Liberty Travel

Liberty Travel

 1.3/5 (128 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

About Liberty Travel

This profile has not been claimed by the company. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Liberty Travel Reviews

Recent
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
Any
  • Any
  • Rated with 5 stars
  • Rated with 4 stars
  • Rated with 3 stars
  • Rated with 2 stars
  • Rated with 1 star

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Liberty Travel?
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Liberty Travel?
  • 3,933,926 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 2 Reviews 10 - 40
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: May 20, 2020

I never use travel agents but against my better judgment used the worst Liberty Travel for my great friend's 40th birthday trip. My uncle passed away and his funeral was the same weekend as the trip. Liberty neglected to add my trip insurance and when Janelle added it, it was too late to file a claim through the insurance as he passed away on 1/5/20 and the insurance was added 1/6/20. Every time I tried to contact Janelle, I received out of office, so I had to start reaching out to others in office. I spoke with customer service who said they sent me credit of $455 to use within 2yrs. Well, I never received that email, nor would I have taken that credit when I spent over $1000. And I never wanted to use Liberty again.

Needless to say, I started a dispute with my bank and it has been a daunting task, back and forth with Liberty. Ugh. So, I reached out to Liberty and advised, I would drop the dispute if they gave me a full credit towards a hotel, Tabitha was very rude and stated she will not speak with me, only my bank. WTH. I am so pissed about this whole situation. Where is the compassion for the death in my family, which obviously took precedence over the trip. Do not use Liberty, they are the absolute worst and besides travel agents are ancient history. You're better off making your own arrangements as I would have, had it been my trip.

10 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 18, 2020

I feel duped. We used Liberty to book our large wedding group for May 2020 in St. Maarten after a friend recommended them from their Jamaica wedding. Following some very honest conversations with my agent about my hesitation to use a travel agency in the first place, I was lured by the (marginally) cheaper prices, ease for my older family members, and options for trip protection. Now the hotel is closed, flights are cancelled, and we cannot reschedule our wedding in the foreseeable future as we are both doctors working nonstop battling this damn virus. We are eloping so we can be husband and wife before one or both of us gets inevitably seriously sick. Still, our refund status is currently denied and I was told "none of our other couples had to cancel, everyone is rescheduling."

They did not care when I explained our situation as healthcare workers, and their decision stands. They are blaming the hotel for not providing Liberty with the refund to then pass on to us, however our contract and payments were to Liberty thus I don't see why the hotel should be a factor for us at all. Liberty has insurance for just these occasions to use that money however they see fit (ideally providing refunds), and should not be involving their travelers in their negotiations with the hotels directly. That is their entire role in this process - to act as a liaison between the hotel and guests! The most frustrating part of all of this is that all of our guests who booked on third party websites have already been refunded in full - they essentially do the same thing as a travel agency so why were they able to provide this when Liberty cannot?

There has been no benefit, only downsides to using a travel agency even before this COVID mess (they gave away our room block weeks prior to the final reservation date without notifying me leaving a third of our guests to scramble to book something, for which they apologized and eventually rectified after much discussion). Bottom line: for any groups thinking of using Liberty Travel in the future, please just don't. Travel agencies are a relic from a time before the internet and have no place in the current travel industry. It's like using a typewriter or a rotary phone now - you get inferior results and they just make so much extra noise.

13 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 18, 2020

I planned a group trip last March 2019 for this April 7th to the 12th 2020 going to Antigua, made the payments for my daughter and I. The Agent contacted me in February requesting the final payment for the trip which we paid. When March came and the COVID 19 starting getting bad on 3/7/2029 we notified the agent Ana out of the Yonkers office and told her we wanted to cancel the trip due to the COVID 19 which her response was we would be safer in Antigua, and we should wait to cancel, we had until 3/28/2020! I told her to cancel and refund our money, her to was very dismissive and annoyed! She stated she would do it. I called her back 2 weeks later 3/21/2020, the refund hadn’t been processed yet. She stated she was just getting to it. Which is unacceptable! At that point I was placed on quarantine, I was sick and out of work.

