3.4/5 (282 reviews)

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

Overall Rating3.4 out of 5
See all 282 reviews

About Sunrun

Sunrun sells and leases customized residential solar energy systems and its Brightbox battery storage service in 20 states. Customers can own or lease a system with $0 down. Sunrun offers free energy consultations and quotes. Over 250,000 homes across the U.S. have gone solar with Sunrun, according to the company.

Pros & Cons


  • Flexible payment options
  • Daily system monitoring
  • Warranty with complete coverage


  • Limited price transparency
  • Not available in all states

Bottom Line

Sunrun offers personalized home solar energy system design, with the option to lease or purchase with monthly payments. Customers are generally satisfied with their solar systems, but some say the initial cost was high.

Top Sunrun Reviews

Rated with 5 stars

Sunrun is the best solar company you can find out there. They are very cost effective compared to other solar companies out there. I am very happy with my purchase and would refer...

Read full review
Rated with 5 stars

… My solar system is producing as much as our Sunrun rep promised us. We are very happy and satisfied with the service. Sunrun offers several solar options, we decided to go with ...

Read full review

What is Sunrun?

Sunrun is a residential solar panel company that designs, installs, finances, monitors, maintains and insures its systems. It customizes home systems based on energy usage history, the customer’s design preferences and the roof space, using an automated site modeling tool that profiles roof characteristics like shading, pitch and sun exposure.

As of the time of publishing, in 19 of the 20 states where it sets up solar energy systems, Sunrun also offers its Brightbox battery service to new customers. Brightbox provides eight to 12 hours of backup electricity in case of an outage.

Sunrun provides a “bumper-to-bumper” warranty on all solar equipment, which features free repairs and replacement of equipment, including parts and labor. Sunrun monitors customers’ systems daily to make sure they're performing optimally and includes full insurance coverage that covers theft and damage.

Sunrun cost

The average cost for a solar energy system ranges from $15,000 to $29,000, but Sunrun’s prices are sometimes higher than other solar energy providers because of the technology it uses. Fill out a form on its website to get a free solar energy consultation and quote. Sunrun partners with Costco to make solar panels available to its members at lower prices.

There are multiple ways to pay for a Sunrun system, with eligible customers able to go solar for $0 down. Sunrun offers monthly leases (BrightSave Monthly), full leases (BrightSave Prepaid, a power purchase agreement), purchases with financing (BrightAdvantage) and full purchases (BrightBuy). The monthly lease option is the customer favorite, according to Sunrun.

Sunrun takes care of paperwork, permits and installation, whether you lease or buy.

Sunrun installations

Sunrun customizes solar system installations based on factors like a customer’s energy usage history and a home’s roof. Solar advisors use a proprietary design technology, BrightPath, to analyze your home and energy needs.

Once you and Sunrun finalize the design, Sunrun submits all necessary paperwork for approval from your local government.

Once the system is approved, installation starts. Installation can take from one to five days. After installation is complete, the crew foreman explains how the system works and shows you how to power it on.

Your local government must inspect and approve the system before you can connect it to the grid. The utility company installs a net meter so Sunrun can track how much solar electricity you produce and use. Upon approval from the utility company, you can begin using your solar panels. The entire process can take several months to complete. A Sunrun project coordinator can give you an approximate timeline.

Sunrun warranty

All of Sunrun’s solar plans come with a “worry-free” warranty, which covers equipment repairs and replacement, including parts and labor. Sunrun installations also come with a roof warranty that guarantees any roof penetrations remain watertight for 10 years.

When you lease a solar energy system from Sunrun, all maintenance costs are covered. If you purchase a Sunrun system, you're responsible for maintenance costs and any repairs that aren’t covered by the warranty.

Sunrun FAQ

Where is Sunrun available?

Sunrun is available in the following states, as well as in Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico.

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin
What solar panels does Sunrun use?

Sunrun uses LG solar panels, such as the NeON 2. LG solar panels are made of monocrystalline cells, which are known for higher efficiency and slower degradation.

Where are Sunrun solar panels made?

Sunrun solar panels are manufactured in South Korea.

What is the Sunrun app?

The Sunrun app, mySunrun, allows you to see how much energy your system is producing, along with system features and billing information. It is available for Apple and Android devices.

What is Sunrun’s cancellation policy?

You can cancel or make changes to your Sunrun solar agreement within 21 days of signing the contract as long as it’s before the installation date.

Who owns Sunrun?

