FOLLOW US
magicJack
Overall Satisfaction Rating
1.39/5
  • 5 stars
    5
  • 4 stars
    1
  • 3 stars
    0
  • 2 stars
    3
  • 1 stars
    35
Based on 44 ratings submitted in the last year
SHOW RATING DISTRIBUTION

Looking for a good VoIP provider?

    magicJack

    ConsumerAffairs Unaccredited Brand

    This company is not yet accredited. To learn more, see reviews below or submit your own.

    Be in the know

    Get trending consumer news and recalls

    Thanks

    Keep an eye on your inbox, the lastest consumer news is on it's way!

    Looking for a good VoIP provider?

      Are you this business? Learn more

      948 magicJack Consumer Reviews

      Sort: Top reviews
      Filter by: Any

      A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

      Page 1 Reviews 1 - 30
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Nov. 3, 2018

      I was pleasantly surprised with the ease with which we were able to port our Canadian phone number to magicJack from Bell Canada - I spoke with an MJ rep re a disconnect request from Bell and got questions answered. MJ looked after the whole transfer. Had to do some minor rewiring of the Bell phone line into the house to the line from the MJ device, but an easy DIY job. The MJ service has good sound quality - very happy with the change to MJ - recommended!

      6 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Oct. 31, 2018

      I have been a user of magicJack for over 5 years. Recently magicJack has introduced call screening to it VOIP service. If someone calls from a telephone number that is not on the magicJack system, the call goes to magicJack call screening. The caller is asked to press a random number from 1 to 9. If the number is not pressed within 12 seconds, the call is disconnected. Most robo calling programs are unable to input this additional number. This has eliminated 99% of the robo calls that my wife and I received on our home phone. I pay $35.00 a year for magicJack phone service and for the price it can't be beat.

      13 people found this review helpful
      Not sure how to choose?

      Get expert buying tips about VoIP Internet Phone Service Providers delivered to your inbox.

      Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter!Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.
      We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.
      Rated with 4 stars
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Sept. 22, 2018

      Have had mJ for a year now, after getting ripped off for a bogus "late fee" by my previous provider (Voipo). Setup was fairly painless, and the quality of calls is good. The device has spontaneously disconnected from its servers a couple of times, resulting in an "unavailable" message given to callers. Power-cycling the device restored service.

      I did have to pay to have my number ported but I understand that's a network fee that is charged anytime a number is ported to another provider. I got the first year of service free and was able to renew 3 years for $89 (a good deal compared to my previous provider which was 2 years for $150). The only thing that bugs me is the "administrative fee" that they add on when you check out. That is not mentioned in their pricing. If they weren't sneaky about that I would have given them 5 stars.

      View more
      6 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Sept. 7, 2018

      I don't know what problems these other people have had, but all I can say is great things about my magicJack. It has worked perfectly for over a year, without not one problem. The APP does what it is supposed to DO PERFECTLY! YOU MUST FIND A GOOD WIFI THOUGH. The sound is superior to Verizon, the customer service works like it should and the money I have saved is phenomenal. WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY!!!

      6 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 29, 2018

      I see lots of negative reviews for magicJack - it doesn’t work, can’t use it with my router, they took away my phone number, it doesn’t let you log out, bad customer service, hidden fees. WOW!!! Can’t believe this. I have been using magicJack since early 2011 (late last year switched to the “go” and I have NEVER had the slightest problem with this VOIP service). I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. It just works for me. Folks don’t connect it to your computer. Connect it to your router. Had it connected to a Netgear router now a new TP Link Router. Absolutely no problems. Always a reliable dial tone and clear calling.

      Bad customer service? I wouldn’t know. Over 7 years of having it and never once had to deal with customer service. And it sends and receives faxes with no problems. Folks, ANY VoIP is only as good as your internet being up and running and your power not being out. That’s the chance you take with VoIP. I pay $36/ yr for the service. $10 for the vanity number and $3 plus for the tax and 911 service. C’mon folks, that’s less than $50 for an entire year of service. I seriously can’t figure out all of these complaints when I have had absolutely no problems with the cost plus the actual service. As far as I’m concerned, magicJack is fantastic.

      View more
      23 people found this review helpful
      How do I know I can trust these reviews about magicJack?
      • 1,866,149 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
      • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
      • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
      • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

      For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 17, 2019

      Despite the positive reviews from stockholders you do not want to even get near this mess called MagicJack. The only thing they do well is take your money. I just spent another hour with their "service" department. The agent could not make an intelligent sentence. After 45 min. I requested to speak to a supervisor. He said there was not one there. You think?

