GoodHire

GoodHire

 4.6/5 (665 ratings)
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars
Saved
GoodHire

About GoodHire

GoodHire provides FCRA-compliant background checks and screening solutions for businesses and organizations of all sizes. With easy-to-use workflows, built-in compliance tools, and a mobile-friendly candidate experience, GoodHire speeds up and simplifies the screening process to help you hire candidates more quickly.

Overall Satisfaction Rating

  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 stars

Pros

  • Instant identity verification
  • Criminal record checks
  • Customized paid plan options

Cons

  • No free version

Bottom Line

GoodHire is a background check service for businesses that can be used to screen potential employees. The company also provides services for job hunters, including self-background checks and resources.

GoodHire Reviews

Top reviews
  • Top reviews
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful
Any
  • Any
  • Rated with 5 stars
  • Rated with 4 stars
  • Rated with 3 stars
  • Rated with 2 stars
  • Rated with 1 star

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about GoodHire?
  • 4,188,258 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 2 Reviews 5 - 35
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Nov. 1, 2022

The website is easy to use and we get quick results. Our candidates find it simple and easy as well. If we choose to dive deeper with a more extensive check, GoodHire will be able to deliver. It works for us.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
Verified Reviewer
Original review: May 27, 2022

Absolutely horrible. My husband has been waiting for our county background check for over a month now, National check is back, surrounding counties and drug screen but not our county. He has missed out on the job because this company states they have to make an appointment to get the info from our courthouse which says usually takes 2 days yet here it is over a month and pushed back another month to be complete. We called our county courthouse and the information is not true. Good Hire claims they need an appointment. So every day they wait is money lost. Also have tried to reach customer service more than once and no responses but the once & that response was a promise to expedite and that never happened. If your company needs someone to do background checks steer away from this company.

GoodHire response

Leanne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I'm sorry your experience with GoodHire was not a positive one. I understand your frustration, and I want to assure you that every job candidate's background check is important to us. When records are sourced from county courts that require clerk assistance, which was the case for this report, GoodHire is at the mercy of court clerks and cannot obtain records without visiting the courthouse in person and making an appointment with the county clerk. This process can sometimes introduce substantial delays into the background check process.

While many county clerks will not assist background check companies by providing criminal record information over the phone, after receiving your complaint, our team called the clerk of courts in Kanawha County directly to obtain the necessary information that was required. As a result of the information provided by the court clerk, we were able to complete the background check.

- Max Wesman, COO, GoodHire

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: March 24, 2022

Anytime I've needed a different type of background check, they've been able to create a package for us. They're easy to read and they come back quickly. Working with them keeps us compliant with all of our different background needs.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: March 3, 2022

I’ve been utilizing GoodHire for over a year and we like it because it has a more evasive check. We switched from another one that missed some stuff and GoodHire seemed to have caught it. They do a better search. It's also simple using it. You just answer their basic questions.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 26, 2022

They have a simple process. The only thing I would like more is that instead of me paying for it and then doing the employee information, they should make it as one easy step where I put in all the employees' information then my credit card information.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 16, 2022

It's an easy experience with GoodHire. They have great service and support. From a UX perspective, it looks great. It's also simple.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 9, 2022

We wanted to do background checks for new hires and we got good service from GoodHire. We've been using it for almost nine months now and it's really easy and efficient. The site gives me all the information I'm looking for.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 2, 2022

GoodHire is very easy to use. I like the process and the reports. I like that you can send a request to the future employee to have them fill out and verify their information, and to make sure that that is correct, so that the process goes quickly. That's so important because we're normally in a crunch when we're hiring somebody. So, that process in itself helps so much. We get that verification from them. I also like that when the process gets started, you can see how quickly it is and what is happening with the process like which reports have come back and whether they're coming back okay or not, and which reports those are. We're a small company and GoodHire works for us.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Feb. 1, 2022

It was a positive experience when I've had to contract GoodHire. It's very easy to request a background check to be run and very efficient from that point on.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Jan. 29, 2022

GoodHire is awesome. This will be our sixth year with them. They're speedy and thorough. They fit my budget and I really appreciate the way they work and the price point and being able to know that this is happening in a good way. If I need to call or chat because I'm having a question, their customer service is excellent.

GoodHire response
Jodilyn,
Thanks for your 5-star review! We love hearing from customers, and we value your feedback. Thank you for being a GoodHire customer.