Sunrun was co-founded by CEO Lynn Jurich in 2007. It is a publicly traded company with significant capital investments from Pacific Gas and Electric Company and Sequoia Capital.

Where is Sunrun headquartered?

Sunrun is based in San Francisco.

Is Sunrun a good company?

We like that Sunrun guides clients through the design and installation process. The company strives to offer the easiest and smartest way to join the clean energy revolution. Solar energy systems with Brightbox battery service give you more than savings — they also give you control of your electricity, letting you save power to use during peak times or when there’s an outage.

Sunrun video review

sunrun solar video review
Joesphine: My name is Josephine. I live in the state of California, and high PG&E bill really got me into doing the solar panels with Sunrun. And it's a very good thing to have the solar panels. I chose Sunrun because I really got tired of paying so much for PG&E bill. And the reason I chose them, because I felt more comfortable throughout the whole presentation. And then when they came out and worked on my house, there was a group of younger people working on top of the roof, and they was just really laid back. And my son, he's a special needs, and he went out to see what they were doing, and they talked to him and everything. And I thought, wow. hey, this is nice. And then they showed him little things, you know, what they were doing and stuff. And he was interested in it. I said, they took their time out of their schedule to talk to him. I was just really relieved and comfortable that he was able to go out and talk with them. About the purchase, I liked it that they explained all the details. And I felt more at ease. I felt at ease to ask questions. There was one question I asked, who is the founder of this company? And the guy told me it was a woman. And I thought, wow, Hallelujah. Finally. You know, I was all for it and, you know, girl power. The people that worked with me with the solar panels, they was very responsible. They came in, brought their equipment and stuff. And they made sure after they finished the work, they cleaned up and took all the stuff away. And then I looked at the panels, and I liked it so much, because the panels, when they finished it, it had a period on it. It came down slanted, so it made it look finished. And then when you walk past the house, it made the house look more expensive. And it also made the, the sound from the outside to the inside, it made the sound quieter. My Sunrun purchase was definitely worth it because it gives me a peace of mind, and I know I don't have to come up with $200 every time the utility bill come out now. It's really worth it to the point that I've told other people about it. And, you know, well especially like at Christmastime, I can burn my Christmas lights and stuff and I don't have to worry about my utility bill being sky high the next month. So it's well worth it. I would recommend it. So anybody that has a high utility bill, as I did, I really love my solar panels and I'm happy I purchased them.

Sunrun Reviews

Top reviews
  • Top reviews
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
  • Any
  • Rated with 5 stars
  • Rated with 4 stars
  • Rated with 3 stars
  • Rated with 2 stars
  • Rated with 1 star

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

3 featured reviews
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Sunrun?
  • 4,241,241 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 1 Reviews 0 - 5
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 25, 2023

Enrolling with Sunrun was super easy. I gave my information to the guy at Costco. Then another guy called me, set an appointment, came to my home, and talked about how things might work. We decided to go ahead. Periodically, I would get a phone call or an email updating me with what was the latest. One day a crew was here, and they set it all up. They gave me a video for what to do when APS finishes their stuff to switch it on.

Initially, I thought the sytem was being more productive than it was because we've been in the home for one year and I got a refund of my deposit. I thought that was because I was creating so much power with my solar. But I realized it's not covering my full amount of electricity. It's not as productive as I was hoping. The salesperson deterred me from getting a battery system because he said it would be too expensive. I've got this app, and it's saving me money because I saved about $40 off my electricity bill. But my payment each month is gonna be about 120. So it’s increased my monthly bill electricity by about 80. I don't know if the reason it doesn't produce enough is because we underestimated how many panels I would need. I feel they undersold me, that they didn't give me enough panels and didn't sell me the battery system to do what I was hoping it would do.

Sunrun response

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, Steven! We are so sorry to hear that you are not producing as much as expected, and we'd be happy to review your system's performance along with any other specific concerns you have. We've assigned an Expert who will review your account and reach out to you as soon as possible to see how we can help. They can take a few business days to review, so please feel free to send us a private message if you have any questions in the meantime. Thanks!

4 people found this review helpful

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Solar Energy Companies delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Jan. 27, 2023

    When the fellow came out and installed the meter on August 25th of last year was when there was the ability to record the difference. And when the Sunrun app became operational the day after, so it would give you your daily generation. Because August and September were still peak production months, I was surprised about how it offset the electrical bill for that first couple months. I was impressed.

