contact you as soon as possible to discuss. Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention.
IN brief, stored my personal belongings with POD's. Asked for delivery in Vancouver Washington, arrived timely, on opening the container the stench of Mold was unbearable. The container was soaked in water, wardrobe boxes were collapsing the bottom 8 inches, closed plastic totes with new shoes in boxes, boxes were disintegrated, new shoes in the shoe bags were stuck together and going to three different shoe cobblers are unrepairable, leather jackets, coats, clothes were covered in stinky mold.. PLease, find someone else to move your belongings, so far this week I have spent $800 on cleaning, shoes I have saved to purchase and wear are now garbage, happy to supply pictures and video
Hi, Michael! We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us an email at email@example.com with your customer ID and additional details so we may best assist.
My neighbor use PODS to move, however, their truck ran over my lawn, leaving a long double groove and I filed a claim, only got one email back asking for damage estimate, picture and additional info. I have provided all they are asking for and had followed up with emails, and calls several times to no avail. Over a month pass by, still no response. If you are using PODS, something happened and to make a claim, forget it.... If
Hi, Emily! Thanks for reaching out via email. The team will follow up with you shortly.
This whole process has been a complete headache from start to finish. Moving is already stressful enough, the moving company should not make it harder on you. First, they had the wrong destination address which took me emailing/ calling/chatting to finally get someone to correct it. The POD was delivered and as we go to lock it up the other night the door is defective and you can't lock it up. The whole point of the POD is to have it for an extended length of time so you can pack as you go... I reach out and they tell me they can send someone in two days to take a look at it... Also would only refund me $100 for the inconvenience. I explained that this is really not okay, that is 2 nights that we can't use the pod because I'm not keeping my items in a container that can't be secured.
Next day I go to look and the credit was never issued. I had to again, wait on the phone to be told we will see it on the account in 72 hours... Well why wouldn't someone tell me that in the first place? Lastly, I was told that the repair guy would have an estimated time window on the website the night before he comes. There still is not an estimated time, I just chatted AGAIN and was told between 9:45pm to 1:45pm. I had to take a half day today to stay home for the POD guy and I have yet to hear from him. Just all around frustrated, and if the move wasn't cross country I would have just told them to refund me and pick the stupid thing up.
Hi, Shana! We certainly don’t like to see this. If you’d like to chat, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details.
I recently used Pods for my move from Chicago to San Francisco, to start I want to say that the pricing is very confusing. Secondly, my pods got delayed for a whole week causing me severe monetary losses, this defeats the purpose of buying this service at a higher price instead of the competitor's (the planning and the assurance of security that it will arrive on time.
PODS called me one day before the delivery of the container to the final destination to tell me that I was going to be delayed for a whole week this really screwed us all during thanksgiving week we had to sleep on the floor and cancel our thanksgiving plans (our family was going to fly in). They also told us that a compensation representative was going to reach out to us and nothing happened, I have been calling every 3 days and I get the same response that someone will be reaching out... Please stay away from PODS, it could really mess up your plans!
Armando, our team is looking into your concerns further and will reach out to discuss. Thank you for your continued patience.
One of the worst company on the planet. Zero customer service. No timelines. No clear information to customer. HIGHLY IRRESPONSIBLE. They are very punctual till they pick up stuff from source location. Nightmare starts after that. They will not deliver it. Numerous calls, 3 weeks of wait so far but still we are in total dark on whereabouts of our container and when it will be delivered. My move was from Redmond, WA, USA to Surrey BC, Vancouver. It was less than 200 miles move which involves crossing the border. They picked the loaded container on November 16 and I was promised that it will be shipped from WA on November 22 and till date (December 5) it is still sitting in WA with no information on when it will be shipped and delivered.
Customer service agents have no information and every time we call them we are told it will take 2 - 4 weeks. We are undergoing tremendous mental and economic hardship due to this huge delay of service and there is no light in sight on when we will get our stuff. My order# is **. I sincerely request all higher authorities in PODS to look into this matter at the earliest and pay your top attention and help me get my stuff back.
Hi, Shyam! We'd like to connect with you to learn more and address your concerns right away. Can you please email email@example.com with your customer ID?
After emailing the issues to firstname.lastname@example.org, Matthew had refunded me back $699. Thank you Matthew for your help. I'm very satisfied with this resolution.
I had a very stressful experience with PODS and currently disputing the additional charges of $520. This company failed to deliver my furniture scheduled on 10/31/22. I had to wait for a month to get my furniture on 11/30/22 delivered from North Carolina to California. This messed up my plan and causes a lot of inconveniences for me. We needed the furniture to use. I also had to hire people to help me unload the furniture. If only they delivered on the schedule date, I had family members to help me with unloading the furniture for free.
