Minnesota Small Claims Court Information
In Minnesota, Small Claims is known as Conciliation Court.
- Statues: Minnesota Statues Annotated, Judiciary Statutes, Ch. 491A, Sections 1-3; Rules for the Conciliation Court, Rules 501-525.
- Dollar Limit: $7,500 ($4,000 in cases involving commercial consumer credit transaction).
- Where to Sue: Where defendant resides or where injury or property damage occurred. Corporation resides where it does business or has a resident agent.
- Service: First class mail (certified mail if claim is over $2,500), sheriff or court-approved disinterested adult.
- Hearing Date: Set by court; at least 10 days after service.
- Attorneys: Allowed, although court determines extent to which attorney may participate in trial.
- Transfer: By either side by demand or if defendant counterclaims for more than $3,500, case tried under regular civil procedure of County Court.
- Appeals: By either side for new trial; to district court within 20 days. (Jury trial permitted upon appeal).
- Special Provisions: No cases involving ownership of real estate. No jury trial. No pre-trial attachments or garnishments. Court may order installment payments. Defendant must file counterclaim within 5 days before start of trial. Educational institution may bring actions to recover student loans, even though defendant is not a county resident.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.