PhotoFacebook users are being warned that a scam is circulating in which users receive a personal message that appears to be from a friend warning them that they received “another friend request from you.”

One variation of the message reads:

“Hi…I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too…I had to do the people individually.  Good Luck!”

Other variations of the message are also making the rounds, including one that begins, "Heads-up!! Almost every account is being cloned. Your picture and your name are used to create a new facebook account (they don't need your password to do this this).”

Experts say the messages are part of a long-running hoax. No variation of the “Got another friend request from you” message should be passed on to other users, and the claims in the message shouldn’t be believed.

Don’t forward the message

Warning consumers not to be duped by the scam, tech expert Burton Kelso explained that occasionally Facebook accounts are cloned and “the hackers will send your friend’s phishing emails to dupe them into clicking on a link that will infect them.”

“Stop forwarding that latest warning from your Facebook friends about being hacked. You weren’t. It’s bogus,” Kelso wrote on Facebook.

If one of the messages is received, Kelso says users should simply ignore and delete the message. As an additional precaution, users can also change their privacy settings.

“The best way to keep your Facebook account from getting cloned is to hide your friends list,” Kelso said. Instructions for how to do so can be viewed here.


Share your Comments