Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen Reviews

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

Overall Rating1.1 out of 5
See all 483 reviews

About Ethan Allen Reviews

Ethan Allen Reviews

ConsumerAffairs has collected 483 reviews and 215 ratings.

  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Ethan Allen?
  • 4,313,826 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 2 Reviews 10 - 40
Customer ServiceCoverageStaff

Reviewed March 18, 2022

We saved up for years after we were married to buy a table set from Ethan Allen like my parents had done (and were still using). It was fabulous! After having cub scouts, girl scouts, four kids with lots of play dates and 35 years of use, the table top had definitely seen better days. We gave it to our daughter and cheerfully went back to Ethan Allen. We emphasized to our sales lady the importance of the durability--especially of the table top. We now have ten grandkids who visit often and always have craft projects going on the table.

After HUGE delivery problems, we were very excited for our new table set. Imagine our disappointment when we saw PERMANENT scuffs the next day (no grandkids). We figured out that it was from my husband scooting the plastic butter container around. After a week the chairs had water marks on the wood from dusting them with a damp microfiber cloth, and the table top also had a chip in it (still no grandkids). I read the warranty which I saw was only good as long as the table was always completely covered. **? If I wanted to always have my table completely covered, I would have kept my old one.

My husband still had faith in Ethan Allen. He called our sales lady and sent pictures. She said that she would investigate and get right back. Nothing. I think he called once a week (she never did). About 6 weeks later, she said that there wasn't anything they could do because we had obviously voided the warranty by not having the table completely covered. We never even brought up the chairs. We will NEVER shop at Ethan Allen again!!!!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 4, 2022

Sadly, I spent thousands of dollars on an Ethan Allen couch and recliner. The recliner leather color has worn off in areas, the cushion has been lop sided since after the first week and all the cushions have been replaced with no improvement. The couch fabric picks up colors from people clothes, the cushions needed to be replaced, even though I turn and move them frequently. For two thousand dollars more I could have had quality furniture that would endure for years. There are only two of us living in our household and we have no pets! After over two years, I am replacing these pieces with Italian leather so that I can sit comfortably in my living room. The San Marcos Ethan Allen representative could only apologize. This was a very expensive lesson in furniture shopping. It would have been best to purchase this style furniture at Jeromes, Ashley or Macys. At least you get what you pay for, maybe even better!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 28, 2022

I ordered my dining room chairs and counter stools to match June 2021 from Watchung, NJ. I received my counter stools November 2021 after emailing the corporate office and complaining about not having anywhere for my guest to sit for Thanksgiving. I still did not receive my complete dining room chairs. Long story short, I have 6 completed chair frames; 4 with cushions I did not order (because they tried to get me something for my guest to sit on for the holidays) and the other 2 are just frames no cushions (2 chairs I can't even sit on).

Denise did provide me with 2 other chairs just so I have something, even though they did not match. The explanation for the long long delay, Ethan Allan is looking for a new provider that provides the wood for the cushions. I don't understand how a large company like this don't have any kind of backup plan for their customers. I'm embarrassed to have guest over my house because my dining room is not complete since moving into my new home. I can't look for new dining chairs because I purchased my dining chairs to match my counter stools.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 17, 2022

Do not buy furniture from Ethan Allen Watchung, NJ, location. A designer sold us our furniture in 2017 and sold us a five-year gold warranty with Guardsman (**). She explained that should anything happen to our furniture within the five-year plan would be repaired or replaced. Well, my claim was denied. Ethan Allen did nothing to help. Our leather sectional ($11,000) color has faded and turned gray, and our dining table chairs paint has chipped. The only helpful rep there was Denise, who was very apologetic. The basement furniture I bought from Raymour and Flannigan last longer than Ethan Allen furniture.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 16, 2022

We bought almost $10,000 worth of furniture, just to have one of our couches come with two damages. Our coffee table and matching side table also came damaged. We were told 6 months delivery time. We waited 9 months. The three items that were damaged, were in the warehouse for months prior to delivery. But instead of delivering those 3 big things to us, so that we would at least have something while we waited for the rest...they refuse to deliver anything till ALL the items are in the warehouse. Exposing the items that have been there for MONTHS to all kinds of damages. So they lose money when they do that. My options are either have them “repair” the item...or return my money (which they really try to not let you do).

