Alaska Lemon Law Summary
- Eligibility: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
- Resolution Attempt: Written notice by certified mail to manufacturer + dealer (or repair agent) that problem has not been corrected in reasonable number of attempts + refund or replacement demanded within 60 days. Manufacturer has 30 calendar days for final repair attempt. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.
Seafood may be half of Alaska’s exports, but that’s not to say that a few lemons don’t sneak in the state. I’m not talking about the fruit, either. Whether heading into Anchorage for the day or simply running some errands, most daily tasks can’t be done these days without a reliable vehicle.
Luckily, Alaska has lemon laws to help protect your consumer rights should you ever find yourself with a vehicle that just won’t work, no matter how many time it’s been through the shop.
To qualify as a lemon, your car must have had 3 unsuccessful repairs or been out of service for 30 business days within the first year or warranty period.
From there, a manufacturer will be allowed opportunity to fix the problem within the above listed reasonable amount of attempts. Some catches to the rule include that the problem must significantly impair the market value or use of the vehicle.
If the manufacturer can still not repair the vehicle and refuses to replace it, you may have a case on your hands. Be sure to save all documentation of expenses, repair attempts, etc.
If you believe you have bought a lemon and want more information on finding out how to pursue your case with counsel, you can contact the Alaska Bar Association’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 770-9999.