So I had one of the girls to call to see when will the refund will be issued which was never given until April when they then stated it takes 6-8 weeks which should have been explain when trip was canceled. I left a message for Ana last Wednesday 4/8/2020 and still haven’t gotten a call from her yet and today is 4/18/2020! I will NEVER book another trip through Libert Travel!!! I’m telling everyone I know never use this company again and it sad! I was in Jamaica in December for 6 days, used Liberty Travel, used Dawn who was easier to deal with.

I travel every year twice a year, they will never get my money anymore do to the treatment I was given. No one wants to take responsibility to handle this from March 7th and everyone I talk to gives different information! And the crazy part is I’ve been sick out of work since 3/20/2020 with no pay and can’t get a simple refund from a company is supposed to have prestige! This was a real eye-opener! I called the refund department today 4/18/2029 who refused to help me!

16 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 16, 2020

Planned an all inclusive trip to Jamaica in January for April with Liberty Travel agent Faith in their Springfield office, before all of the Covid 19 restrictions began. Finally had no choice but to cancel trip when Jamaica closed its borders and our flights were cancelled. Called Faith and was advised our airfare would be refunded as a voucher even after the flight was cancelled out of our control and the insurance would be placed on a Gift card.

After calling American Airlines multiple times they advised we would get our money back and not a voucher. However, the money would be refunded to liberty travel first and they will be responsible to refund our money. After multiple back and forth with Faith in regards to receiving a voucher versus our money, she sent an email that said that American Airlines was actually providing cash refunds and it would take nothing short of 60 days to complete. With no apologies in regards to our experience or her customer service. Will never book with this liberty travel again and still waiting on a refund with no updates.

8 people found this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 15, 2020

The agents at Liberty are doing the best they can under the circumstances. They have to abide by local/state/federal regulations as far as travel cancellations and refunds. And right now, these policies are changing on an hourly basis. Insurance can only cover certain issues. Keep in mind, the agent at Liberty has to call each airline and destination accommodation for each call. And as everyone knows, in the best of times, this is frustrating. Now, with the panic epidemic-the call centers for ALL businesses are overwhelmed. Keep in mind, the travel agents are COMMISSION. They are all working from home, making less money than normal, dealing with their OWN issues of the panic epidemic and listening to customers all day while waiting for their pink slip. Be kind.

11 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 14, 2020

We booked an all inclusive trip to Cozumel in January. Then the virus started rolling out. In March we were told if the airline (American Airlines) cancelled the flights we'd get a refund. The hotel (Secrets Aura) an AMR Resort closed and cancelled all reservations the end of February. Finally, American Airlines cancelled the flights in early April. Our agent at Liberty Travel then said, "Branch offices were suddenly told they could not issue refunds. That someone in their corporate office in New Jersey, would be contacting us within 5 days to discuss refund "Options" (?)". It's been 10 days and no calls or contact. So I called the corp office and spoke to "Rocco". He said it could be 2-3 billing cycles before we got any refund. Liberty Travel is clearly using our money for their operating expenses right now. I want our money back!

12 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: April 13, 2020

I went into Liberty Travel in Southampton Pennsylvania in early March. Sat with a girl named Megan **. Told her I wanted to book a trip to Universal Studios for three people. She made it sound so great. I told her I’ll get back to her after talking it out with my GF. I called Megan and said, "Let’s book the trip." She sent me an invoice via email. I paid with my bank card in full. Trip was booked and all sounded great.

Until the Covid 19 issues started. I called Megan to ask her if I would get a refund if this went out of control. She stated unless the parks and resorts close I’m basically out of luck. Megan said I have nothing to worry about. She will call me when she gets updates from the resorts or Disney. March 18th no call. I hear they closed Disney parks until April 1st. I call the resort and they stated they are closing March 20th to April 1st.

I email Megan and ask her if we choose to cancel how much will we get refunded? She replies back, "If you want to cancel please reply cancel." So I email and say we are talking about it but need to know if we cancel how much will we get back? I get a reply from Megan saying she is going to lunch and will get back to me when she gets back. I never get a reply from her. The next day she calls me and says She is going on vacation and will call me in a week when she returns. She tells me the amount via voice that I’ll get back.