    Sunrun's communication was good. But it could have been better. I sat down with the sales rep back in March of 2022. She probably didn't know all the specifics. But I was under the impression at the end of March of 2022 that the installation process would have occurred a bit more rapidly. And there was a lack of communication on as to far as when all this would happen. From signing the contract in the early part of March of 2022 to having a fully functional system at the end of August of 2022, it took longer than what I expected.

    The crews that came out to install the system were good. We didn't get the initial installation until July. They came out, put the panels on and put everything that they could together. The inverter was not available until a month later. Another crew came out and finished the installation. And that was at the first part of August. And it kind sat there for three weeks until Xcel decided to make an appearance.

    I understand that there are delays with permitting and with supply chain issues etc. But a bit more detailed communication and say, "Hey, we got your contract. We got this. Don't expect anything for three months. We're not gonna be scheduling things out for three months." The next week, one of their planning guys showed up to do a house inspection to make sure that the roof was capable of carrying the load, that the electrical service was would be adequate. So I figured, "That was pretty quick." The guy was out here the next week. But after that, things dropped off and I didn't hear anything until the project manager called me in June and said, "Will July 8th work?" And I said, "Well, I guess so."

    The system was designed to produce so much power and that Sunrun guarantees that their system will produce that. That's not gonna happen until August of this year to see in fact if their production estimate is gonna actually be accurate. But they sent out these little maintenance tips. It says, “When your panels get dirty, spray them off with water from the ground. We really don't want you going up on the roof and endangering yourself and everything,” which is good advice. But they did not mention snow removal. We'll get more snow than typical in Denver. Also, it has been sticking around longer than it usually does.

    I purchased a Poly snow rake basically because I'm not gonna get up on the roof with snow on it. It snowed in December 28th and it snowed here about a foot. And for 10 days there, there was no production for me because there's no sunlight to get through the snow. I'm now able to clean those panels off from the ground, so I'm not endangering myself. But that works well. Maybe mentioning that in their maintenance brochure may be helpful. As soon as I cleared the snow off the panels, they started producing again. So, we're still good.

    I've recommended Sunrun to several people. I have two daughters and I showed them my electric bill after the installation was complete. They were shocked. I also recommended it to the neighbor across the street. She came over and asked how it was working. Also, my stepson was in from Florida, and he asked if Sunrun operated in Florida. And I found out that they did. So, I sent him the contact information.

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for sharing your story, Charles. Your feedback helps us continue to improve our solar experience.Thank you for choosing us as your solar provider!

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Nov. 30, 2022

    Sunrun is one of the largest companies in the industry. I spoke to four different solar companies and the parts with some of the other solar companies, but I did not like them. What I got, was purely just a sale. Sunrun at least made more sense of what they were saying, the way they said it. Even when I met the sales rep, I got the same thing, it was a sale, but genuine. There was great eye contact and energy.

    For the original installation, we needed to get a roof as well. So, part of Sunrun that I also liked was they had a roofing company attached to them when they took over. I liked the idea that you have one place where you could hold someone accountable and responsible. The tough part about it was, to get the roof installed, I had to go through my homeowners' association, which has nothing to do with Sunrun, but that was very frustrating. I finally got that all approved, but then it still took six weeks after that to get the roofing done.

    When the installation of the solar came on, they destroyed the new roof and broke the new roof. So, we had to get the secondary roof installed, which was very frustrating. The saddest part of all was, for the first installation, I paid for my family, to get out of here, knowing how bad and funky it was going to be. That was a couple of thousand bucks out of my pocket just to get them out so we didn't have to deal with that. But then, they had to deal with it the second time around, which I appreciate Sunrun saying, "We knew we're the ones that screwed it up. We'll cover this cost, all of that." But to me, it would be the waste factor and the timing factor that was very disturbing.

    They had great installers. I enjoyed the original roofing people and the secondary roofing people, yet we found nails and broken tiles for weeks throughout the garden. Some of the plants got squished too. Then, after all of that, they installed two-thirds of the solar before they had to leave to work on other projects. And it was my continuous follow-up, till we finally got someone to come back out again to put the rest of the solar panels on. It was a full year after we signed the contract before we got solar.

    I did not even get the answers that I had requested to know how to use Tesla's power cells until just two weeks ago and just kept being referred to other people. I finally got referred to Tesla themselves and that actually has been my best call. But I appreciate my sales rep, who unfortunately is no longer with the company. His follow-up was amazing. He was the one that kept me in the loop. Even though he was on medical leave, he would still call me or text me.