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 25, 2019

      In order to talk to a live person, you must wait on hold for a very very long time. It offers to call you back with your place held in line but I never get a call back. There are no other phone numbers to contact online and if you try doing the live chat, it requires your magicJack number that I hadn't even setup yet. I can't get a hold of ANYBODY. This service is terrible!

      5 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 24, 2019

      I have had magicJack service for a few years now. I live in Mexico, but travel in the USA a lot. It has been helpful to be able to receive call on MJ. But it is inconsistent. I just found out that MJ has been telling callers that "This caller is not receiving calls at this time." Thanks a lot, MJ! I'm really fed up with this **! It's been one thing after another. And now you can't get a live person to help. And I can't find where I can chat with someone. What crap. I will start looking for another alternative today!

      3 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 20, 2019

      I hear calls fine, but no one can hear anything but noise coming from this line. Worked fine for years and suddenly failed. magicJack refuses to back their device. They suggested I buy another one....why would I? Rude, crude & unprofessional from the top down.

      2 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 16, 2019

      I have had too many magicJack and they always put my account under review, this means that they disconnect my phones whenever they feel they have to do. This mean that my magicJack phone gets disconnected multiple times during the year. The customer service is very bad, I tried to port in my phone number to magicJack for 3 months they kept transferring me from one department to another, no one cares about customers. At the end I ended up going with another company. I threw my magicJack, IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY. Their employees even talk to customers from Philippines. If you want you magicJack 6 month on 6 months off with multiple reviews go with magicJack otherwise find another company. I am very frustrated, I wish I could put a million reviews for this ** company. I am sure the other good reviews are coming from MagicJack employees only!

      3 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 12, 2019

      Ordered the MJ on 4/4/19. They shipped on 4/5/19 Friday. Received at my home about 4/8. Tried to hook up to my ATT modem as I was told by tech. Did not work. Tried two other things and nothing worked. Tech support is an oxymoron. Can't understand them at all. Just a noisy call center. Brought the unit to UPS on 4/19. MJ received it back on 4/24. They sent an email on May 28th saying it was past the free trial but they would send a new one. They think we are stupid??? Called the credit card company, Capital One. Explained all of this. They reversed the charge and said if MJ does not contact them in 90 days it is over and I have back our money.

      They claim a 30 day free trial, but they calculate the 30 days from the date of purchase, not receipt by customer. Florida Dept. of State, Consumer Services said to contact the Florida Attorney General office and report it as a perceived fraud. Doing so now. I had used MJ from about 2008 to 2014 with their old product. It was oK. The new company is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Could not get a manager, one of the "tech" would not speak to me unless I gave them my number. Explained I never activated so there was no number to give. Repeated 5 times until I hung up. Stay far, far away!!!

      View more
      3 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: June 4, 2019

      Have been using MagicJack the traditional way plugging it into the USB power adapter connected to a land line and router for over 10 years. The price is cheaper than traditional service $74.03 per year including the Canadian phone #. I was even using a second MagicJackGO for about 5 years. I got an email from MagicJack one month prior to my service ending asking me to renew my Canadian phone # and service. I just assumed that they would charge me when my current subscription ended but they charged my credit card and added a year prior to the end of my service.

      My needs have changed and I wanted to connect to the MagicJack using a USB headset. MagicJack supports this feature. Instead of plugging the MagicJack into a USB charger it's plugged into a computer. First off I noticed neither of my 2 Macs would detect the MagicJackGO. On both My Windows 10 PCs the mic input is 2% with both MagicJack dialler and the PCs mic set for maximum. I spent 3 hours chatting with MagicJack Support. They weren’t helpful and not knowledgeable ie: one Support guy asked me if I disconnected the USB power cable from the MagicJack while plugged into the PC? MagicJack only has one USB port. I kept hinting that the issue was a defective MagicJack but they would have none of that. Two Tech Support reps just ended the chat without explanation.

