Most people are curious about who might be curious about them. So when they log onto their Facebook account and see a new tool that will reveal who has accessed their profile, it might be tempting to click on it.

Big mistake.

Graham Cluley, security expert for Sophos software, says scammers are once again using Facebook as a lure for new victims.

"Right now we're seeing messages spreading across Facebook claiming to have found a way to allow you to sneakily tell who has been looking at your profile," Cluley writes in his blog. "And it's no shock to see that many people are intrigued as to who might be checking them out online."

However, Cluley points out that this is not new legitimate functionality that Facebook has built into its social network. Instead, if you click on the link you are taken to a third-party website which, to the untrained eye, may at first glance appear to still be on the real Facebook site, but is in fact designed to trick you into sharing their link further.

A typical message reads:

See who viewed your profile original version 2.0:
now you can see who viewed your facebook profile 

"As we've seen in the past in connection with other scams, the page encourages you to 'like' it and 'share' it numerous times before it will hand over the ability to see who has viewed your Facebook profile," Cluley warns. "This should, frankly, be enough to trigger your suspicions and have you rapidly retreating."

Cluley says so far, many Facebook users appear to be falling for the ruse. In doing so, he says, they are helping scammers spread their links across the Internet.

"Ultimately you have to have your wits about you to avoid scams like this," he said.