Minnesota Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days or 1 unsuccessful repair of total braking or steering loss likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 2 years or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer, agent or dealer.
- State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
If you are a Minnesota resident, you know the winters can often be nothing less than harsh. The last thing you want to happen is to be snuck in the snow with a car that’s not working.
If you’ve recently purchased a vehicle and the shop has seen it more than you have, you may own a lemon. Luckily, Minnesota has lemon laws dedicated to protecting your consumer rights and getting you out of a car that won’t work.
It’s important to first make sure your vehicle falls into qualifications needed for a lemon. The law covers any new vehicles purchased or leased in Minnesota. The first defect must be reported within two years of purchase, or warranty period, whichever occurs first.
The manufacturer is given an opportunity to fix the defect, accompanying a written notice from you with proper documentation and evidence concerning the history of the defect. Should the attempt to fix the vehicle fail, state arbitration is available for the consumer and manufacturer. If they are ordered to refund the consumer, they must reimburse them for all accompanying costs associated with the vehicle.
For more information, you can contact the Attorney General’s Office at (651) 296-3353.