Nebraska Lemon Law Summary Consumer Guide
- Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 40 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Certified mail notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer.
- State has certified guidelines for arbitration.
Are you a cornhusker without a car? If you’ve recently purchased a vehicle that doesn’t seem to work, or is constantly in the shop for defects, you might as well be. Fortunately, Nebraska has lemon law statutes set in place to protect your consumer rights should you find yourself in this situation.
To qualify as a lemon, your vehicle must have been through 4 unsuccessful repairs or 40 calendar days out of service within the warranty period or 1 year, whichever comes first.
If your vehicle falls under this constituent, then you can take the first steps to fixing your problem. Nebraska requires a certified mail notice to the manufacturer along with an additional opportunity for them to repair the defect.
If they cannot fix the defect, and refuse to replace the vehicle, taking the case to state arbitration is your best bet. From here, you can have a mediated resolution, which most likely will result in a refund or replacement of your car.
For more information, you can contact the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division at (800) 727-6432.