A day later me and my girl talked about it. We decided to cancel our trip due to the virus issues getting worse. I call liberty travel Southampton and find out they are closed and the associates are working from home. I talked to a rep and told her to cancel the trip. I also asked her if she could send me an email with the amounts I’ll get returned. She said, "I thought Megan went over that with you." I said yes via voice not email. She sent me the email and said my refund was processed on March 20th and it will take 7 to 10 days for the return to come back to me. Over a week later checked my account. No refund. Megan is now back from vaca. I email her and say, "I don’t see the refund. Any update?" She responds back with, "The refund has been processed. It’s out of our hands. Check with your bank."

I call my bank. They see nothing pending. I email Megan back and say I checked with the bank and nothing pending. She never answers me back. Then a day later she replies, "I checked with our finance team," and it’s going to take 7 to 8 weeks for me to receive my refund. I was so angry, at this point I said this is pathetic and I need a receipt of the refund. I sent many emails to her asking to send receipt of refund. I get no reply from this point on.

Two days later I get a call from the manager at this location. She explains it's Megan’s bad for losing a client and treating me like this. I explain the entire situation. She says, "You’ll get a refund from the airlines for the full amount in a voucher." I’ll get the amount we talked about back to my card in 7 to 8 weeks and per deposit per adult well get that back in a liberty travel gift card. I explained, "I will never use you guys again so why am I getting this gift card?" She says it’s the way it works and nothing can be done about that.

I asked for a return receipt and never got one. I found out that Disney now is closing the parks until summer and same with resorts. Our trip was suppose to be in late April. I call liberty travel and explain this is not my fault. I feel I should get the gift card returned as cash. Boo sorry not happening I’m told. I call the corporate office and some lady emailed me a receipt invoice of the return. She also explained the same issues with the gift card and airlines and refund. Do not use this company. Do not use the Southampton PA office if you do. They are so nice till an issue arises and then they blow you off like you never existed. It’s a nightmare to get any information from them after you book your trip.

10 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Dec. 5, 2019

I originally called Liberty Travel to set up a short trip to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic from the dates of December 28 to January 2 and I was put through to a travel agent out of New Jersey. I told her what I was looking for and she searched for hotels and flights and we spoke for a few minutes about accommodation and flights. I told her I would get back to her. Well, seeing that the all-inclusive package was out of my budget, I called her back to see if she could find me a hotel and flight to Santo Domingo for those dates (mind you, I had already did some research on Expedia and found a hotel + flight for three people within my budget for those dates). She goes on to tell me that there’s only one hotel available because everything is booked...not true, but um ok.

Well, she calls me back the next today to find out what I wanted to do and I let her know that I had already found a hotel and flight and asked if Liberty Travel offered any private guides that could provide airport transportation; she told me no and then went on to say that Santo Domingo is just a city and not a tourist destination!! Clearly, she knows nothing about Santo Domingo and really shouldn’t be a travel agent if she can’t even take the time to properly research availability on hotels and flights. Long story short; DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS TRAVEL AGENCY. YOU’RE BETTER OFF PLANNING YOUR TRIP BY YOURSELF!

16 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 28, 2019

They mess up everything. Out of office reply is standard. Book flights at the highest cost. Forget to offer insurance. Too busy to find a hotel. Make excuse after excuse. Do not use them. They are horrible. Waste of time and they get paid commissions for screwing up everything. NEVER EVER USE THEM. Better off doing it yourself. You’ll save a ton of money and aggravation.

10 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 23, 2019

I chose to use a travel agency to book my honeymoon knowing I would be preoccupied the month leading up to the event assuming they would keep on top of any and all details leading into the vacation. This was not the case. After being stranded at the airport for over an hour waiting to be picked up I learned nothing had been confirmed and the local team had incorrect info all over the place.

To make matters worse, I called Liberty to fix everything and the customer service team spent the entire time telling me how detailed they are and how it was all my fault. My mistake, I didn’t realize I had to do your job and pay you for it. I will certainly never use Liberty Travel again. I hope this post helps to save their next potential customer from making the same mistake.

14 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 2, 2019

I used Liberty Travel in New Jersey to assist with a recommendation and arranging my daughter's destination wedding for November 2018. They recommended the Azul Sensatori hotel in Jamaica. We were dealing with Jamie ** and Steven **. They were so pleasant and helpful until we paid. We tried to call the hotel to deal plan the wedding and they never returned our calls. We asked Jamie and Steven to assist us as we wanted to make all the necessary arrangements. They never called us back and then when asked to help us with dealing with the unresponsive hotel, they lied and said they were calling them too and emailing them on our behalf. I sensed this wasn't true and asked for the emails they sent on our behalf.

