Vermont Small Claims Court Information
- Statues: Vermont Statutes Annotated, Title 12, Part 2, Ch. 21, Section 405; Title 12, Part 9, Ch. 187, Sections 5531-5541.
- Dollar Limit: $5,000.
- Where To Sue: Where either side resides or where breach or injury occurred.
- Service: First class mail; if defendant does not respond, personal service by sheriff.
- Hearing Date: Set by court.
- Attorneys: Allowed.
- Transfer: Not allowed.
- Appeals: By either side for review of law, not facts; to Superior Court within 30 days.
- Special Provisions: No equitable relief. Defendant may counterclaim (not involving third parties outside court's jurisdiction) for more than $5,000, but court may not award more than $5,000; defendant may later sue in separate action for the difference. When plaintiffs claim exceeds $3,500, Defendant may request special assignment of a judicial officer. Defendant may request jury trial. No libel or slander cases.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.