Sunrun

Sunrun Reviews

Sunrun Reviews
4.2(2,900)
Author pictureAuthor picture
Author picture
Written by
Author picture
Edited by

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

About Sunrun

Sunrun sells and leases customized residential solar energy systems and its battery storage service in 20 states and two U.S. territories. Customers can own or lease a system with $0 down. Sunrun offers free energy consultations and quotes. Over 900,000 homes across the U.S. have gone solar with Sunrun.

Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Flexible payment options
  • Daily system monitoring
  • Warranty with complete coverage
Cons
  • Limited price transparency
  • Not available in all states

Featured Reviews

Verified
Conroe, TX

Sunrun is the best solar company you can find out there. They are very cost effective compared to other solar companies out there. I am very happy with my purchase and would refer...

Read full review
Verified
Richmond, TX

… My solar system is producing as much as our Sunrun rep promised us. We are very happy and satisfied with the service. Sunrun offers several solar options, we decided to go with ...

Read full review

Sunrun panels and equipment

Sunrun uses monocrystalline solar panels from various suppliers, including LG. Sunrun uses monocrystalline photovoltaic modules in all of its home solar systems. These systems are known for higher efficiency and slower degradation.

Sunrun installation

Sunrun customizes solar system installations based on factors like a customer’s energy usage history and a home’s roof. Solar advisors use a proprietary design technology to analyze your home and energy needs.

Once you and Sunrun finalize the design, Sunrun submits all necessary paperwork for approval from your local government.

Once the system is approved, installation starts. Installation can take from one to five days. After installation is complete, the crew foreman explains how the system works and shows you how to power it on.

Your local government must inspect and approve the system before you can connect it to the grid. The utility company installs a net meter to track the amount of solar power that you send to the grid. Upon approval from the utility company, you can begin using your solar panels. The entire process can take several months to complete. A Sunrun project coordinator can give you an approximate timeline.

» LEARN MORE: Solar panel installation guide

Sunrun services

In addition to solar energy production, Sunrun offers energy storage options. The company provides home batteries as its solar battery storage solution. This system uses the solar energy you produce and uses it during power outages or in the evening during time-of-use peak pricing. As of publishing, this energy storage option is only available to new Sunrun solar customers.

The company also offers EV charging through a partnership with Ford. Sunrun customers can purchase a Ford Charge Station that is specifically designed to be used with the Ford F-150 Lightning. The EV charger will work with other vehicles that use an SAE J1772 connector, including Tesla, with a commonly used adapter.

Sunrun cost

The average cost for a solar energy system ranges from $15,000 to $29,000, but Sunrun’s prices are sometimes higher than other solar energy providers because of the technology it uses. Fill out a form on its website to get a free solar energy consultation and quote. Sunrun partners with Costco to make solar panels available to its members at lower prices.

Sunrun takes care of paperwork, permits and installation, whether you lease or buy.

Financing options

There are multiple ways to pay for a Sunrun system, with eligible customers able to go solar for $0 down. Sunrun offers monthly leases, full leases (a power purchase agreement), purchases with financing and full purchases. The monthly lease option is the customer favorite, according to Sunrun.

Sunrun warranty

All of Sunrun’s solar plans come with a “worry-free” warranty, which covers equipment repairs and replacement, including parts and labor. Sunrun installations also come with a roof warranty that guarantees any roof penetrations remain watertight for 10 years.

When you lease a solar energy system from Sunrun, all maintenance costs are covered. If you purchase a Sunrun system, you're responsible for maintenance costs and any repairs that aren’t covered by the warranty.

Sunrun FAQ

What is Sunrun?

Sunrun is a residential solar panel company that designs, installs, finances, monitors, maintains and insures its systems. It customizes home systems based on energy usage history, your design preferences and your home's roof space using an automated site modeling tool that profiles roof characteristics like shading, pitch and sun exposure.

How does Sunrun work?

When choosing Sunrun, you’ll first fill out a form on the company website. From there, you will work with a Sunrun representative to decide on your system size and battery details, figure out your cost and energy usage and finally look into incentives in your state.

Where is Sunrun available?

Sunrun is available in the following states as well as Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico.

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin
Does Sunrun have storage and monitoring options?

Yes, Sunrun proactively monitors your solar energy system’s production to make sure it is producing how it is supposed to. There is also the mySunrun app that allows customers to stay on top of their energy generation, bills and more.