But why would spend THOUSANDS of Dollars on a piece of furniture, to just have it come damaged, just so that someone can glue a piece of wood, in an item that is supposed to be one solid piece of wood? How do you repair that? The couch...has water damage stain, and a huge rip on the side. Come on. That’s so just so Ridiculous. I have ordered Wayfair furniture that has comes in better shape.

Honestly If I could I would return the entire purchase…which I tried to do months ago, and we were told it was too late because all the furniture was already at the warehouse (which was a lie). I do not recommend this company. I do not feel that the price matches the quality. Not to mention how many damaged items came from one order.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase
Customer ServiceCoveragePriceStaffReliability

Reviewed Feb. 10, 2022

What used to be a prestigious high quality furniture store has now apparently become a purveyor of cheaply built furniture sold at exorbitant prices. What’s worse they do not stand behind what they make. We had a very expensive custom made dining room table and chairs delivered in February 2021. We were surprised when 10 months later the laminate (we were never told the table would be a laminate and didn’t expect such for what we paid) on the top started peeling off in several places despite us taking very good care of the table for those short 10 months. We weren’t alarmed as we were sure that Ethan Allen would take care of an obviously defective table.

We called our salesman at the Fort Lauderdale store, Floyd Flynn, and he referred us to the “Gold Complete Protection Plan” company (which is really a large insurance company called Guardian) that we had purchased with the table. They sent a service person right out who took pictures and did say that the table was defective. He submitted a report. Over a month later, we received an email rejecting our claim. They stated that because the table was still under the manufacturer’s warranty, Ethan Allen, they could not cover the claim. Another call to Ethan Allen proved to be totally shocking as they said it wasn’t their issue, but Guardians. So several weeks and phone calls later we are stuck with an overpriced, peeling table that we will have to have resurfaced ourselves or throw out as junk. Do not buy from this company unless you simply have money to throw away and wish to support such a deceptive company..

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase
Karen increased rating by 4 stars.
Customer ServicePriceStaff
After a positive interaction with Ethan Allen, Karen increased their star rating on Aug. 20, 2022.

Updated review: Aug. 20, 2022

Company stood by their product. Extremely satisfied with customer service. Offered to reupholster which we accepted and when I still was not happy, ordered a brand new couch for me.

Original Review: Nov. 11, 2021

We Purchased the Conway sectional in December 2020. Paid $9000 so I assumed I was getting a high quality couch from Ethan Allen. The sales girl was very helpful, patient and seemed to listen to what we were looking for. We were extremely happy when we were told the couch came in earlier than expected March 2021. Delivery was perfect, couldn’t have gone smoother. Couch looked great except for the chaise in which the fabric was not lined properly. I didn’t complain figuring nothing is perfect.

It is now 8 months old and my brand new $9000 couch looks like it is 10 years old. It is used maybe one hour a night. The fabric on the cushions has shifted and the fabric is sagging. I chose a better fabric than microfiber as the saleswoman said microfiber was a cheap fabric. I decided on the more expensive fabric figuring it would last longer. The cushions have flattened out so much. I chose firm so that the couch would last longer. Soooo disappointed. Called to complain and was told you have to rotate the cushions, which I do once a week. The serviceman said I have to manipulate the cushions to reshape them. This sounds ridiculous. My last couch was a Bauhaus and lasted 15 years, never manipulated the cushions and never looked as horrendous as this couch does at this moment.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Customer Service

Reviewed Nov. 4, 2021

We bought our living room furniture as well as several other pieces and it's been a nightmare. They brought us the wrong sized table and we called them to pick it up and they said they would and never did. We called several times they told us too much time had passed and that they wouldn't take it back. On top of that one of our hairs came with a scratch and we're still waiting for them to send someone to fix. I expected better customer service from Ethan Allen. So not worth it!!