- The GoodHire team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Jan. 27, 2022

There was a point where there was a delay in the reports being completed. Now, GoodHire has grown enough and they can escalate it and get it completed fast. They've definitely improved on that. Their customer service is phenomenal and I feel like I'm their only customer. I can also tell who the new employees are and who aren't and then I can see the growth with that new employee. Wherever I go, I'm gonna take them with me. I truly like their services.

GoodHire response
Dawn,
We value your feedback, thank you for sharing! We strive to provide the best possible customer support, and we're pleased to hear you're a happy customer.

- The GoodHire team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Jan. 21, 2022

GoodHire made it very easy for us and it wasn't very expensive so it fit for us. I've had questions for a background check and had good results on feedback and the information I needed quickly. They have a help number and whatever concerns or questions I've had, I've called in and they've answered them.

GoodHire response
Arthur,
We appreciate your feedback, and we're happy to hear that our services are a great fit for you. Thank you for being a GoodHire customer.

- The GoodHire team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Jan. 13, 2022

GoodHire was easy to use and it served our needs. The customer service was very responsive too. It was a good experience.

GoodHire response
Diane,
We're happy you had a 5-star experience with GoodHire and value your feedback! Thank you for being a customer.

- The GoodHire team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Jan. 12, 2022

What we liked about GoodHire is that the candidates input their info. With the previous company we were using, we were having them fill out a form, and we were inputting the info, so it took some of that administrative burden off of us and put it on to the candidates. Another thing is that the report gets sent to the candidates as well. In those rare instances where you don't hire someone due to their background check, they always want to know, “What showed up on the report?” With GoodHire, those questions don't come up, because they're getting the report.

Basically, when we input just the basic contact info for the candidate, we get the email that says, “It's been sent to the candidate.” We also get an email when the candidate inputs their info, and then we get an email once the report’s ready to review. If the report’s going to be delayed, we get an email from GoodHire saying this county, and they're expecting the report to be done by this date. If we want to go in and review the results ahead of time, we can too. We see which sections of the report aren't completed yet. Their customer service has been professional and easy to deal with as well.

GoodHire response
Michael,
We appreciate your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about GoodHire. Like yourself, many customers find that having candidates complete their information not only improves efficiency, but also helps reduce manual errors. Thank you for being a GoodHire customer!

- The GoodHire team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 3 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Dec. 11, 2021

It was very easy to go online and enter the information and get back what I needed. GoodHire does a great job. It's easy to use, fast, efficient. Depending on what you do, it got a little pricey for me. But I could have cut it down a little with less information.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Nov. 27, 2021

GoodHire is easy to navigate. On the employer side when you’re doing employment verification, it’s very easy to respond to those verifications and very straight and to the point on the reports. So I like those things. The cost is decent and my CHRO has felt it is within the range of what other places charge. But there was one time when I put somebody's name in wrong and the candidate that we were doing the check on, couldn't figure out how to fix that when she went into provide the information. And so for some reason, GoodHire never flagged that. So they said her Social Security matched her name and everything, but it didn't. Also, there were other things where they were like, “Oh, we couldn’t verify employment of this person because the name was wrong.”

I was like, “So wait. GoodHire ran the Social Security numbers that came attached to this certain name. And that seems fine to them. But when they called the employer, they couldn't put two and two together and be like, “Oh, yeah. Silly employer. She must have put it in wrong. But we can see that this number is attached to this name. And it seems like it's probably a likely mistake and that she just put the name there wrong.”

If they're going to be lax on the Social Security Number, I should be making the same assumptions for employment verification. I wish they just flagged it off. Other than that, I'd recommend GoodHire. It's a very easy platform to use and it's really nice because you don't want to have an employer reaching out to customer service every couple of days just because they can't figure out how to navigate it. It's not like you have to create passwords and logins. It's just a quick reply to an email.

GoodHire response
Hi Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we love hearing from customers!

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Nov. 26, 2021

I use them for background checks. GoodHire is convenient. I get the reports done timely. It is very easy to navigate and get everything I need.

GoodHire response
Amy,
We love hearing from customers, especially when things are going well! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

- The GoodHire Team

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 15, 2021

So far, so good. As far as quick turnaround, I never had a problem. I do like the fact that we're able to do online chat as well as calling in. Both are extremely quick and thorough. I have been using GoodHire for a little over a year now and haven't run across any issues as of yet. I don't have a lot of experience other than GoodHire and ADP, but one of the things that I do like about GoodHire is that it also does tie in a lot of HR Q&As, forms and utilities for us to be able to access and use. If we ever had something called a pre adverse action or an adverse action notification, I was able to go and pull forms that are not only federal but also state and local that we need to use to be able to stay compliant. GoodHire is more of a full package than just that one specific service.

