You'd like to have an Apple iPad or iPhone so, if you were offered the chance to "test" the product and get a free device, you might jump at it, right?

Well, keep in mind the advice that "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is," because scammers are now using this pitch on Facebook in order to get their hands on your personal information.

Graham Cluley, a security expert for Sophos security software, is warning that in recent days he has begun seeing Facebook users who appear to be offering free iPads and iPhones for people who will try them out.

The come-on

Here's an example of a typical iPad tester scam that Cluley says has been seen many times on Facebook in the last few days:

photo

Heyyyyy everyone )), 3 days ago I signed up at [website link] as a tester and today I got my iPad. All you need to do is to tell them your opinion about iPad and you can keep it forever. You should hurry since i highly doubt this is gonna last forever.

And Cluley offers this example of a similarly-worded iPhone 4 tester scam:

Hey, 3 days ago I signed up at [website link] as a tester and today I got my iPhone4g. All you need to do is to tell them your opinion about iPhone 4g and you can keep it forever. You should hurry since i highly doubt this is gonna last forever.

Many of these messages are appearing on users' photo walls. People who respond do not get a free iPad or iPhone.

photo

Don't take the bait

"If you've found messages like these on your Facebook profile or in your photo galleries, remove them immediately and change your passwords," Cluley writes on his blog. "You would also be wise to have a thorough overhaul of your privacy and account settings -- to make sure that they-re secure enough. If you see applications or "likes" of pages that you are uncertain about, remove them from your account."

It's a reminder to exercise caution and vigilance on the Internet, especially on social networking sites. Other good advice is to periodically run a virus-scan with an up-to-date anti-malware product -- just in case there's some spyware lurking on your computer which is trying to grab your account details.