Thanks for your vote! Report
Sales & MarketingPrice

Reviewed Aug. 11, 2021

I purchased an outdoor side table, on display in store as outdoor table; loved it so purchased two more online; approximately two weeks after receiving second purchase of 2 tables, saw that discoloration had occurred in the one placed outdoors when compared to the two new ones; returned the one to store from where purchased; Ethan Allen refuses to refund the other two, nor provide a return label, states I am beyond 30 days for notification. I say take your business elsewhere. Too many furniture stores in this country to deal with this indignity - time consuming, not worth the price, perhaps why they are not doing so well in overall sales.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase
Customer ServiceStaff

Reviewed July 17, 2021

My wife and I recently remodeled our bedroom, which involved a new bed frame. Ethan Allen in Agoura Hills was recommended to us and we were paired up with a very patient designer, Mugdha. Their customer service is top notch, especially since we've never "built" a frame from scratch. They walked us through all of the options, even asked to see a picture of our bedroom to ensure the color scheme and design matched the floors/walls. I would highly recommend them for your furniture needs.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed April 14, 2021

We bough a bedroom set and the lamps on 12/13/2021. It took a few months to receive a complete bedroom set. But the lamps are still out of stock. Delivery date for the lamps supposed to be in 8 weeks but now it is the end of May, which would be more than 6 months since the purchase.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed April 1, 2021

We have purchased furniture from EA in the past and are satisfied with their products. We went to add two chairs to our dining set. When we made the purchase we were told of the $200 delivery fee. At that time we had already committed to the chairs and didn't want to walk away. We should have. On hindsight it is ridiculous and annoying. I asked if the chairs could be delivered to the store and we could pick up, but this was not an option. If you're buying a bunch of furniture, $200 is nothing. If you're buying 2 chairs, it is insane. Will not even consider going here for small purchases any longer. Probably reconsidering going here at all.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 31, 2021

I purchased a living room set (couch, recliner, entertainment center) in 2017 from your Jacksonville office. I had some damage occur in December 2020 and January 2021. I submitted a claim in February and was denied because it was out of the reporting window. However, it took me TWO weeks to get ahold of someone in order to file said claim, after I was provided the number by one of the Ethan Allen associates and my order #**.

After noting the delay, I was later told by your customer service representative and Guardsman that the delay in reporting was my fault and it could have be done online. Guardsman then took 3 weeks to get back to me. If it is critical that reporting be done in a specific time frame, then why is a delay getting back to me acceptable? Specifically, I am having issue with the quality of your products and the guardsman furniture protection you sold. The finish has worn off on the top of the entertainment center and the couch stains/discolors easily.

I have filed a complaint with the BBB for guardsman furniture protection you sold me. Not only did they take multiple attempts to respond to the complain and 30 days, they don’t answer the phone, return messages, and you stay on hold for hours. They report these issues and delays to COVID, but I am not afforded the same rights. Refusing coverage during the pandemic to an essential healthcare worker because it is out of the time frame is despicable.

I didn’t report it in the appropriate time frame due to working at Cedars Sinai, a 1000 bed trauma center in downtown Los Angeles, during the peak and also didn’t feel comfortable having someone in my home until vaccinated which resulted in delay of reporting. My protection plan provided by Ethan Allen does not have this disclaimer. I emailed Ethan Allen customer service who said they would forward my request for help to the regional team, which I never heard back from.

After having to reach out twice, the same customer service representative who initially disregarded my email from the local store called me to inform me that she spoke to Guardsman on my behalf and there was nothing more she or Guardsman can do for me. Not everything is black and white, this is a very fluid situation. Like travel carriers have adjusted their policies to account for things outside of control due to pandemic, exceptions can be made for certain circumstances. NO THANKS HERE TO HEALTHCARE HEROES.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 31, 2021

I complained to the store while the delivery men were still here. Pictures were sent over and they told me that they would take care of it. They were calling corporate. That was 5 weeks ago. The couch is now getting lumpy, the back cushions are indenting and not bouncing back, they are also getting out of shape because the covering is slipping around.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 12, 2021

Having spent more than $4,000 on furniture from Ethan Allen, I would have expected better service. I ordered furniture on 12/3/20 and I was given a 3/6/21 delivery date and am now being told not expect delivery until sometime in May. Totally unacceptable when they have the use of your deposit for months and you have no living room furniture. It may be great quality but if you don't have the furniture, what good is their quality.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed March 7, 2021

I got lost on my way to the La-Z Boy store and saw a sign for Ethan Allen. I bought two items from them 25 years ago and still love them, so I thought I'd give them a try. Boy, am I glad I did! Holly helped me out and I quickly went from confused and indecisive to ecstatically happy. She has a lot of knowledge about everything in the store, all the nuances of comfort I was unaware of, and she seemed to be a mind reader as far as fabrics I would like. I couldn't be any happier with my shopping experience!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 26, 2021

I have been a regular and loyal client of Ethan Allen in Bridgewater (Rt-22 E.) Two pieces of our furniture which are dark brown was purchased about six years ago but lately moved to our family room and use regularly. We just noticed that under the top layer of dye had been a different and lighter color dye and the top one was not directly applied to the natural leather. We used a damp towel to clean them and notice that the top layer is being removed and showing the layer under.

