Follow Us
Handicare

  1. Home
  2. Elder Care
  3. Stair Lifts
Handicare
AUTHORIZED PARTNER

Handicare

 4.5/5 (95 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars
Saved
Handicare

About Handicare

Handicare offers accessibility products that help people stay independent as they age in place. Its products include a variety of straight, curved and outdoor stair lifts, providing multiple options for getting up and down the stairs safely. Handicare can install a stair lift in roughly four hours. Financing may be available through your dealer, and all indoor Handicare stair lifts come with a limited lifetime warranty.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Pros

  • Straight, curved and outdoor models
  • Multiple seat and color options
  • 3D visualization app

Cons

  • Limited weight limits on basic models
  • May be expensive

Bottom Line

Handicare has stair lifts for many different staircases and user needs. Although some of the models don't have very high weight limits, a few higher-end models have increased weight capacities.

Top Handicare Reviews

Why Trust ConsumerAffairs
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Handicare?
  • 3,433,454 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Rated with 5 stars
Verified

As I had to have foot surgery and I was non-weight bearing, I pulled my shoulders out from trying to get up and down the steps. I got the straight Handicare stairlift for the back...

Read full review
Rated with 5 stars
Verified

I needed a stairlift because I was having back problems and trouble getting up and down the stairs. My friend bought the Handicare stairlift for me and it was installed wonderfull...

Read full review

What is Handicare?

Handicare is a company that manufactures and sells products that promote users’ mobility and independence, including a wide range of stair lift models.

Handicare’s global headquarters are in Sweden, and it operates in 20 countries worldwide. Its North American headquarters and factory are located in St. Louis, but the company also has local offices across the U.S. and Canada. You can visit a local office to see a showroom with the company’s full product line, get customer service or receive technical support.

How does Handicare work?

Buying from Handicare starts with a free, no-obligation home survey and assessment. This lets the company create a custom quote based on your home and your specific needs.

Together, you and your Handicare advisor can compare stair lift models to figure out which one makes the most sense for your specific situation and budget. The company’s Vision app can even create a 3D visualization of your new stair lift in your home. Your advisor will also utilize what the company calls its PhotoSurvey system to get measurements for installation. They then use these measurements and your preferred model to create a custom quote.

If you want to move forward in the process, they’ll work to set up an installation time and date with one of the company’s licensed technicians. Installation takes about four hours, depending on the model and your home’s configuration.

After installation is complete, your warranty should activate. If you have any issues in this period, one of Handicare’s technicians can come out and assess the situation and help you get the service you need.

Handicare stair lift models

Handicare has models ranging from modern-looking stair lifts with lots of features to basic, affordable options. These include straight, curved, indoor and outdoor models.

  • The 1000 Straight Stairlift’s claim to fame is its slim profile, making it a good option for stairwells with less space. The standard version has a weight limit of 350 pounds (300 pounds with the perch seat), but the XXL upgrade allows the chair to hold up to 440 pounds.
  • The 1100 Straight Stairlift is even slimmer than the 1000 model. To save more space, the stair lift’s seat, footrest and armrests can be folded when not in use. This stair lift can hold up to 309 pounds on staircases with a 30- to 45-degree incline. Steeper staircases bring the safe working load (SWL) down to 287 pounds.
  • The Xclusive Stairlift has a more modern appearance, and its continuous charge track means the Xclusive will charge no matter where it is on the track, not just at the top or bottom landing. This model can hold 285 pounds.
  • The 2000 Curved Stairlift is built specifically for curved staircases. Handicare’s Powered Hinge Rail can let you park the seat at the top of the stairs and fold up the track when no one is using the lift. A body harness is available for additional stability and support. Like the 1000 model, this stair lift has a heavy-duty option that brings its weight limit from 255 pounds to 302 pounds.
  • The Freecurve Curved Stairlift is custom-built to fit your staircase. Other features include a key switch, multiple charging points, a manual emergency stop and a retractable seat belt.
  • The 1000 Outdoor Stairlift is similar to the 1000 Straight Stairlift, but with additional features to make it suitable for the great outdoors. This stair lift is waterproof and made with weather-resistant materials to keep it in good condition outside.
  • The 2000 Outdoor Stairlift is the twin of the 2000 Curved Stairlift. Both are great for curved stairwells, but the 2000 Outdoor Stairlift is specially designed to withstand the elements.
ModelWeight limitStandout feature
1000 Straight Stairlift350 pounds (or 440 pounds with XXL heavy-duty kit)Slim profile
1100 Straight Stairlift309 poundsEven slimmer profile
Xclusive Stairlift285 poundsSleek, modern look
2000 Curved Stairlift255 pounds (or 302 pounds with XXL heavy-duty kit)Powered Hinge Rail
Freecurve Curved Stairlift275 poundsCustom-fitted design
1000 Outdoor Stairlift350 pounds (or 440 pounds with XXL heavy-duty kit)Straight, outdoor-ready design
2000 Outdoor Stairlift250 pounds (or 300 pounds with XXL heavy-duty kit)Curved, outdoor-ready design

Handicare stair lift cost

Handicare doesn’t publish its prices on its website, but you can fill out a form to begin the quote process. Typically, though, straight stair lifts cost between $2,000 and $5,000. A curved stair lift will cost about $5,000 to $10,000. Generally speaking, the simpler the unit, the cheaper it will be. Stairlifts with advanced features will cost more.