Is Sunrun legit?

Yes. According to reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com, customers are generally satisfied with Sunrun’s solar systems, but some say the initial cost was high.

Sunrun video review

sunrun solar video review
Joesphine: My name is Josephine. I live in the state of California, and high PG&E bill really got me into doing the solar panels with Sunrun. And it's a very good thing to have the solar panels. I chose Sunrun because I really got tired of paying so much for PG&E bill. And the reason I chose them, because I felt more comfortable throughout the whole presentation. And then when they came out and worked on my house, there was a group of younger people working on top of the roof, and they was just really laid back. And my son, he's a special needs, and he went out to see what they were doing, and they talked to him and everything. And I thought, wow. hey, this is nice. And then they showed him little things, you know, what they were doing and stuff. And he was interested in it. I said, they took their time out of their schedule to talk to him. I was just really relieved and comfortable that he was able to go out and talk with them. About the purchase, I liked it that they explained all the details. And I felt more at ease. I felt at ease to ask questions. There was one question I asked, who is the founder of this company? And the guy told me it was a woman. And I thought, wow, Hallelujah. Finally. You know, I was all for it and, you know, girl power. The people that worked with me with the solar panels, they was very responsible. They came in, brought their equipment and stuff. And they made sure after they finished the work, they cleaned up and took all the stuff away. And then I looked at the panels, and I liked it so much, because the panels, when they finished it, it had a period on it. It came down slanted, so it made it look finished. And then when you walk past the house, it made the house look more expensive. And it also made the, the sound from the outside to the inside, it made the sound quieter. My Sunrun purchase was definitely worth it because it gives me a peace of mind, and I know I don't have to come up with $200 every time the utility bill come out now. It's really worth it to the point that I've told other people about it. And, you know, well especially like at Christmastime, I can burn my Christmas lights and stuff and I don't have to worry about my utility bill being sky high the next month. So it's well worth it. I would recommend it. So anybody that has a high utility bill, as I did, I really love my solar panels and I'm happy I purchased them.

Sunrun Reviews

Stars Rating

  • 66%
  • 15%
  • 6%
  • 2%
  • 12%

Popular Mentions

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Sunrun?
    • 4,482,526 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
    Top reviews
    • Top reviews
    • Recent
    • Oldest
    • Most helpful

    A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

    3 featured reviews
    How do I know I can trust these reviews about Sunrun?
    • 4,482,526 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
    Page 1 Reviews 0 - 5
    Verified purchase
    Installation & SetupPriceBattery

    Reviewed May 26, 2024

    Everything was going according to the plan during the installation. The initial plan included a storage battery to be installed to store the excess electrical power generated. Later, I learned from Sunrun that they're not gonna be able to install a battery because they cited that the city that we live in doesn't allow installing batteries indoors. So, the storage batteries needed to be installed outdoors. But there was no space in the area where Sunrun wanted to install the battery so they just scrapped the storage batteries. I went along with that, believing that that was the case.

    On the other hand, a number of my neighbors have also installed solar panels and they have their batteries stored in a garage. How other companies could install batteries inside the garage in my neighborhood and Sunrun could not is something that still is a question for me. When they said that the city is not allowing installing batteries inside the garage, I took that. This may make sense because it may be a safety issue. Maybe it's a fire issue because battery is something loaded with all kinds of energy storage and sometimes, batteries can heat up and explode and be a higher fire hazard. Maybe that is the case. And I was making up reasons to convince myself that what Sunrun is telling me is making sense.

    But as I saw the others installing batteries inside their garages, I thought about how sincere Sunrun’s feedback was and how solid the reasoning for that was. You can be cynical and say that at that time, Sunrun did not have enough batteries in their stock and they just wanted to just weasel out. Or installing a battery did not make financial sense to someone at that point. And therefore, they just moved my project forward by giving me a bunch of mumbo jumbo. Maybe someday, somebody will help me understand that.

    The price of the batteries was approximately $10,000. The cost of everything is going up and will keep going up. Maybe the competition will drive the cost of the battery down. But on the other hand, with all the EVs and the additional need for storage of electrical power, it's very likely that the cost of the battery will go up rather than down. So, even if Sunrun comes back to me and says they’re ready to put a battery inside our garage, I'm gonna be paying a high price for that because of the cost difference between 2023 and hypothetically 2025.