We contacted the store and as per their direction took pictures, wrote a letter and they don't even sell us a touch up dye/or the matching paint. We love the quality of leather and the structure but we feel that we were cheated. This unit been in pumpkin color and later re-dyed to a dark brown which never penetrated the natural leather. Now of course we are out of warranty and they don't help us with the touching up or providing us with the part. We would stay away from this supplier and their product.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Feb. 24, 2021

The Arcata three cushion sofa has been a great disappointment. After one year, and many complaints, this sofa did not stand up to what we were told. From the start it was supposed to be 93” it is not. It is lumpish in appearance and uncomfortable. It lost its look quickly. The center of the seat cushions sinks in. The back cushions must be fluffed and rotated often or they begin to look sloppy. We complained from the start, with photos. Ethan Allen sent someone out to replace cushions and covers. The same issue began again. Someone came out a second time to fluff and reassured us that fluffing and rotating would remedy the issue. One cannot fluff the seat cushions, as well as, one cannot sit on the cushions for any length of time without creating a sinkhole. I flip frequently, and fluff...

We wanted to exchange the sofa, however, after being reassured that the remedies would work, then time passed! IT WAS TOO LATE. Now, we are stuck with a sofa that is really only good for short sits, and after fluffing and rotating cushions, only good to look at, as we made it clear what we were looking for when purchasing. We do not recommend this sofa with these cushions. We expected Ethan Allen to do what was right, and exchange this sofa. We are more than unhappy with the ARCATA SOFA, also, we bought other living room pieces, of which we are happy with.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Verified purchase

Reviewed Feb. 6, 2021

I ordered 2 custom chairs, part of chair to be brocade, part velvet. The brocade area is perfect, the velvet area looks like a child did it. Velvet is wrinkled, does not cover furniture smoothly, pulling where sewn to chair. These chairs were expensive, they are horrendous in workmanship.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Gary increased rating by 3 stars.
After a positive interaction with Ethan Allen, Gary increased their star rating on Jan. 29, 2021.

Updated review: Jan. 29, 2021

I wrote a scathing report. They have so far redeemed themselves. I finally reached customer service in the eastern USA and Canada. They did some much better research, found the material would be delivered to them in March and turn us in April. They gave us a bit of compensation as well. At least now we have a more realistic date. And weekly updates sent to us.

Original Review: Jan. 21, 2021

We ordered $19,000.00 worth of furniture September 18/20 and were told it would all be delivered December 18/20. In December we were told the end of January. By this time all but the sofa and ottoman were in the local Richmond B.C. warehouse. It had been agreed that since we were re doing our whole living room we would not accept partial deliveries. Without the sofa nothing works. Their contract reads that they do have the option to cancel any item. In January we were told it would be delivered at the end of February. Now we are being told the end of March 2021. That is 6 months!! And will it arrive then??? Lots of stories and unanswered phone calls.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Dec. 3, 2020

Always quality furnishings. Excellent decor guidance with in-store professional designers. Consistent quality during all past years I’ve been buying from them. If a person needs home furnishings start here and compare. You will recognize the value.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 18, 2020

I bought a custom sofa from EA, and it was great from start to finish with all custom options, it is beautiful and very comfortable. Excellent customer service from my sales designer: Drew. A custom fabric that would be railroad as opposed to up the bolt so the application would have no seams showing as I had chosen an option of a bench cushion, and then upgraded to spring down fill.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Nov. 11, 2020

The delivery person will travel an hour and a half to bring my furniture and then leave again with it to return again because he will not make himself known if I can't hear the door. There are also several cars in the drive and I have a house staff as well. This is careless of the driver and the company for allowing it. I am STILL waiting for them to make yet another trip..Waste of time and money. This is the LAST purchase I will make with Ethan Allen. No one should have to pay to be ignored by staff at a company!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Oct. 13, 2020

