Oklahoma Small Claims Court Information
- Statues Oklahoma Statutes Annotated, Title 12, Ch. 36, Sections 1751-1773; Title 12, Ch. 5, Sections 131-141.
- Dollar Limit $6,000.
- Where To Sue Where defendant resides, debt arose or contract signed. In property suits, where property is located. In suit against resident corporation, where principal office is, where officer resides, where any co-defendant is sued or where injury occurred. In suits against nonresident corporation, where it has property or debts due, where agent is found, where any co-defendant is sued, where injury occurred or where plaintiff resides.
- Service Certified mail by court clerk with return receipt, sheriff or court-approved disinterested adult.
- Hearing Date 10-60 days from filing of complaint.
- Attorneys Allowed, but can't charge more than 10% of judgment in uncontested cases.
- Transfer If defendant counterclaims for more than $6,000 or if court grants defendant request, case tried under regular civil procedure of District Court, unless both parties agree in writing to stay in Small Claims Court.
- Appeals By either side for review of law, not facts; to Supreme Court within 30 days.
- Special Provisions Only cases to recover money, personal property or debt-payment distribution to several creditors. No libel or slander cases. Jury trial available if claim or counterclaim exceeds $1,500. Discovery available. Collection agents may not sue. Right to sue may not be transferred.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.