      The next day I found my MagicJackPlus and asked Tech Support to activate it and transfer my months onto it so I could test the service. She did this for me and I confirmed that MagicJackPLUS was detected on my Macs and the sound was louder on the PCs. I wanted to get a new MagicJackGO because it’s a newer device but they wanted to charge me $34 + delivery for this. I decided that it was a better value to buy a MagicJackGO with 12 year subscription for $49. I told MagicJack Billing that I bought a MagicJack with 12 month subscription and to cancel my 1 year with them. They told me it was over 24 hrs since I purchased the subscription so they couldn’t refund me. I brought up the point that my subscription was 4 weeks prior to expiring and that they should not have charged my card. Billing spoke to a Manager and said they would refund me.

      I got any email from MagicJack Billing Team the next day: "Thank you for contacting magicJack. This is a follow up email regarding your call on June 03, 2019. Please be advised that we cannot process refund for order number Txxxxxxxxx since we have already transferred the subscription from your magicJack Go device with serial number A1132001131E60 to magicJack Plus device with serial number Axxxxxxxxxxxxx as per your request on June 02, 2019."

      This is extremely disingenuous. They could easily reactive my MagicJackGO (like Tech Support activated my MagicJackPLUS) and I could go into my MagicJack account and move the 12 out of 13 months of service so they could cancel and refund me but they won’t because they don’t want to refund me. The company has a very bad reputation for a good reason and I would not recommend their service.

      View more
      2 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: May 31, 2019

      This company has the worst customer service level I have seen. I bought a new magicJack device from a local store and I tried to activated. I failed because the model is not supported anymore. I phoned the manufacture and the service provider (magicJack) to give the serial number to help me register it because their retailer do not want to return it anymore. I was shocked when the customer service representative told me to throw this device to trash and buy another one otherwise he is not able to help me. Do not buy magicJack anymore. They have a crappy support.

      5 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: May 21, 2019

      I have been using magicJack service for several months and finally have had enough. The phone service itself is very poor. There is a lag when you answer the phone and the caller does not hear you right away... so you spend a lot of time saying "can you hear me?". I have tried on several occasions to contact magicJack customer service to rectify this problem but to no avail. Customer service is another problem -- you spend a great deal of time waiting for a customer service agent and when they finally answer they are obviously in India or Pakistan or who knows where but they can barely speak English. Now I am trying to port my number away from magicJack to another carrier but they refuse to port the number. They accepted the order but the transfer date came and went, and they still have my number locked into their inferior service. Avoid magicJack -- just pay a little more and get decent service from a different company.

      4 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: May 15, 2019

      I decided to buy a magicJack to lower my phone costs. I got the router and found out that there was a cost for getting a Canadian number. All in all, I decided I could have a cheaper option by taking a Canadian company. I called their customer service in the Philippines, cancelled my trial and returned the router. Now 3 months later I am still waiting for my refund. I have already called several times. I was assured that the router had arrived (for that reason they give you a bar code that needs to be attached to the package) and that the refund would be made AFTER 45 DAYS! I had only 2 weeks to return the router and they don't give you a refund until 45 days after receipt! Rip off!

      We are now 3 months later and I still haven't had my money back. I am not able to communicate with anybody in the US, only their Philippine call center which can't do anything. I am also not getting an email address of them in the US where their operations and warehouse are. Now suddenly they say they need the tracking number to see if the router actually arrived whereas last time I called I was assured they had received it. Who still has the tracking number after 3 months?! Especially if they had already said they received it and I only needed to wait until the 45 days were over. Of course, this is not in my file and they 'don't have the recording anymore'. Plus, nowhere in the instructions it says I need to keep the tracking number as a verification tool for them.

      I am sure they have the 45 days policy on purpose so you forget about your refund. They are very quick in making you pay and sign up but then the rest.... It is a big fraud and they don't have the system in place to deal with refunds apparently. My question to magicJack: what is the developing country here, the US or the Philippines, or both?!

      View more
      2 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: May 8, 2019

      There is absolutely no way that you can talk to a tech support person at this company. Check their website, and see for yourself. They do have a very well hidden path to a place where you can chat with a tech support, but it disconnected me FOUR TIMES in the middle of conversations. I have paid for another 3 years of service, but the device they sent me has so much static that the service is useless. There is also no one you can talk to about getting a refund. STEER CLEAR OF THESE PEOPLE!

      4 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: April 19, 2019

      I purchased magicJack as a gift for a friend. I noticed that the magicJack company charged my account twice for 1 apparatus plus 1 year of service, totaling $132.64. When I called the company, I received virtually no assistance at all after 40 minutes of speaking to 4 different representative, 2 of whom were managers. One had a very heavy accent and it was difficult to even understand what he was saying. He informed me that I would receive my $132.64 credited back to my account in 12 hours up to 5 days. Had to ask him 4 times to transfer me to a manager.