Jamie eventually admitted she never wrote any email nor contacted the hotel. It was like they didn't know us after we paid them. We asked them to make sure we would have ocean view rooms for our guests and a honeymoon suite for my daughter and son in law which we paid for. They said they did and it was arranged but when we got there nobody had ocean view, in fact we faced the garbage dump and the parking lot. And there was no honeymoon suite to be had. Such an embarrassment. They repeatedly lied and just didn't do their jobs. Shame on them. We spoke to corporate and made a complaint but they said there was nothing they could do. I would never use another Liberty Travel, especially the one in New Jersey. We have some to find out that there are many negative reviews and complaints with the Better Business Bureau on them.

9 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 14, 2019

If I could give 0 stars for how horrible the planning was I would! I started planning my trip to Cabo in June and contact "Liberty Travel" because I booked trips with them 2 times before Jamaica (best planner and trip experience ever!! and DR was ok...But this TRIP AND PLANNER (NAME) Averielle Willow Grove office was HORRIBLE!! She was never in the office, she didn't set up any kind of accommodations for my Birthday or communicate to the hotel that it was my birthday during my stay so they could have acknowledged it...Any perks we had we set up our selves. Which is why you go to a travel agency to save the headache! She absolutely had no planning skills at all! She tried to charge us extra money for the room until I told her what to do and to do her job! DO NOT EVER PLAN WITH HER. YOU MIGHT AS WELL JUST PLAN YOUR OWN TRIP!

6 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 20, 2019

I walked in this store today 8/20/19 and the first question that I was asked for the lady, who was in charge of the store is "Do you have documents?" And then she gave the look as if we are undocuments immigrant. I really believe that people should not judge at any customer for how we are dress, skin color or what kind of clothes do you have. I believe that her prejudicial treatment stop us to buy a package in this agency. Very disrespectful.

9 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 16, 2019

We did not receive what we paid for and they would not refund us the full amount. They stated we were confused/misunderstood what we paid for. They also had excuses when it came to providing evidence for example, they just switched phone companies/program and don't have the phone recordings. They are shady and sketchy. I will never travel with them again.

8 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 11, 2019

Livingston Mall’s Liberty Travel: NEVER AGAIN! My husband sat down with travel agent, Marcie **, to discuss our summer trip to France and London. We specifically asked for a high-end luxury vacation. We described what we wanted in a hotel...5-star quality. What we actually received was a huge disappointment. The hotel they arranged for us in Avignon, France was located outside of Avignon and on the roadside in an industrial area. There was even a graffiti strewn fence, meant to shield the hotel from the roadway. When we drove into the parking lot of the hotel, it felt like we were driving into a Jiffy Lube to get our car serviced. The actual room: We know that European hotel rooms are typically small but the room we had was hardly suitable for my husband, son and myself. It was tiny. And as we indicated in my husband’s initial conversation with Marcie, we were very willing to pay for more space.

In addition, there was no bellboy to help us with our bags, and no safe in the room for our passports and such. There was no mini bar/refrigerator if we wanted snacks or a drink and no room service. When we went downstairs to get ice, we were given a tall glass filled with 6 ice cubes. Again, this was hardly the luxury room or hotel that was described to Marcie. We move on to London where the hotel was far worse! It was much smaller than the Avignon hotel and dingy. I’ve seen dorm rooms bigger and brighter than the room we were in. We were so disappointed. When we contacted Marcie about the room, she offered to move us from a 237 sq ft room to a 251 sq ft room...and at no additional charge! Again, hardly the high-end luxury experience we were looking for in our vacation. When we arrived back home from our trip, my husband went to see Marcie at the Livingston Mall. Her only response was "I'm sorry".

He asked her for an itemized bill of our trip and we were informed that they are unable to provide it because it was "a package and bundled". (This was our second request for the itemized bill. The first time we asked for it was when they presented us with the bill.) We're taking this matter to the Better Business Bureau to see if they can help. We want to see the itemized bill because our concern is that the total luxury price that we paid for does not match the individual items that made up the bill...especially the hotel costs.