    We just have the panels and it's connected to the network and they don't pay a lot for that. So, we are producing energy and sending it to the network for a lower price. And we're getting them for a higher price from the network. We have no storage capacity so, we're at their mercy. When you have storage, it will reduce the dependence on the higher-cost electrical power that you're receiving from them. But overall, Sunrun did well. The product is great and everything seems to be functioning well. I hope it will be functioning the same in the future, at least for some time. I have the app and I don't do that regularly but once in a while, I go to it. In Southern California, we have months of May and June overcast. So, we don't have a whole lot of sunshine until later on in the day, and that piqued my curiosity to see if the system is producing or not. I go to it and when I do, I see how much we're producing, which is good and it is all I need.

    Sunrun
    Sunrun
    Pinned

    Thank you for sharing your story, Hassan. Your feedback helps us continue to improve your solar experience. If you can send your address and review to resolutions@sunrun.com, we can look into this further so you can see if we can't place the batteries in a different location. Thanks for choosing us as your solar provider!

    Not sure how to choose?

    Get buying tips about Solar Energy Companies delivered to your inbox.

      By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

      Thanks for subscribing.

      You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

      Verified purchase
      Customer Service

      Reviewed April 5, 2024

      Sunrun contacted me in say May, and the whole thing wasn't done until January. So, it took quite a while to get things done. My first contact there needed to take a medical leave, so the ball kinda got dropped. For about two months, I wasn't sure what was going on. They weren't calling me and returning my calls. It turned out that the first guy was on leave, and they hadn't assigned it. Once they got it assigned to somebody else, things went well.

      There were some surprise costs that I didn't anticipate. I had to do some work on my roof because it wasn't up to the code for the solar panels, but I understand that happens. I had to redo part of my roof because it wasn't good enough to support the panels. We wanted to have enough panels that I wouldn't be paying anything out of pocket for electricity. So, we fudged it on the side of like it generating more than I used. The results have been fine. Sunrun has been responsible. To some extent, you gotta deal with Sunrun and you gotta also deal with your utility, which is LADWP. So at one point, Sunrun would be done, but LADWP wasn't ready. Then it took them about a month to certify it. I understand everybody has those issues. I haven't talked to anybody that didn't have those issues.

      Then my meter went bad in January of '23 and for about a month, DWP couldn't tell how much I was generating. That was actually on them. Other than that, they've been very responsive. There's been a couple of times where I had issues. When I called them, I got through to them right away. They do send people out really quickly. Initially, I wasn't very happy with them because it seemed like they had forgotten about me but once they got that part fixed up, it was okay. And since then, everything's been okay.

      I don't pay anything for electricity. There's a bank of money that goes up every month where I'm generating more electricity than I'm using. And even though I don't get cash for that, that would count against any month where if I somehow used more electricity than I generated. So if it was a really cloudy month, I would have a bank against that. I haven't had any problem with outages. I do have a backup battery, but I haven't had enough power outages just to even know how that works. Sunrun is a good company to work with. They're a big company and they're located out of state, but they're still responsive. They deal with local contractors for the installation. The biggest issue with solar is just the rules with the California Public Utilities Commission. They keep changing. So, you do have to do your due diligence. The rules today are not the same as the rules when I bought my system.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Tim. We genuinely apologize for the extended duration it took to activate your system, and we understand the inconvenience this has caused. Your feedback is immensely valuable to us, and we appreciate your openness in sharing your concerns. To ensure we address all your needs, please feel free to send us a private message with your service address if there is anything else you need assistance with. Thank you!

      Verified purchase
      Customer ServiceContract & TermsTechPrice

      Reviewed Dec. 28, 2023

      The salesman came out, set the system up and everything was fine. It worked perfectly. They did the drone, looked in the attic and told me what they were gonna do. Everything was to the dot the first time. A year later, I purchased a Tesla so I needed extra panels and I had a problem with Sunrun. They weren't upfront on what they were gonna do. The salesman said, based on what I have, I was gonna need so many and they would go a couple over to be safe. That was great. But once I got the Tesla, he said I would need some extra panels. He never said it was a different contract and I have two payments now.