GoodHire response
Corbi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience using GoodHire, we appreciate the positive feedback and truly value you as a customer!

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Aug. 3, 2021

We used to have Sterling, and it was hard to get ahold of somebody. It is not the feedback that we have with GoodHire though. It's so good all around. It's really easy to use and it operates exceptionally. If I have any questions, comments, or concerns, I can easily get somebody on the phone or chat with somebody and it's very helpful. It's a blessing to have them.

GoodHire response
Hi Rosio,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience using GoodHire! "Customer delight" is one of our core values, and the extra effort our Customer Support team makes to help both customers and candidates is one of the top reasons customers choose and stay with GoodHire. We're happy to have you as a customer.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Customer increased Rating by 3 stars!
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Aug. 2, 2021

They claimed it would take 1-3 business days, paid for the full (most expensive) report, later that day they claimed it would then take 7 business days, I immediately asked for a refund and was denied even though the report was nowhere near being complete. I went with a different company and they provided the FULL report in 48 hours. Do not recommend Goodhire unless you have two weeks to wait.

GoodHire response
Aaron,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with GoodHire’s service. In an effort to respond to your review, we’ve looked into your account and see that the county check you ordered did take longer than normal. While county checks can take longer to process, the amount of time your personal background check results took is highly unusual.

I understand your frustration and would like to reaffirm our commitment to supporting our customers. I'd like to offer a full refund for your personal background check. If this is acceptable, please reach out to our Customer Support team.

Mike Grossman, CEO, GoodHire

2 people found this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 30, 2021

GoodHire is quick to help me out or get me answers. It's simple to get through the process to run a background check. Last year, we went through a transition with our payroll system, and they were offering who they use for their background that feeds into their system. We tried to use it for a short amount of time but didn't like it at all so we went back to GoodHire.

It's great that they allow us to create our own documents in there because most companies have some new hire packet that they have specific forms they want and they are able to accommodate that for us. There hasn't been anything that I've had major issues with. Once in a while, we've got issues where it takes quite a while to get a background back. But I understand that it's because the county we're working with probably isn’t electronic, so they have to pull the documents, and that has nothing to do with GoodHire. That's got to do with the county that we're pulling information from.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 2 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 28, 2021

GoodHire is more thorough than the previous provider that we used. The process is easy although lately, it's been taking a painful amount of time. Other than the delays, they're a great company to work with.

GoodHire response
Carmen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience using GoodHire.

In an effort to respond to your review, we’ve looked into your account and see that while most of your reports were returned within one day, two of the county checks you ordered did take longer than normal due to county court delays caused by Covid closures, but should not have taken as long as they did. To reaffirm our commitment to supporting our customers, we are crediting your account for two county checks.

Again, thanks for sharing your feedback, and thank you for being a GoodHire customer!

Mike Grossman, CEO, GoodHire

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Nov. 15, 2020

The reason that we went with GoodHire is that side by side, their price was decent and the customer service was exceptional. It sold me. Our salesperson was fantastic. They also give you the option to speak with somebody on the phone if you get in a jam, if you're new and you're learning it, and that's super important. As to other platforms, you just have a chat option. You don't have a live person to talk to. We had a previous provider and it's much better with GoodHire. The customer service is much better and much more concise. The website is a little more intuitive. It's a little easier and a little friendlier. But because of COVID, the experience varies from state to state. It usually goes pretty quickly, within one day. Some of the counties and the courts are closed for background checks right now because of COVID so sometimes it can take up to two or three days. But that's fine. We expect that.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Nov. 4, 2020

They've helped me with a couple different things and they've been pretty responsive. I've done a background check the last couple days and the turnaround time was short. They have a really good online system. It appears all the data seems to be correct. The only inconvenience is that I did a bulk purchase a couple months ago but I'm unable to do that again. I like that I got a discount for buying a pack of 10 but I can't even do that anymore. So I'm not sure what happened in the system. It's easier to purchase one pack and then not have to worry about it for 5 or 10 different background checks.

GoodHire response

Thank you for the 5-star review, we appreciate your feedback! I also want to let you know that you can still get a discount for pre-paying for a bulk purchase. Log into your account, then click on the 'Get a discount' link near the upper right corner. From there you can select the amount you'd like to pre-pay, as well as types of checks. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support team if you have further questions. Thanks for being a GoodHire customer!