      The next was a manager who told me it was an issue I needed to discuss with my bank and she hung up on me 2 minutes into the call. The 3rd was a saleslady who was nice, but it wasn't her department. Meanwhile I had to repeat the whole situation and all my personal info with every new rep I spoke to. The 4th was a manager who told me it should be credited to my account within a couple of days, but he blamed the issue of my account being charged twice on the fact that it was a debit card and not a credit card.

      Not one representative sincerely apologized for the absolute lack of service and assistance I was receiving. Your company needs to restructure, and train your representatives better on how to speak to your customers. I experienced an absolute lack of kindness, understanding, and respect when speaking to your representatives and yet you want to sell your product and service. I will not be renewing my own service with you when it ends this June.

      View more
      6 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: April 16, 2019

      I've been a MJ customer for two years. I have a MJ GO plugged directly into my modem with the phone directly attached. It's worked so-so ever since we got it. But, we knew what we were paying for in that how good could it be for only $35/year. Although, with our cell phones, we weren't relying on this to be our primary method of communication and simply a means for emergency purposes. However, yesterday, I tried to place a call and now get a message saying that my service has expired and that need to contact customer service. The odd thing is that my account is set up with auto-renewal and isn't even supposed to expire until September. So, I called MJ from my cell phone. And after the typical efforts of the customer service agent having me unplug the device and them refreshing it from their end, they gave up and I was sent to their Tier-2 technical support.

      Although, it took me three attempts to finally get through to someone. Albeit they only communicate through chat or I could have paid $15 for their Concierge service… I opted to work through the chat option. Once the tech got online he ("Jordan"... Needless to say that the person helping me previously was named "Joshua"... These seem like adopted names to make it appear as if I was dealing with someone in the US) had me connect with him through TeamViewer so that he could take control and check the drivers and software. This seemed to be a breach of privacy as he then had visibility of everything on my PC. He also had me install the phone app to make a call from it and determine if there might be something wrong with my account. It worked fine. So, after some hesitation and desperation, I allowed him to take control of my PC.

      After about thirty minutes of him deleting drivers, reinstalling software, having me try different USB plugs to "make sure it isn't something wrong with my PC," having me unplug the device for ten minutes and restart it, and finally having me restart my PC... I still got the "your account is expired" message!?!? So much for their Tier-2 experts. He then surmised that my device is “too old” (2 years?) and recommended that I get a replacement. I said "great, so I can expect a new device will be sent to me for free?" And of course the answer was "no, you will have to buy a new one." Overall, I have placed an order for a new device putting me out another $38 (taxes, fees, etc). So as of right now, we have no house phone and I'm awaiting delivery of the new device. Hopefully, it works.

      View more
      8 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: April 14, 2019

      I concur with all of the issues that the negative reviews are showing. magicJack has never worked properly, calls are constantly getting cut off. I would estimate 29 of 30 calls got cut off. I bought new phones tried, 4 different locations, same problems! I called magicJack and got the runaround for several hours and was told I needed a free part, $10 shipping for the free part. Still no resolve, I was told I needed another $35 magicJack. The customer service is horrible, I reminds me of a company going out of business, they will charge you for another part (which doesn't work) at your expense with no guarantees. magicJack sucks!!!

      7 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: April 10, 2019

      I have had this silly thing for several years and have been very happy with the quality and service. I certainly got my money's worth and I thank you! I use the earbuds that came with it (it's easier for me to hear that way) and it comes through loud and clear.

      2 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: March 21, 2019

      Been MJ Customer since 2012. Purchased MJ Device $20. Connected via Modem thru Internet. Was good product/support/tech support for first 5 yrs. Except Scratchy/Loud Noises on phone couldn't hear other person speak. Hang up. Call back, better. Updated Internet Speed with Provider/Cable to Max. Updated Phone/Cords/and Router. Not that much better VOIP. Updated in 2017 to the GO2017. The Device gets HOT to the touch if plugged in longer than 8 hrs, also Conversations are dropped into 5 min 10 min 20 min. Product NOT GOOD- is clear but can't continue to talk, and the DEVICE/adapter gets extremely HOT to the touch if plugged in longer than 8 hrs at a time.

