American Express Serve

American Express Serve

Find a Best Prepaid Cards partner
1.8(524)

Our promise. We provide a buying advantage with verified reviews and unbiased editorial research.

See suggested offers from our Partners

Great Prepaid Debit Cards We Recommend

Learn more
Overall Rating1.8 out of 5
See all 524 reviews & ratings

About American Express Serve

This profile has not been claimed by the company. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

See suggested offers from our Partners

Great Prepaid Debit Cards We Recommend

Learn more

American Express Serve Reviews

ConsumerAffairs has collected 524 reviews and 722 ratings.

Recent
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
Any
  • Any

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about American Express Serve?
  • 4,308,803 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.
Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
Verified purchase

Reviewed Sept. 16, 2023

This company will not let me register my card after purchasing this card to pay a bill that needed to be paid asap. They false advertise that I can use this card immediately after purchase. That is a lie. You can not use it immediately you have to register your card and it can be denied and you sitting waiting on this company to allow the register to go through or your money sits in their bank waiting. While I had to pay this bill asap and couldn't. That lead my bill to cancel my service and had to pay double because of having my money on this Serve card to be held from me. I would not recommend this card to anyone ever. I wish I had purchased a NetSpend or a vanilla card for my transaction. I will never use serve ever again. Terrible service and the company lied about access to funds immediately. Do not recommend at all.

Thanks for your vote! Report
Customer Service

Reviewed Aug. 23, 2023

Be extremely careful when using this card as it lacks security. Somebody was able to hack into my account and change email address and request new account, rendering my account obsolete. Fraud department would do nothing because they couldn't verify me with changed email address. After dozens of attempts to work with the fraud department, I had to give up attempts of recovering stolen funds. BEWARE. Customer service and the fraud department is lacking and unprofessional. You will not be able to reach customer service when you need them. Your funds are not secure.

Thanks for your vote! Report

Not sure how to choose?

Get buying tips about Prepaid Cards delivered to your inbox.

    By entering your email, you agree to sign up for consumer news, tips and giveaways from ConsumerAffairs. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Thanks for subscribing.

    You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    profile pic of the author
    Verified purchase
    Customer Service

    Reviewed Aug. 18, 2023

    The unfortunate thing about all of this is people don’t look at the reviews until it’s already too late. This company is a complete fraud and I cannot understand how they have gotten away with stealing thousands of dollars from their cardholders & I also don’t understand why Jackson and Hewitt would continue to issue these cards to their clients.

    On July 11th Someone 9 hours away from me withdrew $3200 from my account without my card or pin number. They allowed someone to do multiple $200 transactions without even flagging the card once. I filed a claim and provided proof of my location the days I was robbed as well as a police report. They tell you they will issue you a credit within 10 days once you fill out their fraud declaration unfortunately they deny your claim on the 10th day saying “The charges are authorized“ to avoid issuing that credit.

    On the bottom of the denial email it says if you want to know what was used in determining to deny your claim to send a letter to them and they’ll give it to you. I did and got a response saying they didn’t have any information to provide as to why they denied my claim and that this happens when the charges were authorized WHICH THEY WERE NOT. Basically they didn’t do an investigation and have nothing to show as to why they made their determination other than “because they can” without consequence. If someone went to an ATM why won’t they look at the footage to see who did it? That’s proof right there right?

    At this point I don’t even believe any of that happened and they just tell you it did because the cardholder has no way to prove otherwise. That’s why card companies have an investigation department who would be better equipped to figure out what actually happened but this company couldn’t care less what happens or figuring out why this keeps happening as to avoid it happening again to others.

    But again we don’t look up these reviews until it’s already too late so I’m not sure if this will actually help others or just adding insult to someone else injury helping them understand this was no mistake & that they were actually scammed out of their money. I’ve seen so many reviews stating the same thing happened to them, some as far back as 2016 & again my main question is how or WHY has this company been allowed to swindle thousands of dollars from their cardholders for all these years with nothing being done about it? You can contact the BBB and other places but this company learned how to go around any type of accountability. I’m not stopping until I get some real answers because this isn’t right at all.

