Connecticut Lemon Law Summary
Eligibility: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles, or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within warranty period or 1 year.
Resolution Attempt: Report to manufacturer, agent or dealer. Written notice to manufacturer only if required in owner's manual or warranty. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
If you’ve recently purchased a dud of a vehicle, Connecticut’s lemon law could make it possible for you to get the right solutions you need. But first, it’s important to make sure your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
An attorney at New Haven’s local law firm Ullman & Perlmutter explained that there are a few things that absolutely have to be present for Connecticut to process your claim under the lemon law, besides the purchase of an automobile.
“There must be a claim that there were several attempts to repair whatever the claim states was wrong with the automobile and that it was not addressed”, the attorney said.
He went on to clarify that not only are new and leased cars covered, but so are used cars, as long as they are purchased by a state licensed automobile dealer. Unfortunately, those of you who acquired your car through a private sale are out of luck.
For lemon law cases, the attorney states that while it is possible to pursue your claim without legal counsel, it’s not the wisest choice. “I don’t advise it but you can,” he said. “Having a lawyer would certainly increase your chances of winning.”
With the benefits of winning including even having the manufacturer possibly replace the vehicle altogether, that’s worth going to court for.
If you wish to contact Ullman & Perlmutter, you can reach them at: (203) 772-2180.