Kansas Small Claims Court Information
- Statues: Kansas Statutes Annotated Ch. 61, Article 27, Sections 1-14.
- Dollar Limit: $4,000.
- Where to Sue: Where defendant resides or where injury occurred. Where defendant does business or where plaintiff resides, as long as defendant is served there. Corporation resides where it does business or maintains registered office or resident agent.
- Service: Personal service by sheriff; plaintiff can take responsibility for service but must notify clerk. Mail delivery by certified or priority mail, overnight delivery service, or "other reliable personal delivery service," with return receipt.
- Hearing Date: Set by court.
- Attorneys: Not allowed. However, if one party uses an attorney (or is an attorney), all parties shall have the opportunity to have an attorney.
- Transfer: If defendant counterclaims for more than $4,000, court may allow defendant to transfer to court of competent jurisdiction.
- Appeals: By either side for new trial; to District Court within 10 days.
- Special Provisions: Limit of 20 claims a year per plaintiff. Right to sue may not be transferred. No discovery. Collection agents may not sue. Replevin may be granted if value of property is $4,000 or less. Jury trials not allowed.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.