They also changed the same day delivery and pick up date on 11/30/22 of the container of no charge and changed it to be overnight to 12/1/22 without my permission and charged me another storage fee of $259. They did it purposely to either charge me a storage fee of $259 for overnight or additional fee of $699 for the same day delivery and pick up.
I only received this update on 11/29/22 via email one day prior to the scheduled date. This is very upsetting and causes me tremendous stress. However, I was able to get a city permit to have it parked overnight outside on the street since it's not possible to park on the driveway overnight since I lived in an HOA community. They were well aware of my situation and I got a city permit for the container to avoid the fee of $699. However, they still charged me that fee deducting $179 for me which totals to be $520.
I had disputed this charges and emailed Ms. Felicia ** on 12/1/22 yet she never responded back to me. I also message customer support services twice to remove that fee yet they never reply back. I have a pending charge on my credit card of $520. This is unacceptable. This is an unethical business practice and someone needs to put a stop to this big corporation taking advantage of customers. I will never use PODs again and please stay away from them. Horrible experience overall. Poor customer services and very unprofessional and unreliable. If I can give them a zero review. I would.
Hi, Elisa! We'd like to connect with you to learn more and address your concerns right away. Can you please email email@example.com with your customer ID?
My family moved from Illinois to Tennessee and stored 2 pods while finding our new home. We called to have them delivered and gave the new address. The morning of the delivery we were called and told the pods were out of the delivery radius and couldn't be delivered until we paid an additional $1300 to move them from Nashville to Knoxville (they should never have been in Nashville-PODS error). We were told they would refund this charge due to their error. We were also charged an additional fee for storage during this time. It took 3 weeks and 3 tries to get the pods delivered. This was in April/early May. It is now November and I've called 15 times and have NEVER gotten a call back. I'm out over $1800! The BBB couldn't even get in touch with anyone. Great concept but I will never use them again and will have to discourage everyone from it as well. I will keep calling.
Hi, Aimee! We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details so we may best assist.
Updated on 11/23/2022: When you see them respond to a review here DO NOT believe for one second that they intend to solve a problem and come to a resolution. They do that to show you they are doing something, but they are not. They did reply to my original review, but it’s the same old song and dance. I now have a “new” customer advocate who offered to start reviewing my claim. Thanks! You’re going to start all over, that’s the help I do not care for. Sure, waste more of my time and do nothing. I was told I would get someone in a senior position to look into this, I guess that is not happening. They lie and hide behind email. Stay away from them. Save yourself this trouble and find yourself a different way to move. It is not worth it dealing with these unethical people!
Original Review: These are the most unethical people to work with. And good luck trying to communicate with them. They hide behind an AI system that guarantees you will get no human, only a voicemail that will never be returned or a standardized email response. Here is my story: I had called PODS May 12th, and spoke with “Samantha” to schedule the re-delivery of the POD containing all my possessions for May 31st. This was a recorded conversation. For some reason she never scheduled the re-deliver. She did however discuss with me the six days of transit time needed and that is how we chose the day after Memorial Day. I had hired Movers to assist the unloading of the POD, and I had booked non-refundable flights to and from Florida.
At the Airport Friday, May 27th, where the PODS website still shows my re-delivery for June 6th I am able to reach a Supervisor at PODS by the name of “Chris”. After explaining my dilemma, he is determined to help me. He puts me on hold, then comes back on the line to tell me he is unable to change the date of the delivery from June 6th. When I tell him I am returning to New York June 6th, he says “I listened to the recording of the conversation you had with Samantha and I cannot explain why it was never scheduled”, at that point he says, the best he can do is offer me a refund. I told him I did not want a refund, I wanted my belongings.
I am on my way to Florida with no hope of getting my POD delivered before I return to New York. After many more attempts to get the date changed, I am assigned a “Customer Resolution Specialist”, her name is Lindsey **. She is not reachable but she does send out formatted template response email. I have given her all this information and every response I get is we are going to “investigate” your claim. On June 8th I again explain to her that everything she needs for her investigation is located on the recording of the conversation with “Samantha” on May 12th and with “Chris” on May 27th. On June 21st, Lindsey informs me she has still not completed the review and investigation. On August 19th I send her an email explaining that it has been 2 months. I get an automated reply she is out of the office and she will get back to me when she returns August 22nd. She never does get back to me.