Handicare has slightly different warranties for its indoor and outdoor stair lifts. The company’s indoor stair lifts have a limited lifetime (10-year) warranty on the gearbox and motor, while outdoor models only have a five-year warranty on these components. Both types have a two-year warranty on all other components.

Handicare FAQ

Handicare takes about four hours to install a stair lift, on average. If you have a more complicated staircase, it might take longer, though.
No. Stair lifts are generally considered a home modification, not a medical device. Because of this, Original Medicare doesn’t include coverage for stair lifts, including ones from Handicare. However, you may be eligible to receive a tax deduction.
Yes, Handicare stair lifts come with a limited lifetime warranty that covers things like replacement parts (for 90 days) and workmanship (for up to 10 years).

The warranty doesn’t cover damage or failure caused by misuse, abuse, damage, normal wear and tear, unauthorized modification to the product or shipping damage, and it’s only eligible on products installed, maintained and serviced by an authorized Handicare dealer or agent. These warranties are not transferable.

The company’s North American manufacturing is based out of St. Louis, Missouri.

Do we recommend Handicare stair lifts?

Handicare is a great option if you’re shopping for a stair lift. The company’s lifts can accommodate a wide range of users, staircases and budgets. Just be sure to speak with your Handicare advisor about your model’s exact weight limit and what an upgrade might cost you.

Handicare Reviews

Sort: Recent
Filter by: Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

3 featured reviews
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Handicare?
How do I know I can trust these reviews about Handicare?
  • 3,433,454 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 27, 2020

Purchased my Simplicity 950+ 6/2019. 10/05/2020: Unit started making weird, expensive sounding noises. Contact Ability Center in Springfield (seller). Technician ordered parts & rendered unit inoperative. 10/15/2020: Hip replacement surgery. 10/26/2020: New parts installed. More weird noises. Technician said unit belongs in a landfill, gave me a labor bill for $1K+ and strongly suggested I buy another brand.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Stair Lifts delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 23, 2020

    I bought a Handicare 1000 xxl stairlift from the Sarasota, Florida distributor. My experience has been a nightmare. Buyer Beware! These stairlifts are junk! The seat is made of cheap plastic. The chair pads are like the cheap garden knee pads that can be bought anywhere for a few bucks. I was charged $4800 just for the equipment. The installation was an additional $425. They claim the stairlift will support 440 pounds. Don’t believe it. When I sat on the chair it tilted forward making me feel I would fall forward and out of the chair. The second time I sat in the chair, a bolt broke and I don’t weigh anywhere near 440 pounds. My installer never could get the automatic swivel chair to work.

    When he talked to their expert technician, he was told it could be a loose wire, a bad fuse or anything. He said he didn’t know what was wrong with it so we were on our own. I packed it up and sent it back. Now they want to deduct $1,000 from my refund because we cut the rail to install it. How would we have known it didn’t work if we hadn’t cut the rail and installed it. It has been over a month since I sent it back and I still don’t have a refund. Don’t make the mistake I did, find someone that stands behind their product. Handicare definitely doesn’t!

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 6, 2020

    We had this stairlift installed about one and one half years ago. It gets us up and down the stairs as it should. However, the remotes that came with this product stop working at times. Whenever this happens the only solution is to pay for a technician to come to the house to do a reset of the mechanism. There is no way that we can do it ourselves. It cost $130 per visit! I have never had another product where the remotes stop working other than when the batteries run out. Very frustrating!

    Handicare response

    This issue has been resolved directly with the home owner by Handicare.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: April 21, 2019

    As I had to have foot surgery and I was non-weight bearing, I pulled my shoulders out from trying to get up and down the steps. I got the straight Handicare stairlift for the back stairs and the installers were in and out without a problem. This stairlift keeps me from being confined to the upstairs and if I had a problem, I would feel very free to call the people who sold it to me and installed it for me.

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 1 star
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Feb. 13, 2019

    We purchased the stairlift in 2016. It malfunctioned in Sept. 2018. We had difficulty in finding someone at Orlando Tech Services to help. An authorized dealer was assigned to us in Nov. 2018. The remote control arm was replaced 11/29/2018. The chair's computer was replaced the week before Christmas. Remotes were not in the box. We are still waiting for the remotes. The authorized dealer has advised us that the Orlando office called them yesterday, 2/12/2019, to say the remotes were on back order with no estimated delivery date. I had called the Orlando office earlier that day to complain. The Orlando office refused to talk to me. Handicare USA can send me an account statement with a balance on it but the tech services office cannot talk to me. I am frustrated beyond words.