The dream vacation anticipated by our family for weeks leading up to our departure is irreversibly tainted if not ruined by the egregious failure on the part of Liberty Travel. I truly doubt that Marcie would have sent her family, or go to the hotels herself, if she was in search of the vacation we so clearly laid out to her. The bottom line is that we trusted Liberty Travel to deliver a high-end luxury vacation and they FAILED! We will never use their services again and we won't recommend them to our circle of friends who are frequent travelers. BEWARE!

8 people found this review helpful
Rated with 2 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: July 8, 2019

First let me say I did not personally use Liberty Travel to book a vacation of my own. However, my son was part of a big family reunion booking and 2 agents I dealt with definitely dropped the ball multiple times on the reservation. First issue my card was charged twice for the cruise, I had to contact them to correct and refund the additional charge.

Secondly the cruises' itinerary was rerouted. Additionally my son is a minor and his card was charged for $150 deposit and still has not been refunded. Lastly, I prepaid gratuity again for my son's cruise by guidance and request of the travel agent only to find out NO ONE else paid gratuity and he was informed by concierge on the cruise line as he is a minor he did not have to pay for gratuity. Poor communication and lack of effort in my opinion throughout the entire booking.

4 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 17, 2019

Do not use this agency! Customer service was fine until after we paid. We are planning a vacation with multiple families of friends and we were all told that certain requests could not be confirmed until after we paid. So we paid thousands and thousands of $ for the entire vacation about 4 months before departure, and subsequently followed up with our multiple requests (for example having rooms within the same area of a large resort which we were assured we could do before we paid) many times - always with the same response that it was in process or they are looking into it. Now it is coming up shortly and the only confirmation they the requests were even made is 'their word'. Really, not willing to put that the request was even made in writing so that we have something to show the hotel at check in sounds very questionable. So nothing has been confirmed.

Honestly our experiences with AAA, and actually going through hotels directly, has been awesome. We had originally thought for this multi family trip a local agency would be advantageous because each family could directly communicate with the agent and coordinate. We also thought they could offer some incentives (of which they offered none). In the past AAA at least offered, for example, travel adapters. It was kind of funny the Liberty Travel agent actually said he could offer us 'unlimited resort credit'. Ah ya, accept that comes from the hotel directly and is offered to all guests as part of the all inclusive. Definitely not an incentive from the agency. The service we have received is clearly reflective of why more and more people are using online and other tools to book vacations.

5 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 15, 2019

I booked a family vacation to the Hard Rock Hotel in Punta Cana, DR back in February. My family and I no longer feel comfortable going with all the deaths and illnesses that have recently taken place. Liberty Travel nor Hard Rock will refund the money. Allowing for a voucher or transfer to the Mexico resort is not a fair resolution. Liberty Travel is pointing the finger at Hard Rock and I tried calling AIC hotel group (group that owns this resort) and had to leave a message. They advised the turn around time for a callback was 72 hours, but now might be longer. Clearly my family isn't the only one with this issue. Liberty Travel hasn’t helped in advocating for their customer. I thought using them would make planning stress free or guess I was wrong. The right thing needs to be done here by either Liberty Travel or Hard Rock.

7 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 5, 2019

I am usually not one to complain and ALWAYS try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt, but I am beyond disgusted with the way I have been treated by Liberty Travel in Allentown, PA. I am a former customer with Melissa **, who unfortunately no longer works here. She has taken great care of us in the past, and it is a complete shame she left, but I may now understand why.

Upon calling to find ideas for our honeymoon, I spoke with Kara. I explained my situation and told her our thoughts on prospective future honeymoon destinations. I explained to her that we are very open to any new places (as we have done Cancun and DR in the past and wanted to venture off into new territory) and I would love her expertise on the most romantic all-inclusives she has heard of. Kara made me feel extremely rushed on the phone, in fact, I do not think she was writing any of this down as we spoke, and I received no initial feedback on any prospective honeymoon destination spots. It was a Friday when I spoke with Kara. She assured me that if she did not get a list of prospective resorts for us back to me by the end of Friday, she would be SURE to get them to me at the latest on Sunday. This was very clear.

