PhotoMazda North American Operations is recalling 495,348 vehicles in three zones.


The first is is "Zone A" and includes model year 2004-2011 RX-8; 2004-2006 MPV; 2003-2008 Mazda6; and 2006-2007 Mazdaspeed6 vehicles, originally sold, or ever registered, in Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan), and the U.S. Virgin Islands.


Mazda is also recalling model year 2004-2008 RX-8; 2004-2006 MPV; and 2003-2008 Mazda6 vehicles, originally sold, or ever registered, in Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, or "Zone B."


Lastly, Mazda is recalling certain model year 2004 Mazda RX-8 and MPV; and 2003-2004 Mazda6 vehicles originally sold, or registered, in Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


These vehicles are equipped with certain air bag inflators assembled as part of the passenger front airbag modules, and used as original equipment or replacement equipment. In the event of a crash necessitating deployment of the front airbags, these inflators may rupture due to propellant degradation occurring after long-term exposure to absolute humidity and temperature cycling.


An inflator rupture may result in metal fragments striking the vehicle occupants resulting in serious injury or death.


What to do


Mazda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the passenger front air bag inflator, free of charge. The recall is expected to begin July 15, 2016.


Owners may contact Mazda customer service at 1-800-222-5500. Mazda's number for this recall is 9416E.



Share your Comments