Alaska Small Claims Court Information
- Statutes: Alaska Statutes, Title 22, Ch. 15, Section 040; District Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules 8-22.
- Dollar Limit: $10,000.
- Where to Sue: Where defendant resides, is employed, or where injury or property damage occurred.
- Service: Certified or registered mail (binding on defendant who refuses to accept), peace officer, or court-appointed individual.
- Hearing Date: At least 15 days after service.
- Attorneys: Allowed; required for assignees (collection agencies).
- Transfer: Defendant or judge may transfer case to regular district court.
- Appeals: For claims over $50, by either side for review of law, not facts; to Superior Court within 30 days. same procedure as for district to superior courts
- Special Provisions: Equitable relief available. Defendant must file written answer within 20 days of service or lose by default. Court may order installment payments. No cases against the state.
Note: This section outlines the special rules that apply to the small claims courts of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Filing fees are not listed because they vary greatly and change frequently. Because court rules may change at any time, always check with the clerk of the small claims court to verify the accuracy of the information given for your state.