Fast forward to Friday, a week later, and I received no email, no call, nothing. Again, giving her the benefit of the doubt, I called back and spoke with a co-worker. I explained my situation and the co-worker (I forget her name) was kind, took down my information, and PROMISED me that if Kara did not get back to me by the next day, she would personally call me herself and put together a list for me. She even checked my email to make sure Kara had the correct email.

Fast forward, again, to next Wednesday (5 days later). NO call. NO email. I call back. AGAIN, I am an EXTREMELY nice person. This time I spoke with April. I asked to speak with a manager. Again, I received a bit of a rude, rushed undertone as she told me the manager is in a meeting and will not be able to speak with me. I explained my situation to April (very kindly), hoping maybe she could help instead.

AGAIN, I gave April all the details of our honeymoon wishes, including explaining how we would love some travel agent expertise and advice on where to go for our special trip. April then said to me “You and your fiancé need to figure out what destinations you want to go, and you need to figure out what you are looking for in a honeymoon.” Extremely rude. I responded with, “actually, we do know what we are looking for. We are looking for an all-inclusive romantic resort, in a non-traditional location, and were hoping to have a conversation with someone of expertise to help us narrow down options.” The entire conversation was myself literally trying to BEG of information from her, it was like pulling teeth. I ended up thanking her for her time and hanging up.

I am appalled. There are SO many customer services DISGRACES here. Every person I speak to at this location is very rushed, rude, and I feel like they could LITERALLY care less about my business. Like, can I PLEASE get a reliable source of help for my HONEYMOON? I am disgusted and it would take a miracle for me to even want to use Liberty Travel now for our honeymoon. You may have lost a customer, Liberty Travel.

10 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: April 2, 2019

When I was responding to an email sent by Royal Caribbean cruise line, they recommended asking my travel agent for guidance. I called my travel agent and asked my question. She said she would call the cruise line and get back with me shortly. She responded with an "I guess so," when she was avoiding my specific question she noted she was going to ask the cruise line. This involved money$, so her response offered me no guidance. Thanks for nothing Liberty Travel Route 46 Little Falls, NJ. 1st and last time I will use this travel agency. I should have listened to all the poor reviews I read. I went to them because of being less than 2 minutes from my place of employment. Convenience certainly will not offer professionalism.

8 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Feb. 28, 2019

If I could leave no stars, I would. Three different times, I've contacted LT and did receive an auto-generated email notifying me that my email was received, however, 2 women at 2 different times from 2 different states contacted me via email directly and never heard back from them again. LT didn't contact me either. Liberty Travel has very bad customer service and it's not a good look for them and for potential franchise owners/contractors. LT makes their money based on customers who like or love to travel and wouldn't have a business without such customers. Liberty Travel, from what I've experienced, does a very poor job when it comes to following through, answering/returning emails and in hindsight, I should've checked with this website, Consumer Affairs and the Better Business Bureau before contacting Liberty Travel directly. I don't know how LT is still in business. Needless to say, I'm moving away and forward from Liberty.

4 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 2, 2019

I went to Liberty Travel to book a 50th anniversary family trip to Disney World. I explained that I was using a travel agency because I wanted assistance in the day to day planning as I wanted the best experience possible. The agent assured me that she could do it and was very happy to take my money for the hotel, tickets etc, but the service stopped there. She handed me what proved to be an incorrect confirmation number to access the Disney website. I knew more about Disney than she did. She was supposed to call when it was time to purchase the airline tickets as it was months ahead of time. She never called and I did it myself.

Through some research, I found a Disney planner who couldn't have been more helpful. However, there are things only the booking agent can do such as requesting adjacent rooms. This required me to make multiple phone calls to assure this was done. If you want a Disney trip, get a good Disney planner. They don't need to be local. It can be done by phone. Do NOT use Liberty!! I won't ever use Liberty again and will share my Liberty experience with as many people as possible.

7 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Nov. 29, 2018

The team leader at Liberty Travel booked us into the wrong hotel in NYC. The supposed former New Yorker makes a mistake and doesn't own up to it. Had travel insurance and still got stuck with a $947 charge. Stay away from here. I will never go back.