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 31, 2020

GoodHire has worked as expected. It's easy to use and I would recommend it to somebody else.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 1 star
profile pic of the author
Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 28, 2020

I used to love GoodHire for the ease of use and what I thought were accurate results. I run a house cleaning business, so I need the utmost trust that people I hire are trustworthy when I put them alone in people's homes. After getting a "clear" report on a hire last week, I put her on the job. She showed up the second day reeking of **. I quickly Googled her name in our local sheriff's department and found 3 arrests for possession of **! I would not have hired her had I known this.

I could not understand this, so called the company. They said the counties they searched must not have been "digitized", so the results wouldn't show up. There is no way for the average person to know which counties are digitized! I live in Charleston, SC, btw, a very large city. I am in absolute shock that this was missed by GoodHire, when I can apparently Google things that they can't find. I will never trust this service again. It cost me time, money, and customers. Good thing I know now. Could have been much worse.

GoodHire response

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Of course we're disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with our service. In an effort to respond to your review, we’ve looked into your account and see that there was some confusion around the county check that should have been ordered. We understand your frustration and would like to reaffirm our commitment to supporting customers. Following a conversation with our customer support experts, we're refunding the amount for this candidate's background check, and are taking steps to ensure customer support can better explain these types of situations in the future. We'd love to have you back as a customer if you'd be willing to give us another try.

The GoodHire team

4 people found this review helpful
Rated with 4 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 21, 2020

We were googling different background check companies and GoodHire had one of the most reasonable prices. We've been using it for about two or three years now, on and off. One time, it took forever to get a background check back as there was a weird hit in some obscure county. I felt like it went on for weeks. I wish there's a way to expedite that. But I'd rather it be thorough than miss something. That was the only thing that was a little frustrating. Other than that, it's been pretty quick mainly because people had clear backgrounds. We've been pretty happy with it. We just use it when we're hiring new employees.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 20, 2020

My experience has been phenomenal. I use GoodHire for our pre-screening for our hiring process for pre-employment, and I've had really good success. Even with the few little hiccups where they've had a difficult time identifying the social security number with the individual, if they're foreign and the name’s not exact, it's been a pretty smooth process to get that cleaned up and get the report pushed through.

It's very simple to use GoodHire. We've got multiple companies. So, I just login, and the hire’s gonna be hired through. It's got all of our credit card information saved, so it makes it really simple for me just kinda confirming that information. Once I've got the basic email and name of the individual, it's pretty smooth sailing. The reports, for the most part, come back pretty timely. I feel like GoodHire's secure. It's effective and timely in getting me the information I need prior to making a hiring decision.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Sept. 20, 2020

I run a background check online. It's very easy. Occasionally, some problem would come back. You pay the fee, and then they would come back and say, "Oh, we need another $5 because this county charges more money." That's kind of a pain, but it is what it is. But the system works good. I run the background checks and then I report to the different managers. The departments will give me the potential new hire's information, we give them the form to fill out, I order it, and then I report back to the managers. If they're clean, the reports come back so fast. Sometimes within 10, 15 minutes it comes back approved and my managers would say, "Oh, my God, that's great. It's so fast." But then if something showed up, it tends to take longer, and I can almost sense it. If I didn't get it back yet, they found something. Sometimes that would be true, sometimes not.

I would occasionally run into a problem, probably something stupid I did, and the reps were great. The few problems that I had were usually something I inputted incorrectly and then tried to get fixed. I can make a typo, and then something doesn't come back right, and then it's trying to get it fixed, but it's usually something I've done wrong. GoodHire makes my job easy.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Rated with 5 stars
Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: July 8, 2020

I had used other background check service providers and the interface wasn't as user-friendly as GoodHire. Using GoodHire was easy and pretty straightforward. The results for the particular test or background check that we normally request come back very quickly. The system is very well-aligned with the expectations they set. It fits our needs, and they're efficient. It's affordable for us for the amount that we use it. Their reps were also pleasant and professional. We've been very happy with the experience.

Be the first one to find this review helpful
Loading more reviews...

GoodHire Company Information

Company Name:
GoodHire
Address:
303 Twin Dolphin Drive, Suite 600
City:
Redwood City
State/Province:
CA
Postal Code:
94065
Country:
United States
Website:
www.goodhire.com