Colorado Small Claims Court Information
- Statutes: Colorado revised statutes, Sections 13.6.401-417; Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure for Small Claims Courts, Rule 501- 521.
- Dollar Limit: $7,500.
- Where to sue: Where defendant resides, is employed, has an office, or attends school.
- Service: Certified mail, return receipt requested; personal service by sheriff or disinterested adult.
- Hearing Date: Set by court; at least 30 days after notice of the action.
- Attorneys: Not allowed unless attorney represents self or as full-time employee of partnership or corporation involved in the case. If attorney appears, other side may also have attorney.
- Transfer: If defendant counterclaims for more than $7,500 or wants to use an attorney, case tried under regular civil procedure of Court.
- Appeals: By either side for review of law, not facts; to District Court within 15 days.
- Special Provisions: No equitable relief except nullification of contracts. No jury trial. No libel or slander, forcible entry or detainer, specific performance, prejudgment attachment, injunctions or traffic cases. Right to sue may not be transferred. No discovery. Plaintiff limited to two claims per month or 18 claims per year.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. This information was last updated in 2009. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.