12 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Nov. 5, 2018

My husband and I booked a cruise for the first week of September. It was an anniversary cruise of a lifetime. Unfortunately, I became ill and needed to use the insurance that we purchased to get a refund. After dealing with the insurance company, the outcome was that the representative at Liberty Travel never followed through with our paperwork. We had all the proper paperwork filled out and even my doctor sent information in. We are still in limbo and have not seen a dime. We will no longer deal with Liberty and if you ever think about purchasing insurance, think again it might be a waste of your money!!!

15 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 25, 2018

Our family dealt with a particular agent for our family trip as a group, but when others chose to take a different trip dealing with the same agent the agent choose not to deal with us because she and the family member had side deals. She told us that she had made limit for the year on groups she was advised to send us to another Liberty Travel agency. This has stirred up so much drama in our family. She should have kept my information private not providing it to anyone but the travel agent she was sending us to. To say she has reached her allowed quota for the year as travel agent?? Turning down money for the company??! Wow! Unprofessional travel agent. Our small group was always last to board the planes as well. Just treated unfairly. Will not use the Plymouth meeting office ever again. I am not using Liberty Travel...

11 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Sept. 12, 2018

I will never use Liberty Travel Agency again, every time I called I was blown off by the travel agents who answered the phone. They would state that you can only correspond with the travel agent whom you booked with. Meanwhile my travel agent was always busy never returned phone calls. I do not recommend using the Liberty Travel again. The Liberty Travel Office is 269 Madison Ave New York, New York 10016.

13 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 13, 2018

We went to Liberty on Presidents’ Day to book a vacation. We wanted Cabo, but were convinced against it since “you can’t swim on the beaches there”. We were offered Punta Cana and Riviera Maya, but told Riviera Maya was a best choice due to better food and beaches. We booked Dreams Puerto Adventurous and we’re excited because my daughter wanted to swim with the dolphins at the resort. We even booked a “dolphin room” view and were excited because Liberty had nothing but excellent things to say about the resort. We arrived to be told we had a 3 hour wait for our dolphin view room, but could get an upgraded Ocean view room for an additional $50/night. We were told to come back in 3 hours. 3 1/2 hours later we returned and were told our room with 2 full beds wasn’t ready yet, but we could get a queen bed upgrade.

Since we traveled with our teenage daughter we declined and then were told the dolphins were not even at the resort because of contaminated tanks. We had to argue to get a room. Finally, we received a free upgrade ocean view room. Guess what, the ocean view was disgusting. For 100 yards from the shoreline to the ocean was dead seaweed and algae. To make matters worse the stench from 5 floors up was unbearable. Three days after we arrived we left and at our expense went to another resort. Why am I giving Liberty Travel much of the blame? 1) They highly recommended the resort. 2) After over a month of returning home we are still waiting for Liberty to get us a refund. I sent a 1 page letter to Liberty in Deptford, NJ detailing all the issues, including the flood in our room that caused me to fall and sustain a concussion.

No apologies from the hotel or Liberty. Did I mention that we paid for a nonstop flight home and we’re not given a refund of the ticket price. Nonstops are more expensive and we paid the fee to Liberty. They still haven’t resolved that issue either. Oh yeah, the all inclusive with 5 restaurants had unexpected closings on varying days without notice so a few nights we headed to one and arrived to find it closed. No hotel explanation and Liberty replied “well they had other restaurants open." Really, all inclusive? And, one restaurant “Oceana” was only available if you paid for a bottle of wine as a reservation fee.

The resort was horrible and Liberty keeps dragging their feet. I keep getting “we're waiting for the hotel to get back to us”. One more thing, the hotel charged me $383 for dolphin photos we never took or received. Fortunately my bank saw the fraud and immediately refunded me within 1 day. I should have booked online and would’ve even gotten a better price for somewhere more reputable.

19 people found this review helpful
Rated with 2 stars
Verified Reviewer
Original review: June 1, 2018

My friend and I went to Liberty Travel to book a Caribbean vacation. We had a general budget and dates, but we were completely open to a location. We went to the LT out of necessity. We had a snow storm and the LT we wanted to go to wasn't feasible. We worked with Julie. And from the second we sat down I knew this was a mistake. Julie was SO anxious to get us out of there. It wasn't a consultation or any review of possible locations. She didn't ask any questions of what we wanted to do or anything. We said we're young, single, career professionals who want to relax and still have a good time. We mentioned we wanted Adults Only and Luxury and All Inclusive. We said maybe Breathless in DR. She said we'd hate it because it was like a Caribbean college party all day and night. She suggested Iberostar Grand Bavaro in DR. We asked her if it was a place recommended for a young, vibrant girls trip, she said yes.