After calling PODS to follow up, the representative tells me Lindsey did not get back to me because she did not know she was supposed to. The FBI solves murders faster than Lindsey listens to two recordings. I then tell the representative that this is unacceptable and I need to speak with Lindsey’s Manager. He tells me he can send her manager an email but I cannot speak with her. That afternoon September 26th, Lindsey sends me the exact same form letter she sent me in June, asking for the same information I have already provided her. It has become obvious that PODS has no intention of doing anything to resolve this. Since I have suffered this experience I hope you do not have to.
Thanks for reaching out, David. We'll follow up with you shortly.
The services provided were not adequately explained. Apparently each location is franchised and fees add up with multiple transports. Additionally, although our location was listed on the website, the local franchise did not want to deliver there. I was told I would have to pick it up at their warehouse. Pods main office intervened and the CSR was very helpful. I still incurred an extra charge to get the pods to our front door. All in all PODS seems great for local moves and storage but for the cost and aggravation of moving long distance with them I could have thrown out all our furniture and bought new.
Update: Both Pods have been gone for a month now, since the end of Sept. I was charged another rental fee for Oct so I called and complained. That was taken care of but I was then charged again for Nov. I called Pods and they corrected the charge a week later. Talk about not adhering to a contract!!! An apology would be appreciated. I am surprised they didn't charge me to correct their errors.
Hi, Michael. We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us an email at email@example.com with your customer ID and additional details so we may best assist.
Used Pods for a move - not only did they change my order without my permission (changed my delivery date & added storage fees for 3 days) but when they picked up the POD they charge $400 instead $183 and will not refund me. The Pod went to a nearby location but they charged me as though it was returned 100 miles away. Never again. Terrible customer service.
Hi, David! We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details so we may best assist.
We are now almost 3 months into resolving damage done to our property by PODS. The special vehicle that transports the container to its final location left multiple large oil stains on the driveway of our new home in early August 2022. After the stains did not disappear, a few weeks later we contacted PODS and were told to detail the damage and send photos, which we did in a timely manner. This is when the process slowed down. We were almost ignored and had to contact the company multiple times to get a response.
This is how PODS responded after multiple attempts to resolve the matter. "Thank you for your patience in this matter. In regards to providing a resolution, we will need two formal estimates. We cannot just refund a portion of the cost paid for the service to resolve this matter". I had previously responded that "We do not know who to contact to address oil stains on our driveway let alone get two estimates." I did provide estimates of what it might cost to reseal the driveway or where a service call usually starts.
Why are they leaving this in the hands of a paying customer to fix this? At this point we have lost several hours of our time after paying $2,000 to transport one container 90 miles and store it for a few weeks. PODS failed to properly maintain its equipment, has underspent on its customer service dept. and we believe we should be compensated for the damage and our time lost. Overall, we are really disappointed with the PODS experience and they need to do better on multiple fronts. It would also be nice for them to do the right thing and get back to us so we can settle the matter.
Hi, Lauren! We'd like to connect with you to learn more and address your concerns right away. Can you please email email@example.com with your customer ID?
PCS move & needed weight tickets…in JAN 22!! This is NOV, after dozens of calls & emails, still have NO weight tickets that TMO will accept. Had 5 containers, got 3 crappy copies (blown out of proportion, weights unreadable, no name, address, container #, etc.) & now we are out over $10,000. AVOID USING THEM. Just needed clear, readable copies of empty & full weight tix for the 5 containers. NO ONE at the company will do anything to make this happen. Lost track of how many reps have tried, and failed, to help us get copies of something that we paid for ($64.99 for EACH container!). DO NOT USE. Also, quoted a price, then had the original order deleted & re-entered with different prices when we rescheduled the drop off & pickup dates. No help to military members; don’t believe the hype. Reps are nice, but not a good company.
Hi, there! We'd like to connect with you to learn more and address your concerns right away. Can you please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID?
They admitted they made a mistake, confirmed as they tape all calls but refused to take responsibility and then overcharged us with no compensation. After over 20 hours of waiting and discussing with their service reps they closed the complaints and never contacted me at any time to discuss. Do not use this business to move anything with.
Hi, James! Thanks for reaching out. We're here to help! The team will follow up with you via email shortly.
This company's customer service has been the worst I have ever experience in my life. I have an incident # that has been open for over 2 months and costing me over $30,000 dollars. Each week the answer is "we'll elevate it, please allow another 48-72 hours for resolution". All I need is an empty weight ticket in order to receive compensation from my move. My assigned "Customer Resolution Specialist" has never once answered her phone or responded to my messages, even when her other colleague specialists are on hold along with me; yet they will not reassignment my case or resolve it themselves. I'm not sure my 1 star will significantly affect their already 1.2 stars. It would be helpful if 0 was an option. Beware.