      When I got the bills, I didn't understand why I was behind on one of my bills. It’s automatic and he said they were two different bills because they can't bundle them. He never told me that upfront. I probably still would have gotten it but I would have known about it. I had already purchased a Tesla so it wouldn't have made much of a difference on that but the salesman never said it was the only way they could do it. I told him and he said he did. I know he didn't because it was three months and I was calling accounting and I was told what happened. But I am happy with the service with Sunrun. It has nothing to do with the salesman. He wasn't the same one from the year before. If you don't ask, they won't tell you certain things and he thought maybe I wouldn't get Sunrun for panels. But I was still gonna get them because I have the vehicle.

      I see what the Tesla costs to charge every night because I use it every day. But I'm under and still have a credit with STG. So, it's not like I go above and beyond and try to use as much current as I can because I have panels. It's still my wife and myself, so we're still under but I'm fine with that. I'm very satisfied with the service and it was just that part that the salesman said he was sure he told me.

      I'm in San Diego County and my aunt who I lived with for 15 years lives in Cucamonga. I called Sunrun and they referred me to a different salesman out in Cucamonga. So, he went out and did the estimate on my aunt’s house and everything was ready to go. That was six months ago. They did all the work. But two weeks ago, the salesman came back and told her she has to pay $2,300 because they screwed up on the estimate that they have to do something with the existing electrical panels and there's a charge. My aunt is on social security so she's tight with her budget. So I talked to him and I said I had them do my service and my neighbors too. But now they’re telling me it's $2,300 for them to finish my aunt’s. She doesn't have the money. He said he was gonna call Sunrun and see what he could do so she wouldn't have to pay. He told me he screwed up. He should have told her but he didn't.

      It was the salesman and Sunrun who got lost somehow on that extra charge. But so far, they haven't hooked it up. He hasn't called me back to see what the deal is. This was Tuesday of last week and we're just waiting on him to see what he's gonna say. There's no way my aunt can pay it even if it's payments because she's just trapped. It's a four-bedroom house and her husband died. It was a slip-up. But besides that, everything's fine. I live on a cul-de-sac so it's hard because I don't know the other neighbors that live up the street. But any chance I can, I'm always telling them to go to Sunrun. They can't go wrong. The guys that came out did all the service. They painted all the tubing and the conduit. Everything was nice and they didn't cut any corners. It's perfect.

      Verified purchase
      Customer ServicePrice

      Reviewed Aug. 3, 2023

      Sunrun is pretty good about getting back to me. But a lot of times, it's not that good of an explanation I get. I've been confused about a few things and I never seemed to get a straight answer. They don't explain it very well, so that gets me more confused. Last year I was having my whole house power washed. I wanted to have the roof power washed, so I thought that it would be a good time to have the panels washed. But I know that there are certain restrictions on how they have to be done.

      I called Sunrun about it. If I want to have my panels cleaned, I have to have them done by someone who works through them. I told Sunrun that I had a person who was gonna do everything else on my house and he said he could do the panels, and I wanted to check with them. They said, “No. Don't have him do that. We'll have someone come out and assess everything and let you know how much it would cost to have them done.” So I told the fellow that I was working with to do everything else but not the panels. This was at the beginning of last summer in May and it took the whole summer to get them to come out and figure out and tell me anything.

      I ended up telling Sunrun that I would just have part of it done. I told them to clean the panels that were under the trees. They said that they would check on that. Then they called and said they had a guy that would come up and do it. I'm in Massachusetts and he was in Connecticut. Someone called me that the fellow was gonna come up that day to do the work. I asked how much it was gonna be and it was a lot more expensive than I was thinking it was gonna be.

      The guy told me that it was more expensive because he was gonna do all the panels. But I told him that I didn't need all of them done. He said, “If I wanna come all the way out there and have all my equipment and go up to do it, I'm gonna do all of them.” So I canceled that. After that, I didn't have anyone to clean them. Now it's getting to the end of the summer and going into fall. So I called Sunrun again and I told them what happened. They said that they'll check into it and get back to me. Then they called me back and said that if it was too expensive and I just wanna have a few done, I can hire my own person to do it. So I waited all summer to have them tell me to have my own person do it who I had here already three months ago and now to have him come back, it would cost me more than it would have originally. I never got it done but it's not a big deal.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      Thank you for taking the time to share your story, Penelope. Your feedback helps us continue to improve your solar experience and we'd be more than happy to speak with you further about any questions or concerns you still have. Please feel free to send a message to resolutions@sunrun.com if you are needing further assistance. Thanks!

