Connecticut Small Claims Court Information
- Statutes: Connecticut Rules of Court, Chapter 24, Sections 1-33; Connecticut General Statutes Annotated, Title 51, Section 345.
- Dollar Limit: $5,000 (except in landlord-tenant security deposit claims).
- Where To Sue: If either party is resident, where either plaintiff or defendant resides. If neither party is resident, district where injury or transaction occurred, or where subject property is located. For suits involving land, where land is located. For consumer suits, where consumer resides or where transaction occurred.
- Service: First class mail; personal service by sheriff, peace officer, disinterested adult.
- Hearing Date: Set by court.
- Attorneys: Allowed.
- Transfer: If defendant has a counterclaim above $5,000, requests jury trial, or sets forth good defense, to regular docket of Superior Court.
- Appeals: Not allowed.
- Special Provisions: No equitable relief. No jury trial. No libel or slander. Defendant must answer between 15 and 30 days after service. No eviction cases.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.