Arkansas Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within longer of 24 months or 24,000 miles.
- Resolution Attempt: Certified or registered mail notice to manufacturer.
- Manufacturer has 10 days to notify consumer of repair facility. Facility has 10 days to repair.
You’re thinking about hitting Dickson Street for some weekend celebrations, but your car has something else in mind…staying at home. If you find that mechanical issues are constantly leaving you stranded indoors, you may have a lemon. Luckily, Arkansas has laws in place to help right the wrong and get you the working vehicle you deserve.
I got a hold of James DePriest, Arkansas Deputy Attorney General, who referred me to the lemon law statute Ark. Code Ann. 4-90-401 et seq, which basically characterizes a lemon any car with 3 unsuccessful repair attempts, or 1 failed repair attempt of a critical problem that occurs within 24 months or 24,000 miles.
DePriest added that the Attorney General’s office has provided a consumer-friendly Lemon Law Handbook on their website.
With respect to pursuing legal counsel, DePriest clarified that it is at the consumer’s discretion.
“We advise consumers to seek recommendations from persons they trust who may be able to recommend a lawyer,” he said. “Also, the AR Bar Association has a free lawyer referral service.”
For more information or help on starting your lemon law claim process, you can contact the Attorney General’s office by visiting http://www.arkansasag.gov/consumers.html or calling 501-682-2341.