      MJ is rude to speak to and won't assist (stating this is the billing dept, or this is sales - call the tech support) of course there isn't any. Their so-called Tech support thru customer Care (LOL) is some non English speaking person reading a booklet on steps to ask the customer to do. None relate to the problem at hand. My GO Device has 2 more yrs on the 5 yrs I bought, and I am looking for another VOIP company to go with now. This company, was very good. Now it's not at all. Nor is their products. Don't waste your time/money!

      View more
      9 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: March 13, 2019

      I have used magicJack for almost 10 years. It started as a good service, and became very good with MJ PLUS. In recent years, the connections became very noisy. You will need to disconnect the dongle almost daily to reset it and eliminate the noise. There was no help from MJ itself to find out this repair. The pricing is getting more and more annoying. 5 years ago I renewed for US$100 for 5 years. That was $20 a year. Now they removed the 5 year subscription and put in place a 3 year subscription for $90. ie $30 a year, for a 50% increase. To add insult to injury, they are asking now for an extra $10 a year "to keep the number," retroactively to last year. When I explained that it is illegal to go back on a paid contract, they claimed there is no contract. So with this new charge, the total price becomes $40 a year. A 100% increase.

      And to increase price even more they have introduced what they call "concierge service" or something like that. They used to have a chat for customer service. It is no longer available, even if they keep referring you to it. Obviously they do not want anything in writing, as writing is proof! And the customer service over the phone is quite rude. They also reduced the services: MJ used to send an email notification for voice messages. They no longer do it.

      View more
      6 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 27, 2019

      I have no experience with this product since I purchased and registered, ported a number (in process) and wait for it to start working. One to two weeks and they charged $20 to port the number. Based on the surprises with this company, the non disclosure specifically about costs and delays, I would give a negative rating if possible. If the product, once working, is good in all other respects, why do they act like Snake Oil sellers. If you don't port a number there is no fee and no delay. (I assume.)

      When I bought the hardware the directions were wrong for what I needed to do. This product is very much like something you find from a middle or far east country with lousy support and set up. Trying to contact someone for certain questions and needs it not possible. I have no way of knowing what other aspects of magicJack support are better. I would give credit where credit is due but at present, that "ain't hapning." The failure to disclose the porting fee of $20 is lame. Typical of sneaky, unreliable fly by night operations. Since they are been around awhile, why the BS? Very tacky move magicJack people.

      View more
      11 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 2 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 20, 2019

      The actual phone service is ok and yes sometimes choppy but for the price it's reasonable. But billing practices are ridiculous. I get email to pay annual fees. Fine. I pay the 42.50 as requested when I logged on. No issue. One week later, I'm thinking no problem, I paid a week ahead of due date. Wrong. Today phone is disconnected. Great. Any incoming sales or business is cut off. I text the online help. They tell me an additional 10 bucks is needed. I ask why this wasn't included at time I paid?? I'm losing business. I want that fee waived. I can't pay a bill that ISN'T PRESENTED TO ME. Total refusal to waive ten dollar fee. I said the supervisor should waive this ridiculous fee because I am inconvenienced. No is all I got. I'm quite angry and feel betrayed. I paid in full what bill was presented. Not acceptable. Thank you.

      10 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 18, 2019

      We have had MagicJack for a month. Before that we had Cox Communication here in Las Vegas. We have had no problems with Cox except for high fees. Since using MagicJack there have been problems of losing a connection and missing words in conversation from callers on the phone. The callers say they can hear our conversation fine. We have canceled MagicJack.

      12 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 18, 2019

      MagicJack is the worst VOIP provider I have experienced. Their call quality is terrible and calls drops. I also tried it with a 10$ prepaid card for India calling and calls keep dropping and I ended up using Whatsapp calling. I used to have Comcast service and did a mistake by switching to magicJack. I finally decided to move to Vonage but magicJack took 9 days to release my number which ended up passing my 30 day free trial period so they do not have to return the money. When I call, they just said nothing can be done and it happens to many customers and I should have canceled within 30 days. Very poor customer service. If you are trying due to its low cost please make up your mind within first 2 weeks so you can cancel it in time.

      10 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 6, 2019

      I've had magicJack Service for several years. After renewing service in September, 2018, about two days later the robo calls started. It's gotten so bad I screen my calls with my answering device on my cordless phone. I tried the call blocking service they have for when a non magicJack number calls, that caller ID tried to enter a number from 1 to 9 to allow the call to go through. I have many relatives that live in different states than I do. And when they get that message to press a number for the call to go through they simply hang up thinking they had dialed a wrong number.