We took her word for it and booked the trip. When we received our confirmations, they were completely wrong, they had the wrong departure date and location, they had the wrong arrival location too. I emailed Julie and she didn't even reply acknowledging her error, she just had someone else send us different documents (which looked like photocopies of photocopies). After the third time trying to get it right, I finally got the right confirmation documents.

When we arrived at the resort we were expecting a luxury experience. Don't get me wrong, the Iberostar Grand is a beautiful resort, but the resort is geared to older couples and weddings. There really weren't any guests under the age of 55. The resort is set up for older couples, from the activities (egg toss and salsa dancing lessons) to the music (it was all easy listening, Kenny G, Barry Manilow inspired). We felt COMPLETELY out of place. Our fun girls trip ended up feeling like we were at a retirement community!

Julie got this ALL THE WAY WRONG!!! She had NO IDEA what she was talking about in terms of vacations or resorts for fun, young, professionals. She is completely incompetent and I was SO DISAPPOINTED that we could have been at a different resort still relaxed but at least had fun, energetic time! Not in bed by 9 because there was literally nothing to do! I will NEVER use LT- Plymouth Meeting again!!!

18 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: May 9, 2018

We dealt with Liberty Travel for my cousin's destination wedding, where over 64 family and friends traveled to Punta Cana, DR to stay at the Melia Caribe Tropical and The Level. We were hoping for a great family vacation to celebrate the happy occasion, but Liberty Travel did their best to make sure that did not happen! Let me first start off by saying communication from the start was lackluster. We were distributed an email communication about how to signup and reserve rooms at the hotel.

The choices for room type were a little ambiguous, so we sent an email to ask a few clarifying questions and there was no response for several days. We finally got a hold of our account representative, by calling... However we were given deceptive and misinformation. He assured the group that the only difference between the two was the room type and location within the resort... But we would all have access to the same amenities and services as the rest of the guests. Obviously this would make sense, as when you have 64 people traveling together for a wedding they would naturally want to spend time, hang out, and eat together... Right? Well imagine our surprise when we get to the hotel and find out this is completely false! Not only were there different restaurants and bars we could book at, but we weren't even allowed to sit at the same pool!

When we told this to the hotel staff they suggested we call the travel agent to straighten everything out. Of course once we got him on the line he did a complete 180 and told us he had never said that. Even if that were true (which it is not), what kind of professional in the business would recommend that this was acceptable accommodations? How does it make any sense that over half the wedding party (more than 30 people booked at the "regular" portion of the resort based on this deceptive information) couldn't even sit at the same pool when traveling thousands of miles to celebrate a wedding??? It was obvious he was just looking to make the sale at whatever the cost and did not care about his clients in the slightest. The fact that he cannot own up to this makes matters even worse. I will be sure to never use Liberty Travel again and beg anyone who will listen to do the same. I promise you that!

15 people found this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: May 4, 2018

Completely dissatisfied with Liberty. Agent never asked questions about travel preferences, budget, flight times, etc. Only gave a package price so individual costs were unclear. Later found out they had booked me into a high priced hotel when it was clear there were several other choices. Promised to call about limousine arrangement then went on vacation and I had to pursue this info on my own. Never got back to me about questions re: an additional trip and chose to use another agency.

Complained to corporate headquarters and felt that since I had agreed to package my complaint wasn't valid. Didn't think agent needed to present options to clients and would not answer questions about whether or not agent got commission for bookings she made and that was why she chose such an expensive place. I have always done my own planning and am really sorry I didn't this time. Thought you were supposed to get such wonderful service from travel agents but I should not have been that naive.

9 people found this review helpful
Loading more reviews...

Liberty Travel Company Information

Company Name:
Liberty Travel
Year Founded:
1951
Address:
69 Spring St
City:
Ramsey
State/Province:
NJ
Postal Code:
07446
Country:
United States
Website:
www.libertytravel.com