      Verified purchase
      Customer ServiceInstallation & SetupContract & TermsTechBattery

      Reviewed Aug. 2, 2023

      I'm very happy with the way our solar panels are working to keep our air conditioning running 24/7 during this hot summer weather. We had a good understanding with Sunrun from the beginning. We first met up in December of 2021, and that was when I signed the contracts with them. They were here within about two weeks after that in the beginning of January and did the installation of the panels. We were told that we'd hear from them in a few months once they got the final permits approved in the county and the final inspection, and coordinated through PG&E before they turned on the panels.

      In May, I hadn't really received much information of what was going on. I kept calling and writing to them to find out when it was going to happen because the summer months were coming. I really wanted some relief from the high bills, but it didn't happen. They kept saying that there was a hold up in the permits. They were waiting on the California permit to get approved, and there was some kind of problem with the title on my home. I live in Woods Creek Mobile Home Park, and it's in Jamestown. I own the home but not the land I sit on. So, I have to pay property taxes on the house and a monthly space rental fee. I owned a home previously and I had it in a family trust so that I was sole owner and trustee of the property. When the other house was sold and this one I acquired, I had them put it in the family trust name, which was under my father's name.

      I think that caused some confusion in determining that I was the rightful owner of the house. Somehow, that got straightened up along the way and we waited on through the end of 2021. The agreement with Sunrun was that once the panels are turned on, they would pay the first six months. That was the perk to get you to sign up for it. So, we wouldn't have any PG&E bills for the first six months. I was still calling around in 2022. They finally said we are getting the approval. They worked with another company, which is called Bright Planet. Bright Planet is located in Contra Costa County. The technician lives in Pittsburgh, and then he had to drive to Livermore to get the company truck, and then from Livermore, up here. So, it was a long journey for all of this to get finalized, but he was very sweet, and talking with Bright Planet, they were always trying to answer my questions.

      There is another company circulating Tuolumne County area called V3. They were installing some solar on the mobile home park next to us called Mill Villa. One of their installers was canvassing over this area to see if any of our homes here would adequate rooms to be able to have solar installations, and he noticed that our solar panels were on our house, but that the inverter was off. So, he tapped on our door and he talked to us for a while. I gave him information and he said, "Well, our company could remove those panels. We could install ours, and we could have you up and running right away, being that it's been over a year and you still have no power. That's ridiculous."

      He wrote something to Sunrun that day, indicating that we were unhappy and that he was going to make a bid on our house and that. Then their legal department got involved and started writing back to me and talking about how they were going to sue us for $30,000 if we did anything like that, but they were sort of polite about it. They requested that we just hang on a little bit longer to let them get the permit straightened out, so that they could go ahead and turn the installation on. I got back in touch with V3 and I said, "Look, let's just back off. We're gonna stick with Sunrun. And if it doesn't happen, I can always call you again."

      Bright Planet got it taken care of some time toward the end of March. Since March, I have been paying Sunrun a dollar a month. I've been getting billed by PG&E for their office accounting, establishing the net meter and their readings. So, that's about $6 a month to pay to PG&E and if I'm counting back, if they said that they covered April, May, June, July, August maybe, and then September, then by October, we'll be paying our agreed upon $82 monthly throughout the end of the contract with them. 82 is a whole lot better than seeing a summer bill of 175 and crawling upwards of what it was like last summer. It was awful last summer and it was very hard to make those payments on our income.

      We did not have the battery offered to us at the time. In the extended year of wait period, they were finally able to become competitive and begin a new package like that for newer customers. When I saw that, I called them and I asked them about it. I wrote to them as well asking that I'd be put on the list for when they could begin a retro fit and a backup battery. The last I heard was they didn't think they were going to be able to offer that to us because at that point, PG&E was not going to approve that. Evidently, they're losing out too much on their income from the off peak-hours that we're getting charged. So if they can work that out, I do want to get the backup battery. As the way things worked along with us, it's been a fine plan. We've gotten what we needed when we needed it and we're happy.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      We're thrilled you had a good experience, Rebecca! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for playing such an important role in our solar community and for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

      Verified purchase
      Customer ServiceTechPrice

      Reviewed July 20, 2024

      Sunrun contacted my HOA and my HOA make me go to my neighbors' houses to ask if it was okay for me to put solar panels up. They also made put an equipment in the garage, not mounted on the outside of the garage, which sort of messed up my crowded garage. But I did it. Then I noticed all these people have solar panels on their roofs and they have that thing on the outside of their garages. So the bottom line is, Sunrun did it the right way. Since installation, my electric bill is $20 a month. And in the summer time, that's really great. Sunrun initially told me how much my monthly payment would be and that's what it is.