      Now on top of this, when I do answer the phone I can barely hear the caller. They can hear me fine. What happened to the service? I used to live it. Saving all that money for home phone service as was able to Port my number I've had for around 20 years. It does appear to me that magicJack sold our numbers telemarketers. Looks like I'm gonna have to find another VoIP service. And by the way, I have the magicJack plus, which I can hook up to my router or computer.

      View more
      10 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 5, 2019

      Device keeps dropping calls. MagicJack service has "escalated it twice" within a month. Have not had replacement or upgrade since purchase about 6 weeks ago. Had to purchase new device at my expense and hope it works. The device for some may be magical, but the service is not.

      9 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Feb. 2, 2019

      I have had my MagicJack for about 4 months. It constantly drops calls, usually within 5 minutes. If it drops a call, trying to call the person back, you can't get a dial tone the first time. This is not a reliable device if you want it to be like a landline. It is more like playing a slot machine, every call is a different experience. I have talked to tech support and emailed them numerous times, and am always given the same excuse "It is a known problem and our vendors are working on it." Well guess what, your product is defective, it doesn't work properly, and you don't know how to fix it. I think they hope that customers will get tired of complaining and just go away. I think you should warn people up front, that it is not a finished product, they will have problems, and there is no fix for the problems.

      Just got off the phone with MagicJack tech support. Here is what I was told, there is a serial number associated with the units that drop calls. I asked him if my unit was that serial number, and he said yes. I then said, well since my unit has a defect which is causing the calls to drop, can you send me a replacement unit that would have a different serial number. He said, " We can't do that" I said, "Why." He said, "Because we are not authorized to do that." I said, "I have been having dropped calls for 4 months and you won't send me a $35 replacement unit to possibly fix the problem," and he said, " No we can't, you just have to put up with the dropped calls until we fix it." This went on for about 1/2 hour... They do not want to replace the defective units, or fix them, they want to string the customer along for months and months... and probably just hope the customer goes away. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. IT IS A FRAUD.

      View more
      8 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Jan. 28, 2019

      Drops calls consistently and without warning, at times does not connect or makes some irritating noise till you hang up. When I tried to call to deactivate account I was on hold for 30 min, then they hung up on me. When I went to chat they said okay to deactivating, ended the chat immediately and then blocked me from chat, so far the account is still active. Not a company that cares about its customers, just money.

      9 people found this review helpful
      Loading more reviews...

      magicJack expert review by Ellen Muraskin

      Sold in more than 25,000 retail stores, magicJack is an industry leader in direct-to-consumer VoIP services. It holds a number of foundational patents on which the VoIP industry is built and is part device, part service.

      • Deeply discounted pricing: Where other service providers charge a monthly fee, magicJack offers a variety of plans, with prices as low as $120 for five years.

      • Easy installation: Taking plug-and-play to a whole new level, all you need to do for installation is plug the magicJack between your router and your phone.

      • Service and equipment are included: When you buy magicJack for $49.95, one year of service is included in the price.

      • Calling on the go: Send calls to your home straight to your smartphone without using any of your plan minutes. Data speeds affect call quality, so be sure to use 4G or a Wi-Fi network.

      • Free magicJack-to-magicJack: While all local and domestic long distance are free, international calling is only discounted unless both caller and receiver have the magicJack. Any calls from one magicJack to another are free.

      • Best for: Residential users and salespeople.

      Profile picture of Ellen Muraskin
      Ellen Muraskin VoIP Contributing Editor

      Ellen Muraskin has been writing about telecom and IT since 1993 when she joined the marketing department of Dialogic. In 1996 she joined the editorial staff of CMP’s Computer Telephony Magazine, rising to Executive Editor before joining Ziff Davis Media to launch the VoIP topic center of their eweek.com site. She served as senior copywriter for IT infrastructure company Raritan and has written and edited for several publications.

      magicJack Company Information

      Company Name:
      magicJack
      Year Founded:
      2007
      Phone:
      (561) 594-9925
      Website:
      www.magicjack.com
      Make the best choice, every time

      Join our community to stay up-to-date with the latest reviews, recall notices, and brand recommendations.

      Our community members are happier with their purchases than consumers who didn’t research before buying. To see why, sign up below!

      THANK YOU

      Keep an eye on your inbox, the latest consumer news is on its way!