Mississippi Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice to manufacturer who has 10 business days to repair after delivery to designated dealer.
Whether you’re heading into Jackson for the day, or simply running errands, an unreliable car could leave you stranded on the highway at any moment. If you’ve recently purchased your vehicle and it’s already acting up in some way, you may be entitled to Mississippi’s lemon laws.
Your car is covered is it is new, or leased new and fits the requirements above. Used cars are usually judged on a case-by-case basis. Motorcycles, mopeds, and motor homes are not covered.
If your car has been through 3 unsuccessful repairs by a manufacturer or 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year’s time or the warranty period, you may qualify for a lemon. You must notify the manufacturer in writing of the recurring issue, which permits the manufacturer 10 business days to attempt to fix the problem once more.
If the defect still exists after, the consumer is allowed to pursue court and file a claim there.
For more information, you can contact Mississippi Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division at (601) 359-4230.