    Thanks for your vote! Report

    Reviewed Aug. 2, 2023

    Received a gift card as a present. Activated the card, upon activation, the card had a $50 balance. With disappointment, I tried to make a purchase and each time the card will lose money on the balance. Or it would say invalid transaction. I was never able to use the card. American Express you ought to be ashamed of yourself. I received the gift that didn't give. Shame on you American Express. :(

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Verified purchase
    Customer ServiceInstallation & Setup

    Reviewed July 31, 2023

    I was charged fraudulently for a MCAFEE by a company RADH computer protection and used my American Express Serve card. I was told I needed to install McAfee protection for $269. I was given 2 telephone numbers to call if I needed to follow up both those numbers. Turned out to be false and the service they charged me for were bogus. I brought this to the attention of Serve and showed them that I had to pay a second company that was legitimate the very next day. The fraud was obvious. After numerous emails and documentation Serve did NOT accept the claim. AMEX Serve does not have their customers' backs. They are less than useless.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Customer ServiceStaff

    Reviewed July 28, 2023

    I have been using American Express Serve for about five years. This was the first time ever that I needed to transfer money into my Checking Account due to me placing money on the card and not knowing that the vendor that I needed to pay did not accept American Express cards. Being I was not able to make it to the bank. I did an ACH Transfer on July 11th, I have made several calls about my $220.00 that this "THIEVING & LYING" Company has robbed. They keep you on the phone for almost an hour transferring you from one department to the other with nothing in sight. They promise to open a case, but nothing happens. These people that they have working there are clearly stealing the ACH Money Transactions. I work hard for my money. I will no longer be using this company and I would advise anyone who is thinking about using them to not do so because they will rob your money and nothing for it. They are a bunch of Thieves.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Customer ServicePunctuality & Speed

    Reviewed July 27, 2023

    The card would not work. I could not add money and it would not link with my Venmo account. Total waste of time and money. When I called customer service it took many, many calls to get to a live person. They would not help so I cancelled the card. Awful experience. Save yourself the money and trouble and go somewhere else.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Verified purchase
    Reliability

    Reviewed July 10, 2023

    I have tried for several days to connect this app so that I may use it. Ha! It's a good thing I didn't send money to these grifters. They only have a way to suck you in, and then forget about it. They're completely unresponsive. They must have absorbed T's unscrupulous manner of doing business. (T is the giant orange fool still mucking with our country's business.)

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Customer Service

    Reviewed July 7, 2023

    Serve has the worst customer service. They hold your money hostage and refuse to do anything to help you gain access to your funds. Do not use this company. They are frauds and will hold your money hostage.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Customer Service

    Reviewed July 4, 2023

    They will deny you access to your own money due to their mistakes. They don't care if you have bills to pay and they are to you when you calling to customer service. I wish I never even considered using their card and I will never deal with this company again. No one should. It will save you a lot of trouble that they will put you through and they could care less about any of it.

    Thanks for your vote! Report
    Loading more reviews...

    American Express Serve author review by Kathryn Parkman

    American Express Serve offers three prepaid debit card options. Cards are free to register and allow ATM withdrawals at more than 24,000 MoneyPass ATM locations around the nation.

    • Prepaid cards: American Express offers Serve, Serve Free Reloads and Serve Cash Back prepaid debit cards.

    • Pricing and fees: American Express Serve cards cost up to $3.95 to purchase in retail locations. Monthly fees for American Express Serve cards range from $0 to $7.95. A $2.50 fee is charged to withdraw cash from out-of-network ATMs. As long as consumers use one of the in-network MoneyPass ATMs, there is no fee. There’s no charge for card replacement for any reason.

    • Reload options: Direct deposit, mobile check deposit and adding funds from a bank account are all free.

    • Cash back: American Express Serve Cash Back earns unlimited 1% cash back on all purchases in store or online.

    • Free benefits: American Express benefits include purchase protection, fraud protection, travel protection and 24/7 customer service. There are no charges for online bill pay, sending and receiving money, setting aside money in reserves.

    by Kathryn Parkman Senior Staff Writer, Home Services

    Kathryn writes about topics important to both homeowners and renters, including security systems, pest control, solar panels, warranties and more. Her goal is to demystify complex purchases and empower readers to make informed decisions. Before ConsumerAffairs, she earned an English degree from Northeastern State University and worked in community journalism and digital marketing for several years.

    American Express Serve Company Information

    Company Name:
    American Express Serve
    Address:
    4315 S 2700 W
    City:
    Salt Lake City
    State/Province:
    UT
    Postal Code:
    84184-0440
    Country:
    United States
    Website:
    www.serve.com