We ordered chairs for like 7000.00 and within 2 days we called and asked them to stop because we weren't sure about the fabric we choose. They wouldn't stop our order and keep our deposit. Very fraud company. Don't buy furniture their customer service is so bad. They just want your money. NEVER SHOP THERE AGAIN.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Sept. 25, 2020

We placed a special order for a bed on 7/1/2020. We were told it would be 10-12 weeks before delivery. Our delivery date has changed 5 times now. We have been EXTREMELY patient because of Covid. Now, we have been informed that it will be 16-20 weeks for our delivery. (This will probably change because it has changed so many times already.) I have emailed and called Ethan Allen customer service 8 times (all documented) with an average phone wait time of 23 minutes. I have left 5 voicemails for call backs. NOTHING!!

Customer service has completely IGNORED my request for a refund, as we are no longer patient waiting for a bed that has not even begun to be made. Per the Chesterfield, MO store location, there has been a “fabric delay.” This is unacceptable. I expect much higher quality of customer service from a “FINE” furniture store. I am shocked to experience such avoidance in our concerns. We have been more than patient and are requesting an official FULL refund.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Sept. 5, 2020

I have been purchasing furniture from Ethan Allen for over 30 years and am very satisfied with the quality as well as their customer service. Today my new dining chairs arrived. They are simply beautiful and well crafted.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Aug. 26, 2020

We ordered a lot of furniture from Ethan Allen for our new home. They do not answer any calls or emails. Their service center employees are totally unhelpful. Our furniture has not showed up in the last 3 months. They have charged our credit card and still no furniture. Stay away from this company.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed Aug. 5, 2020

On July 31st, I purchased a sofa online. As I was ordering this sofa, the price came up of $1450.00. Then the screen quickly changed to a new price of $1650.00. It was past the business hours of customer service so I placed the order and sent an email questioning the jump in price online. Please understand I also took a picture of the price of $1450.00 on my iPhone for verification. The next day I received a voice message on my phone from a company employee by the name of Joanne. She stated to pulled my order and the price of $1650.00 was the correct price. She stated she was not sure what might have transpired when I placed the order online however they do not honor prices that may have appeared online that the $1650.00 stands and they do have the right to change prices at any time.

That day I tried phoning the company. I was placed on a hold for over an hour then a voice came on advising to leave a voice message. I was very upset, needless to say that I waited for that length of time with no response. Yesterday, I again emailed the company advised of my complaint and that I was located in California, not Eastern Standard Time and to please return my call during my time, not at 6:34 Am. So far I have had no response to my complaint. I feel that they need to honor the price that appeared online (of which I have a I phone photo of for proof) as any reputable company would or should do. I have purchased many items in the past from this company and have always been satisfied. However, presently their lack of response I find disturbing as a senior citizen and veteran.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed July 29, 2020

I ordered my Cedric server to match another one that we had in our house. I waited more than a month for the order and when it finally arrived, the item was defective - lines that looked like cracks. I refused the delivery and they took it back. I still wanted the product, so I asked them to send a replacement that was better quality. Weeks later, I received a phone call to tell me that there was nothing wrong with the product from their end. I have never been able to get back in touch with the person who left the nasty message. They have never called me back either. I have waited on hold on several occasions waiting to talk to someone in customer service. We are now about a month from the unsuccessful delivery and I am waiting for new product. Maybe someone needs to refund? I have no idea? They have gone silent on their end, even though they still have my money and I have no product. HELP!!!

Thanks for your vote! Report

Reviewed July 21, 2020

I ordered a dining room table the first of April. It is now July 21st and still no table. I have made numerous calls to the Overland Park, Kansas store to inquire about the delays. When finding out that this was an Ethan Allen on line order they refused to help me. They informed me they had no way to track my order and that next time I should only order at the store. Obviously commission motivated? In any event this experience has been a nightmare. I finally was supposed to have the table delivered today at 7:00 am, but received a call at 7:25 stating they had to cancel delivery for today. I still have no table! Funny thing is I just built a brand new 5 bedroom house and am buying all new furniture in every room. Ethan Allen was going to get thousands of dollars of business. Not now. I will never buy anything from this inept company again.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Loading more reviews...

Ethan Allen Company Information

Company Name:
Ethan Allen
Year Founded:
United States