Arizona Small Claims Court Information
- Statutes: Arizona Revised Statutes, Sections 12.401, 22.201-84, 22.501- 24.
- Dollar Limit: $2,500.
- Where To Sue: Where defendant resides. In tort suit, where act occurred. In suit to recover personal property, where the property is located. In contracts suits, where performance expected. When defendant is nonresident, where plaintiff resides. When defendant is transient, where defendant found.
- Service: Certified or registered mail with return receipt requested, sheriff, deputy, or private process server.
- Hearing Date: Set by court; within 60 days of the filing of the answer.
- Attorneys: Not allowed unless both sides agree in writing.
- Transfer: Counterclaims over $2,500 or objections at least ten days before hearing (for right of appeal and jury), transfers to Justice Court.
- Appeals: Not allowed. If either party feels the judgment was entered in error, or has good reason for failing to appear in court, s/he may move to vacate the judgment.
- Special Provisions: Equitable relief available. If defendant fails to answer within 20 days, s/he may lose by default. No discovery. No jury trial. No libel or slander, forcible entry or unlawful detainer, specific performance, prejudgment remedies, injunctions or cases against the state. Right to sue may not be transferred.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.