      Other than that, when they put these panels up on the roof, they put in these critter guards to keep pigeons and other things from going underneath the panels and making homes. But in my case, they did not put the right one in. Their critter guard was a screen that went straight across, but I have Spanish tiles on my roof, so they're curved. So, I had somebody come out and take videos and pictures of my roof with a drone. Then, I called Sunrun and at first they tried to say that they would have to charge me to come out here, but I told them that they didn't have to charge me anything. I already had proof. They said okay, so I sent them the pictures and they had another company come out. It was very good and very thorough. And they fixed all the screens.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      This is awesome, Lynne! Your positive feedback is like a ray of sunshine to us, and we're so happy we could guide you through your solar experience. Thanks for going solar with us!

      Verified purchase

      Reviewed July 20, 2024

      Sunrun came to my house and I decided to give them a shot. They're good. My experience going solar is good, too.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      We're thrilled you had a good experience, Fernando! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for playing such an important role in our solar community and for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

      Verified purchase
      Installation & Setup

      Reviewed July 20, 2024

      We already had 11 panels that were installed 15 years ago to get us under the tier. We were finishing up a total solar unit on the roof and the experience with Sunrun was a little taxing at times. They were experiencing some issues and it took a while to get us online because of the two different companies that installed. We were still receiving our PG&E bill and it indicated that we weren't online. We also hadn't been informed that we were online. The system was hooked up and ready to go, but PG&E kept putting us off. Sunrun was trying to accommodate them, but it was difficult. We found out about it three months from the point when it should have been hooked up until it was hooked up.

      But Sunrun made it right and reimbursed us money for the electric bill for those three months that we weren't hooked up. Also, the last two times that we've gotten our electric bill, we've had a credit of $129 and $126 each month. We're thoroughly happy with Sunrun. We've had three other friends that have hooked up with Sunrun because we referred them.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      Thanks for your review, Douglas! We're so delighted to hear that you're saving money with solar, and we hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of clean energy for years to come. Thanks for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

      Verified purchase
      Customer Service

      Reviewed July 20, 2024

      It was very, very easy to switch to Sunrun from traditional electricity. They paid me to do it. I talked to Sunrun recently because my power went off, and I didn't realize it. It took them over a month to notice. So, they sent me an email saying, “There's a problem with your system. We have to check it out.” Since I didn't know it, I immediately went outside and checked to see if somebody pulled a switch and sure enough, some kid had pulled the switch and turned it off. But it was odd that it took them a month to notify me and it was the best month of the year to build up power. So I complained about it and they gave me a $75 credit.

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      Thanks for your review, Richard! Our goal is to make going solar easy and enjoyable, and we're so happy to hear that you had a good experience with us. Thanks for doing your part by helping us create a planet run by the sun!

      Verified purchase
      Installation & Setup

      Reviewed July 19, 2024

      Sunrun was professional. They came out when they said they would. I didn't have to be at the house when they did the installation. I just gave them access to the garage. They were able to get everything done. Since they installed the panels, it cut my bill way down in half during the summer time. And in the winter time I pay 25 bucks. In the summer, it's hot so we cranked on the air conditioning even lower, but the bill is still reasonable compared to what it used to be. It used to be almost 300 to 400 bucks in the summer. But with the panels, the bill is somewhere within 100. I got only 10 panels. I wish I got more. But at the time when they did the calculation, Sunrun said, “If you just wanna get certain amount of panels, it will be this, or if you want to get more, it will be that.” And at the time, I was, “All right. Let's just go with 10 panels.”

      Sunrun
      Sunrun
      Pinned

      Thanks for your review, Phillip! We're so happy to hear that you're saving money with solar. Our goal is to make solar an easy and enjoyable experience for you, and we're delighted that you're part of the Sunrun family. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

      Loading more reviews...

      Sunrun Company Information

      Social media:
      Company Name:
      Sunrun
      Company Type:
      Public
      Year Founded:
      2007
      Address:
      225 Bush Street
      City:
      San Francisco
      State/Province:
      CA
      Postal Code:
      94105
      Country:
      United States
      Website:
      www.sunrun.com

      Media

      VIDEOS & IMAGES