Katie, we're disappointed to read you've had this type of experience. We want to be able to have this looked into further. Please email email@example.com with your customer ID so we may best assist.
“Climate Controlled” + “Content Protection” = Loss of over $50,000 and NO HELP, NO RESOLUTION. We paid nearly $20,000 to PODS to transport and store 4 large PODS of all of our belongings for a move from Indiana to Georgia and a 9-month house hunt. We believed our belongings were in a “Climate Controlled” PODS facility and we paid for “Content Protection”. 2 of our 4 PODS arrived with ALL of our belongings covered in mold. One moving company refused to touch the items and left. Once the PODS were emptied, PODS said we had to keep all of our belongings while they investigated our claim. They said it would be 30 days or less. Over 90 days later they said $0 recovery.
That’s not all. We unloaded all of the molded items ON TIME and they refused to come pick up the empty PODS on July 21st. After hours of calling and my “locked and error-ridden” account, I finally got through to a rep that scheduled it for an AUGUST 11th pick-up! Now PODS is constantly harassing me to pay over $1600 for the “extra time” the PODS were on my property! This is a complete nightmare. I’ve called and emailed for 4 months. It has consumed my daily schedule. I reported this to the BBB, the response from PODS is that they will look into it. I went to Twitter, again looking into it. Saw this site and thought I’d try to report it here as well. Legal advice and action seems to be my only option.
Unfortunately, we can’t control the insurance company's policies, and we can’t negotiate with them in regards to what claims are approved or denied. We suggest reaching to your point of contact at UNIRISC so they may best assist. You can do this by replying to the last email received or by giving them a call at (407) 228-2026.
Impossible to communicate with directly. Pay as you receive invoices, do not autopay with a credit card. I was charged for storage on containers that they were late picking up. Had to repeat calls to get refunds on incorrect billing. Lame excuses for their inability to perform as promised, broken forklifts, broken trucks, agents making incorrect statements.
We’re disappointed to hear that your recent experience with us hasn’t provided the level of service we strive to meet, Russell. If you’d like to chat, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details.
Driver knocked down tree. Pods has taken no responsibility. Has left removal to me (70 y/o woman and my 92 y/o mother). Contacted immediately without resolve. No answers from management. $200 for chainsaw they said to get and almost cut off my leg. They do not care.
Hi, Janet. We have been in contact with you regarding these concerns. As we shared, our team is looking into your concerns further and will reach out to discuss. Thank you for your continued patience.
PLEASE AVOID USING THEM!!!! If possible I would give negative stars, absolutely horrible company! The company, their drivers, and especially their customer service are full of incompetent and disrespectful people who refuse to provide the services they apparently offer. The company did not deliver my PODs container to my house because the driver didn't want to. He claimed he couldn't make it down my street, but 2 weeks later a different container was delivered three doors down from me on my street!
I have had two incidents opened with this company and each time they confirm that it has been opened for my full complaint, but 100 days later I find out they opened both for a small fraction of what I asked. After 100 days of "investigation and review," they have come back to me with a false narrative of what happened and are claiming I decided willingly to not have them deliver the container to my house and I wanted to go to their storage facility for pick-up. Why would I pay them $2,900+ if I wanted to move the items to my doorstep myself?! Lies! This company is full of lying and incompetence.
Hi, Mike! We’re disappointed to see this. We encourage you to send us an email at email@example.com with your customer ID and additional details so we may best assist.
When I originally set up my move with PODS, I asked them if the PODS were stored in a climate-controlled environment as we live in Florida and I was told yes. Once the PODS were delivered we decided to call and verify one more time the place they would be stored and if it was climate controlled. We were told it was controlled and after a few more questions the customer service rep we were on the phone said well, there is no Air Condition but there was heat and then added it was element controlled also.
We were confused about that but began to say that was an issue. Hours on the phone and #1,500 later we were able to get our PODS. We continually talked to Customer Service and basically, they said that is the way it is. We don't feel we should be charged for the extra shipping because we were misled but they said we had to file a claim and they would listen to the tapes and see what I said. Will see how truthful they are. I will say their drivers, and location supervisor were all nice but they had no ability to help.
Hi, Greg! Some of our storage facilities are climate-controlled. At all of our locations, customers’ containers are kept inside so they’re not exposed to the elements. If you’d like to chat, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your customer ID and additional details.
PODS Company Information
- Company Name:
- Company Type:
- Year Founded:
- 13535 Feather Sound Drive
- Postal Code:
- United States
Check out our buyers guide top picks
You’re signed up
We’ll start sending you the news you need delivered straight to you. We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.