Louisiana Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice to manufacturer or dealer.
- State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
Cajun Country residents: Have you found yourself paying for numerous failed repairs to fix a vehicle you haven’t even had for that long? If your vehicle is continuously stranded in the Crawfish Capital of the World, it may be time to look into Louisiana’s lemon laws.
To see if your vehicle is classified as a lemon, you must have had 4 unsuccessful repair attempts, or 30 days out of service all within shorter of 1 year or the warranty period.
If you are pursuing a lemon claim, you must provide a written notice to the manufacturer or dealer of the car. From there, arbitration processes are put into place so that the right agreement can be reached for the consumer.
For more information, you can contact the Louisiana Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division at (225) 326-6465.
At ConsumerAffairs we love to hear from both consumers and brands; please never hesitate to Contact Us.
Advertisements on this site are placed and controlled by outside advertising networks. ConsumerAffairs.com does not evaluate or endorse the products and services advertised. See the FAQ for more information.
The information on our website is general in nature and is not intended as a substitute for competent legal advice. ConsumerAffairs.com makes no representation as to the accuracy of the information herein provided and assumes no liability for any damages or loss arising from the use thereof.
Copyright © 2018 Consumers Unified LLC. All Rights Reserved. The contents of this site may not be republished, reprinted, rewritten or recirculated without written permission.