Nevada Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice to manufacturer.
- State has certified guidelines for arbitration.
Whether you’re living in Sin City, the Biggest Little City in the World, or anywhere else in Nevada, unreliable transportation affects everyone equally. If you’re missing appointments, work, or even job interviews because your lemon is leaving you stranded at home, taking a look at Nevada’s lemon laws are worth the time. They’re set in place to protect your rights as a consumer and could help you get into a more reliable car.
To find out if you qualify for action under the lemon law, your car must be a vehicle that was bought for personal use. Unfortunately, the law does not cover motor homes or offroad vehicles like ATVs. Used vehicles are covered under the lemon law.
In addition, your vehicle must have been subjected to 4 unsuccessful repairs or have been out of service for 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
If your vehicle has met all of the above contingencies, then your next step is to provide a written notice to the manufacturer. It is only if the manufacturer does not comply with the requests that the consumer is then able to pursue the claim further.
For more information, you can contact the Attorney General’s office by telephone at (702) 486-3420, or by visiting http://ag.state.nv.us/.