Texas Lemon Law Summary Consumer Guide
- Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs when 2 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, + other 2 occur within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following second repair attempt; or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a serious safety defect when 1 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles + other occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following first repair; or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles + at least 2 attempts were made within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice to manufacturer.
- State-run arbitration mechanism available.
There’s nothing worse than being stranded on the George W. Turnpike with your recently purchased Texas-sized lemon. If you have bought a car that has seen more of the repair shop than you, the chances of you having an issue on the road are real. Luckily, Texas has lemon laws in place to protect you from being stuck with an unreliable car.
To find out if you have a lemon, it must have been purchased or leased from a licensed Texas company. Cars, trucks, motorcycles, motor homes, and ATVs are all covered under Texas lemon law. New cars are covered, along with used cars can be covered if they are still under original warranty.
If your car meets those requirements, then there are repair characteristics it must show. There must have been at least 4 unsuccessful repairs, 2 of them having occurred before 1 year of ownership or 12,000. Other requirements are set for serious defects.
If you decide to pursue a lemon law claim, you must send a written notice to the manufacturer explaining the situation. Arbitration is available through the state, and if they find in favor of your claim, you could face full reimbursement or refunds from the manufacturer. Pretty good outcome!
For more information, you can visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles by calling (512) 416-4911 or visiting http://www.txdmv.gov/protection/lemon_law.htm.