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for sharing your story, Mark. Your feedback helps us continue to improve your solar experience. We hope you get to enjoy your panels for years to come!

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Aug. 1, 2022

    The representative talked to me in front of my house on my lawn and set up an appointment. Then the sales agent came and explained to me how it worked and how the fees were based. It took him at least an hour to do it, and he went over every single point of it. The installation went excellent. They were right on schedule. The paperwork process took longer than they thought. But once they came out, they put the whole system up in a day. They did a nice job. It looked good. But as great as an installation job that was done on my home, Sunrun neglected to turn the system on and didn't tell me.

    It was a couple of weeks later when I went to log on to my Sunrun account and it wasn't showing anything. So I called the Sunrun representative and asked what was going on. The rep said that they couldn't communicate with my system. I figured it out on my own how to turn it on. I turned the system on, and it came up. It was producing poorly. After about three weeks, I received a call from Sunrun and they told me that my system was underperforming and they were sending a technician out. A couple of days later, the technician came out to my house and found that one-half of my solar array wasn't wired correctly. After that was corrected, my system began to produce as it was designed.

    My system is doing great and Sunrun said it's producing better than what they had intended. But I was still getting full electric bills from my electric provider. Sunrun coordinated with my electric service provider to change my electric meter over to a net metering unit. When the electricians came out, they changed my standard meter and put in a new meter. But the meter that they put in was another standard meter. So I lost over two months’ worth of solar energy. I'm currently working with the service provider to try and get that back. So it's not really a fault of Sunrun’s in that the system is working. However, as a consumer, I expected it to be operational that I would see benefit, and I haven't yet. My electric bill did not go down, but I pay an additional $90 a month to Sunrun. So I have lost money. The electric company came out and changed my meter again and put on the correct meter. So going forward, it should work.

    Sunrun response

    We're thrilled you had a good experience, Peter! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thanks for playing such an important role in our solar community and for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

    2 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: June 3, 2022

    The sales rep was super great, and she was the best part of the whole thing. All the inspections were handled beautifully as well. We got to the install and on the day that they came in, they told us that the electricity was going to be shut off for some time. Something happened and they tried to get in contact with our electrical company SMUD. Our electricity didn't get turned back on, and it was very cold that night. We had to stay in a hotel, and Sunrun paid for that, which was fine. It was just an inconvenience. We also got into some trouble when we didn't pass inspection. There were supposed to be certain stickers on the control panels outside. When they did the install, even though it took them two days, they didn't put the stickers on.

    Weeks and more weeks went by, and I still didn't hear anything. I tried to reach out to our service person at Sunrun. When I finally heard back from her, she said that she was sorry for the inconvenience, but there was a reorganization within their company. Our case was sent to somebody else, and I emailed her and didn't hear anything. That was a level of frustration. Finally, I reached out to my sales rep and she took care of things immediately.

    I heard back from my internal customer service person and she said that she was really sorry. Things started rolling again and we've had great service after that hiccup. Sunrun made it right. The rep also said that they were going to send us $250 as a "We're sorry that this took longer than anticipated because it didn't pass inspection, although we've not received it yet." Right now, we're in a special. We are six months for $1 a month and I don't mind paying $1.

    Sunrun response

    Thanks for reaching out, Tina! We're delighted to hear you had a good experience with us, but we're sorry there was an issue with your installation. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please send us a private message with your address so that we can look further into this. Thank you!

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 23, 2023

    We got four estimates for solar panels, including Sunrun, and decided to go with another company. The Sunrun sales pitch was high-pressured, complicated, and condescending. We went with another company who explained the process more clearly, answered our questions more thoroughly and fit our budget better. Since then, I've had a call from Sunrun "to schedule a contract", a salesman come to the door to bad mouth the company we chose and five phone calls to my husband. We can't get rid of them!

    Sunrun response

    We are so sorry to hear about your experience during your sales pitch, Sarah. Here at Sunrun, we always strive to give the best customer service to anyone who is interested in our product. We would love the opportunity to make things right and speak to you further on this matter, so that we can hopefully turn this around for you, and also help keep this from happening again. Please feel free to send us a private message with your contact info at Thanks!