    20 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Nov. 29, 2018

    My husband's handicapped so I got a Handicare stairlift. Other stairlifts has weight limitations. They didn't go as high as Handicare. The sales visit from their dealer was fine. It's just that they sent somebody that probably wasn't trained enough to install one. They folded the rail at the edge of my stuff and made a dent the metal stripping that I had across my tile. They made a dent in there from falling. They need to watch who's selling their product because I wasn't real happy about that either. It could give them a bad name because of the experience. It took me close to a year to get it running, and then I've had it approximately four years. But when I was in need of battery, I went to contact them and they were out of business. They put me in contact to one of their authorized repair people, and that's where I got my battery.

    They contracted somebody the third visit. The one guy said, the way they had the wires, he wondered it didn't catch something on fire, which didn't make me very happy. It was just a fiasco, and they would come back and take a look at it and wouldn't have any available parts, so they had to order it. It would be like a month at a time between each visit. But I didn't have to pay anything because it was covered. If I have any more other issues, I will reach out to them because they are authorized by the Handicare to work on these. The stairlift appears to be pretty well made and I don't have any issues on it.

    9 people found this review helpful
    Insufficient response received
    profile pic of the author
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: Sept. 22, 2018

    Handicare makes beautiful lifts and for the most part they are made well. If you ever have a problem with any of their products be prepared to wait for weeks to get a part and pray that they ship the right part. Their customer service is just horrible. No response and major attitude. The company culture is really bad across the board no matter who you speak with. I wish we knew this before we bought a Handicare Stairlift.

    29 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Aug. 24, 2018

    I needed a stairlift because I was having back problems and trouble getting up and down the stairs. My friend bought the Handicare stairlift for me and it was installed wonderfully. It's handy and I love it.

    3 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 3 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Aug. 12, 2018

    I had to have a stairlift because I have a business in my lower storey and I have to get up and down on steps. I chose Handicare because the hospital where I called to ask told me that that’s where they have gotten theirs. We have a 90 degree turn in our house and it was gonna cost quite a bit more to have the kind that went around the curve. So, we opted to buy two instead. Handicare was very professional but I’m disappointed with the stairlift itself. I haven’t had to use it for a while and was used very little but there is a terrible noise in it. I was afraid to use it.

    I called the store where I bought it from and they were only about two and a half hours away from here. But it’s been months and they have not come. The other one doesn’t make this noise but there is something about it. The guy told me on the phone, “I’m quite sure I know what it is.” I didn’t think it was a big deal to fix it but it sounded terrible. And then, there was another time when I couldn’t use it for a week which when you couldn’t walk up and down the stairs is a long time. But due to the distance, they weren’t getting up here to fix it. And then, there was another time when I had to wait quite a while and it was winter time. So, in order to get to the upper storey, I had to go outside. They said they didn't want to make it a special trip and indicated that they didn’t handle Handicare anymore.

    On the other hand, the fellow who came to fix it was very professional and really good. But I didn’t felt like the service has been what it would have been having them being closer. I like to have some other support besides just me calling them but I’m afraid I am not going to have someone to help back me up. Now that I don't need it, I wish that it's not here because it never worked out well for it to get fixed. If I had to do this over again, I would have not bought from Handicare. I would just return it and have it taken out but I’m sure they’re gonna say, “Well, you’ve had it too long for that.”

    Handicare response
    Hi Kristy,

    I apologize for this frustration. We would like to resolve this for you. Could you kindly let us know which dealer you purchased this stairlift from? If you feel more comfortable, you can also email us at marketing.accessibility@handicare.com for assistance.

    Look forward to speaking and providing you some assistance.

    Meredith

    6 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
    Original review: Aug. 9, 2018

    My son is in a wheelchair so we decided to purchase a stairlift. Handicare Stairlifts has good reviews and they were responsive when I called them. The rep came out twice for the sales visit and he told me all my different options. He was very responsive and forthright with me about what my options were and he was thorough and upfront about what would work best and what wouldn't. Then I made an appointment and went to the office, and he showed me all the different options. Overall, he did a good job. We had a straight stairlift installed and its quality is pretty good. How it fit into our stairwell was as good as it could be, given the space that we were working with. The stairlift was an expensive purchase and it was not covered by insurance, but it has been great and it has made it easier to get my son around. I was very pleased with our experience with Handicare Stairlifts.

    2 people found this review helpful
    Loading more reviews...

    Handicare Company Information

    Social media:
    Company Name:
    Handicare
    Company Type:
    Private
    Year Founded:
    1986
    Address:
    10888 Metro Court
    City:
    St. Louis
    State/Province:
    MO
    Postal Code:
    63043
    Country:
    United States
    Website:
    www.handicare.com

    Media

    VIDEOS & IMAGES