Kentucky Small Claims Court Information
- Statues: Kentucky Revised Statutes, Title 4, Ch. 24A.200-360.
- Dollar Limit: $1,500.
- Where To Sue: Where defendant or his agent resides or does business.
- Service: Certified or registered mail, return receipt requested; personal service by sheriff or constable.
- Hearing Date: 20-40 days from service.
- Attorneys: Allowed.
- Transfer: If defendant counterclaims for more than $1,500 or requests jury trial or at judge's discretion, case tried under regular civil procedure of District Court.
- Appeals: By either side for review of law, not facts; to Circuit Court within 10 days.
- Special Provisions: Limited equitable relief available. Plaintiff is limited to 25 claims per year. Collection agents and lenders of money at interest may not sue. No discovery. No libel, slander, alienation of affection, malicious prosecution, or abuse of process actions. Jury trials are only allowed if defendant makes a written request at least seven days before hearing date. Case is then transferred to regular District Court.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.