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Resolution In ProgressRated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 17, 2023

    The sales representative from Sunrun promised things and they are included in the contract but then Titan Solar who was the installer said they wouldn’t do what was in the contract (the sub electric panel) until we actually add the room onto our house. It took several weeks before they were installed and then didn’t pass inspection because of the wiring not according to the plan. Then had to be reinspected by county and then APS wouldn’t pass it because they didn’t install the sub panel in the plans they had given APS.

    We called the company and no one there did anything but pass the buck to the sales representative who promised to call back and of course didn’t. The solar finally gets working and then we are now told that we have to pay $7.50 more each month because we don’t want to pay automatic payments (never told that in the sales process) after them not being very reliable so far with anything we have been told. We highly suggest that you steer clear of this company.

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for reaching out and letting us know, Debbie. We are so sorry to hear that the process took longer than expected, and we would be more than happy to address your concerns so we can turn your experience around. We will be sending you a private message requesting additional account information so we can confirm your account and assign an Expert to your case. Thanks!

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Resolution In ProgressRated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 12, 2023

    The company will promise you the world and back to get a sale. The promise warranties on the roof, installation, etc, etc. Late last year we finally got the panels turned on after months of back and forth with inspectors and the city, etc, etc. 2023 in Los Angeles has seen record rainfall but even so, the panels were supposedly installed by code and the roof was fully inspected beforehand to make sure it was done correctly.

    The year prior in 2022 and year before that we had no issues with roof leaks, it was only after getting the panels installed that we had roof leaks! So we call them and the give use the roundabout of roundabouts, sending us to phone number 1 and 2, setting days to call back, etc, etc. And the do get a guy over, one of theirs to inspect the installation and as expected: no issues. OF COURSE THEIR lackey is gonna say that! Why wouldn't they!

    So now after much back and forth they want to charge us 4000$ to remove the panels so WE can pay to get the roof fixed. Like what!? How do these companies get away with this! Promises of this and that beforehand, guarantees on your roof, etc, and then as soon as you actually have a problem, it's YOUR problem to fix THEIR mistake! Garbage company, honestly companies like this are why people will lose faith in green technologies. If you get a salesman at your door, slam it in their face immediately! They will promise you the moon and the stars to get a sale and if there are problems you are footing the bill and more!

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Jose. We are so sorry to hear that you are having issues with your roof, and we would like to look into this further to see how we can help you. We will be sending you a private message requesting additional account information so we can personally connect you with an Expert that can help. Thanks!

    5 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 3 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: May 6, 2023

    Signed up at Costco for free estimate. They were on time and polite. It was a good presentation. They were by far the most expensive out of my several estimates and not the best production guarantee. Of course every supplier says they have the best panels but who really knows. One issue that stuck was that according the kiosk man at the warehouse the Costco cash card was supposed to be 10% of the system cost, so in our case it should’ve been between $4k-$6k depending on which size system and how many panels.

    Even with the bigger system the cash card was only going to be $1800 and the salesman did not know anything about the 10%. I had to ask my wife if I was crazy and she indeed confirmed that’s what the rep at Costco told us. I didn’t push it because once I saw their cost and production guarantee I had already decided I was not going to choose Sunrun as the other companies had more to offer at the higher the price points in way of panels and production. Just something to be aware of.

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, John. Your feedback helps us to continue to improve your solar experience. If you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact us at Thank you!

    Be the first one to find this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: April 28, 2023

    When I say worst decision ever; the absolute worst decision. First it took them a year to finally get the system up and going. During that time there was hardly any communication. When they turn on the system there was no communication. I just started to receive a bill. The system was turned on August of last year. To this very day the system is underperforming and have required someone to come out to the home almost every month. I am now paying more for electricity than I was before I had Sunrun. I have to pay both the electric company and Sunrun for electricity.

    I'm being told I have to pay the bill because I signed a contract. I was told that if I don't pay my account may be taken to debt collection. I have also been told that my account could not be credited until they fix the problem and the system is fully producing. It has been almost 9 months and they still have not been able to get it fixed. My question is how long do they intend to have me paying for a service that I am not benefiting from.

    Sunrun response

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Ariana. Let me start by saying we are so sorry to hear that your system is not performing as expected, and we'd like to look into this further to see how we can help you. We've assigned an Expert who will review your account and reach out to you as soon as possible to speak with you further about your concerns. If you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to send us a private message so we can help you. Thanks!

    6 people found this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    Sunrun Company Information

    Social media:
    Company Name:
    595 Market Street, 29th floor
    San Francisco
    Postal Code:
    United States